> Liverpool Kop Talk 2013, Spud 0-5 LFC: 5-Star Performance

Duke Red
post Nov 17 2013, 11:02 AM

6,112 posts

Might want to give some sort of tribute to the 96 who went to a football game and never came home. Gone but not forgotten.

A couple of Shankly quotes might be nice as well.

My 2 cents mate. You make the call. Good luck on being TS.
TSMikeshashimi
post Nov 17 2013, 11:43 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Dont worry guys. Im gonna make amendments where necessary.
solstice818
post Nov 17 2013, 12:36 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

now that both are on 8 goals,will it be Suarez or Sturridge who first reach the 10goals mark?
AnythingK
post Nov 17 2013, 02:09 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Nov 17 2013, 12:36 PM)
now that both are on 8 goals,will it be Suarez or Sturridge who first reach the 10goals mark?
Given the current form of both players, I would bet on Suarez to reach the 10goals mark first, and grab the award again, under the nose of Aguero and Sturridge. tongue.gif
solstice818
post Nov 17 2013, 04:28 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Nov 17 2013, 02:09 PM)
Given the current form of both players, I would bet on Suarez to reach the 10goals mark first, and grab the award again, under the nose of Aguero and Sturridge.  tongue.gif
I got a gut feeling both will become selfish sooner or later because of their kiasu attitude.
plateau
post Nov 18 2013, 12:11 AM

Don't Touch My Stars™
984 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Nov 17 2013, 04:28 PM)
I got a gut feeling both will become selfish sooner or later because of their kiasu attitude.
That is a thought that has been running in my mind lately. I didn't really see much link up play between SAS in the last 2 games. It's mostly individual. Can see the Sturridge was alittle annoyed from the Fullham game due to not scoring, and when getting subbed off, didn't acknowledge Suarez.

Oh well, just hope that this phase will pass and they'll work in tandem again. sweat.gif
aladdin
post Nov 18 2013, 08:23 AM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

tbh, a team cant have 2 strong strikers on the same field at the same time. It works for the first few times, then, everyone will start performance as individual. This is why a lot of team has changed formation to 1 striker only.
chenwfng
post Nov 18 2013, 09:34 AM

46 posts

That's one way to look at it, but the other thing is, if you have two strong strikers up front, the opponent's defenders have got a lot on their hands as both will give double the trouble. I just hope this two will be strike partners for a long time.
Yluxion
post Nov 18 2013, 11:30 AM

543 posts

I think BR do noticed the slight disappointment and unhappiness of Sturridge in the Fulham game, like a lot of us did. That just show how much expectation he's putting on himself.

The fact that Suarez is given so much room to roam around the penalty area is due to the presence of Sturridge operating shoulder to shoulder with Fulham's defensive line.

Suarez might have all the spot lights now but I'm sure there are times Sturridge could pose a lot more threat when we're playing away or opponents playing a high defensive line.
farisq
post Nov 18 2013, 12:53 PM

535 posts

So Sturridge was not fully fit in the last 2 matches

“It's not a serious injury so I'm hopeful that it doesn't continue to linger on. I've been playing with it for the past couple of games and it's been hindering my performance.

http://espnfc.com/news/story/_/id/1619155/...germany?cc=4716
sebastianX11
post Nov 18 2013, 04:59 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(chenwfng @ Nov 18 2013, 09:34 AM)
That's one way to look at it, but the other thing is, if you have two strong strikers up front, the opponent's defenders have got a lot on their hands as both will give double the trouble. I just hope this two will be strike partners for a long time.
i tend to think this is the way...
no point they be the main striker and not winning anything
there will be times when struridge will shine and suarez help out and vice versa
and let's hope that this combi will lead other team to start using 2 strikers again tongue.gif tongue.gif
Rotuham
post Nov 18 2013, 08:15 PM

36 posts

The problem with playing one striker is that an overreliance develops on that striker.That is because no like for like replacement on the bench.No top striker will be content sitting on the bench and playing second fiddle to another top striker.

dillonyong
post Nov 18 2013, 09:14 PM

68 posts

FREEDOM!!!!!! thumbup.gif

Now I can be my nasty self tongue.gif

Kidding. Still need to maintain a good christian practice.

On the game against Everton, Robbie has learned a harsh lesson trying to play football with us last season. His team got bang with 3 goals with nothing to show. I dont think he will play it nice this time.

Our main worry, is not gonna be something new that everyone didnt know already, Set Piece!

We need to knock their resilience down with quick goals, and we need Agger to play. The boys will be full charged up for this game.

Okay, in the past we have international Hoodoo. After the break, bad performance. But then new TS now, I suspect he will bring an end to the hoodoo and give us good luck this weekend. biggrin.gif (I will continue casting the spell.)
SUSK.H.A.I
post Nov 18 2013, 10:56 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Nov 18 2013, 08:15 PM)
The problem with playing one striker is that an overreliance develops on that striker.That is because no like for like replacement on the bench.No top striker will be content sitting on the bench and playing second fiddle to another top striker.
rooney&rvp
never works
many times transfer requests
markblurberry
post Nov 18 2013, 10:58 PM

110 posts

If reports were to believed, we had clinched the signing of Will Hughes, the 'great potential' Brit lad....must have left some of the cynics bewildered..not again, another overrated-overhype british talent...but having seen him play only in youtube, i wonder what's the hoohaaa all about..okay he did possess quick feet, and looks like an albino...but with Mnure and Arse chasing this fella, he should at least have some quality in him...and another report link us with Jeremy Menez...i player i would say yes probably 2-3 seasons ago, but i have my reservation now...

With Everton looming, I would say its a good time to bring them on...what not with uncertainty regarding Baines, and Lukaku lack of form, and Barry being a spent force in midfield, i foresee we should overrun their middle...their potential threats are probably Mirallas or Pienaar, but we had comfortably dealt with them before and i expect the current players to contain them without much fuss...add to the fact that Distin is there for Suarez to toy with, i think we should dispatch Everton. Having said this, I dont think we can walk all over them or play them off the park, but having witness their game against Palace which end with a scoreless draw, we ought to stamp our authority in this match...
Yluxion
post Nov 19 2013, 10:17 AM

543 posts

Liverpool striker Luis Suarez to be rushed home for Merseyside derby in John Henry's private jet.

prophetjul
post Nov 19 2013, 11:47 AM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(markblurberry @ Nov 18 2013, 10:58 PM)
If reports were to believed, we had clinched the signing of Will Hughes, the 'great potential' Brit lad....must have left some of the cynics bewildered..not again, another overrated-overhype british talent...but having seen him play only in youtube, i wonder what's the hoohaaa all about..okay he did possess quick feet, and looks like an albino...but with Mnure and Arse chasing this fella, he should at least have some quality in him...
Liverpool beat Arsenal and Man Utd to sign £12m Will Hughes

LIVERPOOL manager Brendan Rodgers is poised to clinch the signing of £12million Derby County wonderkid Will Hughes - leaving Arsene Wenger and David Moyes out in the cold.

By: James Dickenson
Published: Mon, November 18, 2013

Liverpool appear to have secured the services of Derby s Will Hughes Liverpool appear to have secured the services of Derby's Will Hughes [GETTY]

Hughes is a long-term target for Rodgers, Wenger and Moyes, having impressed in central midfield for Derby.

But the 18-year-old finally looks to be on his way out of Pride Park after Liverpool agreed to meet the Rams' £12m asking price.

According to reports, the Reds will land the highly rated England Under-21 international in January.

Arsenal, Manchester United, Liverpool, Derby, Nigel Clough, Clough, Will Hughes, Hughes, Hughes Derby, Liverpool, Liverpool HughesHughes has impressed for Derby in recent months [GETTY]

Liverpool are set to sign Derby's Will Hughes in January

The move will come as a blow to Wenger and Moyes, who have both watched Hughes' development with interest.

Last month Express Sport reported that new Derby manager Steve McClaren was prepared to let Hughes leave, as long as the Championship outfit received £12m for his services.

The Surrey-born playmaker has struck four goals this season.

he looks alright...box to box player with bit of skill. Fella's only 18 years young. Give him bit of slack.........

You could say the same of Stevie at the age.....great potential at that age....
Max_07s
post Nov 19 2013, 12:32 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 19 2013, 03:47 AM)
he looks alright...box to box player with bit of skill. Fella's only 18 years young. Give him bit of slack.........

You could say the same of Stevie at the age.....great potential at that age....
wait for 6 months and someone will tell this fella rubbish. they will ask to sell him
prophetjul
post Nov 19 2013, 12:51 PM

12,282 posts

QUOTE(Max_07s @ Nov 19 2013, 12:32 PM)
wait for 6 months and someone will tell this fella rubbish. they will ask to sell him
My......... the air is so thick with nay sayers..........

Everyone's a Messi!
Everdying
post Nov 19 2013, 12:52 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

hughes? bloody inflated at 12m...but i guess BR was desperate...now lets see whos shipping out to make money for him...
and so now we got welsh xavi, and english xavi...
only a matter of time before u know what happens here tongue.gif

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:11 PM