Mechanical Keyboard Thread W16, Keyboard race

dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 01:53 PM

Mechanical Kuda Ping Keyboard
1,105 posts

QUOTE(motel266 @ Oct 22 2013, 01:42 PM)
guys armaggeddon black hornet is it worth buy?
planning to get one but no budget liao.
saw someone offer rm2xx for this one

http://armaggeddon.net/gaming-keyboards/black-hornet-black/
I think I know which thread you talking about... RM240 right? Good news is that they use standard layouts. Bad news is the relatively poorer build quality compared with other brands.

But still, it's a good start since most TKL backlit MKBs cost upwards of RM300+
motel266
post Oct 22 2013, 01:54 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Oct 22 2013, 01:53 PM)
I think I know which thread you talking about... RM240 right? Good news is that they use standard layouts. Bad news is the relatively poorer build quality compared with other brands.

But still, it's a good start since most TKL backlit MKBs cost upwards of RM300+
that's right bro.
just dig found one review abt this kb :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIwxai1hnd8
tWice
post Oct 22 2013, 01:57 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 22 2013, 01:52 PM)
Almost all backlit board also like that what? rclxub.gif

If you mean the blue + red combination, it is due to they integrate the CapsLock/ScrollLock indicator onto the keys, hence need different color to easily differentiate from other keys.
yes you right. But this is in term of price flex.gif
SUSHuman10
post Oct 22 2013, 01:58 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Oct 22 2013, 01:53 PM)

But still, it's a good start since most local TKL backlit MKBs cost upwards of RM300+
Actually, the board itself is still pretty solid.

Just that I not very sure on the durability, reliability or quality (for stabilizer) of the board since I don't own one. + I am still stereotyping it for being an overpriced chinaboard rebrand.

BTW, fixed.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 22 2013, 01:59 PM
kaiserreich
post Oct 22 2013, 01:58 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Nojo @ Oct 22 2013, 01:40 PM)
I pmed to ask like 7 questions and he replied "no it just additional option, you dont have to buy stainlesssteel plate. basic kit is reaaly good  biggrin.gif "

At least he reply to you.
I had to send him countless PM about my DyeSub BSP set that he has Group Buy for 6 months.
His response was, "get back to you on Monday"

It's Tuesday already.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 22 2013, 02:01 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 01:57 PM)
yes you right. But this is in term of priceĀ  flex.gif
If you take a clear look, a lot chinaboards are actually as cheap or even cheaper than that.

But if you narrow down it to backlit (by default) boards, then yes, most backlit boards start at 500RMB, except a few newcomers such as the one I posted in link in my previous post.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 22 2013, 02:02 PM
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 02:01 PM

1,105 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 01:51 PM)
i prefer blue switch for gaming. And i love how keycool design with the LED. So nice  drool.gif
Most people won't go for blues when gaming, but to each his own... I personally opted for browns. Still soft and a bit clicky. Blues just too distracting.

QUOTE(motel266 @ Oct 22 2013, 01:54 PM)
that's right bro.
just dig found one review abt this kb :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIwxai1hnd8
The unit is close to a year old by now IIRC. You can get a new one from taobao at pretty much the same price or banggood. Without LEDs of course.

In the end it totally depends on whether you want the LEDs and the macro keys or not, and whether you can live with a slight compromise on build quality.
Nojo
post Oct 22 2013, 02:04 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Oct 22 2013, 01:50 PM)
laugh.gif  and then he goes on bidding that green+purple LZ-GH on auction. apalan.  doh.gif
exactly, I thought anodizing is cheap and widely available in Korea

what for go bid for a board that could go as far as another min of $100 by the end of auction

unless he just want to raise the price and discourage people to buy it and order LZ FE instead tongue.gif

i might cancel my order if there aren't any more info release by the dateline, the additional option is kinda outrageous

the basic kit comes with a silver aluminum plate so that people would spend 35 bucks extra if they desire a black aluminum one, fine

however if you want a stainless steel plate (and another TRiK PCB, what for?), you are expected fork out another 69 bucks for it

tWice
post Oct 22 2013, 02:05 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 22 2013, 02:01 PM)
If you take a clear look, a lot chinaboards are actually as cheap or even cheaper than that.

But if you narrow down it to backlit (by default) boards, then yes, most backlit boards start at 500RMB, except a few newcomers such as the one I posted in link in my previous post.
btw, can i know, does CMStorm TK keycaps can be modified? if can, i rather choose it, since the price is only rm320 and the quality build is good. No one compain it. Need you commend brows.gif
SUSHuman10
post Oct 22 2013, 02:11 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 02:05 PM)
btw, can i know, does CMStorm TK keycaps can be modified? if can, i rather choose it, since the price is only rm320 and the quality build is good. No one compain it. Need you commendĀ  brows.gif
Non-standard layout, means you will have problems finding replacement for the bottom rows.

Take note at the numpad also, you can hardly find back replacement with the right legends on it, but if simply suitable size then ok.

The built I not too sure, but I heard that the board itself is actually very light for its size. Also, an unlucky member here has his TK with a LED down recently, not sure if isolated case or not.

Lastly, just FYI, the board is made by same OEM as Corsair K-series and Logitech G710.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 22 2013, 02:13 PM
ahmad_muslim91
post Oct 22 2013, 02:22 PM

how to buy Keycool 87 LED from tabao???
i was thinking the theme of black layout with white keycaps..
if i change the keycaps the led still function??
justnits
post Oct 22 2013, 02:23 PM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Oct 22 2013, 01:03 PM)
Yeah, the ori ones pretty sucky in terms of feels. Just black keys. Here's mine in the current blue LED under white PBTs (max illumination in dark room):
Do you mind taking a pic under darkness/semi-darkness? I mostly play with low-light environment and I use the backlight a lot.
IDK about that. Black will make the thing look a bit dark-ish which I didn't really like. Take a look at my top pic to see my current arrangement.
here u go, low light condition
joonwei23
post Oct 22 2013, 02:23 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(ahmad_muslim91 @ Oct 22 2013, 02:22 PM)
Use an agent ?
And yeah, using a diff keycap won't hinder the led's functionality.
Nojo
post Oct 22 2013, 02:26 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Oct 22 2013, 02:23 PM)
Use an agent ?
And yeah, using a diff keycap won't hinder the led's functionality.
Buy that crap bag and give me Pedobear brows.gif
SUSHuman10
post Oct 22 2013, 02:28 PM

6,774 posts

Go service noticeboard subforum, find taobao agent to buy it for you.

Yup, change keycaps backlit is still there, but backlit normally will simply shine through white keycaps.
dadudeneverabides
post Oct 22 2013, 03:22 PM

1,105 posts

I use this guy's help:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...225&hl=keyboard

Pretty decent prices, and item arrived one week after order and payment.

And if you wanna see how white keycaps look on top of LEDs, check out my pictures a few pages earlier. Mine's blue LEDs though.

QUOTE(justnits @ Oct 22 2013, 02:23 PM)
here u go, low light condition
Looks okay...

I might bite since the the blues actually will look purple under low-light and just blue-ish under daylight (far right on the 87-key section): user posted image

This post has been edited by dadudeneverabides: Oct 22 2013, 03:23 PM
skye
post Oct 22 2013, 03:27 PM

392 posts

Wow, Feng is going to dump his kmac to get LZ-FE tongue.gif
calkh
post Oct 22 2013, 03:30 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Oct 22 2013, 02:05 PM)
btw, can i know, does CMStorm TK keycaps can be modified? if can, i rather choose it, since the price is only rm320 and the quality build is good. No one compain it. Need you commend  brows.gif
QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 22 2013, 02:11 PM)
Non-standard layout, means you will have problems finding replacement for the bottom rows.

Take note at the numpad also, you can hardly find back replacement with the right legends on it, but if simply suitable size then ok.

The built I not too sure, but I heard that the board itself is actually very light for its size. Also, an unlucky member here has his TK with a LED down recently, not sure if isolated case or not.

Lastly, just FYI, the board is made by same OEM as Corsair K-series and Logitech G710.
The guys with broken TK is me.....seems this OEM is not super reliable also - especially when it comes to backlight quality. Their QC with Corsair is better. I remembered reading about widespread G710 backlight failures also.

Having said all that - CM is a very experienced mech KB builder (with a guys who is very active on GeekHacks), so I thought maybe that's safe. Seems like they still have QC escapees (I actually worked in production before - something completely different, but QC really depends on culture and discipline. If a company has it - they'll be good, which is why I guess Costar is revered as an OEM. If you don't have it - you end up being iOne).

You're free to spend your RM300 - it's yours anyway. I bought the QF TK after spending 3+ weeks following threads here and Geekhacks building up my knowledge (getting slightly poisoned along the way). The way I see it - I like gaming in the dark, so backlight is necessary (also cool to show off to ppl). You must also accept that the mod row (spacebar etc), cannot be replaced. So if the painting there ever fades - you'll have to buy a new keyboard (or harvest the keycaps from a 2nd hand keyboard).

And...I'm also stuck with having to RMA a spoilt keyboard and now I'll likely spend RM300+ again to buy yet another keyboard unsure.gif

worse is - I really have no time to go shopping around.....so now I'm just lurking around and hoping some forumers here have a MX Brown TKL that they're willing to let go..... brows.gif

ainuddin
post Oct 22 2013, 03:35 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(Nojo @ Oct 22 2013, 02:04 PM)
exactly, I thought anodizing is cheap and widely available in Korea

what for go bid for a board that could go as far as another min of $100 by the end of auction

unless he just want to raise the price and discourage people to buy it and order LZ FE instead  tongue.gif
i might cancel my order if there aren't any more info release by the dateline, the additional option is kinda outrageous

the basic kit comes with a silver aluminum plate so that people would spend 35 bucks extra if they desire a black aluminum one, fine

however if you want a stainless steel plate (and another TRiK PCB, what for?), you are expected fork out another 69 bucks for it
well, to me it sounds suspiciously like milking the cash out for the last time while clearing old stocks, then cabut. you know, what with the 'Final Edition' naming scheme and all. biggrin.gif
tWice
post Oct 22 2013, 03:37 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 22 2013, 02:11 PM)

thx for the info

So, where i can find this????

125 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:44 AM