Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc

apache_utara
post Mar 10 2015, 09:44 PM

:: 35mm ::
3,326 posts

QUOTE(cashie @ Mar 9 2015, 03:27 PM)
alot of my Malay friends in petronas.
I guess it's abit hard for chinese to join.
In PIPE 144 which just finished today, yes, there lots of Malays but I also made lots of Chinese friends. But there are also Sabahan & Sarawakians too.

That statement is unfounded and just a mere rumor or stereotype given to you
icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 10 2015, 05:06 PM)
ALAM is Akademi Laut Malaysia. ALAM is subsidiary of MISC which eventually also a subsidiary of PETRONAS.

Aduiiiii kalau SPM setakat lulus memang payah nak join PETRONAS even for level operator and technician.

Adik kau minat tak nak keja O&G tapi mesti bertabah hati okay. Aku suggest suruh adik kau pergi enroll PUSPATRI JOHOR dan ambik CSWIP 3.1 for free! Siap dibayar elaun sara hidup setiap bulan sampai pass exam CSWIP.

Kalau ada CSWIP 3.1 senang nak cari makan. Tak perlu join PETRONAS pun tak apa.

Sekian terima kasih.
Kind of agree here.
If simply pass, have to work harder by other routes first then apply to Petronas or other O&G companies.

Not trying to be rude, but there are top SPM scorers who then went to UTP but never been called to work in Petronas also (example: ex-officemate sweat.gif )
apache_utara
post Mar 19 2015, 07:37 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(GiannaJune @ Mar 19 2015, 01:34 PM)
Hai semua. Nak tanya. Since Petronas & its subsidiaries tengah freeze hiring process sekarang, bila ya mungkin diorang akan start semula new intake?

The last thing I was informed is (2 months ago) diorang tengah process my employment package & letter of employment. Saya ada baca kes2 sebelum ni ada yang tunggu sampai 5-6 bulan. Ada yang still menunggu macam saya sekarang?
From the explanation I get from HR (from my OPU at least), they're not freezing.
Just that they're re-examining back the talent pool like focusing on staff replacement position (due to staff leaving or such), or prioritizing hires who have passed SI first.

I suspect those who passed medical but still waiting, HR might have changed policy. For example my OPU, one position changed to contract (rather than permanent) after restructuring. But might change back to permanent in future.

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Mar 19 2015, 02:06 PM)
Fuhhh MLNG. A good start for you. MLNG situated at my hometown Bintulu.

My personal advice - tolong jangan kutuk2 hometown aku tak best macam KL. Serious anda akan menghadapi kesukaran kehidupan di masa hadapan ehehehehe. Ohh jangan risau aku bukan gangster. Gua rilek2 jer.

On serious note, MLNG will makes your CV fantastic later on if you decide jumping2 to others. Trust me.

So please learn as much as possible while you working at MLNG. Built your networking. Make friends with local.
I made more than 10 friends in MLNG during PIPE. Some are locals there too.
All of them very friendly, maybe the ones you met before were rotten eggs of the bunch.

icon_rolleyes.gif
apache_utara
post Apr 15 2015, 10:10 AM

3,326 posts

This news is very misleading, I guess the journalist never read the "memo" properly.

It mentioned clearly that the revised salary is for the seconded staffs to Petronas Carigali.

If reduce allowances, that's a more plausible news.

apache_utara
post Jun 5 2015, 11:23 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Jun 3 2015, 09:06 AM)
not sure about the core skill group, but last time i've checked with the HR, there shall be no such allowance anymore since it is already absorbed in the basic salary (don't have to wait until 1yr)
One of my dept colleague transferred back to KLCC, he said his plant allowance ~RM500 got cut since he's not eligible anymore once change bases. I'm not sure if that's the same allowance you guys are talking about or different

On the other hand, just found out my OPU's CEO will be conducting one of the SI next week. Never knew CEO himself need to go SI sweat.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 19 2015, 11:30 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(diodorus @ Jul 17 2015, 08:33 PM)
Yes, it is best for me not to be choosy these days. I just would like to know is it true that petronas power have different benefit scheme than petronas group? is it because they are doing downstream?
There's an agreement between PETRONAS & it's subsidiaries/JVs/etc that any seconded staffs PETRONAS staffs must NOT be worse off. This is talking about PETRONAS staffs being seconded to other companies.

But, if you're a direct hire to that subsidiary/JV company (rather than PETRONAS staff being seconded there), then you're subject to the package there. Your basic salary may be the same as other PETRONAS staffs, but benefits may vary. For example a JV in RAPID is between PETRONAS & some partner, it will follow the lower industrial gases salary rate (rather than O&G) where PETRONAS will "top-up" the difference but benefits will follow that industrial gases package (ie: number of holidays, etc).

You guys can check your offer letter, it will mention whether you are being seconded or directly hired laugh.gif

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 19 2015, 10:23 AM)
Honestly never heard of Petronas power but in most cases have same benefits as parent company with exception for ICT (last time), now its merged
PETRONAS Power is relatively new but it's there. The idea is to have a consolidated power portfolio, i can't remember if Pengerang Cogen is under them but not impossible all power assets will be focused under them in future icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s: I'm not in HR whistling.gif
apache_utara
post Aug 10 2015, 10:38 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(adelaide8 @ Aug 10 2015, 11:22 AM)
Depends on the years of working. Less that 3 years is still considered fresh and will be paid according to entry level salary.
And depends also on your boss.

I personally know one boss who actually went & appealed to top management to bump up a grade for this new hire.

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 10 2015, 09:39 PM)
With all the retrenchment from major oil companies around the world like shell n schlumberger, i wonder y is petronas still hiring...

I hope they dun bankrupt this country just by hiring ppl who doesnt do anything in the company juz to fill in the quota

If need ppl, should hire those experience ppl who juz got retrench. Afterall, these experience ppl unlike freshies hv financial commitments already such as families, hse and cars
Experience is one, but most of the contract staffs are paid based on negotiations when oil prices are high. When oil price is low, the contracts were not continued or renegotiated at best. Most just left as they feel underpaid with new terms.

This created a void in certain areas, hence why staffs are being moved about actively lately. I heard lots of permanent staffs also left due to this issue as they're already comfortable at that level & place. And thus another void is created.

That's why Petronas are still hiring, temporary solution but better than doing nothing at all laugh.gif

apache_utara
post Aug 11 2015, 10:01 PM

3,326 posts

Suddenly this thread is about comparing how busy working in Petronas compared to others doh.gif

Being a good team player with a good team, you can accomplish in a day what others may take days to do. It's very weird why one would equate quality of work with amount of "busy-ness" doh.gif

By the way to those who are going for medical checkup, you can also opt to go to Prince Court FYI, the parking & ambiance there is better icon_rolleyes.gif
apache_utara
post Aug 13 2015, 09:58 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(aeir2020 @ Aug 13 2015, 05:21 PM)
I received an email saying that I was recommended during the SI. Also they said "However, please note that employment with PETRONAS will subject to the Management recommendation."

Could it mean that they need to wait for manager's approval before giving me the offer? smile.gif
means your name already booked in that position.

all that's left is for your head of dept to argue your case in the PDC Meeting, if all Management members agree then you're in.

If in PDC your name didn't go through, then it's up to your Manager. If he/she really wants you, then they'll argue your case again in the next PDC Meeting. Good Luck then thumbup.gif
apache_utara
post Aug 14 2015, 05:56 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Aug 14 2015, 09:59 AM)
oh really? didnt know that. i tot PDC is for PPA exercise.
Yeah, that's what happened to me & few colleagues. laugh.gif

OT:
Read most RAPID projects are funded in mix currencies (USD + EURO + MYR), since USD is higher now, does that mean it's better for the projects?
hmm.gif
apache_utara
post Aug 21 2015, 01:40 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Aug 21 2015, 11:38 AM)
i join PAS and i've got the offer letter from HR just like that durghhh!!
Eh me too.. I joined PAS then Tan Sri Shamsul called me to join Petronas laugh.gif

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Aug 21 2015, 11:44 AM)
for SI, how long does the result valid? is it 6 months?
SI validity is 2 years. If you failed also, blackout period is 2 years.
apache_utara
post Sep 4 2015, 11:09 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(AishahShariffX @ Sep 1 2015, 03:20 PM)
Wow. A month? I guess Patience it is. I have few friends attended si before me. Some of them passed and some failed. They said if the result is out earlier its either you failed or they need u urgently. If not KIV. I dont what KIV is either they dont have any placement or they just have to wait for any vacant. What OPU u got invited for si?
KIV is such a crude word. In reality, it means that the HR personnel made a rushed decision to do SI for a box or position which has not been finalized (usually new positions), or contract position.

If SI passed but position hasn't been finalised yet, the SI is considered as "floating". Anything can happen during this time.

I know a few OPUs HR have implemented a policy, SI only for ready permanent positions (means already approved by Management)

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Sep 1 2015, 06:05 PM)
I went for interview in October LAST YEAR in London, was told that I passed (in December/January I think), but until now no offer. So yeah. Overseas students oso no love. Lol. thats why dont have high expectations for them. Some do get jobs early, some not so lucky.
For overseas SI, it's being conducted by Senior Manager rank at least. If you have passed your SI, I find it's weird no offer for long time.

The only thing I can think of is 2 things:
1. They want you, but your asking salary too high or something, so still deliberating at Management level, OR
2. The position you interviewed for is a contract position & has been shelved first.

Try to check again with your recruiter on the details.

apache_utara
post Sep 7 2015, 11:21 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Sep 4 2015, 03:04 PM)
1. lol i dont think so. i dont have the balls to ask for too much. rm3.5k is pretty standard for a fresh grad in petronas right?
2. thats weird, do they conduct SI for contract positions? do they even have contract positions for fresh grads?
If not mistaken, fresh grad starting salary is 4k.

Definitely no SI for contract position. I know a few fresh grads now in contract positions.

Your predicament is a bit baffling, I guess only your recruiter knows the true situation.

QUOTE(AishahShariffX @ Sep 7 2015, 08:02 PM)
Ohh really, but it had been a month since my SI and still got no result. But its okay. Good things come with patience. smile.gif
A month is still normal.

QUOTE(Nardev87 @ Sep 7 2015, 11:13 PM)
Hi

What's the salary range for E2?Thanks
Now they changed already.

E1 = G1 & G2, E2 = G3 & G4, etc etc.

G3 starting should be around 7k more or less

apache_utara
post Sep 28 2015, 10:46 PM

3,326 posts

It's been awhile since I came to this thread, feels good to see it's still active laugh.gif

QUOTE(Kyle_Rule @ Sep 19 2015, 01:07 PM)
After 3 weeks since my day of employment with Petronas Penapisan Melaka, I feel my previous employment was a lot more better than now. Eventhough the salary is better, but I don't see the work life balance in Petronas. People are so inconsiderate and selfish, blaming game all over the place not to say the workload. Might be leaving soon.
QUOTE(msismail @ Sep 23 2015, 09:44 AM)
i'm not in the position of judging anyone, but my advise and always be my belief for blaming is that; tell the truth. if u are on the right side, then u'll be fine. if u r wrong for any reason (lack of experience) so be it. learn something from it, treat it as a learning cycle (regardless of how many years during previous employment) and stand up/step up.

Previously, i've worked in a harsh environment as well, but i've survived by doing so. is sounds cliche, but is works.
As for work life balance, that charge of your own life. u can do it. i've lots of friends in PPM and they excel...good luck.

Just my 2 cents.
I agree with msismail here. Being in a plant is the best place to toughen up yourself. I've seen SM level kena marah in meetings, but later go smoking room with them also. Just have to try to separate work & personal feelings.

After awhile, tebal muka je tongue.gif

QUOTE(nooryesmin1979 @ Sep 22 2015, 12:54 PM)
Just curious,  when I have updated my resume on the petronas career portal,  would they call from there when there is an opening or do I need to still check the portal and apply for the position?
Definitely need to apply also in the portal. Because when the boss of that position reads your CV, he/she may not want you but they "might" recommend you to some other bosses.

Seen my boss did that, he passed to the other division bosses cool2.gif

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ Sep 24 2015, 10:39 PM)
ya..actly it was for a contract based post..supposedly i landed that one since i was ask to do a med checkup but then i dnt knw how they ask me to go for s.i again..guess no rezeki lah..
This is weird, SI should be for a permanent box.

Maybe the contract position scrapped & the SI was for a new permanent box (but maybe you didn't pass the SI?)
notworthy.gif

QUOTE(ez123 @ Sep 28 2015, 09:48 PM)
Salam guys, newbie here. 

I passed my SI sometimes ago. than today I just got a letter from HR to do a medical check up. Should I be expecting an offer letter soon OR izit the medical check up is just part of the hiring process though there is still no vacancy for me?  I don't want to put high hopes now with the current rumors bout petronas and our economy right now.

thank you.
Technically, anything can happen as long as there's no offer letter sweat.gif
But traditionally, if you've passed SI and passed your medical, should get the offer letter between 1-3 months. A friend took 3 months because he negotiated his salary, played hardball but his bet paid off thumbup.gif

Every O&G companies are being hit hard financially, very unlikely anyone being retrenched (though contract position might be way riskier). The strategy would definitely be to mobilize existing staffs from different OPUs to critical projects (ie RAPID). So, this is the best time to learn & absorb as much as you can flex.gif

apache_utara
post Nov 10 2015, 09:46 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(nooryesmin1979 @ Nov 10 2015, 05:45 PM)
You called directly to HR? Would they actually entertain our inquiries? Besides, I noticed that they hv put up appllications for fresh graduate. I guess they are not looking for ppl with exoeriences anymore, no?
For upstream, maybe.

For downstream, the opposite actually. They're hiring more people.

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Nov 10 2015, 07:00 PM)
I sense of increase of recruitment in Petronas than past few month ago. But mostly targeting experience hired. I believe aiming readiness of PCG division. i.e: delivery of SAMUR and RAPID project.
I think it has been awhile, even my PIPE in March also majority experienced hires. Recent PIPE sessions also like that I've heard.

QUOTE(nooryesmin1979 @ Nov 10 2015, 09:13 PM)
I tried to. Once. But the receptionist told me to just check online. So i did not get the opportunity to tslk to anyone from hr.
Actually you can email directly to the Managers who interviewed you, no need to use middleman. I believe when they sent the email invitation, they've CC'd the interviewers as well.

That's what I did, I emailed the HOD directly.
apache_utara
post Nov 10 2015, 10:18 PM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(AishahShariffX @ Nov 10 2015, 10:10 PM)
They cc-ed the manager? How come mine dont have the manager email add.
That's weird. Should've CC'd when they've sent the SI invitation.
Unless the HR guy so rajin and sent separate emails.

Either way, try to get the interviewers email if possible. HR recruiters are executives, still human. Most likely the have to handle hundreds of emails asking this & that, pity them also.

apache_utara
post Nov 21 2015, 11:27 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(msismail @ Nov 19 2015, 04:41 PM)
I've went for my baseline (1st assessment since joining Pet) last couple of months. To me, it depends on the ruler for your SKG (Skill Group). I'm a Piping Engineer and i find that the ruler for Piping Engineer is rather balance especially if one is attached to plant or any EPCC projects. U need to have technical capability and site experience to close the gaps. So just work for that. But, the assessment is upon rezeki. ahahah....if u got easy to pass assessor, then OK la. If u got the taf one, perhaps u could take all points and notes, upgrade urself for the betterment.

All in all, just work your heart out. Love what u r doing. Sometimes, bosses (managers) will double confirm or open to any change of SKG. Just voice out ur concern. Promotion and money comes alongside. just think of this: if u get promoted to senior but with less experience, i would feel embarrassed myself. if u r really good, follow the ruler and u'll have a strong and solid foundation.... icon_rolleyes.gif
I have to agree wholeheartedly with this.

Be good, do good, and people will notice. One colleague is a super hardworking type, but very very low profile. Got recruited into another department & promoted to Manager. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(champlaos11 @ Nov 21 2015, 07:44 AM)
Hi aeir2020 and msismail thank you so much for the reply.

However I wonder that if they decided to call someone up for a chit chat session even though he/she does not meet the minimum requirement, does that mean that they do not care about the requirement? Or they just do not notice? Haha

msismail, thank you for the info. But sometimes when opportunity like this presents itself, it is hard to not to at least try it haha.
Minimum requirement is set by HR to filter only from hundreds of CVs, it's not a rule cast in stone. It depends on the Manager, some prefer to have a guy rather than a girl staff (i.e. no chance of 3 months maternity leave).

Had somewhat similar experience when helped few Managers to hire interns/GEES for their sections laugh.gif
apache_utara
post Jul 27 2016, 11:16 AM

3,326 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 27 2016, 07:45 AM)
Syukur dapat kerja kat petronas..Make sure permanent.

Anyone heard of this rumour-second wave in October? Or just my friends..
Yeah, incoming wave imminent.
Top management having special PDC today to formalize the new reorganization.

0.1003sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:22 AM