Renovations BEWARE - Purchase of Seers water heater, Unclear definition and feel cheated

TStwlim
post Sep 14 2013, 07:41 PM, updated 13y ago

13 posts

Recently I bought a Seers water heater and their standard installation cost me RM 250 whereby nothing just a paper without any description of their standard installation. However I believe for a company, at least is safe to engage them as they suppose to do the job professionally.

However...

I found out that their definition of installation is just to fix the heater (drilling 4 holes and connecting the piping and plug on), this is so called RM 250. Based on my purchase experience from others, ie. air con, astro, Unifi...etc, usually their installation will say something like standard installation will include 3m of piping or cable...etc. As a result, their installer charge me RM580 extra for piping 2-3 meters.

I bought the heater: RM 1400
Installation RM 250+RM 580 = RM 830 (60% of the heater price) Standard installation with 2-3 meter copper pipe.

As a result, whoever plan to buy seers, do ask properly. Seriously I feel cheated cry.gif
idoblu
post Sep 14 2013, 07:56 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Which model did you purchased? For that price, I assumed its the CH-40L?
Why did you need 2-3m of extra piping? Didn't you install the tank just above your shower area?

Btw you should post this at the renovation sub forum

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 14 2013, 07:59 PM
alvin2912
post Oct 28 2013, 02:58 PM

355 posts

Hi twlim,

No offence, but I think you should be much more careful of this matter in future. MYR 800 odd for installation - that is a sign the installer conned you.

I believe the installation is not part of the official 'package' you are buying from Seers. I know this because i just asked them 2 days ago at the HomeDec fait at KLCC. The sales personnel said it is outsourced as Seers only manufactures the product itself.

TStwlim
post Oct 28 2013, 03:24 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(alvin2912 @ Oct 28 2013, 02:58 PM)
Hi twlim,

No offence, but I think you should be much more careful of this matter in future. MYR 800 odd for installation - that is a sign the installer conned you.

I believe the installation is not part of the official 'package' you are buying from Seers. I know this because i just asked them 2 days ago at the HomeDec fait at KLCC. The sales personnel said it is outsourced as Seers only manufactures the product itself.
Alvin,
As Seer never sell it to you directly and the transaction via a reseller / distributor; however they have their "appointed" certify installer; whereby should any problem during installation you still can claim from them. In the way, you take the risk if you would do it with other installer.

The story always begin when they are on site, the standard installation they quoted you should be something like RM 200-300. My case, I have all the point point and piping ready, of course not perfect. Additional 6ft of copper piping require, and they are charging RM 100/ft. Think about before you purchase it from Seer! At that point of time, you have paid the water heater (RM 1.5K) and standard installation of RM 300... what else can you do? Pay the RM 600 or wait lo! and continue to argue.

One word for this Seer company, Not establish and Not professional, simply don't care! Believe me or not, the big boss is running the sales by himself and he couldn't care about you as only one customer.

You can PM me and I can give you my number and certainly I not feel good from buying this product. Lousy company!
peri peri
post Oct 28 2013, 03:29 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

ur copper pipe for hot water piping must be gold plated type.

BTW, cooper pipe is so outdated. Nowaday we use Buteline for cold and hot water distribution. Premium product. Those live in bungalow should know. And CHEAPER, much much CHEAPER http://www.buteline.com/nz/buteline-plumbi.../buteline-pipe/
TStwlim
post Oct 28 2013, 03:30 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 14 2013, 07:56 PM)
Which model did you purchased? For that price, I assumed its the CH-40L?
Why did you need 2-3m of extra piping? Didn't you install the tank just above your shower area?
Btw you should post this at the renovation sub forum
We have all the piping and electrical point ready but of course not perfect, is not 2-3m was 6ft of piping only (RM 100/ft).

I've just share with Alvin just now, never trust them or paid them until they install the product complete for you. For the benefit of everyone in Low Yat, NEVER NEVER NEVER paid them until they finish the job. or else you will be end up with tones of argument and whereby you have paid them and can't do much!

Lousy company and bad management
TStwlim
post Oct 28 2013, 03:36 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 28 2013, 03:29 PM)

BTW, cooper pipe is so outdated. Nowaday we use Buteline for cold and hot water distribution. Premium product. Those live in bungalow should know. And CHEAPER, much much CHEAPER http://www.buteline.com/nz/buteline-plumbi.../buteline-pipe/
I know and I've my own architect and M&E engineer, but I bought it from a wrong company and worst still the principal "Seer" not even care! toward the end, you already paid ya!

I have deal with as many contractors, somehow Seers still allow their contract behave whatever they like. Anyone posting and check with me, I am very sure sharing my bad experience here if time allow.

peri peri
post Oct 28 2013, 03:39 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(twlim @ Oct 28 2013, 03:36 PM)
I know and I've my own architect and M&E engineer, but I bought it from a wrong company and worst still the principal "Seer" not even care! toward the end, you already paid ya!

I have deal with as many contractors, somehow Seers still allow their contract behave whatever they like. Anyone posting and check with me, I am very sure sharing my bad experience here if time allow.
Next item to look out is "main water filtration". These con men will find ways to lure you on connection piping $$$
TStwlim
post Oct 28 2013, 03:46 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 28 2013, 03:39 PM)
Next item to look out is "main water filtration". These con men will find ways to lure you on connection piping $$$
So far, all contractors are okay for me beside this Seers bad experience. In fact, I only buy from company and not even keen to buy from smaller reseller or individual contractors without company. ....haiz "kena from Seers" ((Ta Ma Der))

Whatever it take, is oledi over for me and whoever want to buy Seers, make sure get them install first and only pay them.

Whether the product help to reduce electricity, I don't know and in fact I simply feel like take it down as much as possible.

peri peri
post Oct 28 2013, 03:49 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(twlim @ Oct 28 2013, 03:46 PM)
So far, all contractors are okay for me beside this Seers bad experience. In fact, I only buy from company and not even keen to buy from smaller reseller or individual contractors without company. ....haiz "kena from Seers" ((Ta Ma Der))

Whatever it take, is oledi over for me and whoever want to buy Seers, make sure get them install first and only pay them.

Whether the product help to reduce electricity, I don't know and in fact I simply feel like take it down as much as possible.
water heater = help reduce electricity? Not sure if you unit is landed, but solar heater always the best solution.
TStwlim
post Oct 28 2013, 03:55 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 28 2013, 03:49 PM)
water heater = help reduce electricity? Not sure if you unit is landed, but solar heater always the best solution.
Consider that before, but worry about the roof leaking problem. Those people will need to mount the solar stuff on your roof and potentially it lead to leaking problem.

Many good and innovative solution out there...buying from a good company is key la! We can pay and must worth it!
kthomes
post Oct 28 2013, 04:38 PM

44 posts

Dear TWlim,

I bought CH-40L from Seer too....RM 1,400 inclusive installation.
So far no problem and not high electricity consumption too...
petlu28
post Oct 28 2013, 09:47 PM

3,936 posts

Peri Kor, are this product can use for hot water piping? Is it available in Malaysia already?

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 28 2013, 03:29 PM)

peri peri
post Oct 29 2013, 08:58 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 28 2013, 09:47 PM)
Peri Kor, are this product can use for hot water piping? Is it available in Malaysia already?
long long time already got in local market. To substitute the cooper pipe when cooper price hit madness ceiling price since 2006.
petlu28
post Oct 29 2013, 09:02 AM

3,936 posts

Is it look like pvc material? I just heard market have cooper, S/S & pvc material.

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 29 2013, 08:58 AM)
long long time already got  in local market. To substitute the cooper pipe when cooper price hit madness ceiling price since 2006.
peri peri
post Oct 29 2013, 04:59 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 29 2013, 09:02 AM)
Is it look like pvc material? I just heard market have cooper, S/S & pvc material.
yeah, kind of bituminous substance which is slow in remitting heat.
petlu28
post Oct 29 2013, 05:01 PM

3,936 posts

but mostly owner will choose cooper or S/S.

QUOTE(peri peri @ Oct 29 2013, 04:59 PM)
yeah, kind of bituminous substance which is slow in remitting heat.
peri peri
post Oct 29 2013, 05:03 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Oct 29 2013, 05:01 PM)
but mostly owner will choose cooper or S/S.
hygiene wise, bituminous product still the best
westlife
post Jun 24 2014, 07:05 AM

14,313 posts

QUOTE(kthomes @ Oct 28 2013, 04:38 PM)
Dear TWlim,

I bought CH-40L from Seer too....RM 1,400 inclusive installation.
So far no problem and not high electricity consumption too...
Why so expensive. I bought ch-60l at only rm920. Even with installation ijust add rm200.
stanley984
post Nov 1 2014, 07:37 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 24 2014, 07:05 AM)
Why so expensive. I bought ch-60l at only rm920. Even with installation ijust add rm200.

Where do you get such a price?

0.0197sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:14 AM