117 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

SUSPink Spider
post Jan 29 2015, 05:42 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(melvin471 @ Jan 29 2015, 05:38 PM)
Thanks I guess I can't afford Rio anymore. Btw car has to service every month? yawn.gif
refer back my comment on insurance sleep.gif
db07mufan
post Jan 29 2015, 05:44 PM

3,705 posts

if u insist on a new car can get an axia or sth. stretch loan full stretch. Personally speaking the small amount of extra interest is offsetted by extra cashflow every month

If not 2nd hand car is better!

This post has been edited by db07mufan: Jan 29 2015, 05:45 PM
melvin471
post Jan 29 2015, 05:57 PM

228 posts

-

This post has been edited by melvin471: Jan 29 2015, 05:58 PM
j.passing.by
post Jan 29 2015, 07:01 PM

1,639 posts

Thanks I guess I can't afford Rio anymore. Btw car has to service every month? yawn.gif
Car service: get to know your car by reading its owner's manual... know things like how to jack up the car to change tyres, refill wiper fluid, when major parts needed to be change (a proper maintenance schedule instead of driving till the parts are worn out), etc... Usual engine oil change is on mileage, either every 5000 or 10,000 km...

Also get to know whether you really need to go to the distributor's service center or an authorised workshop or a normal workshop (like a tyre shop) to do simple service like oil change. They have different labour charges although the cost of the oil and parts may be the same. (In time, you will know where to buy the oil and filters and spark plugs... eliminating the markup by the workshops.)

How to know whether you can afford the car? It depends on whether you can afford the monthly installment (and the 1st down payment). Try to have a loan not more than 5 years for a 1st car. And about 3 years for a 2nd car.

Car insurance: get to know about the NCB (no claim bonus). After owning a car without any claims for 5 years, the discount on the insurance is about 50%. Another reason to start with a cheaper car, before upgrading to one that you really desired.

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jan 29 2015, 07:03 PM
polarzbearz
post Jan 29 2015, 08:40 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 05:42 PM)
You allocate the maintenance cost every month, so that you won't get stuck when something happens.
The so-called warranty does not cover certain parts.
Getting an old car(just buy from your parents) and start to learn how to maintain it will be better option.
Or a video explanation

woonsc
post Jan 29 2015, 08:47 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 29 2015, 08:40 PM)
Or a video explanation

Good budget app with updates..
bought it when discount at Steam store more then a year ago thumbup.gif

FYI, this need a lot of patience and time to key in every single purchase in your everyday life. laugh.gif
polarzbearz
post Jan 29 2015, 08:54 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 29 2015, 08:47 PM)
Good budget app with updates..
bought it when discount at Steam store more then a year ago  thumbup.gif

FYI, this need a lot of patience and time to key in every single purchase in your everyday lifelaugh.gif
I'm used to it, before YNAB I was already using some other mobile-app to key in my daily transactions and keep track.

YNAB does it even better with budgeting.

Instead of Earn > Spend > Track > Act, with YNAB, it's now Earn > Plan > Spend > Track > Act

Not to say that I have zero plans before YNAB, but it isn't as solid. It's merely a force-savings of lump-sum (cut from paycheck) every month sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 29 2015, 09:21 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 29 2015, 08:40 PM)
Or a video explanation

Well, I don't have a stupid phone to start with.
Still I'm able to save money, spend nicely can simply buy what I want.
woonsc
post Jan 29 2015, 09:26 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 29 2015, 08:54 PM)
I'm used to it, before YNAB I was already using some other mobile-app to key in my daily transactions and keep track.

YNAB does it even better with budgeting.

Instead of Earn > Spend > Track > Act, with YNAB, it's now Earn > Plan > Spend > Track > Act

Not to say that I have zero plans before YNAB, but it isn't as solid. It's merely a force-savings of lump-sum (cut from paycheck) every month sweat.gif
brows.gif My Phone, Ipad and Laptop all have.. so i can do it where ever i want.. biggrin.gif
Just the price is doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Jan 29 2015, 09:58 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 29 2015, 09:26 PM)
brows.gif  My Phone, Ipad and Laptop all have.. so i can do it where ever i want.. biggrin.gif
Just the price is  doh.gif
Just do your self a spreadsheet. FOC thumbup.gif
But I never do as every month my total spending are fixed at rm2500 no matter what happens.
woonsc
post Jan 29 2015, 10:06 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 09:58 PM)
But I never do as every month my total spending are fixed at rm2500 no matter what happens.
YNAB allows you to track a budget and plan ahead..
that's what i like..
tongue.gif FOC excel don't have phone or tablet apps ma.. tongue.gif
my dad do manage to control his speandings after using it..

One time expense is totally worth it.
polarzbearz
post Jan 29 2015, 10:08 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 09:58 PM)
I custom-created my own excel spreadsheet (which imports data in .csv format from the mobile expense tracking app I use) and after a year, I can seriously say I hated it.

Too much maintenance work (on top of the expense tracking) even after I automated most of the part rclxub.gif

I'd rather pay that one-time fee for YNAB and live with it (I won mine for free anyway whistling.gif)

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Jan 29 2015, 10:09 PM
SUSsupersound
post Jan 29 2015, 10:08 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 29 2015, 10:06 PM)
YNAB allows you to track a budget and plan ahead..
that's what i like..
tongue.gif FOC excel don't have phone or tablet apps ma.. tongue.gif
my dad do manage to control his speandings after using it..

One time expense is totally worth it.
But without that, I also can plan my budget ahead of 1 year.
woonsc
post Jan 29 2015, 10:20 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 29 2015, 10:08 PM)
I custom-created my own excel spreadsheet (which imports data in .csv format from the mobile expense tracking app I use) and after a year, I can seriously say I hated it.

Too much maintenance work (on top of the expense tracking) even after I automated most of the part rclxub.gif

I'd rather pay that one-time fee for YNAB and live with it (I won mine for free anyway whistling.gif)
FREE?!
can share ur code u know tongue.gif
Give everyone
polarzbearz
post Jan 29 2015, 11:14 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(cyberboi @ Jan 27 2015, 12:12 PM)
Woh u can do that in year 2015?  thumbup.gif

I used to spent RM300/mth too when i was working in KL! BUT it was 6 yrs ago!
Breakfast: maggie/biscuit/gardenia bread RM5/week
Lunch: RM4+ (90% chicken rice cos its fill your stomach LOL + chinese tea, force to order cos eat at kopitiam)
Dinner:RM4+ (chap fan - always the same stall cos its the cheapest)

On weekends, of cos spend abit more BUT I make a budget to spend ONLY RM300/mth on meal.

I been doing that for 2 years! Now when i think bout it.... its like WOH! how i able to do that last time... sweat.gif
I guess it's the strict discipline that was instilled into me during my uni days. Strictly RM10/day only laugh.gif

My combination is pretty much the same with you (for Lunch & Dinner) laugh.gif

So how much do you budget for your food now? Since your post says "you used to" tongue.gif
kelvinlym
post Jan 30 2015, 12:13 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

We use prepaid cards for our company canteen.

I put in EUR20 every week. That's how I budget my lunch. Usually have leftover than take it as a bonus, smile.gif

Overall though, I don't really have a budget nor need one. I'm disciplined enough to control my finances. However, I do track my net worth every month. This gives me at least some overview and allow me to make changes and adjust accordingly with minimal effort and time.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 30 2015, 01:50 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jan 29 2015, 10:08 PM)

Any budget tracking related will need to input first doh.gif
Using a stupid phone to scroll a spreadsheet are pretty useless. You hate it as you don't know how to use it.
SUSsupersound
post Jan 30 2015, 02:04 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Jan 30 2015, 12:13 AM)
We use prepaid cards for our company canteen.

I put in EUR20 every week.  That's how I budget my lunch.  Usually have leftover than take it as a bonus, smile.gif

Overall though, I don't really have a budget nor need one.  I'm disciplined enough to control my finances.  However, I do track my net worth every month.  This gives me at least some overview and allow me to make changes and adjust accordingly with minimal effort and time.
Self control are still essential on control budget.
If a person does not have this, given a USD100000000 app that installed in a stupid phone also no use.
Someone just laughed at me as I don't own a stupid phone and those apps. But I laugh at him when he want to borrow money from me doh.gif
Actually my method is still the fastest and easiest. Set a target on when to have certain amount of money and work from there.
Like I just got my first rm100k which reached on November(set at December) as my wife giving birth. But after calculating the pros and cons on my car loan, I decide to do cash settlement first. As rm100k's FD interest only yield me rm3300 a year. But rm30000 car loan need rm3800 of interest.
JIUHWEI
post Jan 30 2015, 10:22 AM

1,318 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 29 2015, 11:16 AM)
All the salesperson are cheater, basically.
I don't go private hospital instead going to government hospital. How much I need to fork out money? <10% from what private hospital charges.
Car insurance I always buy lower than market value.
SO, do I need medical card? Indeed I need it in my dream, but not in reality.
On private hospital vs gov hospital i think everyone will have their personal experience in each establishment. I'll leave it as is because it is clear and people who know will know the difference. It is easy for us to say, but those who have gone through it would have a much clearer picture.

On car insurance... I really have no idea why you would save that kind of money.

Brief example:

On Agreed Value
This is the price that an insurance company will value your car. It is usually higher than market value.
In the case of a claim, that will be the price that insurance company will pay.
Let's say in January I buy a Myvi: RM50k
In December I kena accident total loss. But by December the same Myvi is now worth RM35k.
Company will pay: RM50k.

My car loan settle.

On Market Value
This is the price according to the market value.
In the case of a claim, the company will pay at the most current market value for your car.
Let's say in January I buy a Myvi: RM50k
In December I kena accident total loss. By December my car is worth RM35k.
Company will pay: RM35k.

15k difference I settle myself.

Going Lower than Market Value
This is where you co-insure your own car.
In the case of a claim, the company will only pay its portion of the cost.
Let's say in January I buy a Myvi: RM50k. I insure my car for RM40k (80%)
In December I kena accident total loss. By December my car is worth RM35k.
Company will pay: [RM35k x 80%] = 28k
50k-28k = 22k

You settle yourself.

I can't force you to go with the Agreed Value, but you have to have your car insurance either way. And since you'll be buying, why not buy something meaningful?
polarzbearz
post Jan 30 2015, 10:51 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jan 30 2015, 01:50 AM)
Any budget tracking related will need to input first doh.gif
Using a stupid phone to scroll a spreadsheet are pretty useless. You hate it as you don't know how to use it.
Who says we're gonna use phone to scroll through spreadsheet?

And who says I did not enter details to perform tracking? And who says I enter details into spreadsheet through phone?

Don't make assumption bro doh.gif

The reason I hated it is simple. It's not tightly integrated with the third-party mobile apps (for expense tracking, NOT budgeting).

Basically, I have to:-

1) Create my own spreadsheet and INTEGRATE these two aliens (my Budgeting spreadsheet and the imported Expense Tracking data from mobile)
2) Create the spreadsheet to compare actual spent vs. budgeted

And just for this, there's so much maintenance work required (on spreadsheet side).

I don't think I'm considered as one of those "who don't know how to use spreadsheet". It's just NOT WORTH the hassle when there's already some EXISTING software which can do two-in-one easily.

I understand that you're very well off successful person (with > millions in KWSP account), but that doesn't give you the rights to brag nor despite other's opinion.

You like to have your spreadsheet, go ahead. I had mine and I disliked the part where I have to "develop" and "maintain" (the technical side, NOT the data entry side, get it right....) my own spreadsheet

117 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:21 AM