8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

lily64my
post Oct 15 2013, 09:55 PM

132 posts

Today i found some shrimplets in cherry tank are colourless....omg its malaya shrimplets! Fantastic.... those cherry shrimplets got a very light red...but malaya has kinda only stripe on their back...they are grouping together...not like cherry...lol
Shrimplets in the other tank are getting bigger!!! The blue, yellow and fire red..(somehow this batch i got at pets88 was not producing fire red shrimplets instead like cherry)
Maybe will move them into cherry and let my grade S fire red only in the tank and breed.
I cant wait for my other 2 tanks ready rclxub.gif yawn.gif sweat.gif
Still trapping planaria 24 7....lol mad.gif

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 15 2013, 10:03 PM
lily64my
post Oct 16 2013, 09:18 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 15 2013, 11:12 PM)
wild neocaridina and male cherry also colorless, have to wait and see.
No matters how you select breed fire red, you will still get cherry like baby, just assign them into reject tank.
Oh dear! Hmmmm can put them in cherry tank? Let them grow so see wht is the colour later.
lily64my
post Oct 16 2013, 09:02 PM

132 posts

Got 3 casualty today...2 of yellow and one cherry.. lately also had one or 2 casualty in cherry...could be the planaria biting them...
They are lesser now after 24 7 trapping.. but got this small white bug..they like to be in a group...dunno how to trap them or where they come from..

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 16 2013, 09:57 PM
lily64my
post Oct 17 2013, 07:22 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 16 2013, 11:30 PM)
Time to nuke
How to do that?
lily64my
post Oct 17 2013, 10:05 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 17 2013, 09:42 AM)
Use no planaria to nuke them.

On another note... migrated all my shrimps to the new tank. So far so good.
Good...

So far daily 24 7 trapping is sucessful...dont see many crawling.
lily64my
post Oct 17 2013, 10:24 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(calvinyoon @ Oct 17 2013, 10:18 AM)
alternatively can DIY planaria trap...
Got this snail trap sold at Fish Depot...very good...shrimplets cant go in... rclxms.gif
lily64my
post Oct 17 2013, 10:53 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 17 2013, 10:12 AM)
Problem is how you're gonna catch all of them  laugh.gif
LOL....u need to have both hands in action and no plants around...but its not easy to catch them...
lily64my
post Oct 17 2013, 12:43 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 17 2013, 11:43 AM)
Sorry. have not post you the no planaria powder. will do so asap. smile.gif
Still scared..... sweat.gif
lily64my
post Oct 17 2013, 04:08 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 17 2013, 02:00 PM)
Post some updates on my newly started Udang MkII tank.

My view

Straight on view

Visitors view

Up close view

ps: Apologies for the poor quality photos and reflection.
Oh wah...nice
lily64my
post Oct 18 2013, 05:37 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 18 2013, 04:57 PM)
hi guys
(i'm newbie and my 1st attempt to have shrimp) smile.gif
i want to ask about water parameter for Red Cherry Shrimp
i just test water ph in my tank and it show 6
do i need to increase the ph or just ignore
currently there no shrimp yet, and it will arrive on this monday or tuesday
i'm using ADA soil

Please refer to 1st page...
lily64my
post Oct 19 2013, 06:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 19 2013, 04:00 PM)
this is my tank
sorry for the blur picture because i taking using phone camera

the fish will be remove after the shrimp arrive
the tank almost 2 month after setup
Good tank....wow 2 months setup...i cant wait...lol
Perhaps check the water to make it suitable for shrimp.
Got diy co2?

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 19 2013, 06:06 PM
lily64my
post Oct 20 2013, 10:07 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 20 2013, 12:52 AM)

can someone confirm whether I set the filter correctly ?

First time and my friend just passed me the tank  sweat.gif

or the other tube need to point into the water?
Omg...u are making teh tarik...lol
lily64my
post Oct 20 2013, 10:16 PM

132 posts

I send one commando cherry into my 1st cycled tank day yesterday! Checked today and cherry is still good...tested ph kh n gh...a bit low than the original home tank.
Should i wait longer than transfer the yellow golden back. I thought of moving some mosses too...but afraid the snail and planaria migrate too.
Still traping planaria daily and still found them in the trap..

This post has been edited by lily64my: Oct 20 2013, 10:17 PM
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 02:20 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 02:18 AM)
don't transfer the moss or even the water, planaria and eggs may hitchhiking on it.
you should receive the no-planaria on wed, nuke THEM(planaria) ,trap is useless.
How many Liters of water of your planaria tank ?
got 2x 2ft tank..one normal size from lfs and one with round sides...a bit taller..

lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 02:23 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 10:57 AM)
These fellas damn funny... they keep moving food out of the feeding dish.  vmad.gif

lol..not enough sauce??
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 02:33 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 20 2013, 10:25 PM)
Well folks...been some time since I posted...so a quick update. Decided to take a deep plunge today & increased my tank population. Here's what I got:

6x S grade CRS (+1 existing)
6x SS grade CRS (+1 existing)
2x SSS grade CRS
2x OEBTs (hope it's a pair, hard to see)

Just couldn't resist...hands too itchy...

Current tank population:

8x Malayans
18x S grade Fire Reds
16x mix grades CRS
2x OEBTs
6x horned nerite snails
1x otocinclus
& numerous fire red shrimplets, tonnes of bugs & thin white worms

Here's hoping there'll be no casualties from today's purchase...as there's quite a hole in wallet now... tongue.gif

Tank's recovering from GDA attack...still some left. Not sure if it's the end of its life cycle or the oto/nerites/seed shrimps were clearing it...but am very glad I can see what's in the tank again (albeit not so clear yet).

Pics will be up when I can get some good clear shots wink.gif
Congratulations on the brave moved. But its 1st class hotel ok lah.
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 08:01 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Oct 21 2013, 10:58 AM)
LOL ~~ Guess they want to bring it back

I wonder how long does it take for my tank water to be clear  sweat.gif
U can change 100% andmakesure dnt disturb the soil...put a bowl or something n pour water into it. Slowly
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 08:03 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 05:51 PM)
Was thinking the same, is there a better way to transport shrimps back from shop instead of the usual tar pau style?
I do that too.. using tweezers to drop at a particular place but it ends up all over the place. With a small tank, all those food pieces and shrimp poo can really accumulate fast.
Tie to a thread...lol
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 08:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 03:16 PM)
Haha... you and your compliments, Sis... thanks much  blush.gif Hope the shrimps feel the same way as you do...  laugh.gif
She's still quite scared to use that bro...needs more guarantee that it doesn't affect her 'babies'  biggrin.gif
yes yes

Err... thankfully it was lesser than that. OEBTs were the most expensive of the lot per head-wise.

Ahh... if only I could get a berried female but unfortunately couldn't as there were only 2 berried females in the tank and I was not to get it cry.gif Anyway, these 2 (as usual) are pioneer commandos deployed. If all goes well *may* just get another pair. Did the same for all the shrimps I have... start with a 'pioneer' batch... all is OK for a week or so... then add more.

Perhaps it's just my luck, but seems each batch of shrimp I got there would be 1 casualty (apart from the Malayan...1 kamikaze case after >1mth)... let's hope this time 'buang suay' already with those 'sacrificial shrimps'... blush.gif

Can't wait to be home tonight and see how the new 'babies' are doing... laugh.gif whistling.gif
lily64my
post Oct 21 2013, 10:18 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Oct 21 2013, 10:03 PM)
Yup, still end up elsewhere nearby but still good enough for mine as there's not many space for them to move around the food tongue.gif

Well at least with good filtration you don't have to worry much about those poop.
Yeah...seen before how some inexperienced ppl pack it...really give you heart attack & wonder if what you bought can survive the trip home.

Well...am glad to inform that all is fine in my tank *thank goodness* however...witness something earlier I would like to seek confirmation - a female shrimp swam up and 'fell down'...i was like "don't tell me it's a goner..." but luckily it was just molting. When it was half way molting...a male went on top of it. Once it was done molting the female just swam away quickly. So what I'd like to know is...was what I witnessed the quick mating or another shrimp being aggressive to another when it's molting?

Edit: OK here's a pic of one of the OEBTs:

Good...can become grandpa soon...lol

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1397sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:59 AM