The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

GTBlackIce
post Oct 21 2013, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 05:51 PM)
Was thinking the same, is there a better way to transport shrimps back from shop instead of the usual tar pau style?
I do that too.. using tweezers to drop at a particular place but it ends up all over the place. With a small tank, all those food pieces and shrimp poo can really accumulate fast.
Yup, still end up elsewhere nearby but still good enough for mine as there's not many space for them to move around the food tongue.gif

Well at least with good filtration you don't have to worry much about those poop.

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 06:31 PM)
i have use all kind of dish/bowl to house the food, at the end of day, food still everywhere, so i give up, nowdays i just drop the food on top the ketapang leave.

No other way to transfer shrimp, just make sure you go watch how they pack your shrimp, some LFS staff really inexperience in handling shrimps, you will be shock on seeing how rough they handle and pack the shrimp. Also some will just pluck some moss/plant leaf from other tank and put into the shrimp bag, those moss/plant may have pesticide/fert that will harm the shrimp, so make sure you insist they use moss/plant from the shrimp tank or
new filter floss.
Yeah...seen before how some inexperienced ppl pack it...really give you heart attack & wonder if what you bought can survive the trip home.

Well...am glad to inform that all is fine in my tank *thank goodness* however...witness something earlier I would like to seek confirmation - a female shrimp swam up and 'fell down'...i was like "don't tell me it's a goner..." but luckily it was just molting. When it was half way molting...a male went on top of it. Once it was done molting the female just swam away quickly. So what I'd like to know is...was what I witnessed the quick mating or another shrimp being aggressive to another when it's molting?

Edit: OK here's a pic of one of the OEBTs:

This post has been edited by GTBlackIce: Oct 21 2013, 10:09 PM
GTBlackIce
post Oct 22 2013, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 21 2013, 10:18 PM)
Good...can become grandpa soon...lol
I really hope so too!!! laugh.gif

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 11:50 PM)
You just witness their mating scene, shrimp mate right after they molt. It is highly believe the just molt soft body allow the male to penetrate the female easily.
Ahh OK. Glad to know it was the mating session as it freaked me out seeing how 'aggresive' it was that time. Thought mating would occur after molting and not during it.

Well, let's see if I can remember which female was it that molted yesterday and have new batch of eggs on it. Thanks for the clarification bro! wink.gif thumbup.gif
GTBlackIce
post Oct 23 2013, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 22 2013, 06:57 PM)
I was thinkin that since shrimps like stability. Would it make sense to just top up with RO water and only do water changes once tds increase to a certain level. What do you guys and gal think?

-------------

Bored. Click if you're too and wants to watch 2 minutes of cherry shrimps going about doing their own thing.  laugh.gif

Well, wasn't bored but still watch through the whole 2mins... laugh.gif
Was that you or another person standing and admiring the tank? rolleyes.gif

Been using RO water all these while so can't comment. Still do my weekly ~20% wc with at least 1 day aged primed RO. Using the UP Aqua bucket... freaking convenient. Just turn the tap slightly and let the water trickle slowly...move on to do other things...about couple of hours later tank's filled up again biggrin.gif

Getting water out is quick...getting water back in.... sweat.gif
GTBlackIce
post Oct 24 2013, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 24 2013, 01:22 AM)
Yeah... once things settle down a bit, I'll add a nerite snail or two.
Horned nerites would be nice as they don't grow that big.
http://www.planetinverts.com/horned_nerite_snail.html

Got 6 of them in my tank and could hardly see it.....likely coz I've got quite some hiding space in the tank.
GTBlackIce
post Oct 24 2013, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 24 2013, 09:59 AM)
Is there a difference between horned and regular nerite snail? They look similar to me.

Will add them later on cos currently algae is kept at bay by the floating plants. The shrimps seems to love playing tarzan on them too.
There's a few types of nerites.

Check out the info on the other 2 from the link on the left. There are few other types too (not on that site). Horned nerites seem to be the smallest amongst the variety.

The biggest horn nerite in my tank seems to have turned to a lazy bum...noticed it has piggyback a smaller one past few days. Pity the small fella...the additional weight it has to carry... sweat.gif
GTBlackIce
post Oct 24 2013, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 24 2013, 04:21 PM)
actually nerite snail is not that suitable in tank with ph lower then 7.6 as their shell will gradually erode and eventually lead to their died.
Nerite snail stay/look the best in brackish tank.
shocking.gif Is it? Didn't know about that.

Only know for breeding it'll require brackish water... wasn't aware PH plays a part on their growth/shell. Thanks for the info... so far those in my tank are still doing good so hopefully they've adapted well in it... *fingers crossed* Hope there won't be any issue as they're good helpers in cleaning up the rocks/tank.
GTBlackIce
post Oct 31 2013, 10:47 AM

Hi folks.... how are y'all doing? Good to see the thread is still active... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 31 2013, 01:14 AM)
One lesson I learned is that you need to acclimatize shrimps much longer than for fish because they're more sensitive to water chemistry. I learned the hard way because most of my Malayan shrimps died, highly likely due to this.
5-6 hours.... my goodness THAT is a long duration. Have you got air pump in the bucket/container when you do that? Malayans are very hardy... probably wasn't because of short acclimation but something else? What's the TDS difference between the lfs/seller compared to yours?

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 31 2013, 02:39 AM)
hurm
lesson learn  cry.gif
9 casualty already and left 6 more
hope they can survive...
My max period of acclimation thus far is only 2hrs... this apply to malayans, fire red, crs & oebt. Even the solo oto I have had been acclimated for about 2hrs. One thing to note is I don't put any air pumps during acclimation... just drip method on the bucket. Sure you've got no ammonia/nitrite reading in your tank and nitrate is still low?

Apart from 1 casualty of each batch bought previously... I've got no 'major' casualties. CRS being the most sensitive of the lot I have... only 1 casualty and none on 2nd batch. Guess it also depends on how the shrimp is before we bought it... it may have already been weak then. Still believe luck plays a part sometimes.

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 31 2013, 07:48 AM)

arrr...I have upload issue...
my glass tank have mini filter in it...it's 250L/H (is it too fast...)
9w lighting...marsilia...anubias nana mini...
with 4 cherry (it's been a week now...)

want to asked...
what do you guys feed them...I only feed then with fish pallets...
what vitamins do I need to add...
how sensitive are they to seachem ferts...
Wow that is a mini tank indeed! Quite similar to what I had previously... thumbup.gif But wasn't rearing any shrimps back then.

Yes, your filter is too strong but then again if it comes with the tank...well, sometimes it could be overrated. What's the water volume in the tank? Just monitor the flow in the tank... see if it's affecting your flora/fauna.

Shrimp food and spinach. Hook up with Arrow bro if you want some shrimp food in small quantities.

Ferts wise... try to get those 'shrimp safe' or no/very less (0.000x) copper if possible. I'm dosing Seachem Flourish, BW Lush and Essence K in my tank... no issues. Since you're only having RCS it should be fine but do monitor the water parameters.

In planted/shrimp tanks... it's more about taking care of the water parameters than the flora/fauna itself.

GTBlackIce
post Oct 31 2013, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 31 2013, 11:40 AM)
Update to my last post on the leech. Had another death yesterday and today, one of the shrimps looks like its in trouble too. Lethargic and got swept by weak current.
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 31 2013, 01:34 PM)
I don't think its a bug issue because except the odd seed shrimp, nematode and snail, I didn't see anything else.
Ouch... sorry to hear that bro. Any idea on what's the root cause?

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 31 2013, 01:49 PM)
just checked this morning
saw only 1 shrimp still alive
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Yikes that's bad! Something is definitely wrong... have you checked your water parameters yet? Added anything new in your tank recently?
GTBlackIce
post Nov 1 2013, 09:34 AM

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Nov 1 2013, 02:05 AM)
-how thick is your ADA soil ?
my ADA soil 2cm thick

-Did you add in any powder/liquid bacteria to aid in tank cycle?
yes. i put 5 ADA element below the soil.  Bacter 100, Clear super, Tourmaline BC, Penac P and Penac W

-and did you add in any new plant/moss few days or during the time you put in the shrimp?
Nope

-Have you done few large water change prior on getting the shrimp?
i do 50% water change two days before getting the shrimp

-Your shrimp swim/dash fast all over your tank before drop down and died? or they keep themselves under rock/plant all the time?
they keep themselves under rock/plant and sometimes swimming around

-How high is your tank temperature?
my range temperature between 26-29

i think my tank not fully cycled yet and ph too low
I'm also using Amazonia AS... soil volume much more than yours. Front approx 2.5" and back 5.5". It's a good soil but will leech ammonia for some time. Do have the 5 elements on the base like you.

Difference between yours and mine:

- I did put in 1 vial BioDigest to speed up the cycle
- My wc wasn't as often as yours (which was a mistake), but volume changed 50-70%. 1st wc was all the way to the soil level
- Can't remember when I put in the initial few malayans in it... but it's like 3 weeks (flooded tank, excluding DSM for 5 weeks)

Your temp looks OK. But possible to get another different thermometer to verify the reading? Why I'm saying this is coz I have a digital thermometer that was giving me readings of 27-29dC (with UP fan)... once I got the chiller, chiller temp was giving reading of +/-1.5dC higher.

So if I'm to trust the reading of the chiller... the digital thermometer's reading was wrong all these while. Reading from my TDS pen is about the same as chiller's. So what's the actual temp? Go figure... laugh.gif

Being new to all these (plants/shrimps) ... I dare not buy a lot of shrimps @ 1 go:

- 1st purchase: 3 Malayans (3 weeks after flood)
- 2nd purchase: 5/6 Malayans (a week later)
- 3rd purchase: 10 fire reds (a week later)
- 4th purchase: 3 CRS (3 weeks later)
- 5th purchase: 10 fire reds (a week+ later?)
- 6th purchase: 14 CRS & 2 OEBT (few weeks later?)

So far so good so apart from some 1 casualty from each initial batch. Using API freshwater test kit and Sera GH to test my water parameters.
GTBlackIce
post Nov 12 2013, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(ghoss @ Nov 11 2013, 06:28 PM)
Guys...how do you replenish the water ?

Store some tap water in the bottles first ? cos I was told fresh tap water is dangerous .
Using RO in my case. Usually fill it up on the UP Aqua 6L bucket and necessary amount of Prime for 6L... stir, cover it with saran wrap and wait for the next wc. The bucket is really useful IMO... it's quick to drain the water out, but takes me 2hrs+ to refill it back as I only turn the tap slightly.

QUOTE(tjay_tj @ Nov 11 2013, 06:46 PM)
my 2nd day shrimp. hopefully all smooth sailing.

Nice... what shrimp is that?

QUOTE(lily64my @ Nov 12 2013, 04:52 PM)
What rock is that?
How you doing Sis? Still active here I see... biggrin.gif

Well here's a quickie on my shrimps feasting. Lost a handsome fire red male & a female recently cry.gif but the rest are still doing good *thankfully* Pardon the condensation on the tank and shaky vid tongue.gif

EDIT: Link fixed

The remaining handsome prince & the one that went to 'heaven' (rubbish bin):

This post has been edited by GTBlackIce: Nov 12 2013, 06:13 PM
GTBlackIce
post Nov 12 2013, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 12 2013, 05:43 PM)
smile.gif  GTBlackIce, your fixed video link:

Opps... haha... thanks much bro am a noob in youtube stuff. Thanks for fixing it!

Let's see if this one works... blush.gif EDIT: OK it seems to work now...lol

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Nov 12 2013, 05:46 PM)
wow
so nice...
i hope i can rear shrimp in my tank like u guys...
Thanks... still very much a noob in this and I'm sure you can! wink.gif

QUOTE(ghoss @ Nov 12 2013, 05:47 PM)
This ?

What's WC ?
Yeaps... that one there. Very convenient thing to have. Can move away and do other stuff while letting it re-fill itself. Get the 6L version... 1L is too freaking small.

WC = Water Change wink.gif

This post has been edited by GTBlackIce: Nov 12 2013, 06:13 PM
GTBlackIce
post Nov 13 2013, 01:09 PM

QUOTE(tjay_tj @ Nov 13 2013, 08:18 AM)
i dun have testing kit yet. i chose the lease powderless ones to put into the tank.
i guess i will take out the stone after saw some post on the planted tank thread. luckly saw those post else i would have been clueless what happen to the tank.
Do try to invest on test kit if you can. wink.gif
IF you want TDS pen too... look at ebay. I got mine from there...cheap!

Think you can get a wider view of the stones you have in there? If it's still in the tank that is...
What shrimps you have/intend to have in it?
GTBlackIce
post Nov 13 2013, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(tjay_tj @ Nov 13 2013, 01:42 PM)
currently i only have 5 of mix breed of fire/cherry shrimp after asking for a few time to the owner of lfs to sell some to me. plan to try and see hw these 5 will turn out to be before advance further.

at the moment those 5 shrimp turn out ok, keep taking turn molting these few days taking turn and i found 2 molt just now when i take out the stone. i guess my water tank condition are better then the lfs ones.
as for the test kit. really plan to have it but atm the budget is limiting me.
Wow talk about bright lights! Haha... sorry too bright can't see clearly but seems to be somewhat similar to the ones I have?

If they're molting well it should be fine. Yes, you'd be surprised to know sometimes our tank's water parameters are better than lfs'.

Well since budget is limiting, then you can use this 5 shrimps as your commandos. If they survive then you can hold off from buying till your budget is ok. API freshwater test kit would be the complete set without GH tester. The kit will cost RM1xx though...

IF there's any sudden deaths (hopefully not), get the Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate test kits first.

QUOTE(ghoss @ Nov 13 2013, 02:44 PM)
It seems around less than $10 for the pen , but all from china sweat.gif

Tried to find it locally but can't get it .
Got mine about US$7.xx for each (PH & TDS pen)... free postage. It was from different sellers though. Both cost me <RM50. BUT... yes here comes the 'but'.... be patient in receiving it. It took me a month before I was able to receive it, since it was free postage it was sent by snail mail. And yes again, both are from China. Exact version (who knows maybe pirated version) like the one I saw @ LFS. Even the staff at LFS could not believe the price I got it for as it was a real steal... their prics is unfortunately sweat.gif

QUOTE(lily64my @ Nov 13 2013, 03:46 PM)
You may try at fish depot in subang.
Sis... not Subang leh.... Aman Suria... tongue.gif

QUOTE(lily64my @ Nov 13 2013, 03:54 PM)
I have been busy  rclxub.gif

I have few casualty too but so far so good.
Where got nice? Yours nicer... not a 'breeder' like you... tongue.gif

Yeah likewise been busy especially last week...

So far population still OK albeit a couple of casualties... but birth rate is higher than death rate so that's a good thing! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by GTBlackIce: Nov 13 2013, 04:12 PM
GTBlackIce
post Nov 22 2013, 09:18 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 19 2013, 05:17 PM)
You guys HAVE to congratulate me on this.. I've now got almost the entire collection of known bugs and critters in my small tank.

- seed shrimps --> checked
- pest snails --> checked but under control. Occassionally see one.
- nematodes --> checked but under control. Occassionally see one.
- leeches --> checked
- planaria --> checked but relatively under control.
- hydra --> LATEST part of the collection
Congratulations bro!!! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif tongue.gif
Hope you'll get to eradicate those pest soon... somehow... wink.gif

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Nov 20 2013, 03:56 PM)
Hi guys,

I see that Doom Guy also come to this thread ady...

Guess I also gona start playing shrimp...
'Doom Guy' ... lol I like that! laugh.gif

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Nov 20 2013, 05:14 PM)
Haha...

Thanks bro/sifu...

varialmctwist is the doom guy. Always forget his name so call him doom guy...

Anyways, Ive ordered some items for my shrimp tank:
Gona start this project in mid December like that.

1. 1x1x1ft tank.
2. LED Lights
3. ADA Amazonia soil from my planted tank mix with some new soil.
4. Sponge Filter
5. Marimo ball.
6. Java moss or something.
7. Cube Ceramix houses.
8. Am looking to try Orange Rilli Shrimp.

This is my checklist.
I guess I am missing some Bacter Bacter right?
Yes he's the doom guy alright... biggrin.gif

As arrow mentioned above... and basically you'll see this pop up very often - 'cycle'. Tank cycling is the most important of all. I used Prodibio Digest to quick-start my cycle. Alternative you can also get the Prodibio Start Up Nano.

Some test kits too if you've got the budget? wink.gif

Good luck! thumbup.gif
GTBlackIce
post Nov 22 2013, 10:29 AM

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 22 2013, 10:22 AM)
The uncle fish shop fella always say... you can do it expensively or you can do it cheaply.  laugh.gif
Well you always start cheap and before you know it it starts getting more and more expensive... laugh.gif tongue.gif

william... you can use qz4eva's list as a guidance for a simple setup.

Or perhaps if you can state your approximate budget the it would be easier to make recommendation. Also, it depends on what shrimps you'll like to have eventually. Cost can/would increase as time goes on..... well at least for me it did... tongue.gif

Good filtration is of course, important. The key is more on taking care of the water parameters than your fauna itself...
GTBlackIce
post Nov 22 2013, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(william1120 @ Nov 22 2013, 10:47 AM)
possible to use the normal sand (which i used b4, like coral sand/holland sand/black sand)? Any effects to the shrimps? or advisable to change it all to shrimp type soil?

moss only i have, which i can tie it with the lava rocks.
Probably not coral sand. Sorry don't know what holland sand is. Black sand should be ok. But like what sniper mentioned, as long as it doesn't affect the water quality. Or, if you really wanna be 'safe' there are a few options of 'shrimp-friendly' soil out in the market e.g Benibachi, RAC, etc.

EDIT: On the shrimps to keep, sniper's recommendation is good for beginners. And never forget Malayan shrimps too! thumbup.gif Bear in mind even if your ambient room temp is +/-27dC, your tank's water might be more... as you have to take into account the heat that's being generated by your lighting. Install a fan (cheaper option) if you wanna bring down the temp, but be prepared to top up every now and then (everyday for me back then) due to evaporation.

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 22 2013, 10:49 AM)
True that  nod.gif

Though some folks like my collegue... she's running a small <10liter tank with a generic HOB filter stuffed with filter wool that gets changed maybe twice a year, generic gravel and stuffed with overgrown plants (she doesn't even remove the plastic cup and cotton that it came with), only top up when filter making noise.....

and her shrimps are thriving are breeding like rabbits  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Wow nice.... must be real hardy shrimps! Cherries? Well I guess as long as the shrimps are breeding like rabbits that's a good sign. Why fix if it ain't broken? wink.gif

QUOTE(Hapeng @ Nov 22 2013, 10:54 AM)
lol that's me right there.
hahaha i can relate, when water level low, filter starts making noise, just top up.
laugh.gif As long as it works out good for the shrimps right? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by GTBlackIce: Nov 22 2013, 12:20 PM
GTBlackIce
post Nov 22 2013, 03:30 PM

QUOTE(william1120 @ Nov 22 2013, 12:55 PM)
Just wonder...if the effect of putting 2 fans and 1 fan will be the same or not
Likely not much of a difference unless if it's a big tank. That's coz fans are drawing air in from our ambient and blowing it on the water surface. So the cooler your ambient the lower your water temp would be, and vice versa if ambient temp is high.

Evaporation rate is higher too with 2 fans. What's your tank size?

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 22 2013, 12:56 PM)
They looked like generic cleaner shrimps though according to her, they were reddish when she got her first batch.
Oh ok... no wonder its so tough then... smile.gif

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Nov 22 2013, 01:09 PM)
Hi bros,

Thanks for the advice especially to Arrow & GTBlackIce.

-I don't really like RCS or Fire Red. So I plan to play some Rilli. I heard some people telling me that they were NeoCaridinia Hetroparta something something species and it is same family with RCS that's why I choose Rilli.

-Also, was wondering what family and how hard/easy it is to take care of Fire Yellow Shrimps or Golden counterparts.

-Finally, would those Borneoworld products like Crystal Bacter 1 2 3 4 for planted tank works in accumulating BB and Water Cycling in my future shrimp tank? Coz dun wana spend so much money, kinda on a tight budget atm.
Yes, you're right on the species of Rili --> (Rili Shrimp) You can look on the other species as well on that site.

Then again, those would be the general/preferable conditions of each type of shrimps. Doesn't mean it can't live in your tank if your water parameter isn't exactly as what are stated. For example.... CRS is meant to be a very sensitive shrimp, likes 'soft water'. They are those that successfully kept and bred CRS in 'hard water' too. My water has KH >1, GH >6 ... I still managed to keep it alive to date. But perhaps breeding is a different case but only time will tell for me. But of course... look at the TDS of your water too.

Are those BW products what you have currently? That seems to be a heck load of stuff to add in for cycling the tank. And I guess each bottle won't be cheap too. If it's not something you have now and if it's expensive, and due to your tight budget... like I mentioned earlier get 1 vial of Prodibio Digest then. It's priced at RM9 each. Got it from Mid Valley. I only used 1 vial back then and that's it for my cycling.

Prodibio Startup is about RM3x for 4 vials, 2 vials each of Digest & Stop Ammo. --> Prodibio Start Up

Just have patience during cycling stage... BB will eventually build up. Don't rush into putting in any fauna till it's fully cycled. wink.gif
GTBlackIce
post Dec 11 2013, 12:57 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Dec 11 2013, 12:18 PM)
Third Try : Project Sulawesi.
NO coral stone/sand , with just lot of mineral and lot of algae.

Wow... haven't been able to log in here long time.... just came in and see you'll have a new setup.

Can't wait to see it up and running. Project Sulawesi... so that'll only be Sulawesi shrimps then? wink.gif
GTBlackIce
post Jul 4 2014, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Jul 1 2014, 03:30 PM)
seller claimed can survive 2 to 3 years
Those would be the infamous Opae Ulae (don't know how to spell it) - Hawaiian super shrimp. Not cruel, they can survive in harsh conditions. Arrow would be able to shed more info on this. Mind telling where you got to know the local seller? Interested in it too.

QUOTE(naoki666 @ Jul 2 2014, 07:48 PM)
So cruel....
also

From these group found

This baby.. does inbreed too much will the color at the center of the shell to disappear? starting to look like Rili Shrimp... also starting to have few more popping out.. total 3 now...

It could, so advisable to get some 'fresh stock' to mix the genes. I got one as shrimplet when I got a group last time, stil surviving. No heart to kill it.just hope it doesn't breed.

I'm about to get a new batch myself. I lost count of how many generation of inbreed I have in my tank so it's about time to add new ones.

How y'all doing? Hope everyone is good. Been busy with work & personal I haven't got a chance to log in.

This post has been edited by GTBlackIce: Jul 4 2014, 07:46 PM

0.0316sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:46 AM