Hardware white macbook stain issue, yellow icky stains on palmrest

TSsupafreak
post Jun 13 2006, 01:57 PM, updated 20y ago

188 posts

Any macbook owners facing this problem?... i might change my order to the black one now...
Eithanius
post Jun 13 2006, 02:04 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(supafreak @ Jun 13 2006, 01:57 PM)

Any macbook owners facing this problem?... i might change my order to the black one now...
Stain or discoloration...? unsure.gif unsure.gif

I found this one....

http://appleinsider.com/article.php?id=1802
Bahir.
post Jun 13 2006, 02:21 PM

121 posts

This is soo disappointing..I was looking forward to getting an MB but now im starting to reconsider it a lil..its a lot of money to put down on a machine that starts to look like that after just 2-3 weeks of use.
phoenix
post Jun 13 2006, 03:49 PM

Life is all about running...
2,529 posts

I don't think this is avoidable. Same goes to other white things. When new looks darn nice, but when kena stain, that's it. That's part of life. Unless you stick those non-adhesive clear cover over the rest or wear a glove. tongue.gif
TSsupafreak
post Jun 13 2006, 05:35 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Jun 13 2006, 03:49 PM)
I don't think this is avoidable. Same goes to other white things. When new looks darn nice, but when kena stain, that's it. That's part of life. Unless you stick those non-adhesive clear cover over the rest or wear a glove. tongue.gif
the thing is, if u read most of the comments in macnn forums, macrumors and the apple site itself, the discoloration is not caused by glove or dirty hands... it's juz the stupid polyurethane shell tat houses the lappie sucks...

i think if sitck the clear cover and if the stain still appears, then *** lor... but i think i'll buy the black one now... dont need the stupid drama of a dirty lappie after 2 wks!... :-)
phoenix
post Jun 13 2006, 05:41 PM

Life is all about running...
2,529 posts

QUOTE(supafreak @ Jun 13 2006, 05:35 PM)
the thing is, if u read most of the comments in macnn forums, macrumors and the apple site itself, the discoloration is not caused by glove or dirty hands... it's juz the stupid polyurethane shell tat houses the lappie sucks...

i think if sitck the clear cover and if the stain still appears, then *** lor... but i think i'll buy the black one now... dont need the stupid drama of a dirty lappie after 2 wks!... :-)
Sorry ar. Didn't really go and read the comments. Anyway, good for you that you decided on the black. Remember to post some pics later. I aslo wanna buy but currently already short on cash after buying iPod. sad.gif
faceythingy
post Jun 13 2006, 06:48 PM

53 posts

after reading about the discoloration on the white macbooks i am seriously reconsidering on getting a macbook :S hopefully the 2nd batch wont have these issues. very *^&%$& la of apple to even have this problem tongue.gif pelik pelik..
uchan
post Jun 13 2006, 07:23 PM

427 posts

wa.. quite serious like that....

Source from appleinsider.com T_T it looked like burn stain..

Thrust
post Jun 13 2006, 07:29 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

That is why i bought an IBM ThinkPad rather than other notebooks tongue.gif
aaronchin
post Jun 13 2006, 08:18 PM

251 posts

Oh man, poor white MacBook owners... another reason to go with the black MacBook, or MBP. wink.gif
aaronchin
post Jun 13 2006, 08:19 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jun 13 2006, 10:29 PM)
That is why i bought an IBM ThinkPad rather than other notebooks tongue.gif
Can your ThinkPad run both Windows XP and Mac OS X? tongue.gif
faceythingy
post Jun 13 2006, 08:48 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(aaronchin @ Jun 13 2006, 08:18 PM)
Oh man, poor white MacBook owners... another reason to go with the black MacBook, or MBP. wink.gif
hafta spend more $$$ rclxms.gif

tongue.gif
lokgotz
post Jun 14 2006, 12:48 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

oh man.....i have super sweaty hands.....

i dont care if it's the polyurethane that causes this....i still think that sweaty hands will contribute a bit......

TSsupafreak
post Jun 14 2006, 09:30 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jun 14 2006, 12:48 AM)
oh man.....i have super sweaty hands.....

i dont care if it's the polyurethane that causes this....i still think that sweaty hands will contribute a bit......
dude... i dont think sweaty hands does tat... it does look more like the heat frm the processor tat's causing this... i wonder if anyone dismantled the machine to see how it looks like frm the inside after it's stained... hmmm...

viva la blackbook!...
an2blues
post Jun 14 2006, 09:49 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(aaronchin @ Jun 13 2006, 08:19 PM)
Can your ThinkPad run both Windows XP and Mac OS X? tongue.gif
what i know....
IBM PM 1.7Ghz can run Tiger x86 and XP... also can run XP under Tiger x86
etsuko
post Jun 14 2006, 09:56 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

talk bout using cheap quality finishes.. sigh..
Bahir.
post Jun 14 2006, 10:16 AM

121 posts

A good point to bring up at this point is that a lot of the MBs with the problems have been released with the serial numbers that are pretty close to each other..From reading the Apple Support thread, the serials have been mostly 4H62x and even a few reports of 4H619..So hopefully, it could be an isolated issue affecting the "4H6" serial numbers..

Oh and just for reference, based on a post on that thread, a MB with the serial number "4H621" would mean for

Factory 4H
6 -> 2006
21 -> 21st week

So, the MB was made in the 21st week of 2006 in factory 4H..but again, this is just something i read on an Apple discussion thread.. wink.gif
vandetta
post Jun 14 2006, 02:46 PM

658 posts

Thx bahir. for the info tongue.gif
if the discoloration is caused by the heat, hv to use it infront of fan / aircond lorr.. tongue.gif damn it i called the shops where i ordered MB but they said suppose to be middle of this month, but it'salready middle of the month rclxub.gif
TSsupafreak
post Jun 15 2006, 01:27 PM

188 posts

guys... i checked wit the editor of macworld, and apparently he said tat the discoloration issue is sporadic... it's not on all machines...

"We haven't seen it at all in any of our units here -- it appears to be a sporadic problem.

-jason
--

Jason Snell / VP and Editorial Director, Macworld / jsnell@macworld.com"

Bahir, mayb ur rationale is very true...
Bahir.
post Jun 15 2006, 01:43 PM

121 posts

I hope so..but we'll see i guess...had read somewhere that Apple has had issues in the past where the problem has been isolated to a particular factory..as recent as the MBPs and the "warping" battery issue were only targeted at a specific serial number set...those with MBs here, what are your serial numbers..? Maybe the Asian market is getting it from a different factory..
faceythingy
post Jun 15 2006, 06:48 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(Bahir. @ Jun 15 2006, 01:43 PM)
I hope so..but we'll see i guess...had read somewhere that Apple has had issues in the past where the problem has been isolated to a particular factory..as recent as the MBPs and the "warping" battery issue were only targeted at a specific serial number set...those with MBs here, what are your serial numbers..? Maybe the Asian market is getting it from a different factory..
Hopefully asian units are from a different factory. Somehow I'm kinda afraid of getting a macbook anytime soon tongue.gif just too risky to buy something that might age 3 years in 3 weeks!
Eithanius
post Jun 15 2006, 09:00 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(faceythingy @ Jun 15 2006, 06:48 PM)
Hopefully asian units are from a different factory. Somehow I'm kinda afraid of getting a macbook anytime soon tongue.gif just too risky to buy something that might age 3 years in 3 weeks!
why risky....? my G5 became prehistoric 2 months after i bought it.... tongue.gif tongue.gif
prasys
post Jun 15 2006, 09:58 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Nothing , its standard..Even my iBook is like that...Its not a biggie , I dont care about it.....
Bahir.
post Jun 16 2006, 10:44 AM

121 posts

UNLESS....... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Custom Coloured MacBooks

I personally would go with the Dragon Green...
jonyeow
post Jun 16 2006, 11:12 AM

is it possible to claim warranty on a discolouration problem?
TSsupafreak
post Jun 16 2006, 03:00 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(jonyeow @ Jun 16 2006, 11:12 AM)
is it possible to claim warranty on a discolouration problem?
most probably no... cause it's a cosmetic issue...
faceythingy
post Jun 17 2006, 08:06 PM

53 posts

sayang laaa it's not like macbooks are 15ringgit mouse u know tongue.gif dont wanna buy something that expensive thatll look ugly in a couple of weeks tongue.gif

the coloured macbooks are nice! i wonder if we can get it here in msia
vandetta
post Jun 18 2006, 03:19 AM

658 posts

my 3-years-old ibook never face the discoloration prob like that, i wonder if they use other material than the ibook, but the white plastic not supposed to change the colour to orange/brown unless they paint the brown/orrange plastic with white paint tongue.gif
Bahir.
post Jun 23 2006, 05:00 PM

121 posts

Im sorry to bring this up again, but to those lucky devils already with the MacBooks, has anyone seen the discolouration come up yet..? To my estimate it should be about 3 weeks since the first few LYN posters have begun receiving the MacBooks...anyone..?

Still hoping itll be a contained case though..
hairol83
post Jun 26 2006, 09:48 AM

344 posts

huh...the discoloration makes me shiver to buy MacBook!

any solution guys?
edkwh
post Jul 5 2006, 11:26 AM

45 posts

Unfortunately, I am facing the stain issues on MacBook White 2.0Ghz. There are yellow stains at the trackpad click button. Called AppleCare and they asked me to bring the MacBook to the nearest service provider. Will bring it in soon and see what happens.

Hope Apple Malaysia follows the same policy as Apple USA and they'll replace the top cover.

Will keep things updated.
lokgotz
post Jul 5 2006, 11:30 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

how long have u used your MB??

edkwh
post Jul 5 2006, 11:56 AM

45 posts

It has only been a week. Not using any hand lotions, dirty hands, too sweaty, etc. Even if I had those, Apple should have forseen those factors yeah? Apparently newer MacBooks don't have this problem anymore as they changed the plastic used to make the cover.

The AppleCentre operator said that she haven't heard any reports of this issue from Malaysian customers but she is not sure if her other colleagues have.

This post has been edited by edkwh: Jul 5 2006, 06:40 PM
d@odao
post Jul 5 2006, 12:01 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

oh..apple changed the plastic to make the cover...thn i wonder how to really tell which macbook is the newer macbook out there?...by week of manufacture frm the serial?...
lokgotz
post Jul 5 2006, 02:10 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(edkwh @ Jul 5 2006, 11:56 AM)
It has only been a week. Not using any hand lotions, dirty hands, too sweaty, etc. Even if I had those, Apple should have forseen those factors yeah? Apparently newers MacBooks don't have this problem anymore as they changed the plastic used to make the cover.

The AppleCentre operator said that she haven't heard any reports of this issue from Malaysian customers but she is not sure if her other colleagues have.
i have been using my MB for about 1 week also....so far no symptoms yet.....

i have SUPER sweaty hands and i have very dirty hands as well (coz always doing networking and cabling stuff in places that has a carpet full of dust)

i'll monitor my MB and update here also...
uchan
post Jul 5 2006, 09:15 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(hairol83 @ Jun 26 2006, 09:48 AM)
huh...the discoloration makes me shiver to buy MacBook!

any solution guys?
Then save your money smile.gif Dont buy apple tongue.gif
hairol83
post Jul 6 2006, 09:49 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(uchan @ Jul 5 2006, 09:15 PM)
Then save your money smile.gif Dont buy apple tongue.gif
already buy loh!!!
the low end 1... sweat.gif

artyca
post Jul 10 2006, 05:23 PM

53 posts

goddamit... i just got my Macbook last weekend and i checked the serial number and yup... it's 4H62x....
So far, so good... lemme see if it changes colour after awhile sad.gif
hairol83
post Jul 12 2006, 12:08 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Jul 10 2006, 05:23 PM)
goddamit... i just got my Macbook last weekend and i checked the serial number and yup... it's 4H62x....
So far, so good... lemme see if it changes colour after awhile sad.gif
what serial number u got? izit build 25 or 26 and above?
mine is 25.
lokgotz
post Jul 12 2006, 01:21 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

mine is 4H623BXXXXX

what does that mean???
lokgotz
post Jul 12 2006, 01:22 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Sorry, double posted...hehehe

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Jul 12 2006, 01:22 PM
artyca
post Jul 12 2006, 02:25 PM

53 posts

hairol... i think mine is 25 too... have to check later...
But so far, no issues with discoloration...
vandetta
post Jul 12 2006, 03:45 PM

658 posts

i recommend you guys google for this application - coconutIdentityCard
hairol83
post Jul 12 2006, 03:54 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Jul 12 2006, 02:25 PM)
hairol... i think mine is 25 too... have to check later...
But so far, no issues with discoloration...
emm..i hope so...any idea where to get any shield to protect our White MacBook? sweat.gif
hairol83
post Jul 12 2006, 03:55 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 12 2006, 01:21 PM)
mine is 4H623BXXXXX

what does that mean???
ur are build in week 23.. sweat.gif
artyca
post Jul 12 2006, 04:37 PM

53 posts

i don't know dude sad.gif
Lemme check with my apple store...
hairol83
post Jul 12 2006, 04:58 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Jul 12 2006, 04:37 PM)
i don't know dude sad.gif
Lemme check with my apple store...
let me know if you found 1..
artyca
post Jul 13 2006, 11:24 PM

53 posts

hairol... confirm... mine is 4H625 sad.gif But so far, no signs of discoloration at all... Keeping fingers crossed here.... If it discolours, hopefully it'll still be within the warranty period!
I have a Motorola Bluetooth headset that completely died a week after the 1 yr warranty period expired...
lokgotz
post Jul 13 2006, 11:35 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(hairol83 @ Jul 12 2006, 03:55 PM)
ur are build in week 23.. sweat.gif
wow...means mine is one of the older ones....and has more chances of discolouration??
artyca
post Jul 14 2006, 12:29 AM

53 posts

err.... dunno dude... time will tell...
hairol83
post Jul 14 2006, 09:52 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Jul 13 2006, 11:24 PM)
hairol... confirm... mine is 4H625 sad.gif But so far, no signs of discoloration at all... Keeping fingers crossed here.... If it discolours, hopefully it'll still be within the warranty period!
I have a Motorola Bluetooth headset that completely died a week after the 1 yr warranty period expired...
there's is nothing to be worried dude...mine also build on week 25.
and yeah..lets hope there is no discoloration issues on our MacBook. sweat.gif
hairol83
post Jul 14 2006, 09:56 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 13 2006, 11:35 PM)
wow...means mine is one of the older ones....and has more chances of discolouration??
if only u are a hygienic person...so, there should be no worry!
lokgotz
post Jul 14 2006, 12:26 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(hairol83 @ Jul 14 2006, 09:56 AM)
if only u are a hygienic person...so, there should be no worry!
ironically, i'm not.....

i am the most unhygenic person i know in my life.... doh.gif

the enter key, delete key and also the spacebar is a little black already on my MB....
hairol83
post Jul 14 2006, 02:40 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 14 2006, 12:26 PM)
ironically, i'm not.....

i am the most unhygenic person i know in my life.... doh.gif

the enter key, delete key and also the spacebar is a little black already on my MB....
then u should be worried!!! shakehead.gif
artyca
post Jul 14 2006, 04:17 PM

53 posts

hahaha... lokgotz... i always wash my hands before using my MB but i'm not sure how long i'll keep this habit up!
With the latest news that Malaysians should wash hands more often... maybe u should take heed of that as well smile.gif
lokgotz
post Jul 14 2006, 08:38 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(artyca @ Jul 14 2006, 04:17 PM)
hahaha... lokgotz... i always wash my hands before using my MB but i'm not sure how long i'll keep this habit up!
With the latest news that Malaysians should wash hands more often... maybe u should take heed of that as well smile.gif
i do wash my hands....but the thing is, my hand sweats.....no one would let me use their mouse when i am fixing their computers....that's how bad my hands are.... cry.gif
vandetta
post Jul 16 2006, 03:17 PM

658 posts

Poor you lokgotz, maybe you should try to wear glove lorr.. just kidding dude tongue.gif
Btw, i haven't heard any discoloration in Malaysia yet, since it's already around a month MacBook were here rclxms.gif
hairol83
post Jul 16 2006, 05:45 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Jul 16 2006, 03:17 PM)
Poor you lokgotz, maybe you should try to wear glove lorr.. just kidding dude  tongue.gif
Btw, i haven't heard any discoloration in Malaysia yet, since it's already around a month MacBook were here  rclxms.gif
Maybe Malaysian pepel are more hygienic than the "mat saleh" one!!! sweat.gif
hairol83
post Jul 19 2006, 12:14 PM

344 posts

it's oredi 2 weeks..no sign of discoloration!!! so grateful!!!! thumbup.gif
edkwh
post Aug 2 2006, 05:21 PM

45 posts

Updates from me. Quite a while ago, I posted regarding my trackpad button that looked burned, with black spots.

I sent my MacBook to one of the Apple Service Providers last Thursday. The engineer said it was the first time he encountered such issue. He just asked if I already contacted AppleCare and what they said about the problem. Then he said that a new replacement cover would arrive in 3-4 days time. I took my MacBook home and waited for them to call. They called yesterday and I went there today. The same guy was there, and I handed him the MacBook. After some 30-45 minutes of wait, he came out with the MacBook, with the whole top cover replaced, which includes: keyboard, palm rest, and trackpad.

Apple has officially recognized this problem:
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304058

So if anyone is facing this problem and it is bothering them, do contact AppleCare smile.gif
SUSMike3300
post Aug 3 2006, 08:38 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(hairol83 @ Jul 19 2006, 12:14 PM)
it's oredi 2 weeks..no sign of discoloration!!! so grateful!!!! thumbup.gif
You want your MB to be like that meh? Of course it's perfect condition that you and everybody wants it!

I've made a right choice and it looks cool though!!

Black 2.0 GHz Intel Core Duo with 1gig DDR2 SDRam thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Aug 3 2006, 08:40 PM
hairol83
post Aug 3 2006, 10:49 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Aug 3 2006, 08:38 PM)
You want your MB to be like that meh? Of course it's perfect condition that you and everybody wants it!
No lah...it is just that i'm glad that my Mac is still in good condition.
gaijin_otoko
post Aug 4 2006, 01:27 AM

118 posts

mine still ok too the ibook g4

keepin it clean as new hoho

0.0285sec    1.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:23 AM