5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!

MetalZone
post Aug 23 2006, 11:39 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 23 2006, 10:56 PM)
evo.com, I'm not sure if you heard of Roy Buchanan, but it's a shame that I only discover him so late. This is the video that got me interested in him :
http://youtube.com/watch?v=yIz4PV9e1k8&mode=related&search=
Hey Joe... he's one the could make the guitar cry, literally. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif Superb raw tone and emotive playing.
Wow.... I like that. amazing control and emotion...
MetalZone
post Aug 26 2006, 11:31 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Aug 26 2006, 08:40 PM)
wow man....i've to get a new tremolo bar...Herman Lee is really crazy and humurous......impressed with the last voice, 'break ur guitar string'......i dun even dare to do that on my guitar....

btw...i found that my guitar will get out of tune after i pull the tremolo bar hard....press and pull it......what's the problem actually? string problem? i'm using GHS boomer GBL series 010-046
QUOTE(evo.com @ Aug 26 2006, 10:23 PM)
go to the ibanezrulez website and check the tech section...
no... its not the strings smile.gif
its rare to find a floyd rose will come back 100% in tune after a pull up (rare but there are some lucky ones that come back perfect dive or pull up). But it will normally be back in tune once u do a dive.
My RG1570's Edge Pro comes back 100% in tune after a full dive, but will almost always be slightly out of perfect tune after a pull up.
Most importantly ur strings have to be fully stretched otherwise it will surely go out of tune after any hardcore whammy stuff.

check out the ibanezrules website as evo suggested. very informative. you may wanna check out jemsite as well.

since u changed ur string gauge, i supposed u should have already increase the trem string tension to counter the extra gauge.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Aug 26 2006, 11:34 PM
MetalZone
post Sep 2 2006, 10:45 PM

2,515 posts

Pix or Whackerz gonna be here soon tongue.gif
MetalZone
post Sep 2 2006, 10:58 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Sep 2 2006, 10:52 PM)
Is there a way to replace the whammy on my crap-strat to a better one? Maybe a fender built one or something? Wouldn't mind a floyd rose..... but I know that retuning would be a nightmare.
is yours a vintage style trem or the type with two pole studs using a knife edge?
For the least hassle you could replace it with a similar type.

It is possible to put an FR, but probably not worth the amount of work and costs. You have to route the trem cavity, fix in the stud post anchor's, add a locking nut... etc...
MetalZone
post Sep 2 2006, 11:07 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Sep 2 2006, 11:00 PM)
FR is fun to play with, but I just can't be bothered with the hassle of tuning up.
Actually tuning it isn't as bad as you think. It's just changing strings that is the real hassle. Once you got it tuned up and the strings are fully stretched, lock the locking nut, fine tune, and its no longer really a hassle. It will hold its tune very well for pretty long actually, provided the temperature changes are not drastic. Once in a while, a fine tune, just like any normal guitar, and you're all set.
But alternate tunings are a nightmare for FR's.
MetalZone
post Sep 7 2006, 12:39 AM

2,515 posts

Uh lol...
But i do know that if the girl knows how to play the guitar, it adds another medium of interaction.

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 7 2006, 12:34 AM)
hey guys, wasup? just back from traveling to penang
welcome back wink.gif

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Sep 7 2006, 12:40 AM
MetalZone
post Sep 7 2006, 10:57 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 7 2006, 09:36 PM)
anyone here tried the ibanez trem...such as edge, edge pro, edge III, lo-pro and etc..... any comment on it? original floyd rose probably?
the reason i ask this is i'm goin to change my ibanez grg270 trem... it really sucks....always out of tune.... any recommendation?
first of all, is your trem setup properly and the strings fully stretched? if this is not done correctly, whatever trem you have won't do any justice.
but then again, the trem you have (ILT1) is the lowest of the lowest ibanez puts on their guitars. changing it, mind you will be a very very complicated issue, and probably not something you can DIY unless you really know what you are doing. the stud distance may not be the same. you may have to redrill and fix new stud anchors. aside from that its highly possible that you will also have to route the trem cavity to fit the new trem. try posting on jemsite and see what response you get. there are people there who are much more knowledgeable on technical stuff like this.

on the other topic... i use .009's on my FR, and 0.010's on my non-FR. any higher i will have fatigue if i try bending strings laugh.gif my fingers aint that strong yet

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Sep 7 2006, 11:02 PM
MetalZone
post Sep 8 2006, 12:36 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 7 2006, 11:53 PM)
yea, thicker strings make it easier to get pinch harmonics.
hmm on that note... i find it hard to do pinch harmonics on the lower strings. higher strings are much easier. well the fact that my low E is 0.042" isn't what you would call thick but i guess that shouldn't be the limiting factor. i don't know why, may be the positioning, for thumb to hit the right spot, or maybe it's not even hitting the string at all. dry.gif i have to try really hard to angle my hand in some way, and it doesn't feel natural. My problem doesn't seem to happen on the higher strings though.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Sep 8 2006, 12:38 AM
MetalZone
post Sep 11 2006, 01:17 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Sep 11 2006, 12:55 PM)
I have an idea, since Blacktrix has a drum set and bass... let's go to his house! tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
I second this tongue.gif tongue.gif
MetalZone
post Sep 11 2006, 05:21 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Sep 11 2006, 04:54 PM)
My holidays are in October....... I dunno about the rest of yous.....
i don't that much of a holiday until the end of nov...
MetalZone
post Sep 11 2006, 10:56 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 11 2006, 10:24 PM)
october is ok i guess. if no one could pick me up then i'll go empty handed and use blacktrix's guitar
if i know how to get to ur place maybe i can pick u up.
MetalZone
post Sep 11 2006, 11:02 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 11 2006, 10:59 PM)
yay! do u know jalan semarak? near celcom tower/wisma felda/UTM KL/wisma tanah. my house is near that area.
yikes... that part of KL ar... i always buta jalan wan. somehow find my way there by following signboards from jln tun razak. i went to UTM once before and that was how i got to know jln semarak, but then again, i haven't been there in ages. haha.
MetalZone
post Sep 11 2006, 11:36 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 11 2006, 11:06 PM)
lol. what if i draw a map for u? if u cant find its alrite. feel so paiseh
haha. can also.
MetalZone
post Sep 12 2006, 04:36 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 12 2006, 04:09 PM)
plus they cant ship most major brands outside of the US.
yeah. they said some binding contract that they cant sell those stuff outside US.
MetalZone
post Sep 12 2006, 08:15 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Sep 12 2006, 06:44 PM)
Man...... Too bad my guitar fund is drained from my Zakk Wylde LP for this year..... otherwise I would love to buy your LP.......

And how about a store like this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/DEAN-DIMEBAG-DARRELL-R...1QQcmdZViewItem

Are they REALLY free shipping??
well since it says so then it should be. its probably bundled into the price of the guitar anyway. typical shipping for a guitar internationally probably around 100-150USD. better make sure it ships with a hardcase though.
MetalZone
post Sep 14 2006, 08:19 PM

2,515 posts

waahhhh WTH??? thats a super good price!!! how many units do they have?
btrix that was a really quick impulse buy... all i can do i is sit here... all my money went to the guitar already....

echo... u grab him i grab the vox (i'm not strong enuff), then u better fast fast run to my car...

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Sep 14 2006, 08:22 PM
MetalZone
post Sep 14 2006, 11:10 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Sep 14 2006, 10:16 PM)
I'm going...... probably with some bodyguards and a picture of echobrain, Monny and Led_zep freak.....
fortunately u don't have my picture... oh wait.. nevermind... tongue.gif
MetalZone
post Sep 18 2006, 07:11 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 18 2006, 06:23 PM)
a well known guitar luthier
errr... i thought he is a guitar tech, not a luthier?
MetalZone
post Sep 18 2006, 08:48 PM

2,515 posts

interesting tremolo invented by the swede's

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52280
MetalZone
post Sep 21 2006, 07:15 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Sep 21 2006, 06:30 PM)
Everdying , u have paul gilbert's new album?
Get out of my Yard? I want also....

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0234sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:53 PM