Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v8, WARNING - DO NOT UPDATE BMJ3

Reventon
post Oct 13 2013, 01:13 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Oct 13 2013, 12:22 AM)
Hi all,

I really need your help here... I bought Note 3 today, charged the battery, but:

1) when I connect it to my PC, Kies said it cannot connect to this phone, I need Kies 3, so I downloaded and installed, but when Kies 3 said I need to to upgrade firmware, I proceeded... After Kies 3 said "downloading firmware upgrade components", nothing happen!?!? Tried disabled Anti Virus, still the same.  rclxub.gif

2) how do I transfer all my old data from S3 to Note 3?
I want to transfer my SMS, WhatsApp chats and WeChat chat history, is this possible?

I'm not even dare to insert my SIM card into Note 3 yet  sweat.gif
But went through power up first setup screen, I saw Google downloaded quite a number of Apps I got in my S3 to this new phone, not sure if this is ok?

Please help...!  icon_question.gif
1. Never used kies before so not really sure. Most user here say kies is awfully slow.
2. I suggest you backup your sms using sms backup & restore. Much more stable and fast. Whatsapp backup thru your whatsapp setting and manually move your backup folder to sdcard OR backup using helium also works. So far only rooted device able to backup wechat. Helium doesnt work on wechat, only titanium backup able to but you need root
3. If you ticked restore data using google account when setup , it will auto download the apps from play store. Nothing wrong here.

G K Lai
post Oct 13 2013, 01:36 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Oct 13 2013, 01:12 AM)
1 - Did u restart pc after installing KIES ? I remember there is a note asking u to restart pc . If u cant install the drivers , google and dl it . I dont have kies yet still can connect but not using sw updates from KIES . Give it a try

2 - SMS , dl " sms backup+ " from playstore for both phones . Install in your s3 , backup to your gmail and in note 3 , restore it . For whatsapp , there's a whatsapp folder inside your internal sd of s3 . Transfer it to your note 3 . Wechat i dunno , sorry

3 - U selected restore when u setup your phone so all your gapps will be downloaded into your phone automatically
Many thanks Noobi3, I will give it a try tomorrow. notworthy.gif
For Kies, I think the maintenance on Samsung server was the culprit laugh.gif
But to answer your question, yes I restarted my PC many times also the same.

I really appreciates all the help! smile.gif
G K Lai
post Oct 13 2013, 01:38 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Oct 13 2013, 01:13 AM)
1. Never used kies before so not really sure. Most user here say kies is awfully slow.
2. I suggest you backup your sms using sms backup & restore. Much more stable and fast. Whatsapp backup thru your whatsapp setting and manually move your backup folder to sdcard OR backup using helium also works. So far only rooted device able to backup wechat. Helium doesnt work on wechat, only titanium backup able to but you need root
3. If you ticked restore data using google account when setup , it will auto download the apps from play store. Nothing wrong here.
Really learn new thing everyday, may thanks Reventon! thumbup.gif
ywkwy
post Oct 13 2013, 01:43 AM

868 posts

anyone tried?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2479952
fruitie
post Oct 13 2013, 01:46 AM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Oct 13 2013, 01:43 AM)
Why don't you be the guinea pig? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 13 2013, 01:47 AM
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 01:53 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 13 2013, 01:46 AM)
Why don't you be the guinea pig? laugh.gif
If he did , he would have bricked his phone but then again that question would have been avoided if he did a search at the thread or read the last few pages
fruitie
post Oct 13 2013, 01:56 AM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Oct 13 2013, 01:53 AM)
If he did , he would have bricked his phone but then again that question would have been avoided if he did a search at the thread or read the last few pages
laugh.gif My apologies as I didn't read the thread as well, been so long since I checked out XDA. tongue.gif
Positron
post Oct 13 2013, 01:57 AM

Aim for the sky, as if you fall, you will reach the clouds!
1,557 posts

Latest news about the samsung gear.
Samsung gear was rooted to run a full fledge android 4.1.2..
It can play candy crush saga..
Anyone knows how to do it?
fruitie
post Oct 13 2013, 02:03 AM

Rise and Shine
72,772 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Oct 13 2013, 01:57 AM)
Andrewtst managed to play Candy Crush Saga with his Gear.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=63766779
Andrewtst
post Oct 13 2013, 02:03 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Oct 13 2013, 01:57 AM)
GEAR is 4.2.2 official, no need root for install normal Android apps.

Details here - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=63760939

Another way - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2477702

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Oct 13 2013, 02:13 AM
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 02:14 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 13 2013, 01:56 AM)
laugh.gif My apologies as I didn't read the thread as well, been so long since I checked out XDA. tongue.gif
Chill sis . That statement wasnt meant for u tongue.gif
post Oct 13 2013, 03:01 AM

912 posts

indexService keep draining my battery
any1 else?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2461958
probably same with this XDA thread, but too long, no time to read

any1 can provide me a fast solution?
weileong
post Oct 13 2013, 05:36 AM

"The Idea Is To Die Young As Late As Possible"
1,720 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Oct 12 2013, 10:43 PM)
slow liao i feel, because we don't have a chance to talk about custom roms
hmm..This is the main reason, if ppls root their device and installed custom roms thread will move way faster.. rclxms.gif
unknowngenius
post Oct 13 2013, 07:36 AM

351 posts

Anyone knows what is the price range and colors available for note 3? Sorry..newbie here
shadowzephyr
post Oct 13 2013, 07:50 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Oct 13 2013, 05:36 AM)
hmm..This is the main reason, if ppls root their device and installed custom roms thread will move way faster.. rclxms.gif
Definitely agree. With root and custom ROM, endless customization possibility will happens. flex.gif So we can test a variety of ROM / updating homescreen etc and discuss among members.
I just can't afford to void the warranty without ability to revert back.

QUOTE(unknowngenius @ Oct 13 2013, 07:36 AM)
Anyone knows what is the price range and colors available for note 3? Sorry..newbie here
Hmm I believe we supposed not to ask/discuss about phone price here.. I leave that to the staff (as I'm also newbie here). hmm.gif
The RRP for Note 3 is RM2399, refer first page.
Check x132755 thread, he always update the price list (I think). DirectD also can.
Always check out Mobile Phone and Related Accessories under Garage Sales for the latest price.

For the color, Black and White are available in Malaysia. Don't know for Pink though. Refer GSMarena link for Note 3 spec (including available color) here.

This post has been edited by shadowzephyr: Oct 13 2013, 07:56 AM
benny888
post Oct 13 2013, 08:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(881118 @ Oct 13 2013, 03:01 AM)
indexService keep draining my battery
any1 else?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2461958
probably same with this XDA thread, but too long, no time to read

any1 can provide me a fast solution?
Don't be lazy. There is only 3 pages to read. I look through it n several possibilities. Test out each n see /assess yourself best solution. There is no best fast answer.
You seems to be second user facing such an index issue
My phone past 1 day+ doesn't faced such issue n in fact since day one I had never encountered such a strange issue.

BTW based on projection I can easily hit 6 hours SOT. I didn't really use phone much past 1 day as was testing extended power jacket on my other XZU. Even in standby mode with 3g alwayson 24/7 bbattery drop is minimal

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSjoytest
post Oct 13 2013, 08:45 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

I'm happy to report that my phone doesn't hit the high temps previously reported after the 30mb update.

With location services off, i typically get the same SOT as my Note2, which is about 4 to 4.5hrs. I suppose it's due to my app selection since I've only gotten 5+ hrs after a reset without installing anything.
benny888
post Oct 13 2013, 08:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 13 2013, 08:45 AM)
I'm happy to report that my phone doesn't hit the high temps previously reported after the 30mb update.

With location services off, i typically get the same SOT as my Note2, which is about 4 to 4.5hrs. I suppose it's due to my app selection since I've only gotten 5+ hrs after a reset without installing anything.
I only encountered high temp 45 degree C on day one only. After that it normally hovers between 35 to 40 degree C in use . No gaming as I don't do such on the phone. I would say this phone is reasonably warm n definitely not HOT.

weileong
post Oct 13 2013, 08:57 AM

"The Idea Is To Die Young As Late As Possible"
1,720 posts

My Note3 is 2nd phone..after full charge at 12am battery show 100%

woke up at 630am only drop till 98% with "4G,brightness is Auto".

benny888
post Oct 13 2013, 09:02 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Oct 13 2013, 08:57 AM)
My Note3 is 2nd phone..after full charge at 12am battery show 100%

woke up at 630am only drop till 98% with "4G,brightness is Auto".
That is normal drop n should not even exceed 3% overnight over 7 hours. If it does the user must check his wake locks

126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:18 PM