Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

ahodil
post Sep 18 2013, 07:54 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

My 1 y.o Hp died because of unknown reason shocking.gif
I suspect the motherboard gone wrong cuz when I tried to turn it on, all it did was lighting up the power button, no fans are turned on, no display and totally silent, really nothing except the power button lights up, not even the keyboard lights up sweat.gif

So, i need a new laptop mainly for designs/drawing.

Brands :- doesnt matter, but prefer to be hp, asus or lenovo
Price :- below 2k
Ram :- 2gb and above, prefer 4gb tongue.gif
Durability :- tahan lasak cuz sometimes i forgot to turn it off sweat.gif
Processor, prefer i5

Thanks in advance smile.gif
ahodil
post Sep 18 2013, 10:07 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 18 2013, 09:59 PM)
Sorry to hear of your loss man... if its really mobo problem, replacing one will at least cost Rm1k!  sweat.gif

A notebook for designing/drawing will benefit from a decent CPU and lots of RAM:
14"
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1056X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years warranty; colors: black/red/white
Satellite M840-1070XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; colors:red/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*Can also look for other models with i5-32XXM as well
**Please do take note that I am recommending notebooks with "older" specs. Even so, this models have "Mobile" processors which provide more CPU juice than the newer ULV processors  laugh.gif At least until the "Mobile" Haswell processor-powered notebooks become more common. If you want, you can wait laugh.gif
*Upgrade RAM to 8GB (at least 4GB; higher better)
Lenovo hmm hmm.gif

i'm avoiding expensive laptop cuz im going to get a macbook pro soon once i finish spm :sweat

arc x how about this, since you recommended me asus tongue.gif
ahodil
post Sep 18 2013, 10:27 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 18 2013, 09:59 PM)
Sorry to hear of your loss man... if its really mobo problem, replacing one will at least cost Rm1k!  sweat.gif

A notebook for designing/drawing will benefit from a decent CPU and lots of RAM:
14"
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1056X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years warranty; colors: black/red/white
Satellite M840-1070XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; colors:red/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*Can also look for other models with i5-32XXM as well
**Please do take note that I am recommending notebooks with "older" specs. Even so, this models have "Mobile" processors which provide more CPU juice than the newer ULV processors  laugh.gif At least until the "Mobile" Haswell processor-powered notebooks become more common. If you want, you can wait laugh.gif
*Upgrade RAM to 8GB (at least 4GB; higher better)
how about this 3 ? hmm.gif

Lenovo g400s, lenovo g500s, lenovo s410p hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ahodil: Sep 18 2013, 10:27 PM
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 04:13 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 18 2013, 10:36 PM)
G400s already recommended? haha
G500S can be consider as well nod.gif But do take note that its FreeDOS ya:
15.6"
Lenovo
G500S, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
The S410p variants are powered by ULV processors, which are no match for the Mobile processors recommended in terms of performance  icon_rolleyes.gif
What does freedos actually mean sweat.gif sorry noobie here >.>
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 05:08 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 04:22 PM)
FreeDOS, in layman's term, means no Microsoft Windows. You will have to install yourself. Not recommended if you are not familiar with it  nod.gif
ahh i see,

now my choices has just becoming more >.> thanks to my parents btw hahaha

Lenovo IdeaPad U410
Asus A55VD
Asus 550CC

hmm.gif
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 05:16 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 05:11 PM)
U410 has weak WiFi problems, and its a really old unit. Same goes to the A55VD laugh.gif Avoid!

So pretty much the Asus 550CC  laugh.gif
well my budgets are now somewhere near 2.1k,

whats the really best laptop for me right now xD ?

and is 2gb graphic card is a necessary ?
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 05:25 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 05:21 PM)
Already remmended to you what? laugh.gif
My recommendations still stand.
Since you are not into gaming, the graphic card doesn't matter much laugh.gif
Having a Mobile GPU i.e. i5 for your budget, and lots of RAM, on the other hand, will help  hmm.gif
whats the different between i5 U and i5 M hmm.gif
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 05:31 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 05:29 PM)
i5 M (Mobile) is more powerful than i5 U (Ultra Low Voltage) processors.
Benchmarks here: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html

Will come in handy for photo editing  laugh.gif
so Asus 550CC wins here ? or the Lenovo g400s ?
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 06:37 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 05:29 PM)
i5 M (Mobile) is more powerful than i5 U (Ultra Low Voltage) processors.
Benchmarks here: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html

Will come in handy for photo editing  laugh.gif
how about lenovo z500 hmm.gif ??
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 11:30 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 09:21 PM)
Yeah, that one definitely can consider now that your budget is higher  nod.gif
Try to look for the non-touch version since its cheaper ya  icon_rolleyes.gif
but im confused with the graphic, some says its intel and some says its nvidia sweat.gif
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 11:41 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 11:35 PM)
+1, it has Nvidia Optimus to switch in between the iGPU and dGPU depending on need (performance or battery saving)  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the input  notworthy.gif
http://www.ipmart.com.my/main/product/Leno...php?prod=378814

is this the one ?
ahodil
post Sep 19 2013, 11:59 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 19 2013, 11:58 PM)
Yup~ That one is without touchscreen  nod.gif
but when i look at lenovo official website it says that its using intel graphic 4000 sweat.gif
ahodil
post Sep 20 2013, 12:07 AM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 20 2013, 12:02 AM)
Aiyo, trust us la bro  sweat.gif When you buy, just make sure  you check the specs properly (though you won't get it wrong also apart from the Touchscreen/non-touchscreen, since the specs are fixed already lol
You are not the 1st one we recommended this notebook lol, and definitely not the last  laugh.gif
it isnt that i didnt trust, just the way the write the specs make me confuse doh.gif

btw now its only lenovo z500 vs asus a550cc
ahodil
post Sep 20 2013, 12:20 AM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 20 2013, 12:16 AM)
Manufacturer websites are known to be slow in updates, and inaccurate, apart from those which sells online laugh.gif

Definitely the Z500 since it runs on a Mobile processor nod.gif
You might want to upgrade the RAM right away at the shop/COD since its not easy to upgrade yourself.
Can contact devour, he is very experienced with upgrading already iinm haha
they are pretty much the same except

Lenovo has intel i5-3230M , ASUS has intel i5-3337U
Lenovo has Nvidia GeForce GT740M 2gb, ASUS has Nvidia GeForce GT720M

ahodil
post Sep 20 2013, 09:35 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

just bought my lenovo z500 today at lowyat (thundermatch) for rm2199 smile.gif

got free bag and 3yrs mcafee antivirus as i dont want the freebies cuz im running out of budget tongue.gif
ahodil
post Sep 20 2013, 11:41 PM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 20 2013, 09:57 PM)
Tawau? Lovely place, good seafood  laugh.gif
Grats on your purchase man thumbup.gif
Windows 8 comes with Windows Defender (Microsoft Security Live Essentials), which is pretty good already haha, can just stick to that one when your 3 years of Mcafee runs out  icon_rolleyes.gif
But somehow i feel the laptop a bit laggish especially when starting up hmm.gif
ahodil
post Sep 21 2013, 08:25 AM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 20 2013, 11:43 PM)
uninstall the Mcafee AV
But it comes with 3 years of mcafee man sweat.gif
ahodil
post Sep 21 2013, 08:28 AM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 20 2013, 11:48 PM)
Yeah, it will be a bit faster if you disable bloatwares that run during startup nod.gif
And the "sluggishness" is because its running on a standard 5400rpm HDD, which is the slowest  hmm.gif
Do you know how to disable the bloatwares ? Cuz i only know how to disable bloatwares on Android hahaha.

So, is there any chance i can make my laptop runs faster ?

Is 5400rpm HDD is bad for designing ? And is there any chance i could upgrade/ make it faster ?
ahodil
post Sep 21 2013, 09:37 AM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 21 2013, 09:05 AM)
if you have softwares like CCcleaner (for simpleness) you can disable it.

if you are willing to spend a little more penny, you can choose a SSD. icon_rolleyes.gif
the performance of a SSD is you will never forget its fastness.
z500 can upgrade to SSD ? hmm.gif
ahodil
post Sep 21 2013, 10:14 AM

Forgive and Forget
1,939 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 21 2013, 09:54 AM)
sure, why not?
just FYI, if you want to hard drive bays, you need to buy a caddy drive for the Z500 but will sacrifice your DVD-RW drive though.
so, the current 5400rpm HDD is bad for designing la doh.gif ?

0.0198sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:57 AM