5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Unifi TMnet Streamyx/Unifi & IPv6, Now live!

TSwKkaY
post Oct 29 2013, 07:14 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Oct 29 2013, 07:05 PM)
Security is a big issue, since I was previously behind the router's firewall, so everything was open within my network, and ASUS's firmware does not support ipv6 firewall.
Yup a host-based firewall becomes important in an IPv6 setup.

IMO you negate many of the end-to-end benefits of IPv6 by using a firewall at the router to block incoming tcp connections by default.
TSwKkaY
post Oct 29 2013, 08:59 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Oct 29 2013, 07:40 PM)
Wouldn't a host based firewall block unsolicited tcp connections as well?
Yes, however the difference is where control lies. A host-based firewall can be configured by the host, either manually by the user or programatically like Windows INetFwRule. I think the Windows implementation is pretty nice where it gives you the choice of trusted/untrusted whitelist for each network you join and each application.

With a perimeter firewall, how would a home user do that? I believe troubleshooting firewalls or logging into one's router to edit firewall rules is beyond most lusers ability - and that is assuming the ISP even offer that option. TM for example is known not to disclose password to their routers.

UPNP to punch holes in the firewall? A complicated solution to a problem which should be solved at the host anyway. For example, what if you bring your computer somewhere which doesn't block incoming connections by default? You will want a host firewall protecting you by default.

Perimeter firewalls still have their place to enforce security in depth, but it should be in addition to host firewalls and not in place of it... and for it to be effective it should be locked down with no way for holes to be punched by hosts.
TSwKkaY
post Oct 29 2013, 10:20 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 29 2013, 09:16 PM)
Your CCTV/IP camera needs to support IPV6. It is useless and most ones I have seen does not even have ipv6 stack installed (my cctv for instance runs on old linux 2.4.x kenrel without ipv6 compiled). So it is useless , even if my Telco network supports ipv6 and my router is able to handle IPV6 , but the device itself is not compatible with IPV6
A possible bandaid is to setup a IPv6-to-IPv4 proxy. With practically unlimited IPv6 addresses, you can even assign 1 IPv6 IP to 1 internal IPv4.
TSwKkaY
post Nov 6 2013, 08:20 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Nickimaru @ Nov 6 2013, 08:03 PM)
Yay, managed to configure IPv6 on my router biggrin.gif

wKkaY: For the router database:

Router model ASUS RT-N56U
Firmware Padavan RT-N56U_3.4.3.6-069 (firmware link)
Broadband package UniFi Home VIP20
Thanks Nicholas!
TSwKkaY
post Nov 19 2013, 11:27 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Nov 19 2013, 10:52 PM)
wKkaY How come the forum does not show I have posted from an IPv6 address when I'm on my iPad?
If your iPad isn't connecting to our forum over IPv6, then it won't show that you've posted from an IPv6 address.
TSwKkaY
post Nov 28 2013, 04:24 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Just went for a presentation by TM on their IPv6 broadband rollout.

A few new things I learned today:

1) Dual-stacking IPv4/IPv6 increases resource usage at the BRAS (memory, licensing, etc). This is one of the factors that limit the rollout.

2) Business broadband (static IP) customers need to call their account manager or branch to request for an IPv6 prefix. It isn't assigned automatically like for home users.

3) The hotline staff are trained in IPv6 hmm.gif
TSwKkaY
post Nov 28 2013, 06:07 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Edit: I'll email her your questions.

This post has been edited by wKkaY: Nov 28 2013, 06:56 PM
TSwKkaY
post Nov 29 2013, 12:49 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(ihsan @ Nov 28 2013, 11:55 PM)
/64 ought to be enough for anybody. smile.gif
Diamlar, /32 owner tongue.gif
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:08 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 29 2013, 08:54 AM)
oh i get it. If your limited by having only 1 router cause of it, thats a big issue :/

cause take for example the living where your iptv is; to connect there you need either a homeplug...... or..... use wireless e.g. setting up a client router to do wireless to your main router.

yeah hm  hmm.gif
You don't need subnets in those scenarios. Just bridge everything into one single ethernet segment and use the same /64 prefix, and call it a day. Why complicate your network unnecessarily? KISS applies here.
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:13 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Dec 1 2013, 01:02 AM)
when did you suddenly talk for every1 ?  laugh.gif  kid your a joke
prasys test prove there is difference  rolleyes.gif y should i run test ? i haven't played wow in years.... if you got something to prove, you run the test and post here, dun troll  flex.gif
That's because you took prasys's single account and called it proof without analyzing or justifying WHY it is faster.

That's faith, not science. You deserved to be called out on it.
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:16 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

More info about TM broadband IPv6:

1) Will TM provide prefixes bigger than /64? For home/business customers.

Yes, we do for business package.

2) For home customers, will there be an option for static IPv6 prefix?

At the moment no.

3) Currently, how do I find out whether my BRAS is IPv6-enabled? Besides trying to enable it on my router.

The information is probably not made public. Some BRAS serve multiple exchanges and not all are disabled so need to go down to details. Best for them to send a query to the callcenter and have them feedback.
TSwKkaY
post Dec 1 2013, 02:37 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Nov 28 2013, 11:32 PM)
To anyone else wondering, a /64 is the smallest subnet allowable in IPv6.
To give context to this statement, here's an excerpt from RFC 5375:
3. Subnet Prefix Considerations

An important part of an IPv4 addressing plan is deciding the length
  of each subnet prefix.  Unlike in IPv4, the IPv6 addressing
  architecture [RFC4291] specifies that all subnets using Globally
  Unique Addresses and ULAs always have the same prefix length of 64
  bits.  (This also applies to the deprecated 6bone and site-local
  addresses.)

The only exception to this rule are special addresses starting with
  the binary value 000, such as IPv4-compatible IPv6 addresses.  These
  exceptions are largely beyond the scope of this document.

Using a subnet prefix length other than a /64 will break many
  features of IPv6, including Neighbor Discovery (ND), Secure Neighbor
  Discovery (SEND) [RFC3971], privacy extensions [RFC4941], parts of
  Mobile IPv6 [RFC4866], Protocol Independent Multicast - Sparse Mode
  (PIM-SM) with Embedded-RP [RFC3956], and Site Multihoming by IPv6
  Intermediation (SHIM6) [SHIM6], among others.  A number of other
  features currently in development, or being proposed, also rely on
  /64 subnet prefixes.

Nevertheless, many IPv6 implementations do not prevent the
  administrator from configuring a subnet prefix length shorter or
  longer than 64 bits.  Using subnet prefixes shorter than /64 would
  rarely be useful; see Appendix B.1 for discussion.

However, some network administrators have used prefixes longer than
  /64 for links connecting routers, usually just two routers on a
  point-to-point link.  On links where all the addresses are assigned
  by manual configuration, and all nodes on the link are routers (not
  end hosts) that are known by the network, administrators do not need
  any of the IPv6 features that rely on /64 subnet prefixes, this can
  work.  Using subnet prefixes longer than /64 is not recommended for
  general use, and using them for links containing end hosts would be
  an especially bad idea, as it is difficult to predict what IPv6
  features the hosts will use in the future.

Appendix B.2 describes some practical considerations that need to be
  taken into account when using prefixes longer than /64 in limited
  cases.  In particular, a number of IPv6 features use interface
  identifiers that have a special form (such as a certain fixed value
  in some bit positions).  When using prefixes longer than /64, it is
  prudent to avoid certain subnet prefix values so that nodes who
  assume that the prefix is /64 will not incorrectly identify the
  addresses in that subnet as having a special form.  Appendix B.2
  describes the subnet prefix values that are currently believed to be
  potentially problematic; however, the list is not exhaustive and can
  be expected to grow in the future.

Using /64 subnets is strongly recommended, also for links connecting
  only routers.  A deployment compliant with the current IPv6
  specifications cannot use other prefix lengths.  However, the V6OPS
  WG believes that despite the drawbacks (and a potentially expensive
  network redesign, if IPv6 features relying on /64 subnets are needed
  in the future), some networks administrators will use prefixes longer
  than /64.

TSwKkaY
post Dec 29 2013, 01:44 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Dec 29 2013, 01:16 PM)
In my situation, only local hosted website are accessible with IPV6. When I try to open international website, it loads forever. No idea whether it's my exchange/BRAS are not IPV6 ready yet or it lies between my hardware itself...  sweat.gif
Do all tests pass at http://www.test-ipv6.com ?
TSwKkaY
post Jan 3 2014, 12:16 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 3 2014, 12:14 AM)
wanna to ask, is the /64 provided static? As I'm planning to use cloudflare's ipv6 to ipv4 so that I can access my computer from anywhere and I don't want ending up accessing other people's computer because of the change in the /64 as you reboot your router
It's not static unless you're on a business account.
TSwKkaY
post Jan 3 2014, 02:31 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(ihsan @ Jan 3 2014, 05:43 AM)
with temporary ipv6 address implementation in place on most OSes with slaac, you will not be able to statically map nodes to ipv6 address in conventional sense.

use dynamic dns.
Sure you can, the old-fashioned way of setting up your IPv6 address manually still works smile.gif
TSwKkaY
post Jan 13 2014, 04:53 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Happy new year all!

My office Unifi Biz is finally hooked up with IPv6. It took about 2 real weeks to get it setup from the moment that we called. The installer came today but he had to leave without doing anything as we were using our own Mikrotik router.

We are assigned a static /56 with 63 days expiry time.
TSwKkaY
post Feb 7 2014, 10:49 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(warlove3 @ Feb 7 2014, 10:31 AM)
Hmm, is this could be my exchange still have not deployed IPv6?

using ASUS RT-AC68U
If you're using Unifi Biz with static IPs, you need to call TM to enable IPv6 for your account.
TSwKkaY
post Feb 15 2014, 04:45 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Feb 15 2014, 06:51 AM)
why else the ridiculous lockdown on preventing other router models from being used  sad.gif
There's no lockdown, it is an unusual setup but still based on standards. Vendors who want a piece of the market here will need to adapt to it.
TSwKkaY
post Feb 18 2014, 12:48 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(InSplre @ Feb 17 2014, 11:53 PM)
just want to check, does UNIFI allow us to use google ipv6 dns? as if i use google dns, i cant get connected to ipv6, if let it to automatic obtain, no issue,, btw, google dns 2001:4860:4860::8888 and
2001:4860:4860::8844
Works for me. Try pasting a ping and traceroute result to those IPs.
TSwKkaY
post Feb 18 2014, 01:31 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(InSplre @ Feb 18 2014, 06:38 AM)
Ping and tracert looks ok.
Hmm ok, what if you open a command prompt and run: nslookup www.google.com 2001:4860:4860::8888

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.2515sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:54 AM