16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Playback Audio & Video Player, Software & Guides

1024kbps
post Jan 13 2008, 12:53 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

strom codec is no different with other codec pack, some of the decoder hardly usefull at all coz thier video format isnt that popular compare to mpeg/avi/rmvb.
and where u dl strom codec? the one from here :http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Storm_Codec.htm got some seriously outdated codecs.
i often see forumers here always got problem when playing files, its due to codec pack.
stay away from codec pack if dont wan headache.

mp3? use winamp or fooobar.
dk999
post Jan 15 2008, 07:59 PM

474 posts

Codec packs save a lot of headache in the first place.. Storm codec played almost every file i sent it..
Exception : windows(those with license etc) , quicktime and the specific mp3 aforementioned

Having to find a codec individually and check for updates is more of a hassle than downloading a ready made codec pack.. Probably the codec is outdated, even so many files still can be played by it..

Some formats may be unpopular but at least when u encounter it, you don't have to scour the web searching for the codecs u need smile.gif

I'm still ready for any alternative to storm codec . . .

This post has been edited by dk999: Jan 15 2008, 07:59 PM
1024kbps
post Jan 15 2008, 10:22 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

codec pack is good if u r geeks and know how to troubleshoot the codec problem, or related crash, by simply disable ot update the specifc codecs.

some newbie user simply insall everyting from codec pack, and prolly later will scream for explorer.exe crashed, or the video doesnt play,
coz some codecs are really buggy, there are many combination issue will make ur audio/video unplayable.
for example, strom codecs included a terribly outdated ffdshow version, 20060526, now is 2008 already lol.
this old version got atleast 30 bug are easily trigger by user, and its slower compare with current version.

the best codec pack would be mplayer/ffmpeg, or codecpack/player that based them,
for example, ffdshow and media player classic home cinema.

btw, codec pack are useless if they dont include media player classic + ffdshow + haali media spliter lol.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jan 15 2008, 10:32 PM
dk999
post Jan 16 2008, 02:10 AM

474 posts

So i should just find all the latest codec's listed on storm codecs page smile.gif?

Added on January 16, 2008, 2:12 amSince noobs like me wont know what codecs to DL anyway/ Klite then :/

This post has been edited by dk999: Jan 16 2008, 02:15 AM
1024kbps
post Jan 16 2008, 06:27 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

klite standard version is enuf, then install real/quicktime alternative.
and btw the ffdshow included on klite still outdated, get an updated build here: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=173941
vincent_ng86
post Jan 16 2008, 10:49 PM

1,659 posts

Hi guys. I installed MpcStar on my XP and as well as my Vista. But the problem is, XP can runs all the videos, but Vista can't. Even if it can, it only runs for the 2 secs on the beginning part. Tried uninstalling it and install KLite, but still the same. Any idea?
dk999
post Jan 17 2008, 01:14 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 16 2008, 06:27 PM)
klite standard version is enuf, then install real/quicktime alternative.
and btw the ffdshow included on klite still outdated, get an updated build here: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=173941
Yeah that's what i needed to hear, simple instructions weee flex.gif TQ veri much smile.gif

This post has been edited by dk999: Jan 17 2008, 01:15 AM
ampangchai
post Jan 19 2008, 12:03 PM

171 posts

using media player classic version 6.4.9.0

didn't know what i had accidentally set recently. some of my video playback display had rotated upside-down (or toggled or terbalik)

anyone knows what's the problem?

This post has been edited by ampangchai: Jan 19 2008, 12:04 PM
1024kbps
post Jan 19 2008, 12:45 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

reinstall/repair ur codec pack,
its because the video player cant find the default dshow decoder, so vfw decoder and colorspace converter is used, which may cause the video playback will become upsidedown.
Veron88
post Jan 22 2008, 10:33 AM

61 posts

haha winamp is not the first choice liao
try ttplayer best audio player............. easy to use........
olso has nice skin
so must try ttplayer

Added on January 22, 2008, 10:36 amok for video player wmp classic is powerful
my friend untill now still using wmp classic
he can play almost every type of file ...
just need to download the codec...
another player i wanna to introduce is jetaudio
haha
din heard before ler
it is a good player n i using now
olso can play many type of media no need install the codec..
so can have a try

This post has been edited by Veron88: Jan 22 2008, 10:36 AM
mikelarren
post Jan 27 2008, 10:50 AM

47 posts

Hi, good morning to all LYN members. I need some advice from u all regarding playback of movie files with .TS extension.

Currently i manage to use cyberlink powerdvd deluxe 7 version to play the file. But i encounter some problem, i can't control the time bar. Everytime i try to skip forward to other chapter of the movie, it just hang. only the player hang but not the computer.

Anyone using the same software encounter the same problem when playing .TS file?? (only .TS file will encounter this prob)

Anyone manage to solve the prob?

And besides cyberlink powerdvd, any other software that can playback .TS movies with hardware acceleration support?

Thanks a bundle 1st, really need u guys help...
1024kbps
post Jan 27 2008, 12:00 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

haali media splitter + ffdshow, can handle TS file,
but depend on video codec inside the TS container, ffdshow still cant playabck interlaced VC-1/h264 iirc, and no hardware acceleration too.

how about Nero showtime? intervideo winDVD
mikelarren
post Jan 27 2008, 02:58 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 27 2008, 01:00 PM)
haali media splitter + ffdshow, can handle TS file,
but depend on video codec inside the TS container, ffdshow still cant playabck interlaced VC-1/h264 iirc, and no hardware acceleration too.

how about Nero showtime? intervideo winDVD
thanks for ur reply smile.gif

the .TS file i have are able to be played with the haali media splitter + ffdshow u were talking about. but i try not to use that coz it consume my processing power up to 50%. Since i have an ati card with UVD, i was hoping to use a software that can utilize the hardware acceleration without adding burden to my processor.

I have tried cyberlink powerdvd, it manage to playback the .TS file but with 1 flaw, u can't control the timing of ur movie. everytime i try to fast forward the time, it hangs. Im still not sure it is bcoz of the incompatibility of the file with the player, but when the .TS is played with haali media splitter + ffdshow, controlling of the time wasn't an issue.

Maybe i will try out nero showtime or intervideo winDVD once i got the chance. Hope it will solve my prob. thanks alot for ur suggestion smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikelarren: Jan 27 2008, 03:03 PM
1024kbps
post Jan 27 2008, 04:11 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

are u doing some other job while watching movie? sweat.gif

so what is the video codec inside the TS, and the video resolution? if its h264 then u are lucky,
the alpha version of media player classic home cinema version already have hardware acclerated h264 decoder, but currently its only work very strict conditions.

Nero 8 ultra edition/winDVD not cheap though, and nero dxva decoder need purchase seperately, winDVD im not sure doh.gif tongue.gif
try download a patch/update for ur powerDVD and see wheter it will solve the problem.
mikelarren
post Jan 27 2008, 08:46 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 27 2008, 05:11 PM)
are u doing some other job while watching movie? sweat.gif

so what is the video codec inside the TS, and the video resolution? if its h264 then u are lucky,
the alpha version of media player classic home cinema version already have hardware acclerated h264 decoder, but currently its only work very strict conditions.

Nero 8 ultra edition/winDVD not cheap though, and nero dxva decoder need purchase seperately, winDVD im not sure doh.gif tongue.gif
try download a patch/update for ur powerDVD and see wheter it will solve the problem.
The codec enclosed in the .TS file is AVC (H264). And the file itself enclosed with 2 audio codec. One is AC3 & another is AC3+.
I have tried demux one of the audio codec out from the .TS file n tried. But it still hangs when either one of the audio codec is seperated out.
The only time it is working perfectly is when i seperated the video out (means without any audio in it).

So i conclude that the problem relates to the audio codec being used.

I have found that the 2 audio codec used is: English-(DDplus 5.1 1536K), (DD51 448K).

It does play smoothly if i dun forward the time, but hangs when i did (except when only video is playback without audio).
1024kbps
post Jan 27 2008, 09:56 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

seriously, try media player classic home cinema wink.gif it might save alot of $$$ for buying other player.
since u said ffdshow works for u, that means the TS isnt interlaced,
the internal h264 dxva decoder is based on ffmpeg, which is same as ffdshow.

btw what tool u use to demux TS?
mikelarren
post Jan 28 2008, 12:03 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 27 2008, 10:56 PM)
seriously, try media player classic home cinema wink.gif it might save alot of $$$ for buying other player.
since u said ffdshow works for u, that means the TS isnt interlaced,
the internal h264 dxva decoder is based on ffmpeg, which is same as ffdshow.

btw what tool u use to demux TS?
Im using TSremux to do all the remultiplexing and demultiplexing. Will search for the media player classic home cinema to give it a try.
Thanks for the suggestion smile.gif
1024kbps
post Jan 28 2008, 12:25 AM

李素裳
6,009 posts

in case u wan to try it, here:
http://y0ngc6.googlepages.com/mplayerc.zip

here is the limitation: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=15325044
oRoXoRo
post Feb 18 2008, 04:50 AM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

hi im new here..biggrin.gif I've been using winamp for ages but only recently i have problem with it. Most of my japanese songs seems to be missing after I load my playlist even though the directory of the songs remain the same. Can any1 help me? Or maybe its time to change to another program.
tan_pang
post Mar 8 2008, 04:28 PM

3,110 posts

Is there any video player that can make the color encoding interchangeable between NTSC, PAL and SECAM??

16 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:31 AM