Sony XPERIA™ Z1, Official Thread V5, 5"FHD, 20.7MP goodness

ckchan
post Dec 19 2013, 11:14 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 19 2013, 11:08 PM)
I noticed that pictures taken without OIS are sharper than OIS enabled. Anyone care to clarifies?
There's no ois in z1. Which phone are you referring to?
ckchan
post Dec 20 2013, 09:33 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(pali_5373 @ Dec 20 2013, 07:05 AM)
Hye bought this last week.. White and lte. Just wta. Is this fon battery really fast drain if browsing on mobile data?
if u browse using chrome, yes it drain faster. i don't like chrome although it's really fast and snappy. but it's also a very heavy apps, causing the phone to heat up and drain battery faster.

try using other browser like boat
ckchan
post Dec 20 2013, 09:51 AM

3,026 posts

For those who have flashed the white balance, you may want to add the following command line

display_color_calib

to the file at the end:

/system/etc/install-recovery.sh

reboot after that and it's done!
this will solve the bug that we have to relaunch the white balance after each reboot. i just did that and it works nod.gif

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1#post48653837

This post has been edited by ckchan: Dec 20 2013, 09:51 AM
ckchan
post Dec 20 2013, 11:06 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Dec 20 2013, 11:04 AM)
guys is it possible to manually update to android 4.3? my pc companion doesnt seem to able to find the update
flash with flashtool
ckchan
post Dec 20 2013, 01:44 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Dec 20 2013, 11:52 AM)
tink i juz brick my phone with flashing, keep restarting at sony logo now
huh? how did that happen? which fw u flashed?
ckchan
post Dec 20 2013, 02:49 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Dec 20 2013, 02:01 PM)
flashed with some wrg firmware...

after tht re-download another firmware to get it working back, luckily, manage to update to 4.3 too
ooo... which fw u flashed previously that got problem?

and now which fw u flashed?
ckchan
post Dec 20 2013, 02:55 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(laststep @ Dec 20 2013, 02:53 PM)
i notice that coc now only give notification if you turn on your screen. Is it the updated from 4.3 of it just the game setting update?
is it because of stamina mode? try putting coc into the "apps active in standby" list.
ckchan
post Dec 20 2013, 06:55 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Dec 20 2013, 06:17 PM)
just flash stock 4.3 ftf files, wipe everything except data.
check the MD5 hash if the OP provided any.
I just rooted my JB 4.3 nod.gif

I have .257 rooted (previously from .534) then I flashed .290 (JB4.3) without wiping data. then I have a non-working SuperSU left in the system, did not remove it.

now I flashed DoomKernel by DoomLord, booted into TWRP (not sure why CWM not working again) then flash SuperSU.zip from SuperSU's website.

done :B
Great! But I'm not so familiar with this root method. Care to explain the steps you take to root?

And you mentioned both cwm and twrp also not working?

This post has been edited by ckchan: Dec 20 2013, 06:56 PM
ckchan
post Dec 21 2013, 06:31 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(kk1228 @ Dec 21 2013, 05:51 PM)
Thank you so much. Didn't know the screen adjuster was the problem for it..
Now . Can install d. Yay!!!!
it's actually a common "bug" for all screen filter apps.

in future, just remember to deactivate the screen filter b4 u install any apk
ckchan
post Dec 22 2013, 12:42 AM

3,026 posts

yeah... quality of the magnetic cable is questionable. i bought 1 b4. initially everything is ok. i am even surprised that the magnetic cable can even be used to charge my phone thru usb port from my laptop. big bonus here...

but recently, the cable charges my phone very slow... real slow as in i charges my phone whole night using the magnetic cable and wall adaptor, my phone cannot reach 100%. i think 7-8 hours, only charges till 70% shocking.gif

i think the quality of the cable is degrading...

and not to forget the magnet is not that strong. sometimes the cable disconnect easily when u are moving your phone around.

i still prefer the charging dock. secure and looks nice. with dash clock, my phone even function as my bedside clock and alarm whenever i charges it at night. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ckchan: Dec 22 2013, 12:47 AM
ckchan
post Dec 22 2013, 01:47 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(lilzany @ Dec 22 2013, 10:12 AM)
i thought cables degrade but don't damage the phones. maybe is his charger?
i am thinking of getting it from eBay if this forumer don't return calls and late reply like fucuk
who you buy it from? that's the reason i hate non original stuff from China  shakehead.gif
from a forumer here... but can't blame him also... and yeah... need more luck when purchasing non ori product from china.
ckchan
post Dec 22 2013, 05:18 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(lilzany @ Dec 22 2013, 03:55 PM)
ok i will be v6 TS
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ckchan
post Dec 22 2013, 11:26 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Zseusz @ Dec 22 2013, 10:29 PM)
Try Plaza Berjaya.
Off topic... Is the service center in plaza berjaya only for Sony smartphone? I have a faulty Sony dvd Home theater, wondering where to sent for repair.

This post has been edited by ckchan: Dec 22 2013, 11:27 PM
ckchan
post Dec 23 2013, 01:21 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(redlyfs @ Dec 23 2013, 12:22 PM)
Finally able to root 257!
which method u use to root 257? how about 290?
ckchan
post Dec 23 2013, 02:39 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(redlyfs @ Dec 23 2013, 02:01 PM)
I used this method.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2505938

There's already an update?!! o.o I'll go check it out now

Apparently you do lose root if you install 290 over PCC, I'll just wait out for the OTA update.
ooo... i tot u found some new easier method to do so...
ckchan
post Dec 23 2013, 02:40 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Dec 23 2013, 01:24 PM)
No one answer you ke...  normally I sent to Sony Store KLCC.

can check here
http://www.sony.com.my/section/servicecentres
QUOTE(Xirality @ Dec 23 2013, 02:13 PM)
Or the curve.
ok. thanks. the curve nearer to my place
ckchan
post Dec 23 2013, 09:29 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Dec 23 2013, 05:10 PM)
http://talk.sonymobile.com/t5/Xperia-Z1/Ju.../440181#U440181
Any body facing the same issue reported at link above? Found it js recently and wonder. Your feedback is much appreciate.
AFAIK, no such case reported so far
ckchan
post Dec 23 2013, 09:41 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Dec 23 2013, 08:24 PM)
I have a rooted .290 however mine is unlocked bootloader lah. I'll teach the LB method below.
Not necessary. Just use XZ Dual Recovery.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Before you download anything or start with updating to 4.3 and root, read through the guide fully first as STEP 4 has two options. I'd say go with option 2 as less hassle - less 1 file (and few hundreds Mb) to download.

Also, I recommend to download nandroid from PLAY STORE while you are still on .257 rooted. Back up entirely, to SDCARD1.

And to back up your TRIM AREA (TA) GUIDE HERE

If your computer, device blows up, burns your house down, The Ring ghost comes out of your TV, I am not responsible.

Move on if you agree to the terms & conditions.

How to root .290

I'll go with step by step, instead of skipping .257 update as I did it this way but I'll post a non-root method here. Mine's through unlocked BL. Anything below marked with asterisk (*) means locked bootloader method, marked with hash (#) means unlocked bootloader. Not marked means both ways.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Before we begin, files you will need
a) Flashtool - download the latest one for Z1 support!
b) Android SDK (a must)
c) [not entirely necessary] .257 FTF firmware
d) Root tool by Bin4ry
e) # .290 FTF firmware
f) * XZ Dual Recovery & .290 flashable ZIP
g) * Flashable .290 FTF & a MUST PATCH FILE.zip
h) * Stripped FTF for FLASHTOOL to flash
i) at least 4Gb SDcard
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Pre-rooting to-do list.

1) Download all the files required and provided above - also to put them in separate folders named according to steps for your convenience, if you like.

2) Open SDKManager.exe that you downloaded from Android SDK.zip
Install the following :
a) TOOLS\Android SDK Platform-tools
b) Android 4.2.2 (API 17)\SDK Platform ; Google APIs ; Sources for Android SDK
c) EXTRAS\Android Support Library & Google USB driver

3) Place downloaded .FTF firmware files in the FLASHTOOL\firmwares folder.
4) Place downloaded .zip files in their supposedly locations, which is your SDCard.

Important note : SDCard on your phone will be shown as SDCARD1 , SDCARD0 is your phone internal memory.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Step 1 -
Are you already on a rooted .257? Yes - proceed to Step 4 ; No - go to step 2. For Unlocked Bootloader method, see STEP 7 onwards.
Step 2 -
.257 does not officially have any root yet, hence you need to flash back to .534 (entirely, including wiping data, to prevent data conflict, bootloops.)
*Step 3 - FLASHING .534 ftf
> Done with flashing .534; boot into normal screen , use Bin4ry's root tool provided above.
> On this tool, you must enable "USB Debugging" and enable "Unknown sources" in Settings > Security.

===how to enable USB debugging===
Go to Settings > About > Tap BUILD NUMBER constantly for 10 times or so. You will get "YOU ARE NOW A DEVELOPER". Back out, you should see "Developer options". Go inside and enable USB debugging/

> On this tool, you can select option 0, 1 or 2, up to you. They're all the same but I used option 0.
> Rooting .534 is done.
*Step 4 OPTION 1 - you are still .534 here.
> Open Flashtool.
> Click on LIGHTNING icon on Flashtool
> Click Flashmode
> Select .257 firmware
!!!IMPORTANT!!!
REMOVE THE TICK ON WIPE DATA AND CACHE

> Get your phone ready in flash mode by switching off, then VOLUME DOWN + connect USB cable. You should hear some audio on your PC that a device is connected.
> Start flash
*Step 4 OPTION 2 - Still on .534
> Update to .257 from OTA.
> Done.
You still keep your root.
*Step 5 - Now you should be on .257 with root. Double check by opening SuperSU and see if you have any errors.
> If no errors, proceed.
> Install XZ Dual Recovery via Windows, follow the guide HERE to install DUAL RECOVERY.
> If install is successful, try to boot into recovery - to try.
> Quickly

To boot into recovery, keep pressing VOLUME UP or DOWN.
Up = CWM
Down = TWRP

*Step 6 -
> Copy FLASHABLE .290 FTF to your SDcard.
> Boot into recovery again
> Flash .290.zip in recovery, use TWRP to ease next step.
> Select REBOOT in TWRP but under reboot section, select "POWER OFF"
> VOLUME DOWN and connect USB for flashmode.
> Flash STRIPPED FTF via Flashtool. Do not remove anything, let it be default.
DONE.
Reboot. You should be all good to go now, first boot may take longer time.
# UNLOCKED BOOTLOADER method

Basically starting from STEP 5.

Now you have .257 rooted, locked bootloader. Remember to BACK UP TRIM AREA first before you proceed to unlock BL and a full back up using Nandroid.

Unlock your bootloader first, you can do so using Flashtool by clicking "BLU" next to the LIGHTNING icon or you can do the geek method - which you will mindfark if you're not familiar with command prompt, so I guess I won't post the 2nd method.

Now that your bootloader is unlocked.

Firstly :
--Download SuperSU and place in your SDcard1.
> Flash .290 FTF via Flashtool but be very careful on this part.
A) Remove the check on "WIPE DATA" "WIPE CACHE"
B) FLASH. Let it complete and start up the device.
> Confirm on your device that you STILL HAVE SuperSU. But it won't be working, you'll get some binary error.

> Flash DooMKernel from GUIDE HERE
> Boot into TWRP/CWM, recommended using TWRP as you have the option to POWER OFF.
> Navigate and flash SuperSU.zip
> Reboot.

DONE.
wow... thanks for the explanation! so basically if we already have root 257, we only need to flash 1 zip file via recovery and 1 ftf file via flashtool.
ckchan
post Dec 24 2013, 07:45 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Dec 24 2013, 07:14 AM)
i tried to root using LB method for second time, confirmed there's something not right. phone goes into bootloop again

i guess it'll just go back to my nandroid and stick with it for the time being
ok. thanks for the info. was thinking to try it today. guess i'll just wait for the OTA and see how's thing work from there.

btw, new firmware certified! bug fix maybe

14.2.A.1.114
ckchan
post Dec 24 2013, 10:48 AM

3,026 posts

let's vote for Z1!

http://www.fonearena.com/blog/91508/final-...martfone13.html

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top