State of Decay, Hardcore open-world zombie survival game

Goliath764
post Nov 21 2013, 02:24 AM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Nov 18 2013, 11:16 AM)
haha damn i  accidentally "killed" another survivor when i played him. dropped from ladder. the ladder detection system sometimes do suck. and then get nom-ed by zeds. damn...
Been there done that as well. I always walk slowly when near the ladder now to prevent accidental slip.

QUOTE(AgnusDei1986 @ Nov 19 2013, 10:29 PM)

My quick take, avoiding any spoilers:
Pros:
1. Great open world infested with zombies
2. Nice sandbox for building your shelter in a zombie apocalypse
3. Cars > Zombies
4. Adrenaline pumping initial stage, where stealth is critical and zombies are really overpowered, at least in numbers. This point go into the dumps right after you get your first car.
5. The games actually "runs" even when you are not playing. Making sure you start the game often to keep your camp healthy.
6. YOLO gameplay

Cons:
1. Storyline is non existent. And there are certain side quests which came to an abrupt end, such as the Courthouse storyline. Or worst, story branches that awards you for being "bad" and practically non-rewarding for being "good" as in the Wilkerson storyline. Or the Ray Santos storyline which serves nothing but giving you a generic sport car.
2. Cars >>> Zombies ( I think the new DLC will make cars a much more precious resource )
3. At some point it becomes a grind as you check in and do your daily activity for point (5) in pros. Kinda like a MMO where you log in just to do your daily quests.
4. No main character as everyone is YOLO.
5. For a zombie apocalypse, it seems like all your neighbours and your friends didn't get their brain eaten yet. Survivors are common, and crucial to gameplay as you can recruit them to your deck of characters. Spoils the immersion though.

Overall:
First, credits have to be given to undead labs. This is a very small team of developers with big ambitions. While they did promised to put into a co-op mode and call it off, the game on its own is a very engaging survival simulation of a zombie apocalypse. I'll give it a 7.5/10.
True on those pros, the vanilla game is pretty easy after you learn how to play it. Try a no car(unless on long distance travel) run or put Romero mod in for some second round fun, featuring fragile vehicle, loud gunshot, fatal attack and so on. I didn't put loud gunshot because it's too crazy to me but fragile vehicle and fatal attack are good enough for me. 1 bite or 2 claw from zombies and your character go down, every battle is thrilling and dangerous.

As for the cons, from a realistic prospective, being bad is actually more rewarding as you can just take whatever resource and whatever while being good, you have to give people things, definitely not always a good choice. If everyone is rewarded by doing good, I doubt anyone would bother to be bad.

I actually liked their take on multiple survivor groups. As far as I know, most(if not all) zombie stories are all about 1 group against the world, they might be some other groups in the mix but definitely not as many and as packed as the area of State of Decay. Having a ton of different survivor groups out there is an interesting take or at least an unusual one. If they can feature something like turf war and every group sharing/fighting the resources around town(the scavenger mission doesn't seem to affect the location's resource), then it will be awesome.
AgnusDei1986
post Nov 21 2013, 05:18 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Nov 21 2013, 02:24 AM)
Been there done that as well. I always walk slowly when near the ladder now to prevent accidental slip.
True on those pros, the vanilla game is pretty easy after you learn how to play it. Try a no car(unless on long distance travel) run or put Romero mod in for some second round fun, featuring fragile vehicle, loud gunshot, fatal attack and so on.  I didn't put loud gunshot because it's too crazy to me but fragile vehicle and fatal attack are good enough for me. 1 bite or 2 claw from zombies and your character go down, every battle is thrilling and dangerous.

As for the cons, from a realistic prospective, being bad is actually more rewarding as you can just take whatever resource and whatever while being good, you have to give people things, definitely not always a good choice. If everyone is rewarded by doing good, I doubt anyone would bother to be bad.

I actually liked their take on multiple survivor groups. As far as I know, most(if not all) zombie stories are all about 1 group against the world, they might be some other groups in the mix but definitely not as many and as packed as the area of State of Decay. Having a ton of different survivor groups out there is an interesting take or at least an unusual one. If they can feature something like turf war and every group sharing/fighting the resources around town(the scavenger mission doesn't seem to affect the location's resource), then it will be awesome.
Nice take on the mods. But for green players which do not know modding or applying a mod, the new DLC will certainly balance things out and make it more interesting. (Less cars, more "special" zombies for example). I'm also interested in the DLC's promotion that the game gets harder and harder as more time in the game world passes. Practically a race for survival.

I do not have qualms against playing the bad guys. Hell, I enjoyed playing bad guys from being a Renegade in Mass Effect to being an evil Dungeon Keeper. But the Wilkerson storyline is just plain one side and incomplete, with no resolution to the climax and no benefit at all to being good. As a matter of fact, you actually lost out on supplies by playing the good guy for this story line. I don't expect this game to have the depth of Walking Dead, but some effort should be placed to put equal reward/punishment for moral decisions like these to put the players into a dilemma.

I actually hoped for a struggle between different camp of survivors. Imagine my joy when the Courthouse storyline came to be and the disappointment with the abrupt end to this. Wasted potential I must say. That's not to say the game is bad, it's pure fun as a matter of fact, it just would've been much more. I'm going to assume undead lab simply do not have the funding or resources to implement these ideas and maybe they hired a terrible storyteller, but I'm certainly keeping an eye out for their future releases.
Goliath764
post Nov 22 2013, 07:30 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

QUOTE(AgnusDei1986 @ Nov 21 2013, 05:18 PM)
Nice take on the mods. But for green players which do not know modding or applying a mod, the new DLC will certainly balance things out and make it more interesting. (Less cars, more "special" zombies for example). I'm also interested in the DLC's promotion that the game gets harder and harder as more time in the game world passes. Practically a race for survival.

I do not have qualms against playing the bad guys. Hell, I enjoyed playing bad guys from being a Renegade in Mass Effect to being an evil Dungeon Keeper. But the Wilkerson storyline is just plain one side and incomplete, with no resolution to the climax and no benefit at all to being good. As a matter of fact, you actually lost out on supplies by playing the good guy for this story line. I don't expect this game to have the depth of Walking Dead, but some effort should be placed to put equal reward/punishment for moral decisions like these to put the players into a dilemma.

I actually hoped for a struggle between different camp of survivors. Imagine my joy when the Courthouse storyline came to be and the disappointment with the abrupt end to this. Wasted potential I must say. That's not to say the game is bad, it's pure fun as a matter of fact, it just would've been much more. I'm going to assume undead lab simply do not have the funding or resources to implement these ideas and maybe they hired a terrible storyteller, but I'm certainly keeping an eye out for their future releases.
The mod is actually pretty simple to install and you can always ask for help from the modder Adeno, who is very friendly to newbies of modding, in the official forum. I asked one question he explain it in a way that is very similar to what you would find in a TV manual, very clear and newbie-friendly. Just saying if anyone wanted to try but has no mod experience. But of course, waiting for the DLC is also cool. It's pretty much the mode everyone is waiting for. A true sandbox experience.

What you said about the story is pretty true although I am not sure if they would expand on it. Class 4 is a MMORPG so they probably don't really focus on the story as much as the other aspects of the gameplay. I would say that it's one of the few weaknesses of their team so far. That and I think they have no resource to implement human vs human combat, such a shame. I really hope they can do a DLC that expand on a little HvH. I wanna play an a-hole group that just raid every other groups for once.

This post has been edited by Goliath764: Nov 22 2013, 07:34 PM
briantwj
post Mar 27 2014, 01:34 AM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

Just finished the game. For my game, Marcus died in the final mission 'The Wall'. Got torn in half by a Feral. vmad.gif Had to finish the game with Maya. doh.gif

But I like the idea of the game very much, open world, side quest, recruit members, build home base, scavenge for needs.

Any other games similar to State of Decay? hmm.gif
john_white
post Mar 27 2014, 10:16 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Mar 27 2014, 01:34 AM)
Just finished the game. For my game, Marcus died in the final mission 'The Wall'. Got torn in half by a Feral. vmad.gif Had to finish the game with Maya. doh.gif

But I like the idea of the game very much, open world, side quest, recruit members, build home base, scavenge for needs.

Any other games similar to State of Decay? hmm.gif
this game need multiplayer...
increase map size+multiplayer+more challenge
this game can pawn dayz
briantwj
post Mar 27 2014, 11:04 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(john_white @ Mar 27 2014, 10:16 PM)
this game need multiplayer...
increase map size+multiplayer+more challenge
this game can pawn dayz
Yup. The map is too small. IF the map is same size with GTA San Andreas. Oh yea. icon_idea.gif

And also, my home base always too safe la. Shud make more random event like zed horde. feral, juggernaut attack the home base.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 22 2014, 12:31 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

okies i just got this game from sale today.
marcus got ripped apart by fast zed.
then i delete the profile.

any good early game tips to avoid character death ah?
kianweic
post Jun 24 2014, 08:09 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 22 2014, 12:31 AM)
okies i just got this game from sale today.
marcus got ripped apart by fast zed.
then i delete the profile.

any good early game tips to avoid character death ah?
Smack the zombies down and press Z to instant kill them.

Mow down zombies with vehicles instead of taking on the entire horde including special zombies (ie. freaks).
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 24 2014, 11:09 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 24 2014, 08:09 AM)
Smack the zombies down and press Z to instant kill them.

Mow down zombies with vehicles instead of taking on the entire horde including special zombies (ie. freaks).
ya ya now i doing better.

i got backup save game also.

much better.

now marcus macam superman liao, maxed all skills, except cardio (5) and shooting (2)

but i think i specialize wrong weapon for macus ... sad.gif

i choose edge.

should have choose heavy weapons or others ... marcus dem strong ahahahah.
kianweic
post Jun 24 2014, 11:17 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 24 2014, 11:09 AM)
ya ya now i doing better.

i got backup save game also.

much better.

now marcus macam superman liao, maxed all skills, except cardio (5) and shooting (2)

but i think i specialize wrong weapon for macus ... sad.gif

i choose edge.

should have choose heavy weapons or others ... marcus dem strong ahahahah.
Also, when clearing infestation.

Best to slowly shoot from outside until the zombies thinned out. Remember to use silencers for your guns when possible.

The earlier version had some issues of spawning too many zombies.

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 24 2014, 11:21 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 24 2014, 11:17 AM)
Also, when clearing infestation.

Best to slowly shoot from outside until the zombies thinned out. Remember to use silencers for your guns when possible.

The earlier version had some issues of spawning too many zombies.
ya, take silenced rifle then pop their heads from outsides, them screamers very kacau.
kianweic
post Jun 25 2014, 09:04 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 24 2014, 11:21 AM)
ya, take silenced rifle then pop their heads from outsides, them screamers very kacau.
I find the other freak (ie. the one which jumps on the player) to be far more annoying.

Btw, where are you up to? I felt the main game, towards the end seems to be a rush as compared to the earlier part of the game.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 25 2014, 10:54 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Jun 25 2014, 09:04 AM)
I find the other freak (ie. the one which jumps on the player) to be far more annoying.

Btw, where are you up to? I felt the main game, towards the end seems to be a rush as compared to the earlier part of the game.
ooo i just moved into the warehouse.
ed recovered liao.

i have not done the other quests yet.

memento available - go back to ranger station find watch

and other 4 more
- army
- wilkersons
- find missing guy jack
- court house
kianweic
post Jun 26 2014, 10:40 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 25 2014, 10:54 AM)
ed recovered liao.

and other 4 more
- army
- wilkersons
- find missing guy jack
- court house
Out of the church, then to the bungalow in the middle of the town and then ware house? The truck warehouse?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 26 2014, 10:50 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

no lar, no bungalow.

terus truck warehouse.

yeah the big one.
kianweic
post Jun 26 2014, 10:57 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 26 2014, 10:50 AM)
no lar, no bungalow.

terus truck warehouse.

yeah the big one.
Track warehouse is awesome man.

Either of the bungalows are not strategic. Always encounter hordes.
john_white
post Jun 27 2014, 06:28 AM

17 posts

after u finish this game
play with trainer
it time to clear the city from the zombie
not gonna happen

kianweic
post Jun 27 2014, 07:18 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(john_white @ Jun 27 2014, 06:28 AM)
after u finish this game
play with trainer
it time to clear the city from the zombie
not gonna happen
Zombies respawn in the game.
briantwj
post Jun 27 2014, 07:22 PM

Pierluigi Collina
3,968 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 25 2014, 10:54 AM)
ed recovered liao.

and other 4 more
- army
- wilkersons
- find missing guy jack
- court house
careful if u decide to go back to the lake camp to get Lily's father's memento. Better bring a fren along with 100 influence.

THe first time that I play SoD, my main character Marcus was killed by Feral when I go back to get the memento. I recall there were hordes, feral and screamer in the lake camp there. Damn tough if u go alone. maybe it was random spawn or wad. But juz bring sum1 with u. safer. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by briantwj: Jun 27 2014, 07:23 PM
kianweic
post Jun 28 2014, 08:20 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Anybody started the Life Line DLC?

Some of the survivors I am supposed to rescue are dead and therefore I restart the game.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0326sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:25 PM