The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

Vio
post Oct 4 2015, 11:47 AM

829 posts

hey guys, i have a 20x20x20cm (1 gallon) tank, planning to put crs in, all water parameters are ok, just that im having temperature issue now, on normal days its around 28-29c. any suggestion on what should be done?

has anyone here managed to keep crs without a chiller?

This post has been edited by Vio: Oct 4 2015, 11:58 AM
Vio
post Apr 22 2016, 12:49 PM

829 posts

hello sifus would like to ask is it possible to juz use a canister filter if i were to divide my 2ft tank with an acrylic divider with many tiny holes drilled on it?

it will be smtg like thisAttached Image

the red arrow will be the outlet of the water.

will this work?

This post has been edited by Vio: Apr 22 2016, 12:49 PM
Vio
post Apr 22 2016, 12:57 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Apr 22 2016, 12:54 PM)
yeah, sad to say that..
shrimp are basically fish food lol
if the water goes through the holes consistently and smoothly should be no problem. but if the holes are too small, algae could block it
what if i were to face the outlet directly towards the divider, so that water constantly hits the divider and also the small holes, will the algae still block?

sorry for asking alot, my 1st time dividing, would like to cut down on aquariums and put them in a same tank.
Vio
post Apr 22 2016, 01:46 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Apr 22 2016, 01:17 PM)
wat are you keeping inside?

i dont think facing the outlet there will do any good about algae. heck algae even grows on the outlet pipe itself lol

its no big deal actually.

but small holes, if you're breeding, the fries or shrimplet might get through
blue dream shrimps and fire red shrimps. im planning to find smt to make tiny holes like those breeding box
Vio
post Apr 25 2016, 08:51 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Apr 22 2016, 02:00 PM)
if you're breeding, the shrimplets might get through.
yea been reading that alot too.. sad.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 23 2016, 02:20 AM)
Instead of drilling hole at the divider, you can left a gap under the divider for water to flow through , the substrate will prevent
shrimp from going to the other side and also allow water to pass through.
or
You can also use an UGF too under the substrate , with the canister connect to one side of the ugf outlet point to suck out water
and dump the water to the other side.[attachmentid=6468170]
thanks arrow for the info, may i ask roughly how thick should the substrate be?

also if i do not want to use an UGF, will this be the correct setting?

Vio
post Apr 27 2016, 10:32 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 27 2016, 07:59 PM)
yes, your setup work too, substrate should be at least 2-3cm above the gap opening.
thanks! i tried to just let the soil hold the divider but it doesnt seemed to work.

i have also tried using rocks to hold at each side, but after some time, the divider tend to slant to 1 side.

any solution other than using silicon to hold it?
Vio
post Apr 28 2016, 10:58 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Apr 27 2016, 10:48 PM)
superglue, gel type
going to try that, hopefully wont be noticeable as when silicon is used

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 28 2016, 02:02 AM)
you can try use to Tank Divider Suction Cup, however silicon is a more permanent solution.
i tried googling on that but seems like there will be gap and the shrimplets will be able to swim through not?
Vio
post Apr 28 2016, 11:01 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 28 2016, 10:39 AM)
just wanna check with you guys, have anyone of you guys used such chiller before? as below:
https://world.taobao.com/item/530208107501....0.eFgIUc#detail

Thanks!
erm i've seen the fish shop at my place here using it, but he uses it for very small tank only, roughly 30x30x30 cm cubes and slightly larger. and its around RM500+

Vio
post Apr 28 2016, 11:17 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 28 2016, 11:11 AM)
yeah, my tank is a 1ft cube, i'm thinking to use it for that tank.

500+ so expensive here.  sad.gif
or if you dont mind drilling a hole on ur aquarium, might want to consider this, saw someone selling it but not sure of the availability

Here
Vio
post Jul 26 2016, 12:29 AM

829 posts

hello sifus, sorry for bringing this up again, earlier i did ask about dividing the aquarium by using only a cannister filter

currently i noticed that the left side is a little cloudy (maybe its because i moved the soil and all

my question is will the water in the left side be filtered?

Vio
post Jul 26 2016, 11:56 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Jul 26 2016, 09:20 AM)
if the filtered water enters the other side then it should be no problem, but I guess maybe the flow rate on the left side is quite slow to be filtered since the opening is at the bottom if I'm not mistaken..slowly put, it like left side water slowly sip into the right thus the amount to be filtered is low compared to water on the right side which has direct access to the filter intake pipe..

not sure u understand my explaination.. sad.gif
i think roughly i understand, also i did increase water till water flow is able to flow from the top, which made the left side much clearer but then the shrimps are all swimming over to both sides

i intend to relocate my discus over here once i managed to get things sort out
Vio
post Jul 27 2016, 03:03 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Jul 27 2016, 12:46 AM)
you can try using spray bar in the middle to cover both side instead of using lily pipe,
else you shift the canister input from right to left side, the output remain on the right, this may help pull the water underneath
from the right to the left side and renew the water on the left.
ok currently using the spray bar in the middle and even after placing the input in 1 side and the output on the other side, the side without intake still looks kinda cloudy and able to see stuff floating in mid water, where as for the other side, its crystal clear
Vio
post Jul 28 2016, 09:55 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(usmanjailani @ Jul 27 2016, 03:22 PM)
OR.....

if you into diy stuff, make 2 inlet and 2 outlet share the same canister..put some valve to control output on the smaller side so that it will not tiup everything.. icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
thank you ! will look into that
Vio
post Aug 20 2016, 10:38 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Aug 20 2016, 10:01 AM)
Mine failed too. CRS fail, they dun die  juz dun breed.
TDs 44+ pH 5+
had the same problem with u , water parameters was all fine, juz dont know why they didnt breed
Vio
post Aug 20 2016, 10:47 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Aug 20 2016, 10:39 AM)
Ur temperature ?

Mine is 26-28, might be too hot. Can't afford chiller or air conditioning room.
23-24'c in air cond room, had like 20 crs and cbs, after a year they didnt berried nor breed and it all died out, and i stop keeping them.

also i had a few other tanks back then, blue dream, blue jelly, mixed them together and all the blue dream strain had gone and they are all blue jelly.

my yellow gold, chocloate just dont breed and died out although they had the perfect water parameters

currently keeping opae ula, got from bro Arrow, but still no sign of breeding
Vio
post Aug 20 2016, 11:46 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Aug 20 2016, 11:42 AM)
Wow, using air conditioning room oso dun breed…
How abt water change ?
Mine weekly, 30 to 40%
erm yea haha coz its in the hall.

erm i dont really do it like every week, but in a month ill do water change about twice or more if i have the time
Vio
post Aug 20 2016, 01:12 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Aug 20 2016, 12:54 PM)
Might be we juz dun have shrimp luck đŸ˜‚
haha guess so. giv up already, spend so much
Vio
post Aug 20 2016, 01:23 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Aug 20 2016, 01:21 PM)
Saw some keeper using different method, their shrimp berried like crazy. He's nice enuf to tell me how he did it. Now he's keeping lots of neo in his 4ft tank
u mean u r keeping malaya only?

hehe mind to share ?
Vio
post Aug 20 2016, 01:51 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Aug 20 2016, 01:32 PM)
Mine now only few Malaya, and some fire red. Fire red doesn't berried. They came berried and breed when I bought them. But only once that time. Ard 5 or 6 maths ago.
my malaya berried but i've never seen the babies b4

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 20 2016, 01:40 PM)
water change is one of the most important factor for them to molt and then, breed.
but i did the same thing for all my tanks only my blue jelly and fire red are only the ones breeding, the rest are not.. weird
Vio
post Aug 20 2016, 04:16 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 20 2016, 02:05 PM)
others as in? crs?
yup crs, yellow gold and chocolate

QUOTE(ekestima @ Aug 20 2016, 02:40 PM)
My Malaya always berried. No fries seen.

At least ur blue jelly and fire red can breed. Mine not even shadow seen.
haha have u tried cherry?

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 20 2016, 04:08 PM)
malaya or amano shrimp?
i have both but my amano is with tetras so i guess even if they did have larva they wont survive

whereas my malaya are only in my shrimp tanks

0.0509sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:38 PM