5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The New 9th Gen Honda Accord, Honda Accord 2013 and up

unitron
post Sep 20 2017, 01:21 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Can't find old 8th gen accord thread or maybe buried too deep in the forum, no point resurrecting.

Any previous 8th gen owner here ?

I'm thinking of getting a used 2.4L model.
Feedback from 2.0 owners also welcome, since sure many parts still sharing except engine.
unitron
post Oct 2 2017, 05:06 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(qwe13 @ Oct 2 2017, 11:07 AM)
just had my car serviced for 90k. Also faced engine vibration. Brought it to GA Nilai...a friend works there. Checked the engine mounting etc. Found out the cause of the vibration is due to bad compressor. New parts on its way. Will send the car back to GA for replacement. Will update here soon after replacement made done.
can share how they diagnose it's the bad compressor ?
If simple than we can check ourselves
unitron
post Nov 8 2017, 02:09 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Nov 8 2017, 09:27 AM)
they keep coming up with new tech, but one thing really pissing me off is they are ignoring a very long due fundamental issues of almost all range of honda (i am the accord owner) = the vibration during idling & cabin noise. I believe this 2 fundamental issues can be resolved easily (Nissan and Toyota seems to tackle this long long time ago), but i wondering why Honda has been ignoring this very basis element especially for C and D segment car. Paying for 170k car that vibrate more than my old 60k Sentra is really upsetting me.

Hope Honda can get the above resolve in the 10th gen version.

If they get rid of the above, then honda can be considered one of the almost perfect car for the price and package offered in the market.
Can elaborate more ? What vibration, from where ? hmm.gif

I've 7th gen Civic & 8th gen Accord, didn't notice any abnormal vibration

unitron
post Nov 8 2017, 02:18 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 8 2017, 02:12 PM)
Idling vibration. Some sc suggest its as normal.

Some owner as in fb fight and get replacement of engine/transmission mounting due to this problem
Vibration feel on steering ?
If mounting kong, of course Honda need to replace if under warranty
unitron
post Nov 8 2017, 04:26 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Nov 8 2017, 02:54 PM)
Change new mounting is only temporary solution? Since it is the vibration that makes those wear out.
If replaced mounting manufactured properly and original should be ok.
Mechanic told me got fake ones, but come in packaging look exactly like original

My Civic already 12 yrs old no issue, mounting replaced once about 7-8 yrs ago
Even that time the mounting koyak also no vibration since only 1 out of 4 failed and the failed one is not the main one
I request a check as part of preventive maintenance and mechanic found it damaged.

Accord 7 yrs old, no issue with the mounting so far.

Toyota no doubt has a better reliability track record, if that give you peace of mind, go ahead with the Camry icon_rolleyes.gif
But the interior too unker for me puke.gif
unitron
post Nov 13 2017, 11:49 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Ardt @ Nov 9 2017, 04:58 PM)
Toyota definitely is a good japanese car
but the calculator clock really put me off la. so 80s
even in their premium models..
that is the one thing you will see day in day out
The fake wood interior puke.gif puke.gif
Even steering wheel also need put the fake plastic wood trim meh puke.gif
unitron
post Nov 27 2017, 02:33 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 24 2017, 06:07 PM)
first time driving a mid-sized sedan? =)

no worries, i had the same problem when i bought the F10. the sales person taught me a neat trick, there's no need to assume or guess how close you are to the front, just use the wipers as gauge as guidance soon, you'll be able to "feel".

What's the neat trick ?

Seating position change, i.e when seats are adjusted, the reference view also change right ? hmm.gif
unitron
post Nov 30 2017, 09:08 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Nov 27 2017, 04:28 PM)
Yeap, of course the reference point will change but you don't change your seating every day, do you o_O!
No, but every time workshop people, tire shop guy, car wash, accessories fellow, etc, drive the car they like to adjust the seat
No memory seats, so when i put back also not exact.

But i'll try the trick and see how it goes. thumbup.gif
unitron
post Dec 14 2017, 02:44 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 13 2017, 09:37 AM)
Honda's warranty book clearly stated that the warranty does not cover "wear and tear" so DRLs burning out constitute that. I assumed that your car isn't recently purchased?
Just wanted to clarify. You're working with Honda or you know people who works in Honda who confirmed that DRLs are "wear and tear" items within warranty period ?

I would believe LEDs are much more robust and reliable compared to normal Halogens that it should last the warranty of the car.

Because as one of the R&D engineer in charge of product development for automotive electronics, our customer give us very stringent robustness and reliability requirements, so for sure if the parts was manufactured correctly it will at least last the duration of the warranty. We parts to ensure 3x - 4x the life of he warranty.
unitron
post Dec 18 2017, 10:52 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 15 2017, 09:04 AM)

As much as "quality control" can be ensured for durability, there is no 100% fault free manufacturing.

That's how the corporate world works laugh.gif

Ideal in theory, impractical in nature.
Of course not 100% fault free manufacturing, however unless the terms and conditions explicitly state that the headlamps is wear and tear, if I was affected I will submit a claim and make a big deal out of it. I know how company wanna protect their good name and reputation.

Normally the SC should just allow the claim as "goodwill"
unitron
post Dec 18 2017, 03:14 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 18 2017, 03:04 PM)
Making a "big fuss" isn't really Malaysian style laugh.gif unless the complainant has like a group of 50 - 100 backing him up, usually, the car manufacturers would just basically waste your time by asking you to go back for inspection after inspection. An average Malaysia does not have the luxury of time to waste and eventually when you are fed up, you'd just give up and find the solution yourself.

Take VW for example, few years back when their infamous DSG was plagued with problems so bad that owners literally get to only use their car for 2 months out of a year. VW did not give a jacks**** about it earlier until the entire VW owners club took to the streets and social media just exponentially exploded the entire matter. Then and only then VW's spokesperson in Malaysia decided to step in and wayang abit.

Compare this to Peugeot, when the 508 was launched, there are so many problems lingering with this car that with every "inspection" sprouts a new issue that cannot be fixed. Most notably is with the "turbo" which is constantly clogged with engine oil, what Peugeot simply say is that "oh, the turbo is not suitable for Malaysian weather - not a defect - just the weather incompatibility". That is like lifting a middle finger directly to your face and then rubbing it all over.

Peugeot at the time does not command a large market share (even now) so there is little to almost no one that can create an impact large enough to make their France HQ to even lift their toe.

Yeah, it seems absurd that we drivers are supposedly to have "warranty by right" claims need to succumb to service centres' goodwill in order to enforce it and whilst some may give it to you (since it does not affect them at all) but they are more incline to reject it because they need to write and submit a report to the claims department as to the circumstances that gave rise to the claim.
wow.. those EU brands really f.. the customers ohmy.gif

So far on personal stuff which i claim are from Japs or American companies, so far so good.
They decline, but after a bit of pressure they gave in, but few years ago.
Nowadays I dunno, maybe policy changed hmm.gif
unitron
post Dec 19 2017, 02:22 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 18 2017, 06:31 PM)
If i'm being honest, I am not sure if I will ever trust VW or Peugeot anymore, even if their products are proven to be superior out of the box. That little faith I have in them, just died. That's why no matter how much people praised the new Passat and no matter how many great reviews that car magazines wrote about it, I swear that I will never spent a single cent on VW.

VW in Germany is like the equivalent to Proton/Perodua and Peugeot shares the same hierarchy but not sure why Malaysia people seems to praised these 2 brands as if they were God sent. Maybe, jusst maybe, it's a continental car that Malaysians can afford without breaking the bank.
Yeah, the jokes among my friends is that VW is Proton/P2 in Germany. Only here is considered a 'premium' brand.
When I was in Munich recently (Germany richest city according to my German friend), mostly see Audi, Porsche, Merc and BMW. Of course got some VW also lah..

That being said, I was driving a VW Golf TSI for a week in Melbourne, quite fun car to drive, even thought owner told me claim major warranty 2x already. sweat.gif replace engine and then replace gearbox if not mistaken

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Dec 18 2017, 06:31 PM)
It is rare however for Japanese make car to run into problems which requires massive warranty claims unless you are really unlucky, getting a "lemon car" delivered to you.

I know of someone who drives the 10th generation Civic and whilst everyone is happily revving their turbo engine, he has his car sent to the service centre on his 12k mile run. Until now, the SC cannot diagnose the problem and tell him what it wrong and he was so furious and heartbroken to see that his car was just sitting at the end of the corner of the SC workshop with all the bumpers stripped off and front bonnet opened up, just like scraped car.
Honda should just replace a new engine for him sad.gif
Looks like Mazda or Toyota for him in the future if still go for Japs
unitron
post Dec 22 2017, 11:37 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(mar72 @ Dec 22 2017, 10:27 AM)
guys, my millage already about 190k KM. I am about to service my car, but I couldn't find my service booklet! Do you think the service center took my service booklet during my last 180K Service?
no service booklet but their system still got record, what the issue ?
Of course nice to have, but in case "lost" still ok lah..
unitron
post Dec 22 2017, 03:05 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(mar72 @ Dec 22 2017, 02:40 PM)
yes of course they do have record. Does it take into account when selling this car to used car? Normally they want full service by honda right?
Not really lah... Used car dealer don't bother. If have they untung lah.. a bit easier to sell, can chop potential customers to pay higher price a bit,
make for nice advertisement.
unitron
post Jan 12 2018, 12:00 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(tasriri @ Jan 12 2018, 12:40 AM)
mine got and it is there when i received my car brand new sept 2017.
havent got time to go to sc to ask them about it

rear left at rearlamp got body area not painted .. can see gray undercoat

also, the paint finish is really rubbish very easy to get scratch on the black color
QUOTE(shaniandras @ Jan 12 2018, 07:59 AM)
don’t think so it’s “not painted” as the paint process are fully computerised. maybe damages during transportation or when it was stored in the sales centre.

honda’s paint are known to be “soft” hence very prone to scratches no matter how light a pressure is applied on it. try lightly brushed the underside of your nail on the paint and see the fine hairline scratches miraculously appear. it’s the characteristic of its Kansai paint.

the crystal black pearl is a nightmare to take care of
but when done properly, amazing appearance.
Yeah, Honda clear coat quality is terrible. Easily damaged
unitron
post Jan 15 2018, 10:00 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(jackchong890 @ Jan 14 2018, 04:00 PM)
hi planning to buy a second hand accord 2.4 2014 which already drive for 96000km....inside the condition is super best.

now was worry two thing
on 96000km nid to change anything major?
do Accord 2.4 will have high different fuel comsuption if compare fo my vios?
Anything major is based on your luck and how was previous owner maintenance

You comparing a 2.4L heavy car with a comparatively light 1.5L Vios for fuel consumption doh.gif
What you expect, of course high lah...

Roax tax also high, if you cannot bear with high road tax and higher FC, then please look elsewhere
unitron
post Jan 15 2018, 10:46 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 15 2018, 10:36 AM)
Not terrible, it's just the characteristic of "soft paint". Relatively cheaper than "hard paint" so the saving in costs can be transferred to consumers. Well, at least it's easier to do paint correction =)

I don't believe any savings transferred to consumer, at least not compared to our gov sales and excise tax.

But sure save costs for Honda Malaysia manufacturing. Easier to correct would be beneficial for the factory to correct paint defects to pass their internal QC criteria. But doesn't help the end user. I would think we the owners would rather have more durable clear coat.
Finger nails can easily scratch the paint doh.gif
unitron
post Jan 16 2018, 10:09 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(ride00 @ Jan 15 2018, 03:48 PM)
Just got hold of a Dec'17 Accord 2.4VTi-L Advance and registerd 10 days ago, got about rm11,888 discount. Modern steel was the color.

Discovered that there was no navigation apps and tried using the Android Auto link but the Google app was not available for Msia. Screwup #1

Auto door locking was not available. Screwup #2

Puddle lights on doors also none. Screwup #3

Outside noise intrusive and could be heard loudly. Screwup #4

Boot was not powered and closing it required slamming. Screwup #5

Leather seats not offering enough bum support. Screwup #6

More discoveries are coming but I hope not that much for the top-of-range Honda!
Just got car back from Gyeon coating, inside + outside to make cleaning more pleasureable. My 2sen for your perusal.
Did you actually test the car and go to the showroom to ask about it or direct buy over phone ?
Got free as company car or got it as a birthday present laugh.gif

1) What ? 2.4L model not equipped with it kah... rclxub.gif

2) No idea why they removed the auto door lock features in many new cars.
I got hear someone explain because of some safety concerns, relating to accident and the car door cannot be opened, but couldn't find any official regulation talking about it on google.

3) Wah... cut cost until that also remove kah.. My older 2.4L models come with it as standard

4) Please complaint to Honda to ask them to fix it if abnormal... or you comparing with conti cars like Merc or Audi.
Then nothing wrong with the car, Japs don't have so much sound proofing. Because most other countries don't have loud motorcycles and lorry with dirty diesel engine

5) Since when Honda Accord has powered boots ?

6) That one personal preference....

unitron
post Jan 25 2018, 12:56 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 25 2018, 10:22 AM)
D:

why not just opt for paint?

just to share, i have a few friends that had their car wrapped in full, reputable brand summore, only recently when they tried to remove it, they couldn't get a clean removal off the roof and the wrap actually took off some of the car paint.

the reason cited is that our Malaysian weather is too hot for these wrap and partly also due to Honda's nature of paint. It's just to fragile to be tempered with so unless you don't intend to remove it after you applied the wrap then i suggest you proceed with caution.

they had it on for at least 2 years i think.
I think not only Honda, other brands also same thing. Just Honda has the most fragile paint among the brands.

Just that those Ferrari, Lamborghini, high end luxury marques who normally does these wraps, their owners normally don't have to park under hot sun for long time.

I believe after long time, not only does the adhesives in the wrap stick to the paint surface, but also diffuse into the layer creating a strong chemical bond and not only a physical bond. This reaction is made faster with higher temperature (i.e in the sun). So when removing the wrap, guess what happen, of course paint also come off together.
unitron
post Feb 1 2018, 02:12 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Bfsam999 @ Jan 30 2018, 07:20 AM)
Really? But almost all of my G9 accord friend notice vibration issue. Maybe everyone have different expectations but I do agree there is vibration
If G8 even worse sad.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1048sec    1.04    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:06 AM