QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 19 2013, 11:41 PM)
Yup~ That one is without touchscreen Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Sep 19 2013, 11:58 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 19 2013, 11:41 PM) Yup~ That one is without touchscreen |
Sep 20 2013, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 19 2013, 11:59 PM) Aiyo, trust us la bro You are not the 1st one we recommended this notebook lol, and definitely not the last |
Sep 20 2013, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 20 2013, 12:07 AM) it isnt that i didnt trust, just the way the write the specs make me confuse Manufacturer websites are known to be slow in updates, and inaccurate, apart from those which sells online btw now its only lenovo z500 vs asus a550cc Definitely the Z500 since it runs on a Mobile processor You might want to upgrade the RAM right away at the shop/COD since its not easy to upgrade yourself. Can contact devour, he is very experienced with upgrading already iinm haha |
Sep 20 2013, 12:36 AM
Sep 20 2013, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(yuyon123 @ Sep 20 2013, 11:20 AM) hi guys FHD on 15" screens are often more comfortable for editing im looking for a laptop that can handle video editting and also photoshop Im a wedding photographer so i need a portable work station no prefer brand, as long as performance well. prefer 13-15inch, wif FHD resolution. budget 3.5k-4k thx guys. Photo and video editing would benefit from greatly from a powerful CPU and lots of RAM (and of course a good screen) Can try these: 15.6" Asus N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8 Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs MSI GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB GP60-2OD, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB Since you are not into gaming, I would recommend going for the MSI GP60-2OD or Lenovo Y510p. Use your remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years; upgrade RAM to 8/16GB; and most importantly, swap the HDD to an SSD. THe SSD will bring about an extremely huge performance gain in load times, will save you a lot of precious time This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 20 2013, 11:40 AM |
Sep 20 2013, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(yuyon123 @ Sep 20 2013, 11:47 AM) thx alot. Ahh, no worries, even the Nvidia GT740M is quite capable of mid settings in most current games yo actually i would prefer have some light gaming also haha long time no gaming since i sold my m11x and got a mba. btw, still thx for the suggestion And its the weakest one among the lot recommended to you QUOTE(Kendall @ Sep 20 2013, 12:15 PM) Is it worth extra rm400 to get haswell processor? Same spec and everything except 4th vs 3rd gen i5. Definitely not haha For more details, please read my siggy, the one on Haswell |
Sep 20 2013, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 20 2013, 11:31 AM) 1. Preferred Brand : Dell How about this one?2. Budget : Within RM1,500 - RM1,600 3. Usage : Watch Movie, College Work, Bringing out around 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13.3 or 14 would do. Using for downloading and preparing classes for school so I need something with at least an I3 and some power. The one I could find most suitable is Vostro 5460 I3 - RM1549. But its about it's EOL. 14" Dell Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell *use remaining budget for warranty extension to 3 years *you don't need a Mobile i3/i5 for your usage |
Sep 20 2013, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(Kendall @ Sep 20 2013, 12:47 PM) It's actually i5-3230m vs i5-4200u. 3rd gen is a powerhouse if compared to 4th gen but what about the energy consumption difference? Will there be a huge gap between the battery life? Both using same 6 cells battery. You are right about performance, i5-3230M is better. But of course with better performance = shorter battery lives haha, especially when on load. 35W vs 15W I can't really comment on this since I have not done direct comparisons of the same notebook with different CPUs only lol But my guess is for normal usage, I don't think you will be able to squeeze out that much battery life in between the two CPUs (perhaps 30 minutes to 1 hour? Just a guess though, need reviews to confirm). Or maybe lee_what2004 god sifu can help? |
Sep 20 2013, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(rxy @ Sep 20 2013, 02:46 PM) No idea on the specifics Sorry about that, please refer here for more details: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2939095/+0entry62792241 |
Sep 20 2013, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 20 2013, 04:09 PM) save battery or not.... i think it depends on the laptop we choose have discrete graphics card or not, i believe all discrete graphics meant for performance and keep suck all the battery juices... if discrete graphics sucks all the juice... even processor 1W also die fast.... Most Nvidia-powered machines do have Nvidia Optimus i hope in the future have some ULV discrete graphics... or integrated graphics keep evolve till on par with discrete graphics... And the current iGPUs in Haswell are pretty powerful already, who would've thought they could even reached such a performance level? |
Sep 20 2013, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(waqi953 @ Sep 20 2013, 04:38 PM) Assuming you are looking for a proper notebook:15.6" Acer R7-571-53338G1T, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000+ (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM2999[2.4kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8 Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8 Lenovo Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs MSI GE60K, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2899, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, 2 years warranty GP60-2OD, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB |
Sep 20 2013, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(waqi953 @ Sep 20 2013, 04:56 PM) Ok..It's out of my budget..Can you recommend which is better..? Please follow the format on the 1st page Asus S551LB-CJ077H or S550CB-CJ102H.. The difference is only one with 4th gen intel,750gb and another one with 3rd gen intel,500gb.. It is worth to buy to buy the 4th gen intel one..? Thanks.. Hard to recommend you without knowing what you are looking for |
Sep 20 2013, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(waqi953 @ Sep 20 2013, 05:04 PM) 1. Preferred Brand : ASUS (prefer S551LB-CJ077H or S550CB-CJ102H) If only between these two Asus. Then go for the S551LB, it has a newer, Haswell processor, which is more powerful than the Ivy Bridge i5 in the S550CB, although not by much, it will still be useful for your engineering softwares.2. Budget : 2k - 2.7k 3. Usage : Light Gaming,College assignment,engineering software.. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14'' or 15.6''.. Other Spec-wise, both are pretty similar |
Sep 20 2013, 06:46 PM
Sep 20 2013, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(russell612 @ Sep 20 2013, 07:20 PM) no problem dude. I wish to help the ones that need help in buying because in Tawau a lot of people are conned because have no idea on laptop stuff. Tawau? Lovely place, good seafood QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 20 2013, 09:35 PM) just bought my lenovo z500 today at lowyat (thundermatch) for rm2199 Grats on your purchase man got free bag and 3yrs mcafee antivirus as i dont want the freebies cuz im running out of budget Windows 8 comes with Windows Defender (Microsoft Security Live Essentials), which is pretty good already haha, can just stick to that one when your 3 years of Mcafee runs out |
Sep 20 2013, 11:13 PM
Sep 20 2013, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(jejakamisteri @ Sep 20 2013, 11:26 PM) Hi, need recommendations on new laptop. Can consider these:1. Preferred Brand : Anything but Dell 2. Budget : RM1000 - 1500 3. Usage : Movie, Photoshop, light gaming, downloads. 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15" Thanks dude! 15.6" Lenovo G500S, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS G500S, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS FreeDOS though |
Sep 20 2013, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(jejakamisteri @ Sep 20 2013, 11:43 PM) hmmm....sounds good enough for me, but i'm wondering what's the best deal i can get with original OS? which catalogue would you refer me to? Pretty much this one, but its a Dell thanks again. 15.6" Dell Inspiron 15, i3-3227U + AMD HD7670M@RM1499, 4GB, 500GB, Linux; W8SL@RM1599 |
Sep 20 2013, 11:48 PM
Sep 22 2013, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(phantom_zero @ Sep 22 2013, 09:25 AM) Hi, seems like i could get some advice here for buying a laptop, 1. Preferred Brand - Any 2. Budget - 2000 - 3000 3. Usage - online surfing, movie, processing docs, music 4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14'' fhd, LIGHT weight, window 8 or 7, not much problematic please help as my sister want to buy it today QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 22 2013, 10:41 AM) 14" doesnt have full HD resolution except the mighty alienware 14. +1, can consider this one as well if you don't want a 15 incher:anyway, you can look at these : Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD Lenovo Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs prices are RRP and negotiable. use the remaining money to upgrade to SSD and/or extend/upgrade the warranty to 3 years on-site. 13" Samsung Series 7 Ultra, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999[JBL][1.46kg], 4GB, W8 |
| Change to: | 1.1003sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:27 PM |