[JOB] Bard / Archer, Discussion thread for Bards and Archers

ZeratoS
post Sep 17 2013, 09:20 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(kimp @ Sep 16 2013, 03:05 PM)
meh most of the times , for song only ballads and battle voice + paeon are useful other than that ur job is to dps till tp reach 0 .
You're a bad player if you don't use bvoice requiem when a MNK or BLM is in your party.
kimp
post Sep 17 2013, 02:27 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Sep 17 2013, 09:20 AM)
You're a bad player if you don't use bvoice requiem when a MNK or BLM is in your party.
2 dragoon and 1 BLM , i will used paeon rather than requiem .
ZeratoS
post Sep 17 2013, 02:48 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(kimp @ Sep 17 2013, 02:27 PM)
2 dragoon and 1 BLM , i will used paeon rather than requiem .
DGNs have Invigorate and unless the fight is drawn out you're wasting your own DPS and your own time.

But sure, you can run Paeon. Let me know how it goes when you do this on Titan HM lol.
Madgeiser
post Sep 17 2013, 04:17 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(poipoy @ Sep 16 2013, 10:13 PM)
I don't know why some people playing arc/brd still say they are lacking in dps..
I'm always the 2nd top enmity or 3rd if there's an off tank.

Don't be fooled by that singing song -20% damage. We hit quick, we have a few offensive skill not on the GCD, not to mention triggering DoT's crit for multiple bloodletter + heavy shot combo.

Bards are dps machine, that's a fact. Especially getting cross class skills from pgl and drg.
Only cons (in my opinion) is the useless healing limit break. we'll have sch or whm in party, if they're dead, it's done. our LB wont save anyone.

There's another point to note, brd will only have high burst of damage every 90s or so. our burst come from blood for blood, internal relase, raging strike, hawk eyes, barrage. brd can provide very consistent overall damage.

Anyway, that's my opinion. I absolutely love this job.
I actually hate having an archer in group, it makes my tanking job tougher. You guys are very fast DPS machine! rclxms.gif
I have to make sure i keep the mob banging on me head, while you guys pewpew the crap outta the mob.

No face rolling tanking with you guys in party.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Madgeiser: Sep 17 2013, 04:20 PM
kimp
post Sep 17 2013, 04:44 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Sep 17 2013, 02:48 PM)
DGNs have Invigorate and unless the fight is drawn out you're wasting your own DPS and your own time.
But sure, you can run Paeon. Let me know how it goes when you do this on Titan HM lol.
i done Titan HM so ?
ZeratoS
post Sep 17 2013, 05:14 PM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

QUOTE(kimp @ Sep 17 2013, 04:44 PM)
i got carried through* Titan HM so ?
fixed.

To other bards, don't listen to his bad advice. DGNs most definitely DO NOT need paeon up in anything before BCoC. If you're running paeon at the beginning of a fight instead of requiem, you're wasting your time and considering that you regen your MP back to full well before anyone needs paeon/ballad, why aren't you using requiem to buff your own FA and WB damage?

Requiem is a ridiculous DPS increase for the whole party if done right in a proper composition. A good bard uses all three songs anyway.

This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Sep 17 2013, 05:16 PM
kimp
post Sep 17 2013, 05:39 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Sep 17 2013, 05:14 PM)
fixed.
To other bards, don't listen to his bad advice. DGNs most definitely DO NOT need paeon up in anything before BCoC. If you're running paeon at the beginning of a fight instead of requiem, you're wasting your time and considering that you regen your MP back to full well before anyone needs paeon/ballad, why aren't you using requiem to buff your own FA and WB damage?

Requiem is a ridiculous DPS increase for the whole party if done right in a proper composition. A good bard uses all three songs anyway.
im giving a bad advice ? lmao whatever dude im a newbie anyway .
Axidrain
post Sep 17 2013, 06:22 PM

114 posts

The only time i use paeon is when there is another bard in party after i cap out :3 and then rotate to ballad if necessary.
TSdescendant
post Sep 18 2013, 08:04 PM

329 posts

hmm not sure if this is out of topic but which field of craft is useful for bard?
Axidrain
post Sep 18 2013, 09:36 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(descendant @ Sep 18 2013, 08:04 PM)
hmm not sure if this is out of topic but which field of craft is useful for bard?
i know u need a carpenter to craft and meld ur relic weapon
TSdescendant
post Sep 18 2013, 09:44 PM

329 posts

QUOTE(Axidrain @ Sep 18 2013, 09:36 PM)
i know u need a carpenter to craft and meld ur relic weapon
ah, ok, tq, I'll try carpentering then laugh.gif
ganstream1
post Sep 19 2013, 05:25 AM

432 posts

After learning more about Bard's skill rotation etc. I don't think I want to play as other jobs anymore. lol

This post has been edited by ganstream1: Sep 19 2013, 05:27 AM
TSdescendant
post Sep 21 2013, 12:16 PM

329 posts

what skill rotation do you guys usually use?
I usually start with venom bite but I read on other forums they would start with straight shot first
wanritsu
post Sep 21 2013, 03:31 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(descendant @ Sep 21 2013, 12:16 PM)
what skill rotation do you guys usually use?
I usually start with venom bite but I read on other forums they would start with straight shot first
i start with straight shot bcos of 10% crit chance for all following attacks. sometimes i start with heavy shot then straighER shot. Idk if this is ok or not laugh.gif

TSdescendant
post Sep 21 2013, 05:37 PM

329 posts

ok i'll try to start with straight shot but venom bite and wind bite seems like a must
but when I play with a lower level tank I need to stick to using just quelling strike and straight shot
coz the other skills like heavy shot and bloodletter seems to increase my enmity
or is it just my imagination unsure.gif
SUSsharpex
post Sep 25 2013, 12:40 PM

148 posts

Totally will play a bard for my 2nd job. Main class are Paladin, and its kinda boring to just sit there kiss the boss. After farming a full set of Dark Light , will switch to Bard! wait for me smile.gif
wanritsu
post Sep 29 2013, 06:00 AM

267 posts

So... Why aren't people using "Rain of death" against boss or mob? is because of tp cost?
Axidrain
post Sep 29 2013, 10:11 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(wanritsu @ Sep 29 2013, 06:00 AM)
So... Why aren't people using "Rain of death" against boss or mob? is because of tp cost?
yep, and very low damage. only use it when ansolutely necessary lol
wanritsu
post Sep 29 2013, 10:51 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(Axidrain @ Sep 29 2013, 10:11 AM)
yep, and very low damage. only use it when ansolutely necessary lol
is it bad if i use it whenever the status effect is down, especially on boss? i find that the debuff quite good.

anyway still good its good for farming lol. wide volley too. laugh.gif
Axidrain
post Sep 29 2013, 10:59 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(wanritsu @ Sep 29 2013, 10:51 AM)
is it bad if i use it whenever the status effect is down, especially on boss? i find that the debuff quite good.

anyway still good its good for farming lol. wide volley too. laugh.gif
yeah as long as u can manage ur tp its alright. since we have invigorate to rely on

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:12 AM