4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

bluecoat
post Apr 29 2014, 10:00 PM

307 posts

I introduce new member 4 tail sss and 2 ss CRS into my Grade A CRS tank at last saturday. But today i saw got 2 new member is die. i dont know what is the reason. The old CRS is still working well and no issue.

I am curious why the new member is die ? i immediately use water test kit to determine need change or not. but it look no need . My NH3/NH4 , No2 and no3 all is 0 and PH is 7.2

Anyone have idea why my new CRS die. please comment.
bluecoat
post May 3 2014, 10:48 PM

307 posts

Anyone can share regarding when the shrimp is having egg, it is not promise will have a baby shrimp after 1 month ,right ? Why this can happen and how to overcome this problem ?

Is shrimp tank have worm is normal ,I saw some im my gravel and it look like is some sort not belong to panaria type. How I can know that worm is harmfull and how to catch most common worm ?
bluecoat
post May 8 2014, 09:11 PM

307 posts

hi all fsifu

Can we use ketapang leave to lower down PH for CRS tank and after put in ketapang leave , do it require to take it out from tank after some period ?
bluecoat
post May 13 2014, 09:32 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 15 2014, 07:49 PM)
For Benibachi full setup :

UGF -> Benibachi Bacter Base -> 1cm of Benibachi soil -> Benibachi Bee Max -> 0.5-1cm of Benibachi soil -> Benibachi Mineral Powder -> The rest of Benibachi soil -> (optional)->put some powder form of benibachi soil on top the normal grain.

For 3ft tank, this may cost quite a dent as
Soil require 12L(3cm thick) - 20L(5cm thick) . each 8L bag cost RM114.00
Bacter Base - 3L to cover 90x45cm base - each 1.5L bag cost rm67.00
Benibachi Bee Max 30g - need 2 pack for 3ft , each pack cost rm67.00
Benibachi Mineral Powder 120g . need 2 pack . each pack cost rm57.00
Benibachi Mineral rock 300g for 60L water, so 3ft around 150L water , need around 750g , 1 pack 1kg cost rm82.00
(Optional)Benibachi powder soil loose pack 3L , cost around rm50-60.

If follow full system, you have to use :
Benibachi Active water 250ml RM114.00 (kick start bacteria) (dose during setup & maintenance)
Benibachi Emergency water 100ml rm77.00 (mineral and trace elements) (dose during setup & maintenance)

Optional :
Benibachi crimson ball 1 box 10 ball - rm100.00++
Benibachi Alpha zero slab - rm55.00

These are Benibachi system for CRS setup.

Above are excluding tank, UGF, additional filter , chiller and light system.

Rough cost for just the benibachi stuff for 3ft cost around rm900 - 1k++ alone excluding Tank, UGF, Air pump , additional Filter & light.
hi Arrow,since benibachi setup so expensive. Do you think we can invest acid RO system with just remineralize water ? If can,the soil shall no require to change ? Since soil buffer is not important after have acid ro water.

bluecoat
post May 14 2014, 12:25 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ May 13 2014, 12:13 PM)
Benibachi is more of a complete proven workable system for keeping crs, this especially useful for people with no knowledge of keeping shrimps and like to start with these sensitive crs shrimp.
This doesn't mean other setup won't work, lot of people able to keep crs with their own unique setup, just that lot of trial and error in doing so.
For own setup, basic stuff must care for is water quality (that why encourage to use full RO water),
Gh , ph , tds and temperature of the tank.                             
How you achieve these correct parameters is up to individuals twinking.
H
Thanks for the info, anyway my aquarium gh level is only 3 . It is not that good for crs and the optinum level is 6, right ? Correct me if I am wrong. I am using fluval gh increaser. What is the recommend brand gh increaser which is more than 3 ?
bluecoat
post May 14 2014, 12:26 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ May 13 2014, 12:13 PM)
Benibachi is more of a complete proven workable system for keeping crs, this especially useful for people with no knowledge of keeping shrimps and like to start with these sensitive crs shrimp.
This doesn't mean other setup won't work, lot of people able to keep crs with their own unique setup, just that lot of trial and error in doing so.
For own setup, basic stuff must care for is water quality (that why encourage to use full RO water),
Gh , ph , tds and temperature of the tank.                             
How you achieve these correct parameters is up to individuals twinking.
H
Thanks for the info, anyway my aquarium gh level is only 3 . It is not that good for crs and the optinum level is 6, right ? Correct me if I am wrong. I am using fluval gh increaser. What is the recommend brand gh increaser which is more than 3 ?
bluecoat
post Jun 14 2014, 02:10 PM

307 posts

How your guys services chiller ? Any service contact for chiller ? Please advice
bluecoat
post Jul 7 2014, 12:08 PM

307 posts

Recently , i am facing a problem. I have A/S grade CRS which is feed almost half years. last month , i bough a thick shell CRS which is SSS grade.

I saw SSS grade is die after molting , while the A/S crs is no problem at all.

Just wonder , is that because the shrimp shell thick it cause them hard to molt ? please advice what i can i do to prevent next AAA CRS die after molt .

My water parameter.
PH = 6.5
GH = 4-5
KH= 0
TDS = 90

NO2, no3 NH3/4 = 0
bluecoat
post Aug 24 2014, 08:10 PM

307 posts

Hi all , do you all know what is the best food for crs baby ? It shall not be too rich of vitamin. Worry it cause anmonia.

Please advice
bluecoat
post Sep 8 2014, 11:33 AM

307 posts

i looking to re-setup my shirmp tank. it is because i keep saw the shrimp die one by one. Every 5 day will find one death. i dont know what is the reason and below is my water condition

PH6.3
NO3=10ppm
NO2=0
ammonia= 0
GH=4
KH=0

i slowly took out all plant and wood out from tank to troubleshoot the deaath issue. but it still death shrimp . At last only left the filter media and soil but death still continue. Thus , i suspect is soil problem , will soil cause death slowly of shrimp ?

i plan to re-setup tank with potential two brand . boreowild or benebachi.

But after research , it look benebachi life spam is longer with almost 2 years. Can anyone recommend where can bough benebachi with good price ? and is using benebachi soil better to use Under gravel filter ?
Please advice the best method of setup tank with benebachi as start with good setup then future is hassless free i believe.

please advice
bluecoat
post Sep 8 2014, 08:39 PM

307 posts

It is CRS tank , do you have any recommendation where to buy benebachi product with good price ? Between benebachi can put ugf filter and what is the advantage with put ugf ?

Again what is advantage without ugd for benebachi soil ?
bluecoat
post Sep 9 2014, 10:36 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Sep 9 2014, 01:11 AM)
If you from penang ,this coming Sunday , Benibachi having 2nd anniversary party at Ace aquatic, think got some discounts, all benibachi products are fixed priced.
Keeping shrimp never be cheapskate, esp on crs.
Yes,at last I consider borneowild. It is cheaper and it still costly actually.
I bought total rm700 for resetup the 3ft tank.

Between , I resetup because my crs keep die. Just wonder can the filter media which age around half years and stop for 2 day still can use ? My tank just have soil and filter media . Not sure filter media can cause my crs death not
bluecoat
post Sep 10 2014, 11:38 PM

307 posts

(for gfs try ask seller what parameter they coming from and match that) what is gfs ?

The bacteria is death, just wonder can I reuse the filter media , means I will recycle again to grew bacteria. Just thinking if threw it away is wasted . I think the total media bought aroind rm100.

Please advice
bluecoat
post Sep 12 2014, 12:41 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Sep 11 2014, 04:38 PM)
Hi bro, IMHO, it's better not to use UGF if you're already planning to use with canister filter with chiller. It may deplete the buffer capability faster if you're running it with a canister and UGF is harder to maintain. Benibachi soil is just like any other shrimp soil can setup like usual and you don't have to follow exactly their step by step system with UGF as recommended by the shop. Better stick with just sponge and canister. Just my 2sen.
Yup, I think my tank too many filter. I hv 1 canister ,airpump and hang on filter . Think may need remove hang on filter to let buffer better. Anyway , I think you are right with no need follow the benebachi setup. Just wonder how u maintain the shrimp tank for said 2 years ? Example , beside maintain gh and tds, what else u will maintain ?do u dose bacteria and and mineral for weekly maintenance ?if u use ,can introduce ?
bluecoat
post Sep 13 2014, 11:37 AM

307 posts

My.Hang on filter is aqua clear 500. It is very power in filtration. Just wonder is that will affect soil buffer ?

Anyone experience before ?
bluecoat
post Sep 14 2014, 01:02 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Sep 13 2014, 09:02 PM)
I use before this aquaclear 500 ; a big monster of hang on filter, the bad part is the flow too fast, the control flow button like not functioning.
The more powerful your filteration , the faster the soil buffer deplete, remove the hang on filter and stick with canister plus sponge.
Yes, it is monster hang on filter. Ok. I going to stop it. Just wonder is that fine if I connect two tank ? Each tank have it own soil . Will this connect cause water not stable or will it cause the soil buffer depletion ?

I connect in this way because avoid to buy second chiller.

Please advice
bluecoat
post Sep 23 2014, 10:01 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(digital_ideas @ Sep 21 2014, 12:17 AM)
Hi I am new in this hobby, switching from fish to shrimp.
Currently cycling my ADA amazonia soil. Will need shrimp in a week or two.

Anyone has some fire red shrimp & fire yellow shrimp for sell/sponsor?
Looking at 10 each for start up. (I had a 2 feet tank splitted with divider)

Hopes to learn from some sifus around here.
sponsor ? I need sponsor also....

bluecoat
post Oct 2 2014, 01:37 AM

307 posts

Anyone can tell me why baby shrimp can't survive and the elder prawn is fine? Is the under gravel filter use with the soil not suitable with Ugf will kill prawn slowly. My cars is die 1 every 3to 4 days. Van anyone advice ?
bluecoat
post Oct 2 2014, 02:16 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(jirochl @ Oct 2 2014, 01:55 AM)
Relax bro. You've got alot of typo.  tongue.gif  Got enough biofilms for baby shrimps? Is it a new tank?
It is old tank actually ....i not sure why simplet cant survive and then the shrimp is die 1 by 1 every 5 days.
bluecoat
post Oct 19 2014, 12:20 AM

307 posts

is shrimp tank recommend put salt for every water change ?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0535sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:10 AM