psYCHopath
post Nov 12 2013, 05:24 AM

Collector / Trader of Hamster
951 posts

Top 5 reason not to buy Lenovo P780
============================
1) Battery capacity is only 4000 mAh, so tiny....loose to Nokia 3310

2) 5" IPS screen only, would be better if its HiSense X1, ZTE Iconic

2a)The screen quality is horrible, my Nokia 3310 is way better even play Snake never lag leh
(How is the screen quality? Good or Bad? 294 PPI only?)
This could be the most retard question to ask, why? Because each and everyone of us have our own preferences,

some might say its very good (maybe their previous phone was 3310, Galaxy Y & etc)
some might say its ok/not bad at all (because they know that the price of this phone is below MYR900.00 range)
some might say its not up to their expectation (maybe they were using IPhone, HTC One X, Samsung S4,Oppo N1)

so its best to go hands-on try the demo unit before purchasing it doh.gif

3) Only quad core, still Octa core is way better.

4) 1 GB ram, seriously? 1 GB where got enough.

5) WhatsApp not supported on this phone. [makes me wonder why MatShadow shared this info 2LinesWhatsapp]

6) Camera quality is better than IPhone 5/5S, Lumia 1020, Pure View 808

* dey tambi how much are you paying for your Lenovo P780??? Don't la compare Proton (Lotus Elise) and Bugatti Veyron

============================
You are a noob *we all once were*
Got a burning question you want an answer? Use the "Search Topic" first before posting it in the thread. *It's located bottom left in Desktop Version

Bugs (on stock rom)
===============
1) Stock dialer: Sometimes incoming/out going calls does not show the name, altough you have saved the name in your phone book.
1A) Problem with local contacts that has +60 and without
2) The address field in the contacts are limited to certain amount of text
*temporary fix is edit the address field in https://www.google.com/contacts

Warranty
=======
please do call them first, if they do repair your Lenovo P780.
http://www.lenovo.com/contact/my/en/
http://mobilesupport.lenovo.com/us/en/service-provider

Warranty-Before you pay
=================
How to check if your Lenovo is an Authorised set where you can claim warranty at Lenovo Service Center.
http://mobilesupport.lenovo.com/my/ms/warrantylookup

QUOTE(lsj***** @ Jan 4 2014, 11:41 PM)
Send to service center, lcd replacement rm280. Will not void warranty.

*for authorised set*

To check for dead pixel & Multi touch (10 fingers)
Display Tester by gombosdev
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...v.displaytester

Picture of box & accessories that came with Authorised Malaysia Lenovo set by ECS ASTARR SDN. BHD. purchased at August 2013
(one of the few authorised suppliers *accessories & packaging varies from time to time)
===============================================
to be updated later

MORE INFO ABOUT AP,Original & Authorised set.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/857577

AP = Warranty not covered by Lenovo Service Center,
Charging adapter is NEMA 1-15 ungrounded (Type A)
[ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power_plugs_and_sockets ]

Original = since Lenovo is "quite new" in mobile phone at the moment (*as of W4 Jan 2014) there are no Replica/Clone/Knock-Off/Imitation units (*except dummy units).
So "at the moment" ALL Lenovo P780 ARE ORIGINAL manufactured by Lenovo in Wuhan, China.
Unlike Iphone 5, HTC One, Samsung S3,S4 to name a few.
you can google: GooPhone, HDC One, HDC S4

Authorised set = Charging adapter is "BS 1363 (Type G)" *[ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power_plugs_and_sockets ]
Warranty can be claimed at Lenovo Service Center

====================================================================
CODE

#include <std_disclaimer.h>
/*
* I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
* thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed.
* Please do some research & backup your data first.
* YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
* you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.
*/
rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif

Google Authenticator (something like Maybank's TAC Code)
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....authenticator2

Android Device Manager (Phone locator : Ring, Lock, Erase)
https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager?u=0

Shush! (When you turn your ringer off for a movie, this app turns it back on afterwards. Like in Nokia 8250/6820 profile)
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...licobject.shush

Unable to SYNC Google Contacts,
Make a backup of your contact in .VCF format & whatever app you normally use *to be updated*

Fixes suggested by user
QUOTE(one_guy @ Feb 6 2014, 09:59 PM)
Try below method to repair your IMEI...
http://www.protechlover.com/2013/10/imei-change.html

If your set is Original,you can get your IMEI number by entering serial number form your Box..
http://mobilesupport.lenovo.com/my/en/warrantylookup
====================================================================
Recommended app (for rooted phones ONLY)

This post has been edited by psYCHopath: Feb 9 2014, 03:01 AM
psYCHopath
post Nov 18 2013, 05:47 AM

951 posts

QUOTE(vios88 @ Nov 18 2013, 12:02 AM)
have you read the first page?  sweat.gif
that is why its sometimes pointless to put all the important info @1st page, cos some ppl never even bother to read whistling.gif

QUOTE(azeemzuhair @ Nov 18 2013, 01:56 AM)
WARNING!!! DO NOT USE THE "P780_LiFe_v02_ReParted_Data_aroma.zip" on 8GB version!!! It will make your device bootloop at "lenovo" logo.

Should you face the "lenovo" bootloop issue, ensure to install the Lenovo S890 (yes, this is also for P780) driver(s) for respective Windows 32- or 64-bit version. You may download from "zerohunter" post below:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=62780459

Once the driver is installed, you need to use SP Flash Tool to flash to P780_8GB_ROM_ROW below:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0ByFuurF7QLt...kVfWmE4czA/edit
thumbup.gif thanks for the heads up

This post has been edited by psYCHopath: Nov 18 2013, 05:53 AM
psYCHopath
post Nov 18 2013, 01:51 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Nov 18 2013, 01:09 PM)
If I insert two sim cards,  both use for SMS and call.
When I received a message from others, will it stated send to which sim?
yes.

psYCHopath
post Nov 19 2013, 06:01 AM

951 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Nov 19 2013, 01:38 AM)
lol,both of my sim cards are DIGI.  sweat.gif
shocking.gif
theres a tiny number in the sim card logo Via MY MAXIS[1]; via MY DIGI [2]
psYCHopath
post Dec 5 2013, 01:34 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Dec 5 2013, 01:02 PM)
Most issues u guys brought up got solution ady.
Pls read page 1.

Eg. Internal storage - repartition it using garytayh guide.
Flash stock ROM - xMika gave links and guide.
Etc..etc..
dont be so harsh to them tongue.gif
maybe they just wants our attention laugh.gif
psYCHopath
post Dec 7 2013, 03:13 AM

951 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Dec 7 2013, 02:08 AM)
taking orders for these, RM15 each.

Matte Hard Casing (black, pink, blue, maroon, sky blue, white)

Semi-transparent Soft Jelly Casing (pink, white, sky blue, black)

FIXED  biggrin.gif
do you have picture for Pink colour for both Matte Hard Casing & Soft Jelly Casing? notworthy.gif
I'm interested~!
psYCHopath
post Dec 7 2013, 04:12 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Dec 7 2013, 12:37 PM)
Yup I'm currently in China, willing to help bring back the following at RM15(excluding postage) each:

Semi Transparent Jelly Soft Case
Solid Colour Jelly Soft Case
Matte Hard Case
Ok then I would like:
Semi Transparent Jelly Soft Case: Pink & Sky Blue
Matte Hard Case: Pink

Will you be ordering Matte Screen Protector?
psYCHopath
post Dec 19 2013, 05:39 PM

951 posts

Just got this:

clear and semi-anti-finger print

from

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...&id=35345371319
psYCHopath
post Dec 19 2013, 06:33 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Dec 19 2013, 06:05 PM)
I LIKE  thumbup.gif
A clear commonsense reply.
Wow.! Glass rite? Any chance u got extra? Seriously, love to buy one. drool.gif
its hard, I think its glass according to the description its glass tongue.gif
I thought your P780 x pakai "tudung" laugh.gif
I only bought one to test.

My bf ordered mine tru DoSaeLeeRa taobao service.

This post has been edited by psYCHopath: Dec 19 2013, 06:35 PM
psYCHopath
post Dec 20 2013, 03:34 AM

951 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Dec 20 2013, 12:41 AM)
Ya.. I prefer hard stuff. Glass is great. Not those tudung lembik (sp).
I rather have mine naked than using these lembik tudung.
Almost anything hard is gud rite? I tot so..
Since u no extra, I keep mine naked.

No tudung2 4 me. I prefer one with helmet for prolong safe. laugh.gif

Thanks for replying.
hahaha true true...at least its hard wont worry so much of damaging the screen...
although mine didn't have the "hydrophobic" (*I tested with tea o panas*) but when watching movies on it I don't see the greasy reflection which is common if you use normal clear screen protector. Might order 2 more pieces.

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Dec 20 2013, 02:20 AM)
No agent sangat mahal leh... I got mine for RM21.50

Maybe yours more expensive since its "Explosion proof" shocking.gif

This post has been edited by psYCHopath: Dec 20 2013, 03:35 AM
psYCHopath
post Dec 20 2013, 05:05 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Dec 20 2013, 10:40 AM)
Teh O panas.? Waa.. Hv nvr thought of using tat for test.
Hey, if u get to buy extra reserve me one. I also want test with teh tarik. Serious, pm me.
Explosion proof.. Omg r we at war.? Maybe next they advert 'Thermo Nuclear Proof' baru saya percaya.. shocking.gif
thumbup.gif
I booked 1 ady.. nod.gif
Teh O cos that was the nearest liquid to me at that time. Sadly this glass protector didn't have the hydrophobic feature when water is drop on the glass screen protector.
how many pcs you want?
BTW are you using jelly case on your phone?

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Dec 20 2013, 08:52 AM)
Lol, u know lah mainland chinese. Damn exaggerating one. Yup at about rm30+ include shipping mah...

Does your rm21.50 include agent fee liao? Since u are buying might as well buy extra and sell here.
I ordered other stuff as well, if not mistaken don't have agent fee just RMB10 from warehouse & postage to malaysia RM10.50 for all my items.
I'm too lazy to go back and forth to pos office that is why didn't buy more.
psYCHopath
post Dec 20 2013, 06:03 PM

951 posts

CODE
No bags, boxes, stores do not know how the so-called authentic guaranteed, come from the ah? However, looking at the quality of the protective film is also good, much more than a cell phone store in the move-cum-hundred and eighty dollars affordable, or to 5 points.

some even got broken ones *it's a risk for fragile items* most likely caused by mishandling during shipment

apparently so far I only saw one company "Black Spider" that only manufacture P780 "glass screen protector"

This post has been edited by psYCHopath: Jan 6 2014, 03:15 PM
psYCHopath
post Dec 20 2013, 08:56 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Dec 20 2013, 08:43 PM)
Doesnt matter if its hydrophobic or not. I still want one. nod.gif
I believe glass have better touch feel to it compared to normal 'tudung' type.
1pc is gud enuff since Im selling off my 4gig P780.
And about jelly2 case, probably not. P780 looks  drool.gif when naked.
Roger me if u need me bankin 1st as booking.
Looking fwd to have glass helmet to my P780. laugh.gif
Orite, where is your location?
psYCHopath
post Dec 20 2013, 09:42 PM

951 posts

Jalan Ipoh...no longer in Subang
I havent place order yet...having trouble finding external case for 2.5" hdd at taobao
psYCHopath
post Dec 20 2013, 10:49 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Dec 20 2013, 10:45 PM)
If like that i also want 1 piece of that glass thing lah, we share the sipping cost.

As of now my p780 is still naked. Let us know when and how much to bank in.
hmmm ok I'm waiting for quotation from taobao service provider. laugh.gif
psYCHopath
post Dec 21 2013, 09:20 PM

951 posts

Glass screen Protector

MatShadow x1 P780; x1 A850
andrewhtf x1 P780
miloy2k x1 P780

who else?

psYCHopath
post Dec 21 2013, 10:40 PM

951 posts

MatShadow how fix the contacts phone number problem?

Eg. I saved +6016 7654 321 in my phone book as "Superman"
When I receive call it shows I'm receiving call from "Superman"

but when I manually dial 0167654321 it doesnt show "Superman"

same goes to

If I saved 0167654321 in my phone book as "Superman"
When I receive call it shows as +60167654321 not "Superman"

any fix to this than editing all my contacts with +60 at the front?

psYCHopath
post Dec 22 2013, 01:03 AM

951 posts

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Dec 22 2013, 12:55 AM)
I believe I don't have that problem.
Btw, i cannot remember when was d last time I manually dial a contact number, instead I use phone smart search to auto dial.

Now,since u asked, i chk my contact list and c that most of my contact nos are saved w/o + (intl format)...eg.03xyzabcd.
However, when they call, I c their names etc. even to those with a + format.

I'm on UMobile & Celcom. Maxis also no issue. I don't have digi or other telco.
Duno how to help.. Sori.
aiyo if u dunno then habis la...since you are the most pro here cry.gif
BTW on A850 ada this problem tak?

@13th
which rom are you on?
I'm on stock S112
psYCHopath
post Dec 22 2013, 11:12 PM

951 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Dec 22 2013, 11:05 PM)
Hmm. I somehow think that the Note 2/3 is on par with the P780

I was able to get 11, almost touching 12 hours of screen time on my Note 2 back when I was on 4.1.2 on Perseus kernel which allowed me to underclock and undervolt.
hmm price wise?

Note 2/3 : P780

its like comparing orange : devil fruit laugh.gif
psYCHopath
post Dec 23 2013, 03:28 AM

951 posts

QUOTE(DayahKuComeL @ Dec 23 2013, 02:50 AM)
Hey

Got mine today 8gb

>Rooted
>wanna try garytan repartition
>Bootloop

Problems
>p780 ADB driver failed to install on itsef (driver unsigned) using windows 7 32bit
>Usually would connect phone to pc and manually search driver but since bootloop im stuck.
>without the driver,sp flash means nothing. *jump off building*
Help?
R.I.P notworthy.gif

if you are still alive please READ post # 1 & 2

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0484sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:08 AM