QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 18 2013, 11:49 AM)
welcome to da clubThe Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!
The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!
Oct 18 2013, 11:56 AM
869 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Big pot heated with Hell's Fire |
Oct 18 2013, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 18 2013, 12:48 PM) if you use lightroom only then you have to mask it very careful and slow with your brush tool and also play with other sliders too photoshop is too difficult.. learning lightroom already can kill me.. hahain photoshop there is a auto mask feature that can easy select the hill only, leaving the sky untouch then you can do your adjustment on the hill only and not affect the sky for other software i dont know la, i use lightroom to do it only |
Oct 21 2013, 09:38 AM
A question... I borrowed my friend 35mm f1.8g for ytd event shoot. I notice that if I crank up to f1.8 is more hard to focus on to the eyes than I use f2.2.. how come?
I want that smooth feel on f.18 but is just so hard to focus.. any way to fix this?? like the focus spot, settings, etc.. using D3200 + nikor 35mm f.18g |
Oct 21 2013, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(razuryza @ Oct 21 2013, 10:41 AM) Because the depth of field of f/1.8 is so shallow so the other focus point is nothing? lol, any method to get in focus while using f.18?Plus the sensor is more easy n accurate focusing on the centre focus point rather other focus point.try using the cntre focus point |
Oct 21 2013, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 21 2013, 11:56 AM) I did move the focus point. But still a bit blurish as compared to f2.2 OR using the center focus.. TT might be my shaky hands or something wrong with my skills.. lol only some photos, mostly is in focus.. |
Oct 21 2013, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Oct 21 2013, 01:55 PM) I learnt this from some of the sifu, sometimes when it is hard to focus, it's because we're to relying on the focus point rather than the techniques. Some of the techniques he taught me is, you can choose the any of the focus point, but make sure the focus point is on contrasting colours. For eyes, you could lock the focus on between the iris and the white area of the eye. See if it works. |
Oct 21 2013, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 21 2013, 02:01 PM) It was a still picture, still the lacking on the focus on the eyes even I focus on her eyes.. QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 21 2013, 02:37 PM) I seem to have this problem as well, especially when the subject is not very close. Not sure its because of shake or skill problem yaya!! when I shot on close, the details and focus is |
Oct 22 2013, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 21 2013, 04:36 PM) If the subject not big enough, the camera may backfocus. Not big enough means, the focus point around same size as the subject, OR it could be you focus on something not enough contrast or which the camera unable to differentiate, it may focus on something else. I didn't re-compose, I know re-compose in high apreture will out of focus.Hard to explain, you have to experiment yourself, and see carefully whether it's really focus correctly, you can re-focus to double confirm. For far away, subject, sometimes you can focus on the shirt, rather than the face. Sometimes you focus on the face, the focus went focus on the background. To better understand your situation, best if you have the sample photo and highlight where is your focus point. EDIT: If you did focus re-compose, do mention it as well. If you're using Focus Re-compose in high aperture especially, then it's most likely the problem. yup the subject is quite small as per ratio to the whole image. Guess thats the limitation. It was a bright background too, guess the camera didn't focus on the face and the face is well lid too.. thanks for the awesome tips!! QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 21 2013, 10:25 PM) G lens will always have the widest open aperture when it is mounted, the F number that you see in your LCD is applied when you click the shutter button it was quite well lid environment because I'm shooting beside the glass panel which has tons of ambient light. Ya, I know with wide aperture can't recompose like that as compared to kit lens. so focus at 1.8 and 2.2 makes no different, since you're in event, i assume it is indoor, there are limitation on the lens AF, if not enough light it wont be able to focus well, sometime even in ballroom also will have trouble focusing and you cant focus and recompose with f1.8, you have to compose then focus and when you focus cannot focus on single color subject, let's say your AF points is at the person's cheek then the lens might have trouble focusing, try focus between eyelid and eye ball, that way you have the color for the lens to focus I guess the contrast is the key to get in focus.. haha will try that on my next event or something.. |
Oct 22 2013, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 22 2013, 12:36 PM) Small subject, if you focus the face, you may notice it's likely to focus somewhere else, either the background or something which not inside the focus point. After you taken the photo, zoom in and find where it focus, sometimes is totally not within the focus point, which can be really weird. awesome tips.. ya i think because the face and the background both are white-ish, which the camera can't pick up the focus.. Even the face is well lit, but if the camera unable to differentiate or able to catch it, it will focus something else that is easier. It not like how our eyes see, not sure how to explain, but you can experiment on how the camera focus can easily lock on something fast and accurately, while something else, it just didn't really focus well or you can see it hesitates, OR, you try to release and half press again to re-focus, you may notice the focus plane may have changed. For contrasty and easy to lock on, you may notice there is no such issue, it just locks on easily and accurately. It's annoying especially if you need to take large group photo in events or say wedding, and the focus went to the back or somewhere else. In such case, you can try take 2 photos, one which focus on the face, and another focus on the shirt, or something that the camera can focus and lock on easily and accurately. You may try compare the results. |
Oct 23 2013, 12:23 PM
finally figured out that I can use live view to manual focus with the zoom function for the large aperture lens..
and the contrast thing works like cham in focus! however can't recompose much because the depth of field is just too thin, how you guys work with f1.4 or even f1.2? lol @@ |
Oct 23 2013, 03:11 PM
QUOTE(seather @ Oct 23 2013, 02:05 PM) i usually shoot 1~2 stops below the max aperture as a general rule.. to get max sharpness... still can't figure out how to calculate the 1,2,3 stops thingy.. hahaa non moving subject n a stable tripod helps too... But I sure know f2.2 provide good sharpness and some bokeh.. QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 23 2013, 02:49 PM) normally there is no need for that... you only do that on canons.... well those that i used anyways.. modern bodies should have pretty decent AF.. what body are you using again ? D3200, yup my friend demo his canon 60D with this feature, and I was wondering can nikon do that? and it can, but not that great as compared to canon's.. just a nifty function, most I use the viewfinder anyway~ This post has been edited by jepertine90: Oct 23 2013, 03:12 PM |
Oct 24 2013, 10:37 AM
Oct 24 2013, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 24 2013, 10:45 AM) Sorry about that, thought you were referring to the background bokeh Are you referring to the out of focus on the teddy bear? But hell that is one fine-looking gurl before this was more out of focus, but I resharpen.. alot, alot before to be post-able. I even blurred the teddy bear to make the face and eyes looks in focus.. LOL! and ya she is dumb and cute.. my first model! QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 24 2013, 10:55 AM) What focus mode are you on? Single, AF-C or AF-A? The way I see, there's quite a few more contrasting lines in the background that would distract the camera AF (just like how [PF T.J.] is distracted with the lenglui instead of looking at the bokeh ! Should be Single focus point as i don't use other focus settings. Because this shot is not a set shot, I always love to take those shot that are naturally presented such as this. Might be the reason of the blur shot.. |
Oct 24 2013, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 24 2013, 11:11 AM) lol, Have to enlarge the photo alot only can see its out of focus la bro it was a super tight environment, I don't have speedlight yet, the only place with super lighting is this area, beside the window panel. lol I think its an okay shot, just that the window bars are not that pleasant~ Keep it up yo~ |
Oct 24 2013, 11:42 AM
Oct 24 2013, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 24 2013, 01:01 PM) https://www.facebook.com/kepongkiahowever, I'm a normal blogger... just suddenly bump into cosplay and decided to take portrait what yours page? share share skills and experience.. haha This post has been edited by jepertine90: Oct 24 2013, 01:16 PM |
Oct 24 2013, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 24 2013, 11:09 AM) that looks like back focus.. check out the hair on her shoulder... either that or you move or she moved. we both moved.. lol!QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Oct 24 2013, 11:59 AM) Looking at the distance, I think you're too close so it cannot focus. I don't think I'm too close because on the floor there's a huge reflector.. haha This might be cheap workaround, but get back a little, then crop it if you want that close picture. Nice shot, love it! sometimes is hard to think ahead that I can crop the photos.. I just like to take what I saw in my viewfinder.. thanks anway This post has been edited by jepertine90: Oct 24 2013, 01:18 PM |
Oct 24 2013, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 24 2013, 01:25 PM) Took a look at it in original size and given the circumstances, I think you did good. haha thanks.Becareful. Dangerous nowadays with cosplay. and cosplay always a danger with those sexy costume, make up and super not safe protection. combined with the Otakus, who usually watch anime and h**tai every single day(at least some of them), lust and imagination tend to lead the wrong path. Especially the audience in Malaysia cosplay are mostly between 15-23 ish whose mind are still immature and lack of rational and self control. With those recent news, cosplay = p**n = dangerous hobby. Off topic here haha! |
Oct 24 2013, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 24 2013, 02:13 PM) it is more like a personal mindset problem instead of whole ACG community. psyco.. dun whack people, give it to me.. if i use nikon D3s (or any full alloy body) whack people heads and i active here then can i say Nikon users are all psyco? QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 24 2013, 02:17 PM) Can really see clearly cause on mobile, hehe erm, my lightroom set the reso to 2048 as facebook friendly.. hahaThe original size seems small, did you crop or you resize smaller to 2048? Seems the backlight is bright, is the pic originally underexpose? Under this condition, bright background and subject is dark, the autofocus may have accuracy problem too. How near/far is the subject, as in the focus point is around size of her eyes or you're further behind that the autofocus point is around the size of her head? It is not underexpose, I'll show you later I back home for the unedited version of this shot. subject is around 1m ish away from me.. The auto focus is around 1.5x of her eyes I think~ This post has been edited by jepertine90: Oct 24 2013, 02:34 PM |
Oct 24 2013, 08:31 PM
| Change to: | 0.0597sec