Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$

MUM
post Jul 14 2018, 05:03 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(ann41 @ Jul 14 2018, 04:58 PM)
Yes, i have to. My car is getting old, and i dont have asset.
what ever and when ever people wanted something...they will usually have a lot of reasons.
what ever and when ever people does not want something...they will usually have a lot of excuses....

it is your decisions then....

your money, your lifestyles, your life's journey.....be it good or bad.....nothing right or wrong....
MUM
post Oct 16 2018, 07:10 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Oct 16 2018, 06:54 PM)
Can anyone share how you leverage? Ie borrow money to make money. Aside from using it for business, that is. The only other example I know is ASB loan
share margin financing and property mortgages?

MUM
post Apr 4 2019, 06:04 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(lifenoregret @ Apr 4 2019, 05:58 PM)
Hey guys, I am married and here are my personal finance status

After deducted the expenses left the balance at approx rm1400

Still have debt which I am aiming to clear within few months time, so I will not include it here unless unforeseen circumstances come up and unable to clear the debt, additional rm230 will be included to the top
I am seeing nowadays near completion or completed condo are selling at least 400k - 500k

So with these figures provided, it's advisable for me to get the mortgage loan let's say at 400k - 500k?
Or it's best for me to lay down and come up with higher deposit and scale down the mortgage loan to 350k - 380k?
just a note....the monthly maintenance fees of the condo would be appr RMxxx ?

MUM
post Apr 4 2019, 07:08 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(lifenoregret @ Apr 4 2019, 06:07 PM)
Because of too many projects completed recently, plus I am tiring of renting that's why I start looking to secure a condo

Perhaps you are right, taking out the rental rm900 and hire purchase rm570, I will have cash flow of monthly rm2800 but that's on risky side
Guess I still need to save more cash for downpayment

Or rumawip is the option available for me
there are other things to consider too...
like renovation cost.....
do you have fund for that?
est....RM80k??

do you have emergency fund saved?

if i were you , i would continue to rent and save enough before venturing into property....even though many units had been completed....for they are the problems of the developers and the broking agents not ours.

the properties can wait for a few more years.....looking at the unsold units available and the new launching frequently.....they can still be plenty of supplies for the near future.

MUM
post Apr 10 2019, 03:09 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(drumstix @ Apr 10 2019, 03:04 PM)
28 year old

Take home pay: 5500
Side income: 1500 (stable income, sometimes up to 2000)
TOTAL net income: 7000

...... the total expenditure would sum up to 6200. Certainly doesn't seem like I will be getting my new ride this year sad.gif

On a side note, say I have 100k in cash, is placing 80k in FD a good choice since I don't know anywhere better to park my money? That's an average passive income of RM287 every month. Please advise.
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
wow that is great

plan to do saving to enhance your EPF saving to prepare for a more comfortable retirement..... notworthy.gif
MUM
post May 9 2019, 05:06 PM

14,869 posts

that is why, many said MUST set up & have emergency fund first
MUM
post May 10 2019, 04:02 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(zeronova @ May 10 2019, 03:46 PM)
Hi all, I've started working about 10 months now and would like to seek your advice.

Salary after deduction: 2.7k

I usually save RM 1k per month into my savings, any remaining monies are for my expenses. However, I won't splurge all the remaining, only spend on what I need. Any leftover will be rolled to next month.

I've been thinking of growing my savings as I feel like the money should be invested somewhere else instead of sitting in my account, however I do not have a single clue where to start. Any advice?
may I suggest that you start to build up an emergency fund consisted of about 6 months of required monthly expenses.

then once your 1st level of financial stage are built, then try buy some personal accident insurance if you travel by bikes to work or high risks exposed employment, else priority would be buy some medical insurance (term type) to prevent oneself from relying of others financially incase of medical hospitalisation.

in the meantime while doing /planning that, read more about investment to try to gauge where/which you will feel more "comfortable" to start....

btw, this new thread has some info provided by othere forummers...

Anyone kena burnt in investment?, Experience and your lesson learnt (Investment)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4774851

thus on this "I've been thinking of growing my savings as I feel like the money should be invested somewhere else instead of sitting in my account, however I do not have a single clue where to start. Any advice?"

growing your saving by putting money in FD is also growing biggrin.gif

MUM
post Jun 14 2019, 04:35 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(sev66 @ Jun 14 2019, 04:15 PM)
hi guys, would like to get some financial advice from pros and sifus here whether i should take a personal loan to purchase a bike and tutup all my previous lubang  tongue.gif

Gross salary RM10k plus minus 500 depends on overtime
Net salary let say RM7.8k
Monthly expenses
Married

insurance pru 800 me n 2 kids n hibah
maybank cc 600 (fuel) outstanding 9k
uob cc        300 (fuel) outstanding 4k wife
fon bills      400 me n wife
coop loan    230  5% 9 years left
mbsb loan  450  3.99% 9 years left
parents      400
parents housing loan 120
car              600
TNB            100
Time          100
kutu            200
housing loan 1600
maint fee    300
maid          200

total 6400

so i left 1.4k for food, saving and other expenses. Groceries expenses under my wife.
and here is where i would need advice.

new RM120k personal loan at 3.8% interest for 10 years monthly RM1380 per month. if i take this loan. i can cover all my outstanding cc's and personal loan so

maybank and uob cc total 900 tutup = new fuel expenses RM500 only (400 saving)
coop and mbsb loan tutup = 680 saving
fon bills = 200 due to no more contract (200 saving)

my total saving from above = RM1280. this total saving only rm100 difference with the monthly payments of new personal loan. please advice. thank you in advance. thumbsup.gif
maybank cc 600 (fuel) outstanding 9k
uob cc 300 (fuel) outstanding 4k wife
total is 13k
fon bills 400 me n wife

coop loan 230 5% 9 years left
mbsb loan 450 3.99% 9 years left
total is 230+450=680 x 12 x 9 yrs = 73,440

total outstanding is 13k + 73k = 86k (early settlement maybe lesser amount)

why do you want 120K?

MUM
post Jun 25 2019, 08:48 AM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(peachmonkey @ Jun 24 2019, 11:10 PM)
Hi all, I was wondering how long should I keep my investment other than ASB?

For example, if I'm currently saving into ASB and investing in mutual funds or ETF; how long should I keep investing? Say one day I max out on my ASB limit, than I can channel the extra cash into investment right?
But how long should I keep investing? Till I reach a certain amount (e.g. RM50k) or a certain return (e.g. 15% total return)?

I'm curious because when you save or invest you do plan to use the money either for fun/leisure or to purchase assets. If that's the case, than would your investment duration be determined by the target amount?
hmm.gif
on this...."how long should I keep my investment...?"
what is the purpose of you saving and investing?
set the purpose or goal of your saving & investment and plan how to reach it.

having a purpose and goal of your investment would have eliminated your query.

have smaller and shorter duration goals for the "enjoyment" of god given results for previous life's karma
have bigger and longer duration goals for the "enjoyment" of god given current life's karma at retirement age.
some people would plan goals that would enable them to be financial independent and retire early so that they could "escape" from this rat race.
some people would plan goals that would enable them to be able to travel holidays few times a year.
some people would plan goals that would enable them to be continuosly satisfied for having goals met.

so what is your purpose of saving & investing?

On this....."would your investment duration be determined by the target amount?"
I think think, it would be....
target amount are determined in part of the initial investment amount + number of subsequent reinvestment (if any) + the amount reinvested during those subsequent reinvestment + the duration of those investment + the ROI from those investment + your capability to sustain those investment without the need to touch it + the world's financial and geopolitical situation during investment periods and at time withdrawal when reached the goal + your availabililty to have some sort of plan to protect your accumulated money during saving & investment period.

MUM
post Aug 5 2019, 03:16 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(accessories_used @ Aug 5 2019, 03:13 PM)
Hi all sifus here , I'm in abit of dilemma , hope someone can give some helpful insight .

Let's say , I have normal saving of RM100k , what should I do with the money ?
Was thinking to just resort to FD , but then there's so many rate , so far found Bank rakyat rate to be the highest (4.1%) but no PIDM .

If anyone have any other suggestions what to do with the money please let me know . Don't mind considering fund/gold investment as well .
hmm.gif because of this....
then have to consider....

1) how long do you need before you need to touch that money?
2) how much % of losses do you think you can take before you take action to shift that money out?
3) if you can consider these fund/gold investment ......why consider whether FD has PIDM or NOT?

btw, this is the exactly the same post as posted by "Gatsby IT" (before he deleted it)

MUM
post Aug 5 2019, 04:59 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(accessories_used @ Aug 5 2019, 03:40 PM)
Hi thanks for replying .
I'm thinking what's the best rate of FD for now I saw some with 3-6 months tenure 5%  .
If someone can educate more on bond or low risk investment would be great .
try moneysense Singapore
An introduction to types of investment​s
https://www.moneysense.gov.sg/articles/2018...-of-investments
MUM
post Aug 7 2019, 08:56 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(keanoppy @ Aug 7 2019, 08:28 PM)
Hi sifus, any suggestion where to invest around RM25k fresh funds monthly? Low to medium risk.
Asb and Asb2 already max.
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif about 300K pa of fresh fund. thumbsup.gif
MUM
post Oct 2 2019, 01:01 AM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ Oct 2 2019, 12:32 AM)
Need some advices here.

I'm planning on buying a house next year. The property that caught my fancy is about RM900k, so the monthly instalment should be around RM4.5k. I used mbb's mortgage loan calculator and found that if I pay RM10k per month, I will be able to settle the loan in 9.5 years. Is it worth doing so?

Some of you might recommend me to invest the money somewhere else, but I am not sure whether I should do so as my current take-home pay is still sufficient to support my expenses after paying RM10k monthly. I'm pretty sure that the figure will be consistent for the next 5 years, but can't guarantee anything after that. That's why I would like to settle the housing loan as soon as possible.
yes, normally people would advise you to extend the loan duration and use the extra money to do other investment as the h/l interest rate is considerably low.
but is it worth to settle the loan in 9.5 yrs in your point of view?
YES, only you know your self better and just do what ever pleased you more and make have a better peace of mind....

btw, you can consider full flexi package....whereby the duration is example 25 yrs, but if you have extra money you can dump more into it to settle it faster, but you can also have the option to take out the extra money for other uses when the time comes too.
MUM
post Oct 2 2019, 02:04 AM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ Oct 2 2019, 01:09 AM)
I can't imagine working for 35 years continuously just to pay a mortgage loan. I prefer to settle the loan ASAP so that I can stop worrying about what to do if my business closes down one day in the future.

Says I pay 10k per month while the monthly instalment is just 4.5k. If I go for conventional mortgage loan, can settle in 9.5 years. Can full-flexi loan reduce the period to that 9.5 years also?
full flexi got more flexibility than conventional.....

https://www.iproperty.com.my/guides/compari...exi-home-loans/
https://www.imoney.my/articles/understanding-home-loan
https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-gu...difference-3529

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 2 2019, 02:11 AM
MUM
post Oct 4 2019, 05:35 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(IAnK @ Oct 4 2019, 11:54 AM)
My monthly pay is 10.6k

My expenses are :

1. House 2.5k
2. Car 1: 1.3k wife use
3. Car 2 : 400 own use
4. Insurance 1k for the 3 of us
5. Household : 500
6. Utilities : 100 +20
7. TM: 147
8. Digi : 53
9. House 2: 800 ( will dispose by year end)
10. Epf 1166
11. Pcb : 1.3k
12. Kid daycare 350
13. Petrol : 350

Wife earning 2k per month but I am letting her use it for her own

By year end, I am expected to receive 100k from the sale of the house, and by March next year expected 30k bonus.
QUOTE(IAnK @ Oct 4 2019, 12:23 PM)
I'll take that into account. Perhaps I'm too into looking at my cash flow to overlook what the 100k may yield
excluding your wife part of RM 2k......
with your current pay and expenses....
you only have RM 614 balance....
by end of the year you will have RM 614 + RM 800 (after dispose house) = RM 1400 balance....
try use that RM 30k bonus in March for emergency back up fund.
try NOT to get into another debt like car loan unless your current car incur frequent serious repairs cost and downtime.

since you can managed and had been managing to live with RM614 balance cashflow, and since it will go up by another RM 800.....
I think your cashflow problem would we ok

since your will have RM30k as emergency fund, put that RM100k in to ASB to help grow your asset at abt 6% pa
as (unknown to the year balance of car loan duration), most interest amount had already been charged and added into your repayment,....thus not much "untung" if you were to repay them in full now
in the meantime,....have you and your wife take up SSPN for your kid?....got tax relief for both you and yr wife

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 4 2019, 05:47 PM
MUM
post Oct 12 2019, 06:00 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(feringgee @ Oct 12 2019, 05:51 PM)
Hi everyone. Here is my scenario.

Housing loan - 700k
Car loan - 200k
Investment - 650k (average 5% per annum)
Cash - 80k

Thinking of getting a new property (1.5m) and rent my current house.

Any suggestions to optimize this? Should I try to pay off my current house? Or car loan? Or should I dump a lot on new house downpayment?
Should I try to pay off my current house?
most would suggest not paying the loan as the rate is low....unless you cannot get anywhere to place your money that can beat that rate.

Or car loan?
Usually they would advise not paying the car loan earlier as the interest had already been charged and added into your loan repayment, thus the saving from earlier redemption would be limited

Or should I dump a lot on new house downpayment?
Only unless you cannot get anywhere to place your money that can beat that housing loan rate
MUM
post Oct 31 2019, 07:11 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Oct 31 2019, 05:28 PM)
RM2700 salary after deduction, following 50% needs/ 30 % invest / 20% spending rule.

RM 810.00 Investment/Savings
 StashAway – RM 200.00
 OCBC Max Yield – RM 500.00
RM 810.00 – RM 700.00 = RM 110.00                 

Still analyzing where else can I save? Kindly advise!

Thank you.
this OCBC Max yield, you put in RM6000 pa...how much is the average returns pa after the completion of "saving" plan?

good start, manage to have 30% put aside for money generation.....but unknown to that max yield pa from this max yield plan, thus unable to tell if this is a good money generating plan

MUM
post Oct 31 2019, 09:11 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Oct 31 2019, 08:30 PM)
Every year they give Guaranteed Cash Payment which is RM 300.00 if I put in RM500 per month(6000 p.a)
Based on the illustration they shown, the average returns is around 4% to 6%.

I've decided to go with Max Yield because it is also considered as an insurance.

on the initial yr, you put in RM6k pa....you get back RM300 pa at the end of the 1st yr,
it is about 5% after the 1yr

on the 2nd yr...you would have placed RM12k, you will still get back RM300...that is 2.5% at end of the 2nd yr
on the 3rd yr....you would have placed RM18k, you will still get back RM300...that is 1.66% at end of the 3rd yr
on the 4th yr....you would have placed RM24k, you will still get back RM300...that is 1.25% at end of the 4th yr
on the 5th yr....you would have placed RM30k, you will still get back RM300..that is 1% at the end of the 5th yr
on the 6th yr.....
so on so on...

if want to consider it as insurance,....then there should be better insurance plan option rather that for this insurance cum saving plan?
which could make better or more efficient use of that money?
hmm.gif

found this "old" thread of "better" returns insurance plan biggrin.gif
".....if you save RM10,000 every year, there is a guaranteed yearly income of RM2020 and cash dividend of RM 202 each year."
that is 22% innocent.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2778479/all

This post has been edited by MUM: Oct 31 2019, 09:45 PM
MUM
post Nov 1 2019, 11:50 AM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Nov 1 2019, 10:06 AM)
If you refer to the illustration, from year 6 to year 13(last year) they are giving 13% instead. I only place until year 5. Which is 30k, then they will re-invest my GCP in the market in year 13 I will get maturity bonuses.

https://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/In...ield/index.html
hmm.gif I noted the words....."% of Basic Annualised Premium"...
thus if your annualised payment is RM6k, they will gives you 5% of it, thus it is RM300 each year.

after 6 yrs, you had paid RM30k, they will pay you 13% of that RM6k (annualised premium amount) = RM780
RM780 of RM 30k = 2.6%pa

well that is my interpretation....I wish you well....
MUM
post Nov 1 2019, 12:14 PM

14,869 posts

QUOTE(jeffboon97 @ Nov 1 2019, 12:03 PM)
hahaha if your interpretation is correct, that makes me felt stupid to sign-up for this MaxYield with such rate.

Do you think I will do better with OCBC 360? Sorry if the topic has deviated, I just want to make sure I get the most out of my options.
I think my interpretation is correct bcos it was based on the printed words ....
go ask and confirm with your agent?
and tell us?

I am on a more cautious side, thus I think you still need an insurance plan to mitigates your risk.
does OCBC 360 has that?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1112sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:21 PM