6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

domo_kun
post Apr 22 2008, 08:32 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 22 2008, 08:19 PM)
Hey, actually how far u want to separate your speaker from computer/your listening position? Any longer wire will definitely affect SQ especially the cable in your image 1....
Nevertheless, the cable u bought was better than MX stock crap cable...
QUOTE(Faint @ Apr 22 2008, 08:21 PM)
You can get longer wire from hi-fi shop to replace the stock cable (sound card with sub).
Cable for the MX5021 satellite just need some below RM10 cable, no need such expensive cable.
currently, the sub is placed on the bed, next to the pc table
no other place i can put it, unless behind me where i'll be sitting
which is why i need a little longer cables
as of now, the audio/speakers cables are long enough liao, 3 meters for each speaker
am using the new cables now, and it's A LOT better than the original ones!
haha, am very satisfy now!
tongue.gif

my main concern now is the cable connecting the sub to the cpu
any extension being sold? any idea?

edit:
Mirai E by Kiroro doesn't "break" anymore even when it's at the top pitch! wheee!
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Apr 22 2008, 08:39 PM
domo_kun
post Apr 22 2008, 09:10 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 22 2008, 09:02 PM)
A LOT BETTER? can describe further more? hmm.gif

about the 3.5mm to 3.5mm stereo cable, i advice you buy the better quality one if u want longer because it is signal cable, a path to carry the signal from your sound card to your speaker, so it is quite important.....but i don't know where to buy, because i never seek for it before.. tongue.gif
few things for sure, the bass seems to be deeper, not as shaky before
doesn't "break" at high pitch on certain songs, more clarity
er, don't really know how to describe
but it's definite suits my preference
should have change it earlier, hehe

so, it's calle 3.5mm stereo cable... i see, i see. thanks. shall be seeking that out soon
hi-fi shop?

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Apr 22 2008, 09:11 PM
domo_kun
post Apr 22 2008, 09:27 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 22 2008, 09:19 PM)
The satellite cable won't affect the bass la...lol doh.gif
it sure do, i suppose
did comparison with a number of songs, old cable, new cable
and it did sounds different between them!
or perhaps i was using the wrong words to describe it? haha!
ph34r.gif

domo_kun
post Apr 22 2008, 09:46 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 22 2008, 09:35 PM)
Ya, i agree the better cable improve the SQ and different if u use stock crap cable... rclxms.gif but won't affect the bass...only ur woofer placement can affect the bass response...
SQ = sound quality?
how does the sub placement would affect the bass response?
example?
domo_kun
post Apr 23 2008, 08:12 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Apr 22 2008, 10:00 PM)
me too wan to change my stock mx5021 cable....any suggestion whre to get a decent cable...any mod needed?..need some guidance..noob here.. icon_question.gif
i got it from Ace Hardware in Jaya33
rm1.30 per meter, and there's another type rm2.00 per meter
there's one pack being displayed as "studio quality", rm80+ for 50 feet!
but i don't see any difference between the rm1.30 and rm2.00
that's why i opt for rm1.30 cables, hehe
brows.gif

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 22 2008, 10:03 PM)
Ask domo_kun....i live in JB now, can't help you...just change the cable, no mod needed...
my colleague just told me that he knew such extension for 3.5mm stereo cable in batu pahat
but he's not willing to look out for me as he's not going back to his hometown any time soon...
dry.gif

@ junclj
i did my research on speakers back then for a few months
but in the end, i ended up buying one that is WAYYYYY out of my budget!
and i'm enjoying every bit of it!
rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Apr 23 2008, 08:15 AM
domo_kun
post Apr 23 2008, 04:56 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

haha, i don't know if mine is consider as the heavy one or the lighter one. how you check, anyway... i think i threw the box out quite some time now...

by the way, just bought a 3 meter 3.5mm audio cable a while ago. going to test it later when i get home. how to judge if it's of a good quality or a not so good quality ones? i checked on a few shops, and most of them are selling the same type of 3.5mm audio cable la, hmm
hmm.gif

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Apr 23 2008, 05:01 PM
domo_kun
post Apr 23 2008, 07:02 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

@ Faint
how come your speaker does not have the "net" cover?

@ coolkwc

er, mine got the "net" cover for the speakers and the sub
means it's new version, or what? haha
why as short as possible la?
adoi, my table really got no place for the sub
unless, i clear off the printer, haha

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Apr 23 2008, 07:04 PM
domo_kun
post Apr 23 2008, 07:30 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

oh, it's called dust shield, haha
won't be calling it "net" cover liao!
by the way, which one is the light version, then?
the one with 2 circular thing on the speaker? or what?
i'm one hell of a confused man!
ph34r.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 23 2008, 07:34 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 23 2008, 07:32 PM)
the one with '2 circular thing' is old version, original version, or heavy version... sweat.gif
oh, that means the heavy version is the better one? haha
eh, heavy? even the one i'm having also heavy la
can't imagine how heavy the heavy version is then...
whistling.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 24 2008, 08:10 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(SkyDriver @ Apr 24 2008, 03:01 AM)
the pic is in my directory (you can check it from the file path)  sweat.gif
anyway, i found it from a reviews website which claims the new version isnt THX certified.
i have no idea since never comparing new and original version side by side...

personally, the bass is blurry and the treble is crispy (note : satelite caps is diff for both version)
what picture?
ah, how can it be not THX certified when it's printed out as THX certified?
that's not right, eh? hm
haha, we can then pakat and sue them!
sweat.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 24 2008, 03:32 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Apr 24 2008, 11:10 AM)
May be the new version of MX5021 can't meet the THX certified requirement since Altec change the component of MX5021 ?  doh.gif
but but but...
they still have the THX certified logo!
rclxub.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 24 2008, 07:28 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

@ downcreek
exactly!
i'm lovin' it!
wub.gif

@ sucka3
no, no. it's not my advice. it was from someone else. even before i bought it, i was reading through the forum, and someone actually mentioned that in another thread, which prompted me to join THIS thread, and see see lo
sweat.gif

@ coolkwc
haha, we have flooded the google search engine!
lappy, a more "manja" term for laptop
like husband, and hubby
rclxm9.gif

@ Faint
i can't read Chinese!
doh.gif

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Apr 24 2008, 07:29 PM
domo_kun
post Apr 25 2008, 08:26 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

haaa, i bought mine at Sri Computer for rm520, a few months ago
icon_rolleyes.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 25 2008, 08:11 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

easy!
scratch it here and there, make it look old
and tell your old folks that you bought a second hand unit at a special discounted price!
tongue.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 25 2008, 10:56 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

famo and pama means what? lol, me not student la
more like uncle to you guys, i believe
can work part time to earn some cash, right?
starbucks? coffee bean?
sweat.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 25 2008, 11:02 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Apr 25 2008, 10:59 PM)
tats wat im doin..but not as waiter..more to fixing com , function, exhibition..
wakakaz, good ah
get more exposure
just that you don't get free starbucks drinks only
rolleyes.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 26 2008, 01:35 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

what can be modified?
how? examples?
domo_kun
post Apr 26 2008, 09:45 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

good dose of humor early in the morning, good for health
make sure this continues on every other day
rclxm9.gif
domo_kun
post Apr 27 2008, 09:15 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 27 2008, 07:03 AM)
My Speaker system is working fine here ... But I was wondering does the AMS software still available for download to be used on newer Windows version ? unsure.gif
what is AMS software?
domo_kun
post Apr 27 2008, 10:12 AM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Apr 27 2008, 09:22 AM)
Audio Management Software .. its a GUI application to control your speaker system. smile.gif
you have some screenshots, please?
thank you!
tongue.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:10 AM