Serious am i in the friendzoned?, chasing a 30+ girl

cybpsych
post Oct 19 2013, 06:27 AM

---------------------
65,365 posts

there could be few probable reasons:

1) both of you are colleagues (same dept? team? floor?). so if there's a romantic r/s going on, it'll be very well "known" in the office. the girl may not want that attention. so handle this with care, professionally (in office). keep neutral for the time being until she is ready to commit further. subtle hint to her that office romance is not forbidden, just need to be careful.

2) as you mentioned above, "she have no experience how to date". this could be true. either she had bad r/s before this or she never dated anyone. you're currently taken a step back, which is a good sensible thing to do. dont scare her too much, just a little tease here n there should keep the momentum rolling. she's now easy and not feeling awkward, so that's a good start. keep is slow n steady!

3) constantly chatting with a "guy". ermmm yeahhhhh girls smile.gif no need to overthink this portion, although you cant help to think THAT other guy. until she tells you she's into another guy, you're probably (temporary perhaps?) friendzoned by her. again, keep it stead and observe. she may be using this tactic to test you? or perhaps to make you jealous? to see/know if you really care for her, unconditionally? keep doing what you're doing with her. action speaks louder, so subtly engage with her as a close friend/colleague. she need someone but she may not aware of her feeling or even aware of YOU as a potential partner. proof her wrong!

4) seriously, she may not be single. LDR with her bf? or got a bf but not telling. some girls really do that. keeping her options open or dont want to be "branded" as someone's gf. still, keep the r/s as is. no need to over-chase her. since you both always hang out during lunch, trick her to confess! smile.gif tai-chi this to her friends till she cant keep it a secret anymore. that'll be a good sign to you whether you should proceed or stop (unless you're a spanar).

regardless of her "status", if you really like or love someone dearly, you'll cherish her dearly. you may not be fated to be with her, for now. loving someone from afar is hurt/confusing/killing you inside-out but that's what unconditional love is all about. be happy that you have someone to love, hope she'll be happy, safe, and healthy.

keep observing and be patient. wink.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 21 2013, 08:22 AM

---------------------
65,365 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Oct 20 2013, 11:12 PM)
wah double post! thanks bro! I am trying to move on and yea I feel like her damn doormat.  laugh.gif I think I am gonna focus on myself more and there is something going with my life at the moment, good thing la. wink.gif
Oh... I see, i never thought of it this way. Damn..you are right about how her family treat her, your one smart dude/gal but let's leave it at that.

On the weekend I have been doing some self reflection, recalling back when I first meet her to the current day,  I have concluded that I have make some mistake leading to this situation. I can says I learned from this and next time won't do the second mistake again.

And yes, you're right about her point of view relationship and yes, it may take some time for me to understand but If I can make her happy without her being my bf, that's fine with me. due to her family controlling and struggling freedom, I think she deserve some happiness, if she is happy I am happy. I really do not want to go the route of "don't want me, well pfft your lost" and be super jerk to her. I only do that if the girl is a b****.  laugh.gif

I think what my next move is, it's to leave her alone and remain distance between me and her, but I'll do it in friendly way la of course, she is my friend after all. BUT, I need to protect myself as well if I don't want to be hurt again.

Thanks all, for helping me out. It's good to heard some good people helping each other out in this difficult moment.  thumbup.gif
well, that's my exact situation & intentions now doh.gif all i can do is stop going after her and leave it as is (stay neutral and try detach any feelings/crush). i've tried various subtle intentions but almost no response, so I just know it wont go anywhere. why push is that far if the signs are not there? smile.gif

anyways, moving on.......
cybpsych
post Oct 25 2013, 07:25 AM

---------------------
65,365 posts

interesting girl biggrin.gif

but guess she's teasing you. but for what reason, no idea.

Plant, try not to totally ignore her. just normal casual interaction is enough. they are sensitive creature anyway.

suggest you continue as normal but once a while hint to her that she's giving signals that bothers YOU. if she play dumb-dumb what signals, then you confront her mildly, saying her signals are as if she's interested with you but you're confused smile.gif

no harm be upfront once a while too. see her reaction if she's serious to spend time with you and considering to go further, OR she's just plainly like to play/tease you.
cybpsych
post Oct 25 2013, 11:50 AM

---------------------
65,365 posts

no ler, not that desperate smile.gif

thse girls some of them are mostly probably established/stable (career, financially), so not rushing oso.

at this stage, the dating period could be shorter (1yr perhaps), instead of 2-3 years for younger couples.

1yr, imo, is enough to know the person, the bad and the worse. the personality, habits, behavior, family n friends, etc.

couples at this age range also more willing to share than hiding/secrecy cuz these "games" will prolong the relationship, and they are not willing to waste time doing so biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Oct 31 2013, 07:25 AM

---------------------
65,365 posts

QUOTE(GingerbreadGirL @ Oct 30 2013, 09:19 AM)
this happens when we get too close with colleagues of opposite sex. the saying dont shit where you work is super fckin solid.

at times like this i suggest you move on, and let her initiate texts or chats if there will be any. get some self respect or your work will be affected.

plus u dont even know if she told someone in the office abt your confession
^ hell yeah!

TS, you've done your part. it's up to her to decide and behave accordingly. the girl confusing you only smile.gif

continue your work, work harder, proof her that you're awesome and great in the office. with or without her, you're still a great person. if she couldnt see past that, you've gotten the answer.
cybpsych
post Nov 5 2013, 08:08 AM

---------------------
65,365 posts

finally she showed her own stripes.

continue ignore her as usual. as the comments above, let her do what she want, without you being part of it.
cybpsych
post Dec 27 2013, 05:48 PM

---------------------
65,365 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Dec 27 2013, 05:25 PM)
no need detail on confession anymore because it's been 4 months plus already.

Update : I don't talk to her much and she notice it, and she gets really mad about it because all she wants from me is being friend with her, the thing is i don't want to be friend with her and according to my colleague it's been a big misunderstanding.

so in conclusion, we don't talk much lol.. dunno what i could do about it.
good that you're "spared" thumbup.gif

even if big misunderstanding, she shouldnt be too clingy with you at the first place. i'm sure being normal casual friends is ok, but the way she "stick" to you is borderline scary rclxub.gif

0.0190sec    1.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:16 PM