Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v8, WARNING - DO NOT UPDATE BMJ3

Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 12:06 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Oct 12 2013, 06:06 PM)
i just saw this on the web claim will not void our warranty however i'm not sure

http://www.pcnexus.net/2013/10/how-to-root...g-warranty.html

and this

http://www.android.gs/use-pre-rooted-os-ro...te-3-lte-n9005/
I might be wrong like 10% , might only but this pre-rooted mi7 rom . If u guys upgraded to the latest er ... sorry i dunno what version but just out a few days back , u cant flash this . U will fail in odin . Samsung doesnt allow u to downgrade . Malaysian version came with mi6 , i tried flashing pre-rooted mi1 before , fails . Got the answer from the developer that samsung knox doesn't allow user to downgrade rom thru odin . Not sure of CWM but if it's CWM , your knox will increase .
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 12:15 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 13 2013, 12:14 AM)
Even if we still on old MI7 firmware..it will trigger the Knox warranty. That links article very misleading and get ppl phone warranty void for no reason.
DjemBey (the prerooted rom dev) stated 'will not increase binary counter' and not 'Knox warranty void not increase'

He already release the new prerooted rom for BMJ1 but again Knox will be triggered...only the binary counter won't increase.
LOL .... No idea bro . On omega now . Thanks for clarifying
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 01:12 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(G K Lai @ Oct 13 2013, 12:22 AM)
Hi all,

I really need your help here... I bought Note 3 today, charged the battery, but:

1) when I connect it to my PC, Kies said it cannot connect to this phone, I need Kies 3, so I downloaded and installed, but when Kies 3 said I need to to upgrade firmware, I proceeded... After Kies 3 said "downloading firmware upgrade components", nothing happen!?!? Tried disabled Anti Virus, still the same.  rclxub.gif

2) how do I transfer all my old data from S3 to Note 3?
I want to transfer my SMS, WhatsApp chats and WeChat chat history, is this possible?

I'm not even dare to insert my SIM card into Note 3 yet  sweat.gif
But went through power up first setup screen, I saw Google downloaded quite a number of Apps I got in my S3 to this new phone, not sure if this is ok?

Please help...!  icon_question.gif
1 - Did u restart pc after installing KIES ? I remember there is a note asking u to restart pc . If u cant install the drivers , google and dl it . I dont have kies yet still can connect but not using sw updates from KIES . Give it a try

2 - SMS , dl " sms backup+ " from playstore for both phones . Install in your s3 , backup to your gmail and in note 3 , restore it . For whatsapp , there's a whatsapp folder inside your internal sd of s3 . Transfer it to your note 3 . Wechat i dunno , sorry

3 - U selected restore when u setup your phone so all your gapps will be downloaded into your phone automatically

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 13 2013, 12:24 AM)
How's Omega..?
Put lar a few screenshots for us here...just for poisoning laugh.gif
Indie rom sould be stable and his rom is only one of the two custom roms available..right..?
The other one is Venum by JoshBeach  hmm.gif

Edit : found another two custom roms available but both not from recognized devs.
LOL ..... What u need ? Homescreen ? Cant post that , will be banned later seriously . Omega is as usual , good but will see what else is coming . Hope monx will come smile.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 01:53 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 13 2013, 01:46 AM)
Why don't you be the guinea pig? laugh.gif
If he did , he would have bricked his phone but then again that question would have been avoided if he did a search at the thread or read the last few pages
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 02:14 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 13 2013, 01:56 AM)
laugh.gif My apologies as I didn't read the thread as well, been so long since I checked out XDA. tongue.gif
Chill sis . That statement wasnt meant for u tongue.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 12:40 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(timw90 @ Oct 13 2013, 12:37 PM)
Thank you! Seems weird cos I exited all apps. Closed all unused apps in the "running" section. Still cant achieve that below 1GB RAM usage. And at the same time, battery seems to be draining rather quick. Just downloaded wakelock. Will run some test and come back here again.
RAM are meant 2 be used . What's the point of having 1G of free RAM ? Besides , if u keep closing all your apps just 2 get free RAM , it drains even more battery since your app need 2 restart again after u close it
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 12:58 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(timw90 @ Oct 13 2013, 12:46 PM)
I know. Just wondering what is it that is using so much RAM atm. Just bugging me. At least when I really run out of RAM, I get to know what is causing it. Just double checking to make sure. Sorry and thanks :S
Samsung built in apps do take up a lot of RAM . And I presume u r not rooted right ? Previously , I get like 500mb of free RAM , even drop to 200mb+ at times . That was on stock ROM . After flashing a custom rom with most of the bloatwares removed , RAM is idling around 800mb . There's even 1 post to remove 650mb of bloatwares from the firmware which i feel it's not needed .
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 07:40 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 13 2013, 07:10 PM)
There is no import duty or tax on mobile phones . The most if holdup by custom is to pay rm 100 for Sirim Permit. RM 100 allow you to import in up to 3 phones.
You need to show Sirim courier arrival details, any documents ( email will do) to show purchase n a spec sheet of phone ( printed out from web is fine). The permit will usually be issued within an hour. Than you present the Sirim permit to custom to clear the phone out,
uncle benny , a slight change of ruling .... Again . 3 units only for the same model . If u have 2 models , u will have 2 apply for 2 permits unlike before . Just kena 2 months ago for 2 Docomo phones rclxub.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 07:51 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Oct 13 2013, 07:47 PM)
As a 2 time buyer from Spigen USA. I can confirm with a resounding YES. You will be taxed regardless of buying Glass TR or Casings (not make of glass) if you use FEDEX. I havent try using the cheaper and wait longer type of delivery.
Some say those were not taxed.
NEVER use fedexp for international phone purchase . I bought using EMS never face any problem . The other day , i was in a rush to go outstation so seller sent to me , my warranty claim unit using FedExp and it's not custom that hold the units , FedEx themselves called me up and tell me i must provide the permit BEFORE passing my items to custom for clearance . rclxub.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 13 2013, 08:07 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 13 2013, 07:54 PM)
ALL : PROBABLY ROOT WITHOUT Knox 0x1 !!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2479952

THIS POST

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...3&postcount=303
Credits to antt00 for flagging this
Some kind soul can try??? tongue.gif
waveweaver bro , u r wanted thumbup.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 14 2013, 01:07 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(jun88 @ Oct 13 2013, 10:19 PM)

After This root can we install custom rom..

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Oct 14 2013, 12:02 AM)
me too, but not in urgent for me as i call still use root around my nexus phone... omega not my cup of tea at this moment...
Omega need CWM to install and that will trip knox to 0x1 . There's no recovery that doesnt trip knox counter yet
Noobi3
post Oct 14 2013, 02:39 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(playxboxwii @ Oct 14 2013, 02:22 AM)
Is it worth upgrading from note 2 to note3?
IF u want the latest , in terms of model and spec , have the extra cash , why not upgrade . IF u r happy with your Note 2 , finds it more then enough for your daily usage , dont bother . New models from Samsung will be popping up soon like the Galaxy Curve although it's still for Korea release only for now . Unlike Note 1 to Note 2 , there isn't a huge difference between Note 2 and Note 3 . With the Note 2 having 4.3 update soon , some or most of the features will be available to Note 2 as well , maybe even Knox tongue.gif
Noobi3
post Oct 14 2013, 10:35 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(vuizai88 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:33 AM)
my note seems to be a bit more power hungry than usual after the root
Root doesnt do anything to your battery life or basically , it doesn't do anything unless u do some tweaking to it .
Noobi3
post Oct 14 2013, 11:51 AM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 14 2013, 11:37 AM)
Haha! tongue.gif

By the way, I try the Wanam Xposed, remove that stupid SmartStay eye and change AM/FM is working, but... the theming not working for me, simple change battery color also not working even after reboot... hmmm.. funny. When preview nothing appear also. Not sure I did any wrong or not, don't tell me every change must reboot, cannot change few then just reboot... Maybe later just try again.
Some mod are still not compatible with Note 3 . Even " remove increasing ringtone " is not working
Noobi3
post Oct 14 2013, 12:44 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Oct 14 2013, 11:55 AM)
wah so many rooting. me I malas want to to root smile.gif unless it bring huge batt savin or they is a critical app that I need require rooting then maybe I root. not interested in jack sparrow stuff I'll gladly pay for good app like boat browsers to support the developer smile.gif
Bro , get your facts right . Rooting doesn't give u cracked apps . This is not jailbreak . Root give u full access and use of certain useful apps eg Titanium Backup , Set DNS , etc . Root alone doesnt save u any battery BUT with root , u can uninstall bloatwares that comes with the phone and that indirectly increases your free RAM and also battery life .

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 14 2013, 12:14 PM)
Odin..?
Yeah..still works.
Regards flashing firmware..M'sian firmware should be okay but not for downgrading. Other region..am not sure as haven't try any yet but Uncle Benny said he failed when try flashing S'pore firmware.  hmm.gif
I did use Odin to flash mi7 , uk deodex and it went thru . Did try mi1 but failed and found out since msia is mi6 , like u said , we cant downgrade
Noobi3
post Oct 14 2013, 07:52 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(eszol @ Oct 14 2013, 07:28 PM)
Nope , it's being slowly updated to support 4.3 as well but not everything is working yet unlike in 4.2

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 14 2013, 07:32 PM)
I used the conventional way but just noticed it showed a notification asking me to reboot. I have done it but nothing happens. But at least the status is now "official".

hmm.gif After I installed Wanam Xposed, I noticed my battery % indicator and time's font is bigger? hmm.gif
Check your settings wanam exposed , think it's ticked
Noobi3
post Oct 14 2013, 10:44 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 14 2013, 10:41 PM)
Arghhh....me likes..!! drool.gif
Which setting did I do wrong here..?  cry.gif
Wanam exposed > System > tick it

Noobi3
post Oct 15 2013, 12:14 AM

4,984 posts

Double check something with u guys . I encounter it 3-4 times already . It happens only when i restart the phone and immediately i get a call or sms or whatsapps . There's no ringtone . Total silence , only vibrate . Any of you encounter it before ? Anything after 2 mins or 3 mins after i restart the phone , there's sound
Noobi3
post Oct 15 2013, 12:14 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Oct 15 2013, 12:12 PM)
Really? Thanks for the head-ups! biggrin.gif Erm, is there any other color available, like blue?
where r u located bro ? PJ ?
Noobi3
post Oct 15 2013, 12:41 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Oct 15 2013, 12:24 PM)
Em, me? Kajang, but currently I'm at countryside. Planned to go to Low Yat this weekend, I suppose.  smile.gif
Why you ask? Is there any stock for original S View there in PJ (especially blue one  brows.gif) ?

I don't mind going there if got stock for dark blue. Hehe (a bit obsessed with blue tongue.gif) But black also ok.
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
only black , pink , white and 2 dark blue left in Samsung Publika or the hp accessories shop downstairs

0.0449sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:17 AM