Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc

AtMostFear
post Jul 23 2019, 11:22 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(husairi2032 @ Jul 22 2019, 05:11 PM)
I believe this is the older or obsolete as current basic for fresh grad are 5k. But i am not 100% sure this hasnt being used anymore.
G2 still executive but with experience i think. I think G3 is starting grade for sr exec.
Really? Which is higher? Contract or permanent? But for benefits for sure the contract has less right?
G3 IS starting grade for senior executive.

If u're not even sure for this basic thing please refrain from giving other advices based on what u 'think'. We are not playing lego bricks here, we are running a billion dollar worth of platform/refinery/plant/etc. Just some heads up before joining this industry, ur opinion is useless without a fact. No offense icon_rolleyes.gif
AtMostFear
post Jul 24 2019, 11:17 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(jk03 @ Jul 24 2019, 08:07 AM)
What’s wrong with u? Tak habis2 nak carik salah orang macam bagus sangat!
Sorry if u can't handle such input. U'll get worse treatment once u're in with name callings, obscene words thrown at ur face when things get wrong.

I see a lot of people in this industry who only knows how to talk without facts, and the damage it may cause is not little especially if u're in technical position.

If u're hati tisu then u'll toughen up once u're used to this.
QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jul 24 2019, 09:25 AM)
Guys, what's the difference between GTS & PD&T ?

Noob here
GTS is under PD&T.
AtMostFear
post Sep 27 2019, 11:54 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Sep 27 2019, 01:53 PM)
G2 to G3 is based on experience only, or got assessments?
Depends if u're technical or non-technical line. If technical, u need to go for yearly technical assessment. Nonetheless, this is only one part of criteria for promotion, it still depends on ur yearly performance yada yada.

QUOTE(Win Win Inspiration @ Sep 27 2019, 02:15 PM)
G3 - Manager
G4- Senior Manager
G5- General Manager

Above correct?
Change the G to E then it's correct. They've "widen" the grade structure to G1 & G2 (E1), G3 & G4 (E2), and so on.
AtMostFear
post Oct 9 2019, 01:27 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(shawn011 @ Oct 9 2019, 10:52 AM)
Also, is it a must to possess at least two to three years' experience in oil and gas industry to qualify for a technical job in Petronas?
No, a lot of fresh grads are in the company doing technical roles. Even scholars & non-scholars.
AtMostFear
post Mar 8 2020, 06:35 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(cucikaki @ Mar 8 2020, 05:16 PM)
How much would someone in Tier 3 with G2 grade job salary usually be at?

I googled it says around 6.5k-8k. The range is too big. Im from a small company so this amount is definitely twice my current salary. I scared if i ask for 6.5k ill be underpaid whil 8k is a bit too much
This is a question that nobody can give an exact answer unless they're from HR. Unlike non-executives, their min & max salary is published in their union handbook.

For my case, fresh grad salary was at 4k. Tier 2 gets 800 technical allowance absorbed into salary after 6 months. Not sure about Tier 3. So after 3-4 years, average 5-6% increment per year depending on ur performance, u may get promoted G1-G2. That's another ~500 added to ur salary. Based on this, u may try to deduce what to expect for ur case.

My personal advice is just put whatever amount u think u deserve. When I received the call for my offer, I was offered 4k similar as fresh grad. Told them I had 1+ year experience, then they bumped the offer with another 300. Ok la better than nothing. This was 6 years ago btw.
AtMostFear
post Mar 18 2020, 10:57 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(l K l P l @ Mar 9 2020, 06:43 PM)
I believe the 800 will be added after 1 year, not 6 months.
Thank you for the correction, you were right.

Cukurrr still got bonus.
AtMostFear
post Oct 5 2020, 11:47 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ToDPKK @ Oct 4 2020, 01:08 PM)
Received an offer last week after two months. Didn't even apply for the job, they found me on JobStreet. Wasn't really interested, just went for the interview to test my marketability and see what they have to offer. They offered me my expected salary and walao, the benefits are so good! Unlimited medical benefits. But I asked my Petronas friends, their medical benefits are capped. Wondering why mine is unlimited.
Highly doubt on the unlimited medical coverage for permanent staff employed post year 2010. This issue was even raised during one of the previous Townhalls.
AtMostFear
post Oct 6 2020, 12:44 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ToDPKK @ Oct 6 2020, 10:27 AM)
It's the first thing they mentioned though. Will collect my Offer Letter this week and see how.
Not sure if benefit details are mentioned in offer letter, it is normally explained thoroughly only in executive handbook.

Please clarify with HR personnel when you get the offer letter. Best to get written confirmation.
AtMostFear
post Jul 21 2021, 12:33 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(ashenkana @ Jul 18 2021, 07:22 PM)
Hey guys. I will be joining Petronas soon and was told about the RM3,000 WFH equipment allowance. Just wondering if that is actually direct cash transfer to your account during salary day or you have to show purchase receipts of your WFH equipment and do claims?

I'm asking because I thought of purchasing my WFH equipment now before joining and thought of claiming it later (if its on claim basis). Will this work?

Would be better if that RM3,000 is direct cash transfer.

Thanks!
no need to show proof of purchase, it's a one time lumpsum payment. since it's included in payslip, it's subjected to normal deductibles (tax, EPF, etc).
AtMostFear
post Jan 21 2023, 02:37 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ortoxavier @ Jan 21 2023, 09:55 AM)
Discontinue CDH = Jobless after your contract expired. I’m not sure and not yet heard about that. Perhaps other forum member could share on that.

Benefit, I’ve mentioned above, all are almost the same only few things there.
each business OPU has a fixed quota on permanent position, not that easy to just convert CDH to permanent unless there's an existing/incoming vacancy for that particular position (permanent).

if the manager wants to monitor his subordinate's performance first, he could just utilize the probation period instead of hiring as CDH?

anyway, just ask if there's a vacancy for permanent position/box, then you'll know what to expect. i.e. just janji manis or you're seeding to fill up the permanent box later on.
AtMostFear
post Jun 20 2023, 12:57 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(HP Computer @ Jun 19 2023, 05:52 PM)
Im currently in dilemma for Ceng application and saw a posting in LinkedIn couple days ago saying Ir/Ts title is not helpful in Petronas in term of promotion.

Wonder any petronas employee can verify this?

If Ir title is not useful in our nation top tier company, should i forget about Ceng application?
Not a criteria for promotion, will just look good next to your name or when people talk about you. Your contribution to the company matters most.
AtMostFear
post Feb 14 2024, 10:57 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(luf-kin @ Feb 14 2024, 09:57 AM)
Meanwile, need everyone opinion on my dilemma..

I only recently joined a IT MNC company, managel level position.

But recently offered only an exec position from Petronas, but with higher salary..

If you are in my position which do you pick and why?
personally, I'd rather be an executive with salary of a CEO rather than the other way around. money puts food on the table, not position.

or is there other concern that you have? e.g. career growth, work environment, etc.

0.0607sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:13 PM