The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

lily64my
post Oct 6 2013, 04:45 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Greazlog @ Oct 6 2013, 02:52 PM)
I was told that one can buy shrimp full box , or lobster from port klang...Any one can please advise location and best time to buy...I wish to buy one box each month and split between me and two of my frnds...please advise ?[COLOR=red]
I think u want eating shrimp.....here we are not discussing eating shrimps.... mad.gif

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 6 2013, 04:46 PM
lily64my
post Oct 6 2013, 07:44 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 6 2013, 06:54 PM)
Just set up tank no.2 smile.gif
Now for the looong wait cycling
Ehhhh copycat!
lily64my
post Oct 6 2013, 07:46 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Oct 6 2013, 07:15 PM)
I also plan to setup new 1ft tank with only sank, so i wondering i follow ur step using sand, can immediately put in the cherry shrimp? or have to wait for the tank cycle?  wink.gif
I guess any life form you put in tank the tank need to cycle 1st. Unless u put plants...
lily64my
post Oct 6 2013, 10:30 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 6 2013, 10:27 PM)
Eventually gonna retire the office tank and bring it home.
Thanks for the tips as always. U overdose prime before adding shrimps right?
Oh yea less hassle..maybe keep existing tank with few guppies?
lily64my
post Oct 6 2013, 11:15 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 6 2013, 01:04 PM)
ADA repack Shirui sand 4kg rm25. Need 2 bag for 2ft.
Your current ADA soil already settle. Remember got any casualty when you use it when just started when the soil was new?
Done setup 1x2ft tank with remaining black ADA soil black colour. Now doing cycle with used media but new filter.
2nd tank of 1ft tank needs soil/sand.
3rd tank of 3ft with cycled water is ready for malaya.

Since blue velvet is sensitive, should i move fire red and yellow from this sharing tank to new tanks? Sharing tank is with the ADA amazonia red colour soil. Is it good colour match with blue velvet?

And will black soil be good match colour for fire red?

So yellow golden back should be with what colour soil? Or maybe trying sand.
Arrow pls advise..
lily64my
post Oct 7 2013, 10:01 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 7 2013, 01:04 AM)
Sis. Every shrimp look great on dark background. The only exception maybe black colored shrimp as they may look invisible.
Better don't move them to this new tank even you have used old media in the new filter. Cos beneficial bacteria also quite sensitive to new environment.  Like if move from ph 7.6 to ph 6.2 environment they may died off or become less efficient.  Some more your new tank is with ADA amazonia soil that have tons of ammonia. It need a very strong BB colony to handle.
And to help reduce excess ammonia from new ADA soil. You need to do few huge water change. This will swing the water parameter so mych that your shrimp may not able to handle.
Also use a small stick. Poke the new ADA soil to release all those vtrapped air bubble. if not in the future those trapped air may pose as ammonia bomb.
Came home saw the tank water is clear....i remember read sumwhere to change 100% for 1st time, so did 100% water change. Now cycling it again. Will change 50% tomorrow till end of week.
Meanwhile, malaya is living in 3ft castle...lol
lily64my
post Oct 8 2013, 12:00 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 8 2013, 01:01 AM)
normally you only do that for the notorious ammonia bank by the name ADA amazonia. This is the best soil for planted tank cos of huge nutrients it content. But to shrimp tank, those nutrients are to no use but instead pose problem with those tons of ammonia it leech. You should get hold some sample to try.
70% to 100% initial water and subsequent large water change is to help remove/reduce those extra nutrients.
That the reason why ADA soil based tank took longer time to cycle compare with 'chap ayam' soil or sand/gravel.
Even for sole planted tank purpose, initial remove of excess nutrients will also help reduce algae outbreak as during early setup, plants haven't establish to absorb/utilize those nutrients yet.
Is it ok the malaya shrimp tank is without any soil? a lot of algae plants and leaves....so far they are cool in the castle... lol. Need to catch the one with eggs in belly from other tank.
I somehow like the orange ADA soil...maybe getting a bag of it for my 1ft tank.
lily64my
post Oct 9 2013, 10:38 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 8 2013, 12:06 PM)
Still no ammonia detected

Is it good not to have ammonia?

btw...nice tank rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 9 2013, 11:12 AM
lily64my
post Oct 9 2013, 12:13 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 9 2013, 12:30 AM)
Agreed. A lesson learnt for me back then as I didn't do that much wc...hence algae attack was crazy. Well, guess sometimes we just have to learn it the hard way sad.gif

Just thankful it turn out for the better now...that both plants and shrimps are doing ok. Although hoping no time bomb since I've got some air pockets in the soil.
My Malayans are diggers...they really know how to dig around searching for food. So perhaps it's good to have soil for them to dig around. A more natural environment for them I guess.

By the way...what's the orange soil you're referring to?
Nice tank you got there bro. What's that black bag hanging at the back of the tank?
ADA Africana. I have one tank with that soil. Oh dear, how to add the soil now to the malaya tank? shrimp already in the tank (cycled tank ex-fish).

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 9 2013, 12:13 PM
lily64my
post Oct 9 2013, 02:32 PM

132 posts

I would like to share picture here but somehow cannot download using normal practise.
lily64my
post Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 9 2013, 12:21 PM)
Orange soil, i like it initially but stay away after my shrimp show poor color on it, maybe oldman eyes no good.
Add new soil to existing tank, tricky abit, cos it will cloud the water, and if your tank filter is new, more problem cos need long cycle.
So far my fire red, yellow and blue velvet shows good colour in this soil colour.

But I have sponge filter in Malaya tank..so how to cycle water? I would need to take out the shrimp 1st, add soil and add on shrimp again later?
lily64my
post Oct 10 2013, 11:00 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 9 2013, 11:42 PM)
I got my 3rd batch of Malayan shrimps from arrow too! This time it's 20 smile.gif
Oh what happend to your previous 2 batches?
lily64my
post Oct 10 2013, 03:37 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 9 2013, 02:58 PM)
Just open a free flickr account... www.flickr.com

Upload your photos

Copy and paste into the forum as per pic below. You get much better quality photos, don't load the lowyat servers and don't even need to resize.

Not successful...
lily64my
post Oct 10 2013, 11:03 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 10 2013, 10:46 PM)
Gor picture? 5mm still tiny. Could be a male.
I have the same too....
lily64my
post Oct 11 2013, 10:56 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 11 2013, 10:23 AM)
I mean the water condition.

Since there's no fauna inside, I don't mind nuking them.
there will be residue for your shrimp....
lily64my
post Oct 11 2013, 12:45 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 11 2013, 10:58 AM)
Also saw a nematode swimming around. WTF... how come so happening so fast? Not even one week yet.
Thats is very fast....
lily64my
post Oct 13 2013, 05:31 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 13 2013, 03:41 PM)
Well...am back... smile.gif

3 casualties this week...1 fire red, oto & 1 kamikaze malayan. sad.gif
Glad the others & shrimplets are still doing fine.

Tank glass is still full of GDA...so no pics could be taken tongue.gif Not sure if the dead red was a berried female or not...though I hope not. Managed to see 1 of the reds molting...finally...that was nice.

The 2 crs are still doing good too. So hope to add in more in the near future. Who knows...maybe even OEBTs next time laugh.gif
Yes u should since u have the top range tank...
lily64my
post Oct 15 2013, 04:59 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 11 2013, 04:05 PM)
Inserted the elite commandos. See how it does over the weekends.

Hi... hows the progress? I cant do anythi g cause got water problem. Scared to do wc for old tank and new tank...project delayed now. rclxub.gif cry.gif
lily64my
post Oct 15 2013, 05:00 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 14 2013, 05:18 PM)
Lol where got top range tank? It's just a noob tank lah... wink.gif
Haha...thanks much bro. First time, heartache...after that...no feeling tongue.gif

Orange Eye Blue Tiger...nice but expensive tigers... whistling.gif
Dont be shy...luxury tank like yours u can just keep 2 pairs of oebt and stare at them....lol
lily64my
post Oct 15 2013, 06:24 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 15 2013, 05:39 PM)
First commandos are KIA sad.gif due to command error ie. Me  doh.gif

Second batch... Ms. Rambo is doing fine so far.

Gonna add the rest tomorrow. Having 2 tanks at work is attracting too much unnecessary attention.
Lol....

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0591sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:01 PM