Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 21 2019, 10:24 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Apr 20 2019, 07:59 PM)
Today i went to harverynorman.. so i asked the sales person to test LGSK9 connect to nu8000 demo tv. 1 person wanted to test. Another person stopped him wanted to know why ? So i claimed i worry if ARC doesn't works between.
3rd person suggested to use optical cable instead of arc. I claimed there is some restriction.
Then they claimed yes will have problem with ARC why not just get samsung sound bar should be compatible..

I condemn samsung tv sound system itself sucks, soundbar i have no confident.
Another person challenged me do you know who build sound system for samsung is "harmon kardon" own by them.
He showed me one of the samsung sound bar which written "samsung harmonkardon" top of it..

they want ppl use additional sound system ofcoz will not design highend in tv, business factor.
Then i had no choice went to check other bars again . now diff sales person.. he suggested to get YAS207.. tested side to side. with sony 9000F...
Ofcos YAS207 tremendous i agree.. this plug and play no settings needed..
He claimed 100% sure YAMAHA and SONY ARC works but LG not. YAMAHA is true dolby they just wanted to enter market with first dts surround sound bar to kill other brands. High selling model according to him.
He asked better dont get SK9Y.. if not much source connecting to sound bar then 1 hdmi in enough..
According to him he did fix soundbars at customer house and arc not detected so use optical..

None of them talked about high speed ethernet HDMI ARC issue.. damn it..

I think you guys should be sales person there to explain customer in detail..hahaha

Which brand hdmi is advisable brothers, i personally have 3. The last i bought is kameha brand..
In my experience, most TV and speakers salesmen in places like Harvey Norman, Best Denki etc, have no idea what they are talking about other than trying to sell you stuff. Lol.

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 21 2019, 01:07 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(nazanto @ Apr 21 2019, 11:15 AM)
hi guys. i need some help in my connection setup.
i have a Yamaha YAS 207 that i plan to connect with my devices which are PS4 & Astro setup box.
So my current tv is this model Toshiba.
It has 3 hdmi(1 arc) and Digital Audio Output (Coaxial).
So i tried to connect the soundbar through hdmi, theres no sound coming out from Astro. So what i did, i plug astro & ps4 (whichever im using it) through the soundbar only then the sound is there. i think a hdmi splitter will work, but if thats the case the chromecast still wont work with it.

Can anyone suggest what should i do to ensure all these 3 things(astro,ps4 & tv built in Chromecast) will work with the sound bar. cry.gif  cry.gif
Not enough info. Not quiet understand what you did, but.

A simple setup would be:
1) Soundbar to TV HDMI ARC. TV Digital Coax/Optical out to Soundbar Digital Coax/Optical In.
2) PS4 to TV HDMI ( Connect to 4K HDR Capable HDMI, check TV manual which one).
3) Astro connect to soundbar via HDMI? If there is no sound, check for settings in Astro. If still cannot maybe you need to use the analog connectors from Astro box to your soundbar (i assume your soundbar has analog inputs.).
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 22 2019, 10:10 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 22 2019, 02:38 AM)
This is not a good solution provide by the sales person, only using optical if the TV don't have HDMI ARC.

Optical only support 2 Channel Stereo PCM, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital EX, DTS Digital Sound and DTS-ES.

Optical not support 5.1/7.1 Multi-channel PCM, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Atmos, DTS-HD MA, DTS:X and also Auro3D Audio and required HDMI due to Optical bandwith not enough issue.
Actually, current ARC implementation doesn't support any of those. It's pretty much same as optical, only DD and DTS 5.1. DD+ is hit and miss at best. Only advantage of ARC currently is CEC.

We have to wait for future implementation of eARC to get proper implementation.

https://www.lifewire.com/audio-return-channel-1846845

I am curious, do you get DD True HD, DD Atmos etc from your TV to your soundbar via ARC?
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 22 2019, 10:39 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 22 2019, 10:34 AM)
ic

so it means if I get a 1st gen hdmi, those 2008 or earlier ones

and I plug it to a current tv n soundbar with ARC , its going to work as per normal? regardless of 1.4 or 2.0 ? as long the hdmi cable that era is built as high speed cable with ethernet?
I can't say for sure your HDMI cables back in 2008 capable of high speed or not. If wanna be sure, just buy a UGREEN cable lah...cheap only. In fact i have a UGREEN 3M cable capable of 4k60p lying around the house, bought wrongly (too long, need shorter). If you want can PM me. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 22 2019, 10:40 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 22 2019, 10:53 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 22 2019, 10:50 AM)
hahahah no need

I recycle some old usable cables

seems hor, those come with the box or tv or equipment ones work ok

and as what you say, get those a bit reputable or brands cable better, no name 3rd party cheap and not workable
its like those days when ppl say all hdmi are the same, its just 1 and 0 , but when u plug it in, basket, doesn't work, especially for ARC or CEC
yeah, usually those came with the equipments are good quality. Like if you got PS4, use the HDMI cable that comes with PS4 to test.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 22 2019, 12:05 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 22 2019, 11:59 AM)
I can't said it is support, it is required, you need connect your multimedia devices to the Soundbar HDMI-IN and later Soundbar HDMI ARC to TV ARC.
Direct connect device to TV ARC then not support.
ic, basically this means the traditional way of sending the signal to the soundbar/AVR for decode, not returning via ARC.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 22 2019, 06:25 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 22 2019, 04:41 PM)
till today, my cheapo ear can't tell diff btwn DD or TrueHD

last week, I change all my analogue cables to something of better quality, spending quite a bit of money for me, and.... sounds the same hahahah
Maybe you don't have the right source? I have tested a couple of DD True HD and DTS-MA, can tell the difference significantly.

All my cables are cheap. Ayam cheap jing. laugh.gif
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 23 2019, 11:47 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 23 2019, 11:30 AM)
hahahahah
what ben says its very true kekeke

I have been trying this when they 1st launch HD audio, remember I bought the 1st gen HD receiver

switch dd then true hd no difference, anyway I give up on this dy, just make sure I enjoy the whole experience

@avfan boss, don't see my sound system no up la, other than SB I also doing Atmos on AVR la
audio sounds best when u dig ur ears clean clean, trust me kekekekek
I have ear wax problem also...sometimes if after done some ear vacumming by the doctor, then my ears can hear super sharp like tingling like spiderman... haha. You must try it!
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 26 2019, 02:26 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Apr 26 2019, 10:33 AM)
buying my 1st entry level sound bar... not an audio enthusiast, was using normal cheap2 2.1 pc speakers all this while.. help me decide  laugh.gif

shortlisted these models, mainly because of the price:

- Samsung 150W 2.1Ch Flat Soundbar HW-K350/XM RM3XX
- A&S 2.1 Bar with Built-In Subwoofer 200 RM250
- Sony 2 ch Single Soundbar HT-S100F RM360 or so

1 thing I like about the A&S is the built-in subwoofer, saves more space, easier to put in my living room
sound quality wise I believe the HW-K350 is the best among these 3
I read that the Sony is really good at that price point
I haven't heard the sound quality, so won't comment on that. But feature wise, the Samsung does not have a HDMI ARC port. At this price point, it is probably not an issue though.

I think all the soundbar are very compact, the Samsung subwoofer is a passive subwoofer and is relatively small. Not those big ass subwoofer i think, so just choose the one with the sound you feel best without worrying about size.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 27 2019, 07:09 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Apr 27 2019, 11:10 AM)
This soundbar LG SK9Y got promotion at SenHeng sibu grand opening. Rm1999 but 40% ez credit (RM799). Deduct that about RM1200 which is good buy
What!!! Rm 1200!!! Buy now, wait for what!!! Too bad ayam not in Sibu...
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 29 2019, 05:02 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ Apr 29 2019, 04:05 PM)
Hi guys, looking for soundbar recommendation.
budget around RM1000-2000 perhaps? hvnt really look into it yet so no idea roughly how much would it be.
RM1000 to RM2000 very big range different wor. How to recommend like that???

First thing is you should test it out at showrooms like Harvey Norman. And then go somewhere else to buy. laugh.gif

I check out TVs at HN, then buy from Lapsada....test out soundbar at HN, then bought from DESA....haha.

Psst. don't tell HN...

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 29 2019, 05:03 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 29 2019, 05:20 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ Apr 29 2019, 05:07 PM)
but what to look out for in buying sound bar? HDMI / optical connectivity etc? or anything to take note?
Depends on what you want...I cannot say it for you. What i want is not what you want.

I think all soundbars will have optical connectivity for those around RM1K and above.

You have to understand the features you want, then look out for those models within your budget and test them out.

Features you probably should look out for (whether you want them is depends on you):
1. Multiple HDMI in (usually soundbars have very few HDMI in, not a critical point as a HDMI Switch can solve the problem, but you will need to pay more).
2. Passthrough of 4K60p HDR - This is important if you want to have Media box to pass in this or play PS4 Pro and future consoles.
3. Decode standard - Dolby Digital, DTS, DD Atmos etc. Usually i think you will only get Atmos around RM2k soundbar. If you intend to watch lots of Bluray or download large files with DD Atmos. Otherwise, not needed.
4. Separate subwoofer - for sound quality purpose or space constraint purpose. For me example, i already have a good subwoofer, so i chose a soundbar with an external subwoofer output port(not all soundbar have this, usually those come with a subwoofer will not have this).

So you think carefully what you want first.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 29 2019, 05:22 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 30 2019, 09:51 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ Apr 30 2019, 09:35 AM)
1. yeah this it seem i need it, need to connect multiple electronic, TV, PS4 pro, TV box.
2. OK so this must have lo, because will be using PS4 pro.
3. Decode standard should be all sound bar quite standardize rite. except atmos dont think i need it. casual user only
4. I think better to have those with subwoofer as a set. I dont have a subwoofer but dont think will be sufficient.

ok thanks, what else do i need to take note of? how about ARC is it important?
Current implementation of ARC is cacat. It works but not perfect and may have compatibility issues. But i believe all soundbar at around RM1K range above should have this. If you are using a Smart or Android TV, and you are using the TV NETFLIX ex, then you need to return the sound to the soundbar. Based on my personal experience, the HDMI ARC is dodgy, sometimes work, sometimes doesn't.

And even if it works, i encountered audio delay (logical...video displayed on TV, then only pass to soundbar/AVR). If the TV doesn't have option to delay the video (so that the audio can catch up to the video in the soundbar), then you will have this issue. 2 ways to solve this audio sync problem:
1. Use the optical connector to return sound from TV to soundbar. This solves the problem maybe 98%. Close enough, but in reality there is still a slight audio delay but not noticeable.

2. Use an external Android TV box to play your Netflix or whatever by hooking to the HDMI IN of the soundbar. This will guarantee to get rid of audio delays as the audio will get processed first before video passed to TV. If audio is too fast, you can delay the audio in maybe your soundbar (depends if got settings or not...low end probably don;t have) or your player software. Usually this is best bet solution.

Anyway, it depends on the TV and soundbar you have, if your HDMI ARC works without any noticeable delays, then great! You don't have to worry.

Btw, you can also connect your PS4 Pro directly to the TV. Ensure it is connected to a HDMI which support 4K 60p and HDR (Usually, not all the HDMI IN port support it, maybe 1 or 2 ports only). But again, you might face audio delay function as above as the sound will rely on the HDMI ARC to go back to the sound bar.

PS: If you need a subwoofer, then yes, get a soundbar with subwooofer, make sure it's wireless subwoofer!

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 30 2019, 09:54 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 30 2019, 11:57 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ Apr 30 2019, 11:33 AM)
Ok understand, so from what you explained. The issue will be HDMI ARC connection problem between TV & soundbar.
So if HDMI ARC connectivity got audio / video delay then will need to use optical cable to connect between TV & soundbar.

Lastly if there is still audio / video delay then best will be stand alone connectivity, example PS4 pro use HDMI/optical cable direct connect to soundbar, TV box use HDMI direct connect to sound bar. But does a soundbar has so many HDMI / optical IN? from what i count i need at least 2 HDMI IN + optical IN (for PS4 pro, TV box and the TV). it is correct this way?
Yep, that is exactly correct. thumbup.gif

Usually most soundbar in RM1K range will have at least 2 (1 HDMI-IN, 1 HDMI ARC). The higher end more expensive soundbar will have 3 HDMI-IN...usually i seen most also 3. Maybe the really expensive one like RM 4k to RM 5k got 4 HDMIs or more.

One solution is to use a HDMI switch. However, if there is only 1 HDMI-IN you will need to make sure the HDMI switch support 4K60p HDR for your PS4 Pro and future devices (these type of HDMI Switch still seems rare/expensive and i am not sure if will work. Saw cheap ones like RM 60++ to nearly RM200 for expensive ones).
SUSskyforcerld
post May 1 2019, 04:12 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ May 1 2019, 08:13 AM)
Was browsing yesterday, saw LG SK8, SK9Y and Yamaha YAS-207 these 3 are look good for my budget range. Guess I need to go shop to test it out 1st.
Please dont buy SK8. Outdated model. It is only HDMI 1.4 and doesnt support 4K60p HDR passthrough.
SUSskyforcerld
post May 2 2019, 09:00 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(under1818 @ May 1 2019, 11:29 PM)
hello, i'm interested to buy atmos soundbar...
most of the time i watched downloaded movies from my pc to my LG TV..

in order to enjoy atmos, how should i configure them?
just connect hdmi from PC to TV, and connect HDMI from TV to Soundbar?
or i also need atmos capable TV?

my current non atmos setup is hdmi cable from PC to TV, audio cable from TV to speakers..

thanks for helping!
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 2 2019, 01:39 AM)
HDMI from PC to SoundBar HDMI-IN.

SoundBar HDMI ARC to TV HDMI ARC.

Only this connection let you enjoy Atmos.

So make sure you get a SoundBar that is Atmos capable and also support 4K HDR pass-through.
Another thing to take note is to make sure your PC capable of 4K and HDR, if you want to playback 4K with HDR.

SUSskyforcerld
post May 2 2019, 11:00 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ May 1 2019, 08:49 PM)
I am casual user, mostly watch youtube, drama, movie, play PS4 and listen spotify which hardly have any dobly atmos or even DTS:X so i think i dont need to look at LG SK9Y.

Then Yamaha YAS-207 will be sufficient for my usage already since it support 4K HDR pass-through for my PS4 pro. It also got 1 HMDI In | 1HDMI Out | 1 Optical In | 1 Analog In, look pretty much sufficient for me to connect PS4 pro, TV box and TV.

Andrewtst, thanks for your explanation and very useful info. Appreciate your help so much. Cheers :thumbsup:

Lol now need to source where to get the most value worth Yamaha YAS-207
I think i saw online Rm 13xx for YAS-207, i think that is the cheapest i saw.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: May 2 2019, 11:01 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post May 2 2019, 11:34 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 2 2019, 11:30 AM)
Harvey Norman also that price. I think that is common price.
Is it? I thought i saw RM 1499 at HN.

YAS-108 they already sell at RM 1100.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: May 2 2019, 11:35 AM
SUSskyforcerld
post May 3 2019, 08:32 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(MorningBoyz @ May 2 2019, 11:49 AM)
ya went to HN yesterday to test they only got YAS-207 show unit and price at 1499. Which outlet you saw 1399?

also they dont have LG SK9Y for me to test. need to go other place to test.
I suggest Desa Home in Kepong. Guaranteed cheaper there.
SUSskyforcerld
post May 4 2019, 09:09 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ May 3 2019, 03:00 AM)
Want a good soundbar? Jbl 3.1 is the way to go
I think this one one mahal right?

Honestly, the best soundbar i have heard is the Yamaha YSP series 5600 or something, the mid range 2700 also very good. The sound beam projection is amazing, the surround effect better than my 5.1 setup. But you must have proper room with reflective walls.

What Dolby Atmos DTS:X soundbar also no fight.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: May 4 2019, 09:12 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0690sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:51 AM