[V1] Nokia Lumia 1020, most powerful cameraphone in this planet

hox
post Oct 24 2013, 04:32 PM

340 posts

anyone here with 1020 didnt apply sp? if yes, so far got any scratches on the screen? thinking of removing the Nillkin sp and use without sp...really poke-eyes-poke-nose with the dust collected at the edges
hox
post Oct 25 2013, 12:07 AM

340 posts

thanks you all for the sharing about the sp, guess have to keep it on first until i find one good one..bohpian...

i read its the oleophobic sheet that get scratched easily not the glass, the gorrila glass more resistant. unlike xperia z/z1 where you can actually peel off the sheet away (and remove even the SONY logo!), nokia one quite impossible as the sheet and glass are fused together.
hox
post Oct 27 2013, 11:57 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(t3arsCulprit @ Oct 26 2013, 10:05 PM)
Why my 1020 unable to do close focus, the photo became blurry? Whereas I use my 720, it can focus perfectly.
this is actually a blessing in disguise that enable you to take buttery smooth bokeh portrait shots, impossible with all other smartphones out there that have closer focus range for macro (3cm-10cm)
if you need really close macro shot, just zoom in a bit to the crop you want
hox
post Oct 29 2013, 04:02 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(billygoh @ Oct 29 2013, 12:09 AM)
yellow or black? dilemma biggrin.gif
simple, if you like others to know you are using 1020, buy yellow. otherwise, black biggrin.gif
hox
post Oct 29 2013, 04:05 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Oct 29 2013, 02:55 PM)
Are you on GDR3 and had updated to Nokia Camera?
I just installed Nokia Camera but I do not have much experience with ProCam (only played with it for a few shots). The image quality seems to be softer. Not sure why.
Procam image quality noticeably better than Smartcam mode even with auto mode. Manual lagi batter.
hox
post Oct 29 2013, 10:01 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(anwarmatlani @ Oct 29 2013, 09:46 PM)
Not really into cameras, i'm more music kinda guy. I dont think any smartphones can challenge HTC One speakers. It does have a great camera but for point n shoot kinda guy like me, i cant fully enjoy the phone, at least that what i think.
I think you better keep your HTC one and not buy 1020 and stop viewing this tread haha..1020 is really solely for photographers or people who put photography above all of their smartphone need. People that easily get upset and can't sleep when the pictures they took during the day look like muddy crap when zoomed 100% on their desktop. It is for those people who test photo quality first the moment they got a new phone and those who try to get the best quality and resolution for their daily shots knowing well that they can't practically carry their DSLR all the time..

but that not to say if you exhibit none of the above disorders 1020 is not for you, it is just if you are that type of person, you'll be very satisfied and happy buying the 1020.
hox
post Nov 3 2013, 09:03 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(kernel123 @ Nov 2 2013, 12:34 AM)
guys,anyone has gotten the latest update that fix the yellow tint?

now in dilemma either wanna buy Sony rx100 ii or this lumia 1020.

the yellow tint on image really makes me think twice before buying this device sweat.gif
I own a RX100, the image quality and speed is better than 1020. But I hardly use it despite the compact size. I will only carry it for travel and important events, for 95% of the time i use 1020. So, if you need a good 'camera' that is convenient to carry around with you daily and produces good quality pics, get the 1020. Don't buy both though with RX100 for special events, as the difference in quality is not great enough to spend the extra money, get an even much better camera like micro four third or dedicated SLR if you need 2 devices.

hox
post Nov 3 2013, 04:48 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(kernel123 @ Nov 3 2013, 02:48 PM)
how much is the difference the Image quality between rx100 and this Lumia 1020? do u own rx100 II?

and is it worth it to own this Lumia 1020 to be used as dedicated camera for travelling? if want to own Lumia and then another micro4/3 or dslr require lots of money sweat.gif
lumia 1020 is definitely more than capable to be used for travelling, just master the manual shutter control before you go and carry along the gorillapod...i'm sure you can take amazing 'cinematic' looking photos with it, which is impossible with other smartphones and even some point and shot with smaller sensor smile.gif
hox
post Nov 5 2013, 07:48 AM

340 posts

a nice comparison between 1020(RM2K) and Nikon D800e(RM10K)

warning: solely for educational purposes only, do not start a war tongue.gif

Nikon D800e vs Lumia 1020
hox
post Nov 8 2013, 03:50 PM

340 posts

For those with naked phone, other than the obvious causes like dropping your phone or scratched by sharp objects like keys, sands and hard surfaces, the one very common way a screen got tiny scratches is when we wipe the screen. However soft the wiping cloth claimed to be, there are small hard particles trapped on the cloth that will grind the screen microscopically when you wipe it frequently.
since 1020 got oleophobic layer on top, it doesn't need much wiping all the time. If you really have to say got stain etc, try wiping very gently by touching the cloth 90% up down slowly, not rubbing circular motion or zigzag across screen. If you are really crazy particular, use cellophane tapes to lift dusts from the screen to keep the screen naked and flawless..use the strap too when holding the phone if you are also not using case.
hox
post Nov 9 2013, 12:00 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Nov 8 2013, 11:37 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif downloading... hope they fix the photo taken to be sharp n crispy as nokia pro cam
donno about sharpness but the yellow tint with xenon flash are noticeably less with the new update.
hox
post Nov 11 2013, 11:26 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(kernel123 @ Nov 9 2013, 04:13 PM)
hmm.between the two,which one would u use and prefer to be shared on social public like FB and instagram? im planning to use rx100 and eye fi wireless sd card so that i effortlessy share my photo on FB or insta.

but im thinking again about the mobility.im type of person that dont like bringing lots of device in my pocket as im a guy...for sure the lumia 1020 will be the only choice.yet,i have to compromise the IQ as rx100 has better IQ than this lumia

and for low spec device like this with only dual core of s4 pro,with the price of rm2.2k ,i think it's expensive.
but it got the most powerful camera .maybe to compensate the low end processor
maybe this will helps your decision - my pal has just helped me to sell my rx100. I have not touch it for almost 2 months after getting 1020. Even before 1020, I very seldom use it cause its cumbersome without wifi. Even with eye fi card, there are still quite a bit of friction in sharing and saving. But I do plan in getting the ridiculously pricy rx1 when it drop below rm8k or α7R as a dedicated good camera for any important events or trips in future. As for now, 1020 setup is perfect for my day to day photography need.

This post has been edited by hox: Nov 11 2013, 12:05 PM
hox
post Nov 14 2013, 06:11 PM

340 posts

Nokia Camera updated with DNG support!

but you need Nokia Black, WT???
hox
post Nov 16 2013, 06:58 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(anwarmatlani @ Nov 16 2013, 06:53 PM)
i thought only Lumia Black can close app. is this normal?
your phone updated to GDR3

meanwhile, a new Nokia Photo Transfer for Mac with support for DNG transfer available now. Aiyo, Nokia Black faster come la....
hox
post Nov 21 2013, 11:48 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Nov 21 2013, 09:19 AM)
Instagram beta has been released
and Waze smile.gif
hox
post Dec 7 2013, 08:59 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(ccq0821 @ Dec 6 2013, 06:10 PM)
Hi, just plan to buy this Lumia 1020 this Saturday, but since Lumia 1520 is released, so that mean Lumia 1020 will drop price soon? if dropped price, Nokia will still free the camera grip?
don't think 1020 will be lower than 1520 anytime soon as it is cheapest at RM2100 now vs RM1800 for 1520. 1520 is kinda a niche product.

anyway, 1020 just bag a nice award rclxms.gif
hox
post Dec 7 2013, 12:40 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(ccq0821 @ Dec 7 2013, 09:19 AM)
ohh, i see. i have do some research, the most common problem is the battery, 2000mAh, what is your opinion about Lumia 1020 battery?
Just about rite for my normal usage, one day comfortably. As I have both 1020 and 1520, the daytime pics are quite the same with 1020 having more details but when compared to night shots it is day and night (no pun intended) because of the smaller 1520 sensor.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0464sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:37 AM