LYN DashCam Discussion V1 | DashCam Talk Malaysia, Ask/discuss anything related to dashcam!

celciuz
post Jul 5 2017, 01:32 PM

14,037 posts

Looking for a low profile dash camera, considering the DDPai mini2P (cause its black biggrin.gif). Any alternative to this which I should be considering?
celciuz
post Jul 5 2017, 02:33 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 5 2017, 01:55 PM)
Oh I saw also the new Mini2 Black version...

Can consider A119 too...
Seems like A119 is a popular choice here eh, but the design looks a little meh but it does come with a screen. But it looks a little bulky right? Can be well hidden behind the rear view mirror?
celciuz
post Jul 5 2017, 03:46 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 5 2017, 03:04 PM)
Not that bulky... It's designed to be discreet.

A119S with the P550. I can't see the A119S when I'm driving so I don't get distracted.
[attachmentid=8944418]
Does the A119 screen turns off after sometime? Or it will always turn on while you are driving around?

On the side note, two dash cameras? o_O
celciuz
post Jul 5 2017, 03:53 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 5 2017, 03:51 PM)
I set my screen to be never turn off... Can set option to turn off at some time after on.

I review dashcams... Was reviewing the P550 earlier... A119S is my daily dashcam now.
Why the A119S over A119? Because of the low light capability?
celciuz
post Jul 7 2017, 01:55 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 7 2017, 12:21 PM)
It's here! The newly released Viofo WR1.

[attachmentid=8949115]
This actually looks very small and discreet!
celciuz
post Jul 10 2017, 09:24 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 10 2017, 07:54 AM)
I expected the WR1 can't compete with the A119 or A119S. Video bit rate at 14.2 Mb/s. But still, consider quite clear video quality. The only drawback is the US99.99 price tag.

Maybe new firmware will have improved image quality like firmware V1.7 for the A119S.

But I like the new form factor of the WR1. Considering it to use it as a rear dashcam.

Voncrane Get the A119 from banggood with 20% off coupon and free gifts.
Bro, I see you always reviewing different dash camera. Do you stick on or use the suction cup? If stick on, easy to remove?

I'm still thinking between A119 and A119S, the A119S advantage is low light capability right?
celciuz
post Jul 10 2017, 11:48 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 10 2017, 11:22 AM)
Suction is easy to stick on and remove. I like for reviewing purpose. Tape mount is more permanent but I use my own way to stick on with own supply of acrylic mounting tape which is easy to remove than other mounting tapes.

Right now, I would say A119 is a bit better than A119S.
Huawei chipset is getting good. Can see from the few generations in dashcams. Waiting for the Yi 2.7K dashcam to arrive so can test it also as it is using Huawei chipset also.
Acrylic mounting tape is like those transparent 3M tape? I have concern of "damaging" my tinting but I would prefer the stick on than the suction cup I guess, since got bad experience with suction which kinda left mark on the tint.
celciuz
post Jul 12 2017, 08:50 AM

14,037 posts

Based on the discussion here, I should be going for Sandisk HE series?

Not so aware they have this HE series now, been using Extreme and Extreme Pro series for my photography tools biggrin.gif.

Guess I'll probably go for the A119 then smile.gif

EDIT: http://www.lazada.com.my/sandisk-high-endu...54429.html?ff=1

This should be sufficient for A119 1440p 30fps right?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 12 2017, 08:54 AM
celciuz
post Jul 12 2017, 11:58 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 10 2017, 07:54 AM)
I expected the WR1 can't compete with the A119 or A119S. Video bit rate at 14.2 Mb/s. But still, consider quite clear video quality. The only drawback is the US99.99 price tag.

Maybe new firmware will have improved image quality like firmware V1.7 for the A119S.

But I like the new form factor of the WR1. Considering it to use it as a rear dashcam.

Voncrane Get the A119 from banggood with 20% off coupon and free gifts.
Is the 20% off coupon still available? biggrin.gif

EDIT: Ok actually the USD92.99 is with the coupon, worth grabbing?

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 13 2017, 12:00 AM
celciuz
post Jul 13 2017, 09:52 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 13 2017, 09:27 AM)
Not sure yet. Getting mine end of the month from Kopipeng
USD92.99 haven't deducted 20% discount yet. Also, need to add USD0.83 shipping to Malaysia. And also the 2 free gifts.
Alamak, if I were to pick the freebies it doesn't allow me to use coupon ._.
celciuz
post Jul 17 2017, 10:46 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 13 2017, 10:36 AM)
Then I would go with the 20% off then. It's about USD18+.
Car arriving sooner than expected, now need to make the decision nod.gif

Was wondering about those dual dash camera, what brand would you recommend? Based on what I've read here so far, front camera = A119 seems to be the best pick, but if a dual front and back... any?
celciuz
post Jul 18 2017, 11:34 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 17 2017, 10:33 PM)
Another way is to stick those clear car roadtax sticker on the windscreen then the dashcam on it. So you only "damage" this sticker and not your tint.
rclxms.gif I like this idea! Going to do this smile.gif, why didn't I thought of this earlier tsk. Plus able to fine tune the position too hehe, better than suction type which will leave marking on the tint after under hot sun.
celciuz
post Jul 19 2017, 06:09 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 19 2017, 10:54 AM)
GPS is a double edge sword. If you were speeding, then it will be against you. But lucky can be turn off not to show in the video for A119.

But it's good to know where you have been and which route was taken, etc.
Which means you can decide if you want to show or not the gps data when exporting?

Agree its a double edge sword LOL, if you claim not speeding at least got data to prove it haha. But if speeding then icon_idea.gif
celciuz
post Jul 20 2017, 01:11 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 17 2017, 09:30 PM)
Dual cams is best go with Korean dashcam like Thinkware, iRoad, Lokas, etc... Not cheap!

Or go dual A119 front and back... I got a friend who is using dual A119 in his XV...
Dual A119... the cable long enough to reach the back? Or need to use extensions?

Also for the brands you mentioned... any recommended site to source for them? Tried banggood but it doesn't have them.

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 20 2017, 01:13 PM
celciuz
post Jul 20 2017, 02:55 PM

14,037 posts

Earlier discussion regarding the micro SD card, Sandisk HE series is recommended right? Able to sustain A119's 1440p 30fps?

http://www.lazada.com.my/sandisk-high-endu...0.0.tttvaN&ff=1

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 20 2017, 02:56 PM
celciuz
post Jul 24 2017, 11:09 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jul 24 2017, 10:45 AM)
if a gps antenna is external mounted along the usb cable, u can actually wrap it with aluminium foil paper first as it would block signal tranmission, secondly wrap a piece of dark film to make it hidden.

by that if firmware got no option to turn off gps, gps still not working.
Not an issue since you can either choose to use or not to use the GPS function brows.gif
celciuz
post Jul 24 2017, 11:32 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jul 24 2017, 11:17 AM)
for gps feature cam:

some firmware does not have option to turn off GPS

then only resort to hardware part - block the antenna signal transmission or using third party aftermarket cable but majority not good quality cable compare to ori bundling cable
This A119 been reading about it so far, the GPS is external module... so you can choose not to use that module. Remember seeing the reviews can use either the GPS module or the standard stand. Waiting for mine to arrive then I'll know smile.gif
celciuz
post Jul 24 2017, 11:35 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 24 2017, 11:34 AM)
The GPS is external but it's also the mount for the A119 innocent.gif

You can use the non-GPS mount if you like...
The 2.7K camera you reviewed looks good! But I placed order for the A119 already... two units somemore sweat.gif then I noticed the 2.7K isn't using capacitor.. so still ok xD
celciuz
post Jul 24 2017, 11:44 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 24 2017, 11:38 AM)
I still think the A119 is better but the Yi 2.7K is still first batch. Maybe future batches will improved.
Just noticed the A119 has parking mode, which means I can just plug it into a power bank when I need that feature?
celciuz
post Jul 24 2017, 02:45 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 24 2017, 11:48 AM)
Yes. Best to hardwire to your car fuse box or via OBD port. Powerbank not safe if parked in hot weather.
True enough... btw side note can you take a photo from outside? Would like to see how would the A119s looks like from outside... it isn't obvious right? I mean nowadays those pesky thief would break the window just for the dash camera ._.

0.1421sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:24 PM