Do you Panic or Anxiety Disorder or Agoraphobia..., please share with it...

TSswgiant
post Jun 9 2006, 03:29 AM, updated 20y ago

Extravagance RUINS Your Life !!!
1,414 posts

What is agoraphobia?

Agoraphobia is an anxiety disorder. If you have agoraphobia, you avoid going places or doing things because you are afraid you will have no way to escape or will panic and have no help. For example, you might have an intense fear of driving, crossing bridges, or being in shopping malls. You fear the reactions, called panic attacks, that you might have in these situations. The fears can disable you. Fear can prevent you from leaving your home. A person who has agoraphobia may also have panic disorder.

My case...

Actually, i suffered of it since few years ago and I cant handle it sometimes. It comes to me when Iam in a small room (car, flight) which crowed with the ppls or has a bad ventilation, smelly, suddenly turns to dark (especially in cinema). It cause me cant sleep soundly... Actually i feel better since year ago, but now i become worse when i learnt that i have to further my studies at KL, then it comes to me again... I really felt unsecured, start to think a lot... especially i know i have to take a flight. I try to convince myself dun to be panic, everything will go well but cant cry.gif ... still in panic, unless take a walk, inhale the fresh air to distract my mind. And think while in LRT and it is crowed with ppl, if suddenly it comes to again then what should i do?

I talked with my family too, they cant help me either... Unless taking a pill. Please guide me, if you suffer too and how do you calm down yourself especially in flight, lrt... Iam totally prostrated... cry.gif icon_question.gif cry.gif
silllver
post Jun 9 2006, 03:38 AM

1,298 posts

When i read your post, i do feel it. The panic. ohmy.gif
TSswgiant
post Jun 9 2006, 03:44 AM

1,414 posts

when watching the Poseidon in cinema, i made myself uncomfortable for more than 1 hour. Especially i cant inhale normally and thought myself nearly to drown when i saw the exciting scene! That movie made me felt unease!
cockerish
post Jun 9 2006, 03:50 AM

12k SP@M Club
13,619 posts

it must suck being you when you travel on the LRT

next time i find someone who freaks out, i know its U!!!.

till we meet smile.gif
LYFfan
post Jun 9 2006, 10:52 AM

229 posts

My granddad has got extreme hypochondria to the extent that the psychiatrist almost diagnose him with Munchausen biProxy syndrome which means he can somehow show signs of diseases or illnesses he doesn't have. (And he also go out of hsi way to get attention from people by 'getting' sick) He gets panic attacks where he can't breathe and he thins he is sick/dying/in pain etc but actually there is no pathological/physical reason for it. I feel sadlah watching him go thru that, old man already and get stressed like that. Unfortunately this also stresses out my family,aisayman.
malaysianPotato
post Jun 9 2006, 11:23 AM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Jun 9 2006, 03:29 AM)
What is agoraphobia?

Agoraphobia is an anxiety disorder. If you have agoraphobia, you avoid going places or doing things because you are afraid you will have no way to escape or will panic and have no help. For example, you might have an intense fear of driving, crossing bridges, or being in shopping malls. You fear the reactions, called panic attacks, that you might have in these situations. The fears can disable you. Fear can prevent you from leaving your home. A person who has agoraphobia may also have panic disorder.
My case...

Actually, i suffered of it since few years ago and I cant handle it sometimes. It comes to me when Iam in a small room (car, flight) which crowed with the ppls or has a bad ventilation, smelly, suddenly turns to dark (especially in cinema). It cause me cant sleep soundly... Actually i feel better since year ago, but now i become worse when i learnt that i have to further my studies at KL, then it comes to me again... I really felt unsecured, start to think a lot... especially i know i have to take a flight. I try to convince myself dun to be panic, everything will go well but cant  cry.gif ... still in panic, unless take a walk, inhale the fresh air to distract my mind. And think while in LRT and it is crowed with ppl, if suddenly it comes to again then what should i do?

I talked with my family too, they cant help me either... Unless taking a pill. Please guide me, if you suffer too and how do you calm down yourself especially in flight, lrt... Iam totally prostrated...  cry.gif  icon_question.gif  cry.gif
sounds alot like clastrophobia, you can see a psychiatrist/psychologist to try to find the cause and eventually overcome it or you can try to do it with friends or alone. try to think about what makes small confined places makes you scared and what happened to you to cause you to fear it.

my friend who is a psychiatrist told me to visualise my "happy place"(i know it sounds corny) whenever i started to panic from heights(afraid of heights yay sweat.gif ) it does work if you can reach your "happy place" in your mind.

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jun 9 2006, 11:28 AM
@nn@nn
post Jun 12 2006, 05:56 PM

Validating
150 posts

i got phobia...for insects...any types of insects including butterfly...
and i'm terrified of going into a lift alone...once i waited outside a lift for more about one hour to wait for someone, anyone to go inside the lift with me...
Blackhart
post Jun 13 2006, 11:20 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

QUOTE(@nn@nn @ Jun 12 2006, 05:56 PM)
and i'm terrified of going into a lift alone...once i waited outside a lift for more about one hour to wait for someone, anyone to go inside the lift with me...
You'd rather wait for an hour than just taking the stairs? sweat.gif
malaysianPotato
post Jun 13 2006, 12:31 PM

2,816 posts

QUOTE(@nn@nn @ Jun 12 2006, 05:56 PM)
rofl i also have entomophobia, its quite embarassing being a guy. sweat.gif

TSswgiant
post Jun 14 2006, 07:39 AM

1,414 posts

come on, there is nothing embarrasing out of it... haha, be relaxed and dun think too much of it... everyday, you will getting better than yesterday...
socratesman
post Jun 14 2006, 04:52 PM

1,807 posts

I have slight these phobias of these, they make me uncomfortable but not to the point of fainting/breathless/sweating...

Lightning/Thunder
Claustrophobia
Blood
Magnified images of bone marrow/nerves/blood vessels
malaysianPotato
post Jun 14 2006, 05:01 PM

2,816 posts

QUOTE(swgiant @ Jun 14 2006, 07:39 AM)
come on, there is nothing embarrasing out of it... haha, be relaxed and dun think too much of it... everyday, you will getting better than yesterday...
rofl easier said than done, swarmed by ants as a child, stung by bees aswell as wasps... go figure i hated insects but managed to get attacked by damn near all of them.
fantagero
post Jun 15 2006, 12:20 AM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

me with spider, cockoroch...
and sometime..
when hear rempit.. also got afraid... when suddenly.. got PEEEEEENNNNG sounds from the moto.. huhh
asilaw
post Nov 7 2006, 02:53 PM

I was diagnosed with panic attack before CNY 06. I freaked out with thought of death looming. Gila punya takut. i thot i am the only one. now got gang here.
rourou
post Nov 7 2006, 04:15 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

hrm... never really had a panic attack...but i do get scared in lifts alone... or maybe i was just imagining things... but no.. nothing in particular that i'm afraid of...

bf is afraid of snakes.. even if he's watching a movie and they've got snakes in it also he'll get goose bumps...
carlsuen
post Nov 7 2006, 04:23 PM

838 posts

lol.. like my mom.. haha!! even tho she is born in the year of the snake but she's terrified of snakes..

I'm just afraid of height.. if i stand some where really high up and look down, it feels like i wanna throw myself of the tower.. damn.. and it makes me nauseate..
rourou
post Nov 7 2006, 05:07 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

oh the high places thing.. i tot that's normal for everyone... you know just look straight down and you feel lethargic and actually feel you're falling down... i tot all those are normal reactions?
carlsuen
post Nov 7 2006, 05:11 PM

838 posts

DUNNO? some of my friends don't feel a thing also..
lord
post Nov 7 2006, 06:04 PM

392 posts

erm...scared to watch horror movie in cinema considered??or be alone in a dark or low light area??afraid of bugs??if yes then i have oso lor... icon_question.gif
T+1
post Nov 7 2006, 06:11 PM

1,368 posts

i have sociophobia blush.gif i m scared of talking to stranger

0.0454sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:50 AM