> Military Thread V10, Merry X'Mas and Happy New Year

thpace
post Oct 27 2013, 10:56 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Oct 27 2013, 10:54 PM)
tuler, aku pun dah naik malas nak fikir pasal procurement2 defense...dah faham sgt mcm mana cara2 pengkhianat2 negara ni beroperasi..
yang pengkhianat ni rakyat yang undi masuk..

yawn.gif yawn.gif

Dah poket dah kaya semasa submarine purchase, ni macam case sama lagi. Wat worse it the same company doh.gif
thpace
post Oct 27 2013, 10:59 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Oct 27 2013, 10:48 PM)
No essm.  I told ya. So identical to Oman khareef-class corvette armament. No, their main gun better. Price? Cheaper than our kedah class.
i dont bother about the main gun.. but it weapon suite macam no punch compared to Formidable-class frigate

it bound to be better and more modern than SG but in end just disappointment yawn.gif
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 12:30 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 27 2013, 11:44 PM)
Dah terang-terang sgpv ini bakal jadi mangsa songlap.
Rm1.5bil equip with pistor air.
pistol air? i dunno the pistol air ada air dalam tak atau cuma pistol angin

QUOTE(nyap2 @ Oct 27 2013, 11:50 PM)
dafaq, ds30m jd ciws....at least ltak la phalanx ke...
sgpv tue dh ley ltak dlm klass frigate dh lau ltak modul yg btul...
kapal mahal2 tp snjata xdlm class yg btul....
macam kereta mahal.. tapi tayar engine kancil.

buat apa beli, lagi baik beli kancil
there better ships and better equips than this nonsense armament

SG will be laughing at us now.. their formidable so much cheaper and better weapon.

QUOTE(ET-Force @ Oct 28 2013, 12:00 AM)
But this is too much man,
We pay for a watermelon but get one little green bean.

With Formidable class, South China Sea dispute around, not to mention shopping spree of Indon,
they can still sit down and songlap more. shocking.gif  shocking.gif

Better scrap off the whole Gowind project and revive Lekiu batch two project.
i scare lekiu batch two will be like this.. first class ship 3rd class armament doh.gif

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 28 2013, 12:00 AM)
Last few days i rage edi when i found that ciws were ds30m.
And now mica that really fark you.
Some1 even justified about using ds30m as ciws.
Lolz. Facepalm
ds30m dont even have enough rate of fire to counter incoming missile. It like hitting a tenis ball with ping pong bat doh.gif
There just not enough fire power

QUOTE(ET-Force @ Oct 28 2013, 12:15 AM)
Media must do something.
Put some fire if possible  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
My initial thought of the new SGPV is it should be able to counter Formidable-class,
but seem it will be just like 30~50% buffed up lekiu with 2-3 times(i suppose, not sure) the prices.
more like buff up look but lowered down weapon

when lekiu come in, it was the most advance ship of its time for SEA. In fact, if lekiu were to be upgraded, i think it will be cheaper and much more capable than this soon to be songlap white elephant sgpv

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 28 2013, 12:40 AM
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 12:39 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 28 2013, 12:09 AM)
Lots of argument happen in the metting.
Hopefully navy won the fight before loa is issue.
I hope media should do something about these.
i think all the top brass should know this type of weapon suite for rm1.5billon allocation is nonsense, or they think otherwise?

not to mention 6 biji of this nonsense. better rename SGPV = SonGlap Patrol Vessel. Even have name class of its own whistling.gif Songlap Class
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 12:42 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(nyap2 @ Oct 28 2013, 12:40 AM)
rite now im so sad with the navy ship armament..look at our sgpv...it has capabilities to be frigate...but it doesnt be...now the gowind class will fill with crap armament...doesnt gov learn anything from ld cases...sigh...
weight everything is of frigate.. but armament of a fast patrol boat doh.gif

look good outside, inside nonsense
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 02:58 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Oct 28 2013, 01:53 AM)
what's wrong with MM40 block 3 anyway?

as for the air defence,should be aster 30 but i'd take mica if that means more missile that can be carry. this is SGPV people, not DDG. should be a big advance compared to sea-wolf

besides we've operated both exocet missile and ds30 gun currently. is it really cost effective to use totally different weapon system on just one ship?
It not about cost effective but more about adapting to changing situation.

ESSM is a much more advance system and better range. It better to engage target at greater range than at close range. Aster would also been better
Both essm and aster have shown to intercept supersonic missile, MIRA? i dont think so

and the short 10km range for mica is too close for comfort sweat.gif doh.gif

exocet missile i have no problem with it. It battle proven and works well enough although there newer better anti ship missile like the brahmos

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Oct 28 2013, 01:59 AM)
All these ToT and Ip rights procurement... what good did they do anyway?
Not sure, it not like malaysia can construct a full size destroyer or cruiser in any time soon. Even if they have the Tot and IP, we dont have the steel industry to built such vessel.

QUOTE(nikita zuleica @ Oct 28 2013, 02:27 AM)
lol i heard frm th othr forum said tht Malaysian governmnt. can't afford such expensive essm such things coz we hv a prob. with  budget
aster 15 would have been the better option is essm is too expensive. But MICA is way too what you say" TOO CHEAP' for RM1.5 billion vessels

Like Ferrari but you use tayar tampal sweat.gif
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 03:03 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(ayanami_tard @ Oct 28 2013, 02:42 AM)
i don't think DS-30 is what you can call a CIWS. DS-30 should be as secondary gun for the ship. it took oto melara role, to shoot pirate,mundus, speedboats filled with kiram's boys in the water,that kind of thing.

i understand what you mean, though. some ship have both system installed. Mica can take the role of asm defence,though having a CIWS meant that the ship has higher survivability against asm. at 3000k ton, it can accomodate both system( DS-30 and CIWS)

which leave us air defence missile. i'm contented with having Mica, though we should go for aster-30
aster 15 and 30 combo would be nice smile.gif

then again RM1.5 billion and we cant even afford a proper CIWS?

at least install Oerlikon Millennium 35 mm Naval Revolver Gun System for upgrade option. It stealth and easy to install according to the tech sheet
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 03:13 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 28 2013, 03:07 AM)
Well depend on our config vls.
Thai opt for cheap config cost them around usd18mil.
what is our planned?
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 10:38 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Oct 28 2013, 10:30 AM)
Technically, MICA-VL cheaper to opt than ESSM. MICA don't need launcher because their storage canister already worked as launcher. What make ESSM more expensive, they need extra hardware; 2 illumination radar and launcher.

MICA = fire and forget, ESSM = guidance; guidance need many hardware controller.
Conclusion: why MICA (not per whole system) more expensive; the canister make them expensive. Also caused by low rate production and it is a European stuff!

tongue.gif I'm not a mica fan, but i must clarified the mystery.
aster 15 and aster 30 is also a fire and forget missile with better range than mica. Not to mistaken, same cost as mica system but better capabilities.

though now it mica, should they opt for a better ciws since it freaking rm1.5billion and all we got ciws is a toy gun technically speaking

even indon and thai have but not us?
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 11:32 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Oct 28 2013, 11:28 AM)
MICA was bought bcoz it was cheaper? nak murah sgt, beli RPG-7 je la, proven have shot down 2 UH60 wat
better get AK47.. shoot down Apache sumore. plus cheaper than rpg7

maybe, malaysia can line up 10 ak47 together and become a CIWS thumbup.gif
thpace
post Oct 28 2013, 05:15 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Oct 28 2013, 04:14 PM)
unless somehow somewhere announcement for new frigate comes out, equipped with the likes of Aster and NSm, with good CIWS, then the issue of Gowind will not go away with the wind..
we shall name our new sgpv = SonGlap Class Patrol Vessel (SGPV)

thpace
post Oct 29 2013, 10:36 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(MrUbikeledek @ Oct 29 2013, 10:34 AM)
It's an LPD for amphibious assault. minimal weaponry. But it's bigger then what we currently have.
if we can get mini dokdo class, it would be nice. I like wide open upper deck, make it look like we have aircraft carrier tongue.gif

news say we need at least 3 of those LPD.. then again, no budget for it. wait till next year see if the program reboot again.
thpace
post Oct 30 2013, 11:37 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(James831 @ Oct 30 2013, 01:05 AM)
which version u guys think most likely choose by RMN?

does this design consider is Auxiliary Ship or LPD?
Most likely 8000 or at most 13000

Navy set requirement for 3 of such ships, and if given how limited the budget is chances the smaller one will be chosen. Though, i prefer open top deck. laugh.gif

Then again, no news on it watsoever. It been silent for almost 3 years, could be revived back when malaysia start their marine force as they need an amphibious capable ship to move around

second more of auxiliary ship. One of the requirements for ldp is it much be able to land two or more heli on top.
thpace
post Oct 30 2013, 02:32 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waja2000 @ Oct 30 2013, 01:08 PM)
If want to get fast and cheap LPD, can consider TNI KRI Banjarmasin LPD from markassar class, price around usd 50~60 Million depend configuration,  just they not using military standard specification. but no problem used in 30 year.

anyway Singapore ST also selling the Endurance LHD 140, maybe can consider. 

if got budget Enforce 8000 or 13000t should be ok.
Most likely I would say rmn will not consider markassar class. 1st) it not up to military spec and most rmn navy commander does not feel safe in using civilian spec ships. Bunga mas 5 is an exception because it too high cost to run a military ship for non so crucial mission like pirate patrol.

2nd) malaysia kiasu dont like purchase stuffs others already have. New and not used by others in the region is malaysia interest

3rd) malaysia like foreign equipments and training included. Any deal must include Tot and etc etc. I dont think ST will agree to TOT

4rd) personally I dont like stuff from indon. Does not give me the sense of quality. hahaha
thpace
post Oct 30 2013, 02:39 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Phillip_x @ Oct 30 2013, 02:23 PM)
If MICA VL so good why is it that none of the French Navy ships use them nor planned to be used in their new ships of ALL Classes and Dimensions? French Air Force and Navy  use the air launch version 1 - 80 km !
because of the short range, it used as point defence.

in france, their point defence is using ciws while their longer range area defence is provided by aster 30 missile or shorte range aster 15. Diff configuration, so there no point for them to install mica since there already an existing system which they can use

our case however, no ciws, that dsm30 can shoot sulu boat but I highly doubt it can send enough rounds like in ciws to destroy incoming missile. So the only point defence is to use mica. This is what I think la

other than that, , ESSM and a ciws would have been the better option than mica or dsm30.
thpace
post Oct 31 2013, 02:13 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(HangPC2 @ Oct 31 2013, 01:18 AM)
yang penting ada CIWS atau SeaRAM (SHERaaaaaaaaaaaam) ......
this is like better than aegis destroyer already laugh.gif
thpace
post Oct 31 2013, 01:00 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Oct 31 2013, 12:52 PM)
China, Malaysia To Hold Joint Military Drills
_________________________________________________________________________________

The Nimitz-class aircraft carrier USS George Washington (CVN 73), top, is seen underway with the Royal Malaysian
Navy frigates RMN Jebat (FF 29) and RMN Lekiu (FF 30) during a transit of the Andaman Sea in 2012.

Ini jenis salam depan, belakang ada simpan pisau ke  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
biasa lah...

buat wayang depan, belakang asah pisau tajam tajam sweat.gif

Then again, malaysia ni suka keep low profile. Tak macam pinoy dan indon. Buat bising sana sini
thpace
post Nov 1 2013, 11:25 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Nov 1 2013, 10:54 AM)
US Navy cancels notice on F/A-18 fighter jet order plan

[The Star]
[Reuters]
Comparison

Growler spec
While on another news, mrca programme is going to be delayed.. more..
Dammit
source of news for the mrca delay?
thpace
post Nov 1 2013, 07:36 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

SGPV is mean for patrolling key economic zone. So instead of point defence for defending itself, should not it have area defence capabilities instead of point defence?

mica is marketed as point defence system and not area defence. RMN shoulf consider having area defence capacity instead of just self defence
thpace
post Nov 1 2013, 10:47 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(James831 @ Nov 1 2013, 10:03 PM)
what if SGPV use 2 type missiles for air defence,
MICA for short range, XXX missile for long range?
is it possible to do that?
impossible unless they have enough $$$$
Having two system is not cheap

maybe they can fit aster and mica if the VL system is compatible but then again, the radar system purchased or confirm is unable to support aster 15 sad.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0474sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:10 PM