4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.22, NEW RUMORE Nikon DF!

jchue73
post Oct 17 2013, 12:14 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 17 2013, 11:11 AM)
Wow, new 58mm f/1.4G by Nikon to replace the not-so-good 50mm f/1.4G?

http://nikonrumors.com/2013/10/16/this-is-...1-4g-lens.aspx/
Nice find. rclxms.gif

Interesting that they mention the following;

Virtually no sagittal coma flare or light falloff throughout the entire aperture range—even at the far edges of the frame—for exceptionally sharp, evenly lit, high-contrast shots.

Exactly what the old 58mm f/1.2 NOCT was made to do.

The following confirms it;

Flattering, versatile 58mm focal length (87mm equivalent on DX-format D-SLRs) that pays homage to the acclaimed Noct Nikkor 58mm f/1.2 lens.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 17 2013, 11:41 AM)
Yes it'll be better, but definitely not worth the asking price  shakehead.gif
Yeah, price is high for that focal length. But if it is really suppose to replace the NOCT or better it, then the asking price is quite "reasonable" seeing that used NOCTs on ebay cost at least double the price.
jchue73
post Oct 17 2013, 05:54 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 17 2013, 01:05 PM)
Hmm, announcement is out, according to nikon's specs it really does seem to carry NOCT characteristics.

Both the price and the specialized night shooting characteristics put this lens very well into specialized territory, unless you're a working pro who really needs the "nonexistant saggital coma flare or vignetting" as claimed by Nikon, and willing to pay over RM5000+ for it.

Considering sigma is going to refresh their 50mm 1.4 anyway, might as well take that instead. Even the current version is much more worth it than nikon's own 50mm 1.4G.
Yes, Sigma is getting better and better and I like it. Better for everybody and this brings the Nikon retail prices down a bit.

Anyway, for the supposedly NOCT qualities of this 58mm f/1.4, that's something which very few manufacturers posses. I may be wrong but I think Leica is the only other manufacturer with this NOCT know-how.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 17 2013, 02:09 PM)
Currently Nikon is running their campaign against grey units and their new t-shirt bearing some I'm bla bla against grey thingy. When I asked for further details, they're actually ONLY against grey units of bodies while lenses are fine because it carries International Warranty.

I double-confirmed with them that they accept warranty for grey unit of lens because it carries International Warranty. If that's the case, then lesser people getting local unit anymore since grey unit of lenses are acceptable in M'sia for warranty?  blink.gif
You're basically right. I believe this was discussed before.

The thing is if you buy a brand new "grey import" lens from any shops here in Malaysia, that would mean the supply source is from outside of Nikon Malaysia. Any claim of warranty will need to return back to the shop you purchased because when Nikon Malaysia needs to repair a grey import lens under warranty, they will insist a copy of the original purchase receipt to be produced together with the international warranty card. By going directly to the shop you bought your grey import lens, that "hidden" receipt that belongs to the shop when they bring in the grey lens into Malaysia will be given to Nikon Malaysia when they do the warranty claim.

But of course there is no stopping you to directly purchase Nikon lenses outside of Malaysia on your own either by online or from foreign shop. Most of the time, online prices including shipping equal local prices which does not make it attractive anymore. Some more there's risk of your lens being damaged during shipment. Yes, there's no tax for camera equipment but from my experience, Kastam can at their discretion tahan your camera stuff even though they know it's tax free because they claim they just want to open and check and you would need to go to Sepang to clear it yourself or get an agent to do it for you. That's additional cost and time that you need to consider too.

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 17 2013, 02:16 PM)
Thanks for the info... Never knew abt this before sweat.gif

Now my dream of owning Nikon 24-70 is a step closer thumbup.gif
Hong Kong.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 17 2013, 03:40 PM)
Apparently lenses are International Warranty and can be covered in M'sia.
This was one of the things debated around 7 or 8 years ago when I just started out. Pros and cons of Nikon vs Canon. Unlike Nikon, Canon does not have international warranty for their lenses and Canon is REALLY anti grey sets.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 17 2013, 04:12 PM)
owh i thought lens always covered with international warranty because duno which previous thread got discussed about going oversea and buy lens in other country cheap cheap and bring back here sell  hmm.gif
Yup. 70-200mm f/2.8 VR II in Japan Yodobashi.
jchue73
post Oct 17 2013, 06:07 PM

2,496 posts

Some bigger samples from the 58mm f/1.4.

http://www.nikon-asia.com/en_Asia/product/...-f-1-4g#gallery
jchue73
post Oct 18 2013, 03:15 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Oct 17 2013, 07:22 PM)
My Tamron arrived today. Bought it used less than RM1k. The glass is in good condition but the rubber seems weary but not loose.

Shame that I cannot buy Tokina or Sigma though. Most of the reviews suggested these two on top of this Tamron.
But, what matter most is finally can try out that distortion for landscape.  rclxm9.gif

Anyone here had any experience with this lens before?
I only have experience with the Sigma 10-20mm. Not the f/3.5 but the older one.

QUOTE(devilfather @ Oct 17 2013, 09:30 PM)
30minutes only.... cause although i found this place quite dark but still accumulate some light noise to create the photo... the ISO aperture also need to be set so that the star can be seen inb the long shoot... if light too low you wont  get the line.. if too high the picture will become very bright.
Good attempt. But for those kind of shots, you need really dark places with no light scatter in the skies from surrounding light contamination.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 18 2013, 12:07 AM)
No, the difference is that Nikon screws the people who buys expensive prosumer models, while Canon does so with the 5XX-7XX D range which is consumer range.
Actually on a contrary even though I am a Nikon fanboy, I find the Canon service is much more "kind" and sympathetic to their users. I know quite a few Canon consumer DSLR owners who actually have their shutter mechanism replaced FOC even though their units were quite old.

Nikon used to be very innovative, keeping their innovations and upgrades for higher end products and slowly passing them onto cheaper models. But this time we're seeing a D600 refresh just to fix the oil problem while the newly launched D5300 actually has a whole list of proper upgrades. (Wifi, GPS, bigger screen, non-AA filter sensor)
That's true. Actually when D3 and D700 came out, I was very surprised Nikon choose to use the same AF module of the D3 on the D700.

I still prefer nikon's products due to the ergonomics, but I have lost all respect for the company behind these things.
I guess it's not "Japanese" culture to admit mistake. In any big company, there's bound to be a product they are not proud off. On a Canon side, you have the famous case is the 1DMkIII AF. Which they thought they could sweep the problem under the carpet and launch the 1DMkIV... Only solve when they ditch the whole AF design and design one from the ground up. Hence the 1DX... smile.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 18 2013, 12:17 AM)
nikon...
ni-kon ....
ni (you in mandarin)- con....
you conned me.... 
whistling.gif

everyone just buy D4, problem setttle  laugh.gif
You sure D4 is without problem?

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3503...m-post-51651185

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 18 2013, 12:26 AM)
One thing for sure, even if I'm D800/D4 user I also not happy. Improved LCD and viewfinder on D7100. Built in WiFi, GPS and non-AA sensor on D5300. Yes we get the AA removed on D800E but we pay another premium for it. Those stuff are negligible to most, but if we really need it we have to pay so much more to get it. Which is shitty.
How can you equate D4/D800 with D7100?

There's bound to be improvements in newer bodies. That's a fact of life. Just like handphones. Worst part is you find that after a few months down the road, your shiny new FF body loses value. New technologies like the D800E bodies absent of AA were new and rare and therefore could command higher prices then. It is after all the only 36MP monster in a DSLR body when it came out.
jchue73
post Oct 18 2013, 03:16 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 18 2013, 12:29 AM)
I'm not saying upgrades are a bad thing, but at least treat models in the upper range with equal or better upgrades also mah.  doh.gif

Canon can release a 6D with wifi built in, while nikon's response is to say "Our D800 customers do not want Wi-Fi"  doh.gif

Sad man, seriously.
So going by that logic, Nikon should quickly come out with an update for the D800 or their D4 whenever they find a need to add a new tech like WiFi? blink.gif

I always believe you are never wrong staying put in either camp (Nikon or Canon). When I started with Nikon gear, Canon had better high ISO performance. Canon also had the first FF sensor and went on to the runaway success of the original 5D body that was simple and affordable. And the rest they say was history for Canon after that. Nikon then became successful with D3 and D700. Then Canon came back with upgrades to their line up and now the lead for technological supremacy bounces back and forth like a ping pong ball. The way I see, currently Nikon has the edge at the moment and it will only be a matter of time before Canon bounces back. So if you're in either camp with lots of investment in lenses, just be patient and it will come to you. Chasing it will drain and frustrate you to no end.

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 18 2013, 12:35 AM)
hmm yeah, but when the d800E first came out, it's the first nikon camera to has such feature right?
but compared to d600, the canon isn't as weather sealed and something else i can't remember. hopefully nikon will go all-out on their future cameras like what sony did this year. still, when the d800 launched, the 36mp was something magnificent right?
Precisely. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 18 2013, 12:40 AM)
I know, but do you see nikon charging RM2000 extra for such a thing in the D5300?

The only difference between the D800 and the D800E is just the low pass filter, and the price to pay for this "upgrade" can pretty much buy the new D5300 already.
Difference in price between the D800 and D800E is RM 1k and not as much as you make it out to be. When the D800 and D800E came out, Nikon gave users an option. It's our choice and money at the end of the day if we're gonna get screwed more for the D800E or less for the D800. They can screw people with the prices they charge because it was the only 36MP DSLR that had that feature.

It's good now that by making sensors for Nikon, Sony has learned some tricks with regards to optimising their own sensor design without AA. This is good and at least gives Nikon a run for their money.

Besides, the D5300 inherited and shares the sensor already used on the D7100 which brings the bulk cost of sensors and hence the overall pricing down.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 18 2013, 12:40 AM)
Btw, look at nikon's official response for the D610's rushed entry into the market.

QUOTE(Thom Hogan)
Nikon's official response to people asking about why the D610 was necessary is "The D610 was released in order to respond as quickly as possible to the demand for a faster continuous shooting rate and the addition of a quiet continuous shutter release mode. The shutter in the D610 has been improved so that it supports an increase in the continuous shooting rate from 5.5 fps in the D600 to 6 fps in the D610."

Marketing and damage control lor.

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 18 2013, 12:51 AM)
And the D610 comes with none of those upgrades. 0.5fps sleep.gif doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

if they remove AA-filter, confirm got a lot buyers...but in same time piss off many D800 users  unsure.gif
Why would it piss off D800 users? D610 is after all 24MP with or without AA filter. Apples to oranges comparison.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Oct 18 2013, 03:18 AM
jchue73
post Oct 18 2013, 11:52 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 18 2013, 04:17 AM)
Your arguments has their points, yet at the end of the day are you happy paying 6K for a D610 body which is just a rebranding of last year's camera while a consumer level body that is released just 1 week after contains more upgrades for 1/3rd of the price?
I'm neither happy nor bitter. I don't have a D600 and neither am I planning to get the D610. I choose to bit the bullet when D800 was at it's highest price. What to do? Price to pay for an early adopter. What does it have that others now have? Just looking at the current prices and the other available bodies alone is heartache.

For the D600 crowd, I would understand the unhappiness the D610 has caused. Instead of putting resources to solve the shutter problems on the D600, Nikon instead chooses to put the solution into a new body (D610) and charge users for it.

Also like you mentioned, Nikon is able to put a lot of tech in a D5300 for so much less money than compared to D610 and yet charge a bomb for an updated D600 in the guise of the D610. I guess they continue to use this pricing structure because both bodies cater to different markets.

It's not necessary to defend the brand when they are making obvious mistakes.
For me as a prospective FX upgrader it frustrates me that Nikon is capable of adding so much to the D610, yet chose to reserve upgrades for the D5300 instead.

Regardless of whether the upgrades makes a difference to my photography, I am paying that much more, is it not logical for me to expect more?  sweat.gif
D610/D600 has a different targeted audience than with D5100/D5200/D5300. There was a survey done recently and I thought I read that Nikon and other big companies like Canon and Sony do not make so much profit on their high end systems. They make more profit on consumer products. So that partially explains your question why they choose to concentrate on consumer bodies like D5300 instead of D610 because as consumer products, they expect to sell more D5300 and try to please the bigger audience.

I know Nikon upgrade path is a little weird. They put newer tech on lower end body than they should on their higher end ones. I think it started on D700 time when they put the same AF module as they have on D3.

Anyway, I'm no camera designer but I suspect that putting in stuff like WiFi etc is a little complicated and would require a complete redesign due to space contraints. But then again, WiFi chips are very small.

Oh, btw the quote I highlighted above is by far the easiest mistake a company can make.

The response to the 6D should have been that they will look foward to implementing it in their future product, not proudly saying that "Our customers do not need WIFI" and also testing the intelligence of their prosumer base by saying that there is actually so much demand for a continuous quiet shutter and 0.5FPS increase in speed to warrant a "new" product.

Damage control? Not so much I think.  doh.gif
Their marketing and social media department needs a knock on the head sometimes.

Anyway, I merely mentioned that with all big manufacturers, there's bound to be an orphan child lemon product like this where the company is not proud off and that it's normal practice for big companies to do this. Nobody company is perfect. After sales service is always a non profit arm of the company and most of the time they are set up to please users. That's all.

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Oct 18 2013, 10:15 AM)
seriously??
I guess that's what the least they can offer...lol  tongue.gif
but no written statement about this right?
just a verbal statement?
I don't think there will be a formal written statement. A written statement would mean admission to the D600 problem which they are not !

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 18 2013, 10:24 AM)
so much complain from sifu, make us the new comer(like myself) feel bad about their investment, and think twice in investing expensive lens.. lol
Investment itself always involves risk. Never risk free.

Calculated risk? Yes.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 18 2013, 10:41 AM)
Focusing speed (and accuracy) usually more concern for action/event photography.
Yeah, landscape shots would place importance to quality than AF speed.

By f/8, everything is in focus. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Oct 18 2013, 11:52 AM
jchue73
post Oct 18 2013, 07:07 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 18 2013, 06:31 PM)
What was your reason for f/29?

To show the dust on the sensor?
jchue73
post Oct 19 2013, 04:44 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 19 2013, 01:00 PM)
Manfrotto~~~  whistling.gif  brows.gif
Go for cheaper China made ones like Benro and Sirui. More bang for the buck.

Long time ago, the made in China stuff were very bad. Nowadays got quality.

Proud owner of Sirui P-326 monopod and Sirui K-30x ballhead with Sirui M3204 CF tripod.

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 19 2013, 01:04 PM)
Looks fine. The only suspect is if the legs are strong enough when extended. The connection does not look too secure.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 19 2013, 01:10 PM)
Depends on your uses la, if you don't plan to carry it around too much, can get a better quality one. Traveller tripods usually aren't as robust because of their focus on reducing weight (Unless you're talking about expensive carbon fibre ones)
+ 1

For me I usually use tripod when I travel. So naturally I want to find a tripod that is light and yet it's sturdy.

QUOTE(huislaw @ Oct 19 2013, 01:25 PM)
Online normally Shashinki or Ebay or lelong depending on which one is cheaper  thumbup.gif
Curious. What's in Shashinki that's cheap? hmm.gif I always have lots of things to buy but then stop short when browsing Shahsinki because they are not cheap.

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Oct 19 2013, 01:48 PM)
for tripod, I am looking for one as well.

for deciding which one, you can read some reviews and thoughts from our LYN forummer,

http://www.liewwkphoto.com/blog/

on choosing your tripod.
http://www.liewwkphoto.com/blog/?p=2694
Tripod is one thing but the reviewer forgot to add ballhead which is equally important.

Anyway, I just recently got my tripod / ballhead and before that went through a selection process looking for one without bursting the budget. Looking at the recommended tripod on those links above, it's not enough for me. I wanted one that was tall, strong, sturdy and relatively compact / lightweight at the same time.

The specs from the above link looks compact and light but I needed one that had to be sturdy.

As a comparison, the tripod I got has the following specs below and my remarks on what specs I saw as important and why I selected it;

Number of leg segments 4 (3 sections would be best for stability but usually 3 means not so compact when folded)
Top pipe Ø 32 mm (Bigger diameter the better / more sturdy at the expense of weight)
Max. Height 177 cm (Taller means easier to work with for taller people)
Max. Height excl. centre column 148 cm (I usually place more importance on this figure because for me, camera bodies on extended centre column is not recommended due to stability)
Min. Height 15.5 cm (I personally don't place too much importance on this unless you do lots of macro, you may want a lower figure)
Packing dimension 51 cm (Smaller it is, the better but there is a length you need to compromise (depending on your luggage space) as I need the tripod to be tall)
Weight 1.7 kg (lighter it is, the better but like folded dimensions, the weight you need to compromise when you place importance on sturdiness)
Max. Load 18 kg (this is very subjective and take the given figures from the manufacturer with a pinch of salt)

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 19 2013, 03:13 PM)
Buy Gitzo, add one more 0 in ur budget laugh.gif

I am personally thinking of buying this carbon fibre Jusino brand tripod... Anyone here using it?
http://shashinki.com/shop/jusino-254c-carb...kg-p-16486.html
Looks lightweight with good price too. I would just question about it's sturdiness and stability. 25mm on the thickess section is not that great. But then again it's a compromise. Perhaps you will find it ok with your gear.

Do you have any way of testing it? That is why for things like this and for camera bags, I rather go to a shop and test it out myself. Of course I like to get it cheap as well.

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 19 2013, 03:15 PM)
The ball head one is better...

Besides, there are also aluminium and carbon fibre ones... Carbon fibre ones are very light thumbup.gif
You forgot to add expensive too.
jchue73
post Oct 20 2013, 01:28 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 19 2013, 07:39 PM)
Yay~ SIRUI user here too  thumbup.gif
I was looking for a sturdy tripod that's not too heavy for travelling and Yannick recommended me one (forgot the model jor  sweat.gif ), used it for a lot of shots, and I'm loving it~
Speaking about places to shop, I looked everywhere for the combo I wanted. A few places had it and saw YL Camera was the cheapest amongst all. After go there to test out, I found that it was cheaper still than what was listed on their website. That's why I got it straight away.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Oct 20 2013, 12:31 PM)
Nice one dude, you seem to have a thing for landscapes eh? All cantik, except for the sky la, looks a tad overcooked and blown to me  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah agree. ND filter.
jchue73
post Oct 20 2013, 02:01 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(exquisite_markas @ Oct 20 2013, 01:35 PM)
Owh exposure means shutter speed. Didn't know that. Newbie mahhhhh...  blush.gif
Subscribe to this.

http://www.lowyat.net/2013/10/18/3083/back...riangle-part-1/
jchue73
post Oct 21 2013, 10:37 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 21 2013, 09:43 PM)
Well, D3 was Nikon's first FF... and the turning point for Nikon before getting "crushed" by Canon back then LOL. D800? Nah... its just next iteration of the D700.
Till now, nobody is trumping the D800 yet. So the D800/D800E is still king. It took a lot of people by surprise when Nikon came out with such a huge MP FF sensor on a normal DSLR body.

It's not just medium format size output with garbage quality. Quality that rivals medium format and excels in dynamic range and noise at higher ISOs especially when paired with good glass and when focus is spot on.

That's why I can never fathom buying a manual focus Zeiss. What's the point of having the best glass when most of the time you're trying to get it focused ? f/1.4 is bloody thin.
jchue73
post Oct 24 2013, 10:55 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 24 2013, 10:37 AM)

This is what I mean, the out of focus with f1.8.. sad.gif
What focus mode are you on? Single, AF-C or AF-A? The way I see, there's quite a few more contrasting lines in the background that would distract the camera AF (just like how [PF T.J.] is distracted with the lenglui instead of looking at the bokeh ! laugh.gif ).
jchue73
post Oct 24 2013, 01:25 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 24 2013, 11:09 AM)
Should be Single focus point as i don't use other focus settings. Because this shot is not a set shot, I always love to take those shot that are naturally presented such as this. Might be the reason of the blur shot.. rclxub.gif
Took a look at it in original size and given the circumstances, I think you did good. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Oct 24 2013, 11:42 AM)
yes cosplay..
Becareful. Dangerous nowadays with cosplay.
jchue73
post Oct 24 2013, 07:19 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Oct 24 2013, 06:11 PM)
More updates on the rumored Nikon retro camera/ D4H... brows.gif

http://nikonrumors.com/2013/10/23/new-set-...amera-d4h.aspx/

jchue73
post Oct 25 2013, 12:34 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 25 2013, 10:07 AM)
now this is a wedding photo... tongue.gif

Instead of dinosaur, they should superimpose an enlarged picture of the Mother-In-Law chasing the crowd.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 25 2013, 10:12 AM)
i'll be very interested to get that nikon whatever its called...D4h is just a stupid name and i hope its not true.
maybe if its true and nikon calling it a D4h is just an excuse for them to say its more expensive than D800...when reality dictates that it should really be priced at usd2k.
that lens used on it with the large silver ring looks alot like vintage 50mm also.
Don't know about you guys but when I read about the D4H, the first thing that came to mind was a faster D4. Nikon traditionally used the H notation to imply speed. S notation to imply minor upgrade. Just like how many people say that the D610 should be called D600s.

I still have my D2Hs which is a minor update to the D2H which is a faster sports camera to the D2X / D2Xs.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 25 2013, 10:22 AM)
sigma 12-24 mark2 1850 worth buying ? biggrin.gif
Back from cycling? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Oct 25 2013, 12:21 PM)
Another sunrise photographs for today. If only folks didn't misplaced the car key, I can get there earlier and be prepared. *sigh*

The first 2 lovely. rclxms.gif Love the way you caught the light spill. thumbup.gif
jchue73
post Oct 25 2013, 10:59 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Oct 25 2013, 07:21 PM)
Thinking to try macro now, landscape is too challenging at times. Weather here is unpredictable. tongue.gif
It is in the unpredictable weather that one finds great landscape pics.
jchue73
post Oct 26 2013, 01:25 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Oct 25 2013, 11:45 PM)
OMD EM-1 lah... no need to think edi
Yuck. Pay more for a new system just to be downgraded?

Anyway, was watching my F1 fix this morning and saw this. Looks like it's used with a 1.4x TC with a D800.

jchue73
post Oct 26 2013, 04:24 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 26 2013, 02:17 PM)
f/8 focusing with 1.5x crop I guess tongue.gif
LOL biggrin.gif Lightweight mah. If not, it will have to be a 600mm /f4 bazooka on a monopod.
jchue73
post Oct 31 2013, 11:47 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 31 2013, 09:02 AM)
More accurate drool.gif
Accurate? It seems the rumour mentioned it having AF system from D610 with 16MP sensor. 2016 pixel RGB sensor vs 91k pixel RGB sensor on the D800. After having tasted D800, do you think it's gonna satisfy you?

Anyway, these are just rumours.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 31 2013, 09:02 AM)
Woolala~ design looks good. I likey! I'm leaning to this now xD instead of A7/A7r LOL!

Initially to A7/A7r cause the rumor this DF pretty big... like D600 size, now looks smaller jor.
My 2 sen. For me, I don't feel anything to the rumored announcement even though I'm a self professed Nikon nut. tongue.gif It's small yes, but can it step in to replace even the D610 in terms of performance?

For those people who jump in to switch to Nikon mainly for this camera, it's a big risk. Unfortunately, we have yet to see a small size camera (even though with big fullframe sensor) replacing the current FF DSLRs. I only see the Df as a 2nd camera for existing Nikon users. But how many can afford it as a 2nd body?

For new users, I would rather advise them to get the Sony A7 / A7r since you need to get new lenses anyway. Yes, these new lenses are Zeiss and no, they are not manual focus lenses. nod.gif

On the other hand, if the strict intention is to keep it small + quality, then the Sony RX1R suits the bill. For anything that is f/1.4, f/2.0 or f/2.8 long lenses, they are going to be big and bulky and would present a somewhat awkward handling of the small body + big lens.

QUOTE(blu3hamm3r @ Oct 31 2013, 11:05 AM)
Any D600 user which upgrade from D7000 here? Wonder is there any big different on this 2 camera. Is it worth to upgrade?
You planning to get 2nd hand or new D600? If new, why not D610? Anyway, if you shoot low light and landscapes , it's a nice upgrade in noise and dynamic range performance. If you shoot sports / wildlife, probably the D7000 is better.

Depending also on your current lenses if they are FX ready. What do you have? Need to consider upgrading your DX lenses if you plan to use D600.

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 31 2013, 11:31 AM)
Nikon fair currently happening at MV until 3rd November.
Thanks for the info. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(blu3hamm3r @ Oct 31 2013, 11:26 AM)
Heard that when shooting at night, shooting at ISO 3200 with D7000 but using D600 just need ISO 1600. Is this true? Do u shoot at nite using ur D600? How is the image quality when shoot at ISO1600 or above? Mind to share some sample image without PP? Thanks in advance.
Exposure will still be the same. I think you probably confused with people comparing noise / ISO performance between the 2 bodies.

This post has been edited by jchue73: Oct 31 2013, 11:50 AM
jchue73
post Oct 31 2013, 11:49 AM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 31 2013, 11:46 AM)
go D4  tongue.gif
No need D4. D4 is only if you want to burst and machine gun which is not required.

A D800 or D600/D610 would suffice. Use high ISO and then resize to 12 or 16MP, boom. Magically all noise gone. biggrin.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0249sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:36 AM