Home Electrical MCB, How to size Miniature Circuit Breaker

PowerGadget
post Apr 14 2023, 09:55 AM

821 posts

Hello all the kind souls and sifu, wondering whether anybody could give me good advise accordingly? My double storey house is about 30+ years old and the db is rather due to upgrade I think.

some of the mcb is not able to push it down anymore, the lever stuck at the position ON which is rather dangerous I think. Currently, I am thinking of adding more sockets to three of my rooms. two sockets to each room and total of 6 sockets.

Then, pulling 1 socket for kitchen hood and 2 for general sockets for kitchen usage.

Wondering what are the good steps for me to do as of my situation. I wanted to buy parts myself and ask electrician to do as I worry they might cheap out the part but I am not familiar with electric stuffs.

So I really appreciate any input from any sifus. thanks a lot in advanced.

SUSceo684
post Apr 24 2023, 12:10 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 14 2023, 09:55 AM)
Hello all the kind souls and sifu, wondering whether anybody could give me good advise accordingly? My double storey house is about 30+ years old and the db is rather due to upgrade I think.

some of the mcb is not able to push it down anymore, the lever stuck at the position ON which is rather dangerous I think. Currently, I am thinking of adding more sockets to three of my rooms. two sockets to each room and total of 6 sockets.

Then, pulling 1 socket for kitchen hood and 2 for general sockets for kitchen usage.

Wondering what are the good steps for me to do as of my situation. I wanted to buy parts myself and ask electrician to do as I worry they might cheap out the part but I am not familiar with electric stuffs.

So I really appreciate any input from any sifus. thanks a lot in advanced.

Mullti9 macam fake breakers sia. Never heard of them. Even google images don’t seem to have mullti9

Plus the RCD 63A 0.01A sensitivity from Hager can't find anything on that P/N CB2642, for the fun of it I contacted Hager to see if they ever made it. I highly suspect it is fake.

For the parts u can buy from Official Store on shopee x
For replacement of existing MCB - U just need to buy 4pcs MCB each i.e.
4x 6A
4x 20A
4x 32A

https://shopee.com.my/ABB-6kA-MCB-SH201-6A-...113.12706623208

For existing RCD [suspect fake part]
1x 2P 63A 30mA
https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH202-AC-63-0.03-(30mA)-2-POLE-(2P)-i.403384113.11846935209

--The "suck hot air" hood is only 300W or so at most so not a problem to tap on existing socket "looping"
--If its the "electric cooker top u cook on" this one pull a new line from DB box and add a 20A MCB

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 24 2023, 12:53 PM
lcloon
post Apr 25 2023, 09:33 AM

28 posts

Hi everyone. I have a strange problem with my water heater MCB. It always trip off, at random timing. Even when the water heater switch is off, that particular MCB will trip off at random time. May I know what is the problem? MCB (15 years old) became too sensitive or faulty? Or maybe wiring problem? I’m staying in a condominium.

This post has been edited by lcloon: Apr 25 2023, 09:34 AM
PowerGadget
post Apr 26 2023, 05:57 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 24 2023, 12:10 PM)
Mullti9 macam fake breakers sia. Never heard of them. Even google images don’t seem to have mullti9

Plus the RCD 63A 0.01A sensitivity from Hager can't find anything on that P/N CB2642, for the fun of it I contacted Hager to see if they ever made it. I highly suspect it is fake.

For the parts u can buy from Official Store on shopee x
For replacement of existing MCB - U just need to buy 4pcs MCB each i.e.
4x 6A
4x 20A
4x 32A

https://shopee.com.my/ABB-6kA-MCB-SH201-6A-...113.12706623208

For existing RCD [suspect fake part]
1x 2P 63A 30mA
https://shopee.com.my/ABB-RCCB-ELCB-FH202-AC-63-0.03-(30mA)-2-POLE-(2P)-i.403384113.11846935209

--The "suck hot air" hood is only 300W or so at most so not a problem to tap on existing socket "looping"
--If its the "electric cooker top u cook on" this one pull a new line from DB box and add a 20A MCB
Thanks for your help, ceo684! Really appreciate it.

I had called to my local store to inquiry about the parts availability. They came back to me with these price, wondering whether is reasonable as I am located in East Malaysia.

I also contacted two electricians for this job as I am not confident enough to do it myself.

First Electrician #1

Second Electrician #2 (ONLY LABOUR FEE, NO MATERIALS INCLUDE)

Which one would be a better option for me? Anything that I need to be pay more attention?

This post has been edited by PowerGadget: Apr 26 2023, 06:09 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 5 2025, 04:24 PM

4,451 posts

QUOTE(kirlcheah @ Dec 31 2020, 11:07 PM)
When you go to the shop to buy the 10mA to 30mA RCCB, this is designed for water heater. A single jolt of up to 50mA can actually kill us when there's a leakage from the water heater. When the 10mA or 30mA trip, it's designed to check for residual current so that anything over 10mA / 30mA will trip it to save your life.
Hence why only 10mA will be used for heater in case of water heater leakage. Mind you, installing a good RCCB would not save you if your house grounding wire is not good. You must remove the grounding cable from the electrode / grounding rod and  test to get less than 10 ohm. This is dictated by ST. Less or equal to zero is the best and this is done for factories. This can be tested with a grounding meter. Please make sure to connect the cable back to grounding rod after opening it. Also, grounding cable must be at least 10mm cable or best is 16mm cable. Why this is needed to be this thick is because the grounding cable will have lower resistance and all voltage when hits your house during a lightning will travel via this cable to the grounding rod to be absorbed by earth. If you have a 1.5mm or 2.5mm or even 4mm, it will not work as good as a 10mm cable as the resistance is high thus the voltage will not use it as the main cable to travel to earth and will flow elsewhere into your house circuit.
A lot of people don't understand and says that this will trip easily is because they do not know what it's designed for. If your house grounding is good and the 10mA RCCB trips, means there's issue with the circuit and require your attention. Either there's a lightning strike or the cable been damaged by mouse etc. You have to test the cables to make sure it's good.
For house, the main RCCB should be at 100mA. Not 300mA. Those electrician who tells you your house need a 300mA, you better ask them to go and fly kite. 100mA is the maximum dictated by ST. Best is 30mA but it will always trip if there's lightning but if you have a 65kV Surge Arrestor installed, you should be alright without any RCCB trip cause the surge arrestor will absorb the voltage from the lightning. 45k is around RM500 plus. 65kV is around RM1000. Go figure. Buy only good MCB or RCCB with Sirim. There's a lot of fakes out there. EPS is low cost range. Buy Hager / Schneider. Hager is around RM8 for a MCB while Schneider is around RM 13 each. More expensive means it's more sensitive. EPS only cost RM4 dollars. I won't put my life in danger by using a MCB costing dollars....
the electrician who came install EPS. how bad is this brand? hmm.gif i check shopee reviews not much bad reviews or not expert reviews anyway to say why downvoted.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: May 5 2025, 05:53 PM

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0130sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:10 AM