Credit Cards Credit Card v18, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

laymank
post Sep 22 2014, 10:12 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Sep 22 2014, 09:58 AM)
I've been overseas since early of this year. So any activity regarding my credit card I am unable to check (as it is linked to my MIL's mobile number in Malaysia). Today when I tried to make payment via phone using my OCBC Titanum card to pay my Maxis RM10 bill, my card was declined. I have only realized that there are 2-3 transaction made online, cost btwn USD 200-300 at USA clothing retail shop 5 days ago. After that only they blocked my card. For that transaction it doesn't require 3D Secure.

And of course I have sent in the dispute declaration form. But it might take up to 128 days and if the dispute failed I'll have to pay for it. The thing is I wouldn't want to pay for it and its quite a big sum for me, like USD700? Plus I did not authorize that transaction (or that transaction didn't need any authorization!)

This is the first time I experienced credit card fraud. Anyone can tell me that if this dispute will be a success? I have been with OCBC with probably 3 years, good credit record, always pay my bill and no late payments. And I don't think I have ever did any retail shopping from US stores.

Please advise. I'm confused how did my credit card details got stolen and I'm pretty worried.
The way I read it, sounds like the transactions were done early this year when you were overseas and now only the transactions appears on your statement. Your card was blocked by the bank and that's when you found out about the fraudulent?

I am assuming a span of few months (early this year to now September). The scenario is a bit out of the norm in this one, considering that either party only realize such a fraud now. Maybe you can clarify further?
laymank
post Sep 24 2014, 08:39 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(tzeling @ Sep 24 2014, 07:31 AM)
Thanks! Can you pls send  me the link to OCBC thread?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3231432/
laymank
post Sep 26 2014, 06:37 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Sep 26 2014, 05:07 PM)
Technically, u have to pay AF as long as your Card was valid, i.e. not cancelled.

However, u should write in and ask that the AF be waived as u did not use the Card and u overlooked to cancel

If HLB insist that u pay, say that u will complain to BNM / FMB
Agree with cfa28 with the assumption that it's within the first statement cycle after AF is charged.

If it's more than a month, then it's our responsibility to dispute/cancel the card once we got the statement. Otherwise, it will incur penalty charges for 'late payment', etc.
laymank
post Oct 30 2014, 09:02 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Oct 29 2014, 01:30 PM)
Anyone using Mach Credit Card? What is the different with HLB Wise Credit Card?  hmm.gif

HLB Wise Credit Card require to make a minimum of any 10 retail transactions monthly (with a minimum of RM50 per transaction) to enjoy the 10% cash back on the selected categories..
It's somewhat similar, but without the 10x RM50 transaction restrictions. However, the cashback is also less and widespread.
For low spender, this might be good.

More so here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2421215
laymank
post Nov 6 2014, 02:00 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 6 2014, 01:20 PM)
Hi, if the merchant payment page requires  an OTP for Citibank Visa, it will be the same (need OTP) for cards from other banks like Public Bank Visa, correct?
Correct.
But probably called different name and it's unique to each bank.
laymank
post Dec 12 2014, 02:25 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 12 2014, 02:03 PM)
Yes
Really?!

I would have assumed that it will be just be a separate transaction in the credit card which will only be billed together during the bill drop date.
laymank
post Dec 15 2014, 10:22 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Dec 12 2014, 11:00 PM)
What is the basis of this assumption?

On the basis that,

1. The cash advance fee has already been charged
2. The cash was withdrawn from the credit card
laymank
post Dec 17 2014, 10:09 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(shoonyee89 @ Dec 17 2014, 08:40 AM)
Hi all,

I want to ask, I recently applied for housing loan for purchase of new house through PBB, after loan approved and signed the agreement, I suddenly got called up to collect my credit card which I dont need. I have not collect and activate it yet but can I cancel the credit card when I go to collect it and tell them I dont need it.

What are the consequences to your credit ratings?

Thanks in advance!
You can just ignore it.
laymank
post Dec 18 2014, 10:19 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Dec 17 2014, 04:39 PM)
I think this is not advisable to ignore it.

If no mistaken GST has charged even no active.

Better call to cancel and make sure GST is waive.

I have loan with them, credit card has processed and charged for GST.

They were waived for GST and cancelled it after I called
Every card, once created, will have GST billed in, regardless whether or not you have received it or activated it.

To demand for you to pay for GST. , a bank must have evidents that you have applied for it, received it and/or activated it as legal binding.

If otherwise, any bank can just pre-approved any card for you and demanding you for Annual Fee and GST.

This post has been edited by laymank: Dec 18 2014, 10:21 AM
laymank
post Dec 22 2014, 09:05 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Dec 20 2014, 09:54 PM)
yeah I know. Thought of leaving him a 生路。 Don't wanna break his rice bowl just yet.
That will mean, someone else will be preyed on...
I had similar experience before. I called the CS and complained about the agent and gave them his name. Then tell them I don't want the card.
They cancelled it over the phone and no obligation to spend in order to 'redeem' the GST.
laymank
post Dec 30 2014, 07:59 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Bahnhofstrasse @ Dec 29 2014, 02:13 PM)
Anyone know how long ringgit plus take to reply you?

i keyed in my contact info on 23 Dec. until now, no reply from them.

After submitting the contact info, it said please check your inbox. However, I didn't receive anything yet.
checked junk folder?
laymank
post Jan 9 2015, 09:22 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Jan 9 2015, 07:58 AM)
i know this question has been asked before. how about year 2015, is there any way to pay selangor quit rent (cukai tanah) online using cc?
you can check out Maybank2u - http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/AMEXPa...List_211013.pdf and http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...Key=ACC06.07#13
laymank
post Jan 13 2015, 09:53 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(aromachong @ Jan 12 2015, 10:42 PM)
will the gst 6% be charged to our credit card monthly statement?

let say we use rm10k per month? +gst 6% charge = end up we need to pay rm 10600? (rm600 for GST) ??
The banks are still waiting on the final decision on how GST will impact credit card holders.

From some readings here and there, it seems like Goods and Services Tax (GST) will probably apply on the Annual Fee, if any, while the existing Government Service Tax (GST) being waived.

There could be GST on other services provided by the bank. So, we'll just have to wait till the day the guidelines are finalized.
laymank
post Jan 19 2015, 09:30 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(ivanchin99 @ Jan 19 2015, 04:27 AM)
So is it more costly to own credit card now or after the implementation of gst? Or nothing been finalised yet?
If you have an Annual Fee of RM834, it will be charged 6% GST post implementation (equivalent to RM50).
Any card with Annual fee less that RM834 should be 'less costly'. This is with the assumption no other bank services is being used.
laymank
post Jan 26 2015, 10:03 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(bash90 @ Jan 26 2015, 03:43 AM)
Dear All CC Sifus,

I want to enquire few things relate to Maybankard 2 Gold Card application.
Below are the criteria I'm having:

1) Bachelor Degree Graduate (not sure if this is relevant, list it down anyway)
2) Working with a basic of RM1.5k; working for 6 months so far; EPF deduction base on basic pay.
3) With allowance, OT & commissions; for 3 recent months have earned gross pay ≈ RM3k-RM4.5k per month.
4) Salary is credited to same bank (Maybank).
5) Been using Maybank "Cherry" Debit Card most of the time to pay telco bills and other electronic transactions.
6) Applied loan from PTPTN; never applied any loans from banks.

So, from all these
1) what are the chances of me getting approval if I were to apply Maybankard 2 Gold Card?
2) Since I haven't been implemented income tax yet. Will it reduce the chances of getting approval or do I have to provide any additional documents for the application?
3) How fast does CC application process take place at KLCC branch?

P/S: Sorry for many noobs questions, just wanted to get things clear and hope I've asked in the correct post. biggrin.gif
I would recommend that you drop by the maybank card center, ie. 1 Utama shopping center that opens 7 days a week.
You will find out if you are eligible within an hour or 2.

Bring along your past 3 months salary slips.
laymank
post Jan 28 2015, 02:11 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(qwer312 @ Jan 28 2015, 12:11 AM)
hi, anyone know how to apply verify by visa / 3d secure feature for public bank credit card? or similar security features? like need to enter code before finalize the transaction.
This is a setup from the bank for the merchant account. It is the merchant who decides whether or not to apply those security feature.

laymank
post Feb 11 2015, 11:47 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(wan7075 @ Feb 11 2015, 10:22 AM)
wanna ask for the 2nd year:, if the statement has listed the GST & Annual Fees and the bank can't waive it for me

So now I plan to cancel the card
1) GST I no need to pay as long as I no use
2) Annual Fees I must clear it before cancel?

Both GST and Annual Fee are charged for the upcoming year.

So, if you have not used the card after these 2 have been posted, you don't have to pay them prior to cancellation because you have/are not going to use their service.
laymank
post Feb 12 2015, 12:12 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 12 2015, 11:57 AM)
I've read many credit card for oversea spending but as I have only about 62K income per annum, not qualified for those signature, world, premier cards...
any other better alternative cards for my income status for oversea spendings?
All credit cards are usable at overseas.
As long as you have one, you're set. It has nothing to do with your income versus spending at overseas.
laymank
post Feb 26 2015, 01:03 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Feb 25 2015, 09:08 AM)

I wanted to do a BT. Therefore, I applied for HSBC.
Received a call from the CS few hours later on the same day. According to her, it is pre-approved now.

Thing has changed now. I managed to clear my outstanding and I no longer need the HSBC card/ BT.

Can I cancel it and ask them not to proceed further? What is the correct process?
Well, it's a bit unfair to the bank and the agent who went through the trouble to get you the card you've applied for.

You can try to call in and ask them to cancel your application. However, my experience told me, once application is submitted, there is no way of cancelling it efficiently because of the various department involved and the 'silo' operations among them (RHB, in my case).
laymank
post Mar 16 2015, 09:48 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Mar 11 2015, 01:07 PM)
Hi guys, want to ask...I've been buying from a local pharmacy about 10k a month. Wondering which card suit me best to get rebate? will be great if got mb 3-5% off my bills...
Is your pharmacy located within a supermarket, i.e. Caring in Tesco, etc?
if so, you can try Maybank Visa Signature, it gives you up to RM88 cash rebate every month.

0.0476sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:01 PM