anyone work in aker solution?
mind to share working environment, benefit, bonus and increment?
how about the aker in port klang? are both Kl and port klang same environment and benefit?
Aker solutions
Oct 12 2013, 12:08 PM, updated 7y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,638 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
anyone work in aker solution?
mind to share working environment, benefit, bonus and increment? how about the aker in port klang? are both Kl and port klang same environment and benefit? |
Oct 12 2013, 12:14 PM
46 posts Joined: Sep 2012 From: Bangi |
QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Oct 12 2013, 12:08 PM) anyone work in aker solution? Hi. You can try to search for an answer here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2861882mind to share working environment, benefit, bonus and increment? how about the aker in port klang? are both Kl and port klang same environment and benefit? This post has been edited by Axanafav: Oct 12 2013, 12:15 PM |
Oct 12 2013, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(Axanafav @ Oct 12 2013, 12:14 PM) ya. read through.however not much info i can found there. |
Oct 12 2013, 06:14 PM
46 posts Joined: Sep 2012 From: Bangi |
Oct 12 2013, 07:27 PM
Oct 13 2013, 12:40 AM
834 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: ~Heaven~ |
Oct 13 2013, 11:06 AM
Oct 13 2013, 12:50 PM
Oct 13 2013, 01:40 PM
Oct 13 2013, 02:05 PM
Oct 13 2013, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Oct 13 2013, 02:05 PM) i guess they offering you trainee position in technip, technip never hire fresh graduate, but aker solution , yes, but the salary just so so... is it mean technip a better choice, better future, better salary?how is the salary different between technip and aker solutions? |
Oct 13 2013, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(wywy2020 @ Oct 13 2013, 02:23 PM) is it mean technip a better choice, better future, better salary? Like i said, technip never hire fresh, if your position is trainee, don't expect much from salary...how is the salary different between technip and aker solutions? Technip has secured many projects with petronas including 30bln pengerang gas terminal project i guess you haven't secure a job with technip... |
Oct 14 2013, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Oct 13 2013, 02:53 PM) Like i said, technip never hire fresh, if your position is trainee, don't expect much from salary... ya....no harm trying...Technip has secured many projects with petronas including 30bln pengerang gas terminal project i guess you haven't secure a job with technip... how about technip tanjung langsat? |
Oct 14 2013, 07:17 AM
Oct 14 2013, 08:58 AM
but secure also need to choose the right one to enter, am i rite?
Oct 14 2013, 01:06 PM
54 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Oct 14 2013, 01:54 PM
Oct 14 2013, 05:26 PM
54 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Oct 27 2013, 04:00 PM
8 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Oct 13 2013, 02:05 PM) i guess they offering you trainee position in technip, technip never hire fresh graduate, but aker solution , yes, but the salary just so so... Nope I disagree with you.Trainee position only application for internships students which last about 3 months only. On the other hand, Technip do hire fresh graduate engineers and the pay is better than Aker solution. I had received 2 offers from Aker solutions (grad engineer programme) and Technip (grad engineer), and Im currently working in Technip |
Oct 27 2013, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(rimax90 @ Oct 27 2013, 04:00 PM) Nope I disagree with you. oh, mind to share both fresh grad starting pay for aker and technip?Trainee position only application for internships students which last about 3 months only. On the other hand, Technip do hire fresh graduate engineers and the pay is better than Aker solution. I had received 2 offers from Aker solutions (grad engineer programme) and Technip (grad engineer), and Im currently working in Technip |
Oct 27 2013, 06:51 PM
Oct 27 2013, 10:33 PM
Oct 28 2013, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(rimax90 @ Oct 27 2013, 04:00 PM) Nope I disagree with you. Grad Engineer its not consider as permanent engineer, its just a probation, within specific period, if candidates can fullfill company requirement, he or she will be converted to a permanent employment , its a normal practice not only in technip, there is no permanent position if the title is grad engineer.Trainee position only application for internships students which last about 3 months only. On the other hand, Technip do hire fresh graduate engineers and the pay is better than Aker solution. I had received 2 offers from Aker solutions (grad engineer programme) and Technip (grad engineer), and Im currently working in Technip This post has been edited by jack~daniel: Oct 28 2013, 08:01 AM |
Oct 28 2013, 08:54 AM
904 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Central Region Status: Safe Trader |
Is technip or aker still open for grad engineer position now? I think I missed the latest intake
Oct 28 2013, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Oct 28 2013, 07:59 AM) Grad Engineer its not consider as permanent engineer, its just a probation, within specific period, if candidates can fullfill company requirement, he or she will be converted to a permanent employment , its a normal practice not only in technip, there is no permanent position if the title is grad engineer. Lol, my tittle is as graduate engineer in technip . It is consider as one of the permanent executive level in the technip grading, one level below engineer and 2 levels below senior engineer. Btw , regardless of permanent or contract staff, probation period is conducted so probation is not a justification for not being a permanent staff. And I would like to repeat it again, there is a permanent position called graduate engineer. I'm saying this because I'm a graduate engineer in technip, I had fully understood offer letter, and yet whether I fulfill the company requirement , I'm still a permanent staff that under probation for now |
Oct 28 2013, 08:38 PM
Oct 28 2013, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(rimax90 @ Oct 28 2013, 08:38 PM) you are working inside?? I saw opening for structural grad engineer only but im frm electrical engineering discipline... theres is grad planning engineer oso but I like to be a technical specialist in my future career pathwayThis post has been edited by jay: Oct 28 2013, 08:50 PM |
Oct 28 2013, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(rimax90 @ Oct 28 2013, 08:36 PM) Lol, my tittle is as graduate engineer in technip . It is consider as one of the permanent executive level in the technip grading, one level below engineer and 2 levels below senior engineer. Btw , regardless of permanent or contract staff, probation period is conducted so probation is not a justification for not being a permanent staff. And I would like to repeat it again, there is a permanent position called graduate engineer. I'm saying this because I'm a graduate engineer in technip, I had fully understood offer letter, and yet whether I fulfill the company requirement , I'm still a permanent staff that under probation for now What i meant was, you have to serve for specific period even your position is permanent, after specific period, you will upgraded to real engineer(drilling eng, electrical enginr, structure engineer,commissioning eng) |
Oct 28 2013, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Oct 28 2013, 08:47 PM) What i meant was, you have to serve for specific period even your position is permanent, after specific period, you will upgraded to real engineer(drilling eng, electrical enginr, structure engineer,commissioning eng) What I don't agree with you based on your previous statements are :1. Technip do hire fresh grads 2. Fresh grad is not a trainee 3. Technip do offer permanent pos fot fresh grad 4. Even though I'm fresh grad, I'm still able to check and review others people work , and had my signature on it , I would consider myself as real engineer now . |
Oct 28 2013, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(jay @ Oct 28 2013, 08:41 PM) you are working inside?? I saw opening for structural grad engineer only but im frm electrical engineering discipline... theres is grad planning engineer oso but I like to be a technical specialist in my future career pathway Yeap I join not long ago , from what i do , there are not many pos for electrical engineer as technip would prefer outsource them rather taking electrical engineer inhouse |
Oct 28 2013, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(rimax90 @ Oct 28 2013, 09:13 PM) Yeap I join not long ago , from what i do , there are not many pos for electrical engineer as technip would prefer outsource them rather taking electrical engineer inhouse is there any possibilities that I switch from electrical to let say drilling? im willing to learn |
Oct 28 2013, 09:18 PM
Oct 28 2013, 09:23 PM
Oct 28 2013, 09:26 PM
3,681 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: - |
subsea? Why dont you try for ABB in Subang?
Oct 28 2013, 09:31 PM
Oct 29 2013, 11:27 AM
117 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Is there any post in Technip for chemical engineer? for Fresh Grad
Oct 29 2013, 01:19 PM
4,864 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(rimax90 @ Oct 28 2013, 08:36 PM) Lol, my tittle is as graduate engineer in technip . It is consider as one of the permanent executive level in the technip grading, one level below engineer and 2 levels below senior engineer. Btw , regardless of permanent or contract staff, probation period is conducted so probation is not a justification for not being a permanent staff. And I would like to repeat it again, there is a permanent position called graduate engineer. I'm saying this because I'm a graduate engineer in technip, I had fully understood offer letter, and yet whether I fulfill the company requirement , I'm still a permanent staff that under probation for now I think the benefits for a staff who is a CONFIRMED permanent staff and a permanent staff UNDER PROBATION can be different. A couple of examples below:(1) Resignation notice period - A permanent staff under probation can quit the company by giving a month's notice but a confirmed permanent staff is required to give 3-month quit notice. Similarly, the company may not confirm the permanent staff under probation and can ask the staff to leave the company at the end of the probation period. The company can only fire a confirmed permanent staff due to gross misconduct by the staff who has violated company rules and regulations, only after a few rounds of caution notices given to the staff. (2) Benefits - Only confirmed permanent staff enjoy full benefits as stated in the employment handbook. examples (i) annual bonus - Usually annual bonus performance is given to confirmed permanent staff only. (ii) medical leave is not accorded to unconfirmed permanent staff and medical benefits are for staff only and not extended to staff's spouse and children. You need to read your employment terms and conditions again and check with the HR whether you are accorded with the same benefits as the confirmed permanent staff. Don't take this for granted. This post has been edited by Stamp: Oct 29 2013, 01:22 PM |
Oct 29 2013, 01:24 PM
Oct 29 2013, 01:33 PM
239 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: kajang |
Aker n technip..both ok..salary wise also the same..increment also the same..n usually technip take people from aker n aker also take people from technip..so juz choose which one u want..as long as u secure ur position in oil n gas company is ok..
Oct 29 2013, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(jay @ Oct 28 2013, 09:23 PM) actually I interested in Aker solution subsea engineer program but too bad application is closed now yup its close..electrical in subsea usually end up in system..n subsea is hard to learn actually..subsea grad prog will be open every 2 years..so next year there will be no opening for subsea grad prog..maybe next 2 years..try to apply position that have junior in fornt, such jr.system engineer, or jr..piping.. |
Oct 29 2013, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(rimax90 @ Oct 28 2013, 09:11 PM) What I don't agree with you based on your previous statements are : In my opinion, it takes 1 to 2 years of on-the-job engineering training for a fresh engineering graduate to shift his 'student engineering' thinking to a graduate engineer thinking. And it takes a further 3 to 4 years of more rigourous engineering working experience for a graduate engineer to transform himself to a "real engineer".1. Technip do hire fresh grads 2. Fresh grad is not a trainee 3. Technip do offer permanent pos fot fresh grad 4. Even though I'm fresh grad, I'm still able to check and review others people work , and had my signature on it , I would consider myself as real engineer now . This post has been edited by Stamp: Oct 29 2013, 01:37 PM |
Oct 29 2013, 01:46 PM
117 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Oct 29 2013, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(Stamp @ Oct 29 2013, 01:37 PM) In my opinion, it takes 1 to 2 years of on-the-job engineering training for a fresh engineering graduate to shift his 'student engineering' thinking to a graduate engineer thinking. And it takes a further 3 to 4 years of more rigourous engineering working experience for a graduate engineer to transform himself to a "real engineer". haha..well come on man..give him a chance..he dont want to be treated like graduate..haha |
Nov 15 2013, 09:48 AM
159 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Anyone working in aker solution? how is the benefit? how is the increment?
Nov 15 2013, 10:56 AM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
I have been offered an engineering position in Aker 2 years ago. but eventually i have to turn them down due to my personal issue. There were 2 rounds of interview. 1st round was interviewed by 2 seniors and there was an engineering paper test. 2nd round was interviewed by the department manager.
Benefit wise, each staff is given 3k on their medical claim (which i think its pretty normal/standard for ONG company). secured with a 13th month bonus and performance bonus. hmm cant remember much though. please correct me if i m wrong. During my interview, the senior told me basically i was based in KL office to do the design work but have to go to port klang once a week for meeting. Also they will second their staff to other aker branch in overseas if KL aker is short of projects (which i think its also quite a normal practice for a MNC). |
Nov 15 2013, 02:44 PM
73 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
Nov 15 2013, 03:12 PM
73 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
When will Aker start recruiting for their Subsea Graduate Engineering Programme? From their website, it states that the programme starts may/june every year. Anyone knows?
Nov 19 2013, 10:15 AM
159 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(zinc-Titanium @ Nov 15 2013, 10:56 AM) I have been offered an engineering position in Aker 2 years ago. but eventually i have to turn them down due to my personal issue. There were 2 rounds of interview. 1st round was interviewed by 2 seniors and there was an engineering paper test. 2nd round was interviewed by the department manager. If you dont mind, can you share with us what is the position and salary? or PM? I want to know whether Aker is fair in terms of salary and increment. Whether the salary will be adjusted according to after proving competency.Benefit wise, each staff is given 3k on their medical claim (which i think its pretty normal/standard for ONG company). secured with a 13th month bonus and performance bonus. hmm cant remember much though. please correct me if i m wrong. During my interview, the senior told me basically i was based in KL office to do the design work but have to go to port klang once a week for meeting. Also they will second their staff to other aker branch in overseas if KL aker is short of projects (which i think its also quite a normal practice for a MNC). |
Nov 29 2013, 11:57 AM
1,680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cyberjaya |
headhunter jz reach me for an IT role in there...
haven reply for interview... anyone can share how is that in there? |
Sep 8 2014, 02:12 PM
31 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Hi, can you tell me which headhunter is doing recruitment for Aker? I'm trying to apply for IT post..
Pls PM.. Thanks.. |
Sep 8 2014, 08:32 PM
12,528 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
QUOTE(H.K. Lee @ Nov 18 2013, 08:15 PM) If you dont mind, can you share with us what is the position and salary? or PM? I want to know whether Aker is fair in terms of salary and increment. Whether the salary will be adjusted according to after proving competency. ive heard that Akers increment is pretty slow hence a pretty high attrition rate.. is it true? |
Sep 8 2014, 09:43 PM
Sep 8 2014, 10:20 PM
12,528 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
I mean low.. It's generally lower than other O&G companies.. many Aker staff leave Aker for other companies.. correct me if I'm wrong..
Sep 9 2014, 07:20 AM
Apr 28 2015, 11:39 AM
522 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Apr 28 2018, 03:25 PM
62 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Guys, I got offer from Aker, port klang..how is the working environment, increment, etc over there?
May 8 2018, 11:39 AM
May 8 2018, 12:41 PM
May 14 2018, 11:12 AM
May 14 2018, 06:16 PM
May 15 2018, 11:48 AM
May 16 2018, 02:18 AM
62 posts Joined: May 2013 |
QUOTE(ArenarZ @ May 8 2018, 11:39 AM) For what position? different dept different env..benefit aker is one of the best, increment is the same compare to other same level company. Not sure under which department as I have yet to get the offer letter. Most probably under control system dept, i guess. So how is the working environment under control system dept? U are working with aker at the moment?They are offering much lower than my expectation salary, currently negotiating - may or may not be joining them subject to this. Im curios if aker is tight on budget or the recruitment company has KPI to achieve. |
May 16 2018, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(tapiritam @ May 16 2018, 02:18 AM) Not sure under which department as I have yet to get the offer letter. Most probably under control system dept, i guess. So how is the working environment under control system dept? U are working with aker at the moment? Nope, I already resign from Aker last 3 years back, but I can say Im quite regret doing so, Aker is one of the best company that I have join ( interm of culture and benefits). Control system, its a good dept as most specialist in subsea come from that dept and also they are the core for all the subsea system. Good luck with that!They are offering much lower than my expectation salary, currently negotiating - may or may not be joining them subject to this. Im curios if aker is tight on budget or the recruitment company has KPI to achieve. |
May 16 2018, 03:51 PM
1,107 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: 192.0.0.1 |
Is there any openings for instrument engineers currently
May 16 2018, 05:12 PM
200 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
wat's your concern on this company?
Jul 4 2019, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(ArenarZ @ May 16 2018, 07:33 AM) Nope, I already resign from Aker last 3 years back, but I can say Im quite regret doing so, Aker is one of the best company that I have join ( interm of culture and benefits). Control system, its a good dept as most specialist in subsea come from that dept and also they are the core for all the subsea system. Good luck with that! What is the salary range for project manager? |
| Change to: | 0.0305sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:26 PM |