Tips To Make Your Fan To Reach The Highest Speed, @ To Make Your Fan Slower & Less Noisy

yehlai
post Oct 21 2006, 11:48 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

@sHawTY
Hi bro.. i was adding cooling fan like this HERE
I know its wrong.. will it damage my PSU and Hardware?? Can tell me pls.. Thanks biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yehlai: Oct 22 2006, 12:14 AM
lohwenli
post Oct 22 2006, 01:40 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Its not wrong, just have to make sure you don't accidentally short circuit something..for safety pull the plug when you're wiring it and double check the connections before connecting the main power cable back. Welcome to making full use of your PSU. Just as a guide, connect the

:sHawTY
YESSSS, got the PWM working! thumbup.gif Ran a few fans on it, works like a charm. And yes, fans do stop if set too low..so wierd to see a fan vibrating..not enough power to spin properly.. As a plus point, if I set the 555 signal generator's frequency low enough (audio range) the fan will emit a squealing sound when too slow/stopped..nice fan failure warning.

Of course I didn't have enough..since I had a 33A MOSFET (shop didn't have the 3-5A I was looking for, so I just randomly picked another one in the same product series-didn't have datasheets to refer to at the time), means it can handle the current draw of the 130W peltier I just bought from ff7yta..put it in between my pipe101 and a leftover Athlon heatsink..and lo and behold..water soon started dripping from the Athlon HS (cold side) drool.gif ..and all that still controllable by PWM..woot!

So still want one, sHawTY?

PS: Also rigged up PSU tester working (using 1A load on each line)..only that had to use a DMM to measure..must rig up a LED display soon. Wonder if people would be interested to buy stuff like this? Planning to build a PSU full loader (>500W) to play around with. Also thinking of trying out some of the high voltage experiments on RM Cybernetics..somebody call me crazy..
shiinkuro31
post Oct 22 2006, 09:56 PM

Chef of Straw Hat Pirates
1,259 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 28 2006, 04:37 PM)
7 Volts setting?  blink.gif
I just learn that today...  tongue.gif
me tooo...
yehlai
post Oct 23 2006, 11:46 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Oct 22 2006, 01:40 PM)
Its not wrong, just have to make sure you don't accidentally short circuit something..for safety pull the plug when you're wiring it and double check the connections before connecting the main power cable back. Welcome to making full use of your PSU. Just as a guide, connect the
but i always pull the fan's wire in and out to connect and discconect it while pc power is on... im really noob..
will this make dmg to other hardware??

Thank you so much lohwenli.. i will follow ur advice always pull the plug when wiring it and double check the connections before connecting the main power cable back. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yehlai: Oct 23 2006, 11:51 AM
lohwenli
post Oct 23 2006, 05:35 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Oct 23 2006, 11:46 AM)
but i always pull the fan's wire in and out to connect and discconect it while pc power is on... im really noob..
will this make dmg to other hardware??

Thank you so much lohwenli.. i will follow ur advice always pull the plug when wiring it and double check the connections before connecting the main power cable back.  laugh.gif
Well, if your hands are damn steady and you don't short circuit anything then you can even with power on..but I don't recommend it..blew a circuit once when I accidentally crossed a 12V line to ground (VGA fan). Lucky the PSU safety switch shut it off or else it would have blown up doh.gif . Had to do some painstaking soldering on the blown AGP contact..TRUST me, this is not something you'll want to do sweat.gif ..imagine if it was something more expensive?

What I still consider somewhat safer (but still need steady hands, and only if you really need to do it)-is connect proper connectors (3-pin fan, molex) while the power is on. Any loose conductor in a PC is a potential problem, if you need to wire anything while the PC is on take EXTREME care not to cross any contacts except for those which you intend to (and make sure you know well what are you are doing).

About damaging other hardware, it won't happen unless you short something or overload the PSU (unlikely if you're dealing only with fans).
yehlai
post Oct 23 2006, 08:47 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

hehe biggrin.gif thanks..
b4 tht i tot everything is safe and easy to handle.. becoz just a small smaal fan.. runing 12V DC also (i think its little). Haha proof tht i was wrong lolz

better just leave it.. dont play too much with it, as long as it can run then ok ledi...

This post has been edited by yehlai: Oct 23 2006, 08:49 PM
TSsHawTY
post Nov 6 2006, 04:26 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Oct 23 2006, 08:47 PM)
hehe biggrin.gif thanks..
b4 tht i tot everything is safe and easy to handle.. becoz just a small smaal fan.. runing 12V DC also (i think its little). Haha proof tht i was wrong  lolz

better just leave it.. dont play too much with it, as long as it can run then ok ledi...
Or you could probably make a switch to turn the fan on and off as you like... thumbup.gif

A switch is not a very hard thing to be done right? brows.gif
TSsHawTY
post Nov 13 2006, 09:42 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Some extra guide to make you're fan run at a speed that is over the maximum speed you're fan is set to run on... laugh.gif

use the power from ur molex as usual from the +12v (yellow wire) line..

as for the fan's ground...take the ground from ur 20/24 pin cable on ur PSU.

use any of the "-" line as ground...just choose which one u want...

eg.

+12v & -3.3V will give u 15.3V.
+12v & -5V will give u 17V.
+12v & -12V will give u 24V.

take note that ur fans WILL die sooner. laugh.gif

This guide is a courtesy of mADMAN... icon_rolleyes.gif

Salute "Lelaki Gila"... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Nov 13 2006, 09:45 PM
mADmAN
post Nov 13 2006, 09:56 PM

10,530 posts

salute to me for wat??? salute to shah81 la....

he mentioned it before here...its just that i remembered what he said tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
lohwenli
post Nov 13 2006, 11:35 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

I need to do some correction for you, there is NO -3.3v line, only a +3.3v line..
use the power from ur molex as usual from the +12v (yellow wire) line..

as for the fan's ground...take the ground from ur 20/24 pin cable on ur PSU.

use any of the "-" line as ground...just choose which one u want...

eg.

+12v & -3.3V will give u 15.3V.
+12v & -5V will give u 17V.
+12v & -12V will give u 24V.

take note that ur fans WILL die sooner. laugh.gif

Might as well I give the full list

All possible fan voltages (connect lower voltage to black wire)
-Note that the negative voltage lines cannot handle much current, one high power fan is probably the most it can handle.

+12V & -12V =24V
+12V & -5V =17V
+12V & GND =12V (default)
+12V & 3.3V =8.7V
+12 & +5V=7v

+5V & -12V =17V
+5V & -5V =10V
+5V & GND =5V
+5V & 3.3V =1.7V

+3.3V & -12V =15.3V
+3.3V & -5V =8.3V
+3.3V & GND =3.3V

Any voltage above 12V, use at your own risk-fan will most likely spin quickly for a short while then go up in smoke equally fast. Also, if using anything other than the default voltage, RPM measurement might not work properly.

Voltage line identification
+12V -yellow
+5V -red
+3.3v -orange
Ground - black
-5V -white (not present in newer PSUs as no longer needed by current PCs)
-12v -blue

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Nov 15 2006, 01:56 AM
TSsHawTY
post Nov 14 2006, 06:43 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 13 2006, 09:56 PM)
salute to me for wat??? salute to shah81 la....

he mentioned it before here...its just that i remembered what he said tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Owh, really?

Salute to shah81 then... notworthy.gif

Hehe tongue.gif

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Nov 13 2006, 11:35 PM)
I need to do some correction for you, there is NO -3.3v line, only a +3.3v line..
Might as well I give the full list

Owh, thanks mate!!! wink.gif

That sure help us alot in understanding it... cool.gif
lichyetan
post Nov 20 2006, 07:13 PM

2,295 posts

one thing i not so clear, how we estimate the fan speed after undervolting it at 7v or 5v... sry for noob question, kinda lack of knowledge bout this.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSsHawTY
post Nov 21 2006, 07:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Nov 20 2006, 07:13 PM)
one thing i not so clear, how we estimate the fan speed after undervolting it at 7v or 5v... sry for noob question, kinda lack of knowledge bout this.... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Use Speedfan or PC Wizard 2006.

Those softwares will show the speed of you're fan... icon_rolleyes.gif
beastfreak
post Dec 3 2006, 01:40 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(SkyDriver @ Jul 20 2006, 12:49 AM)

here... lol
may i know where can i get this item?
E-J@1
post Dec 3 2006, 01:54 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(beastfreak @ Dec 3 2006, 01:40 PM)
i think moderno got em, pm him lor
TSsHawTY
post Dec 3 2006, 08:52 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(beastfreak @ Dec 3 2006, 01:40 PM)
Ask this guy:

tnghian
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=3961
SusiE^QueeN
post Dec 3 2006, 09:04 PM

26 posts

i think change the transistor in the fan's electronis board....then the fan will spin very fast
TSsHawTY
post Dec 3 2006, 09:31 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(SusiE^QueeN @ Dec 3 2006, 09:04 PM)
i think change the transistor in the fan's electronis board....then the fan will spin very fast
And that will kill you're motherboard very fast... laugh.gif

Not to forget that'll kill the motherboard's manufacturing warranty... laugh.gif
lohwenli
post Dec 4 2006, 06:27 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(SusiE^QueeN @ Dec 3 2006, 09:04 PM)
I think its possible, planning on opening one of my half dead fans to try (probably in a month's time, super busy now). Based on what I understand on how DC brushless fans work they have an unusual ammount of electrical resistance for the circuitry involved. Lowering the resistance to increase the current will get the fan to spin faster. Real danger is that your fan will burn out-coils are designed to only handle up to a certain amount of current depending on the type of wire used and its heat dissipation capability (don't dream of putting a heatsink though). Unlikely that you'll fry the motherboard, most also the mobo will not be able to read the fan rpm-happens on my Abit IS-7, sometimes when the fan speed is too high it will just read zero.

Reason why fan speed might not read correctly when using other wires than ground for the black fan wire-fans produce a signal switching between a high voltage and a low voltage for each fan revolution, typically the low voltage will correspond to the voltage connected to the black wire. Once something other than ground is connected, the monitoring chip might not be able to read the low voltage as its not low enough, so the rpm count will remail zero.

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0208sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:13 AM