17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 16 2013, 10:14 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tanflash1314 @ Sep 16 2013, 10:13 PM)
No I think? Can provide me the link again. Thanks ya..  tongue.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 14 2013, 11:58 PM)
Can take a look here a well:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Computer-Game...ds.13849.0.html
Although many games were not benchmarked yet for the new AMD8670m, for those that were benchmarked, the performance is better  nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2013, 05:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sky_jap @ Sep 17 2013, 12:55 PM)
Hi, I'm considering Lenovo Z400T i5-3230m 4GB ram. However i found that the touchpad is not that sensitive. Have another has the problem?
This is pretty normal in budget line notebooks unfortunately sad.gif
Still, its easily overcomed by using a mouse lol, as suggested by raymondtong94 nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2013, 05:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tcken @ Sep 17 2013, 01:35 PM)
Hi guys, looking a laptop for my bro.

1. Any brand besides Acer, Asus and Lenova.
2. 1k to 1.5k more and less.
3. His daily microsoft assignment only.
4. 14' cause he needs to bring it to school always.

Hope it comes with FREEDOS due to window 8 is really hard to use.
14"
Acer
E1-472G-54204G50, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Asus
X45C-VX047, i3-2370M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year warranty
X45A-VX078, Celeron 1000M + Intel HD@RM1199, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year warranty
X44H-VX231, B820 + Intel HD3000@RM1099[2.44kg], 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; 1 year warranty

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G400s, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1449, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
G400s, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1299, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1499

But do make sure that there are supported drivers for W7 ya laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2013, 05:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jhulencherag @ Sep 17 2013, 03:45 PM)
Hi guys,

Just need some advice,am considering the Lenovo Flex 14 however just got some doubts:

1. Is it officially available in Malaysia or are the sellers in the Lowyat Forum importing units from overseas?

2. If they are imported units is the Warranty still honoured in Malaysia?

2. I can't seem to find an answer to this even after checking d Lenovo USA website,but does this model have VGA and Backlit Keyboard?

On the Lenovo USA website it states it has VGA but from the pics it only had 1 x HDMI.

And this model is not shown on d Lenovo Malaysia website.

Appreciate ur opinions?

Thanks guys.

Cheers.
1. Got the specs and price from ytlay, a reputable source. Not sure whether stocks are already available in stores or not. You will have to go and find them nod.gif

2. Nope, imported units are not covered by Malaysian warranty, so please be extra careful, especially those that are so cheap that it sounds too good to be true nod.gif

3. Yeah, can't seem to locate the VGA port even though its stated under specifications. Again, need to see the real unit or wait for reviews to comment. Backlit is optional, and I don't think our Malaysian variants have it
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2013, 05:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 16 2013, 10:16 PM)
any comment with Lenovo s410P?what the price for freedos version?
What the pros and cons for this notebook?
What the different with S410P win8 version?
Specs are as follows:

14"
Lenovo

S410p, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768, touch)@RM2399[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8, 2 yrs

Like what raymond sifu has mentioned, need to see the real thing before any comments can be made.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2013, 08:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 17 2013, 06:29 PM)
Any SIfu can recommend to me a good Laptop around Rm3K not for gaming but for Buz..............and reliable cos setting up computer is so difficult to me, a laymen in computer.

Where to buy to get best service and fair price and what specifications would be a welcome and may I thank Sifu in advance here. long usage time pls.
Business is it? hmm.gif
Can consider this:
13"
Dell XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3199[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit

*Price in RRP, negotiable

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 17 2013, 08:40 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 17 2013, 09:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 17 2013, 08:07 PM)
1. GT 720M much better than HD4400M or just little.
2. Free DOS version got 2 year warranty?
3. What the screen resolution for both?
1. Nvidia GT720M is better. Still, expect low gaming performance only nod.gif

2. 1 year only

3. All are 1366x768
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 10:49 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 18 2013, 10:00 AM)
great battery life, good built quality for a 11" = MacBook Air 11" (RM2999)  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Buyer's budget is RM1200 man, please recommend appropriately shakehead.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 10:50 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 17 2013, 10:53 PM)
i dont see have any vga port for this model  laugh.gif , it already available since last week ..original Lenovo Malaysia unit
Thanks for the input, looks like there's a mistake in Lenovo's website tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 05:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cloud97 @ Sep 18 2013, 04:24 PM)
1. Any reliable brand
2. below 1500
3. office use & watch movie, light prefer
4. 11.6" only

Need recommendation. Thank you:)
Can consider these yo:
11.6"
Acer Aspire V5-122P, A6-1450 + AMD HD8450G + (1366x768;touch)@RM1499, 6GB, 500GB

Asus VivoBook S200E, B847 + Intel UMA + (1366x768; touch)@RM1399[1.38kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year

HP Pavilion TouchSmart 11-E019AU, AMD A6-1450 + AMD HD8250M + (1366x768; touch)@RM1499[1.53kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8; color: silver

Lenovo Ideapad S210T, i3-3217U + Intel HD +(1366x768, touch)@RM1699[1.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8

*Prices in RRP, negotiable icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 05:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Areman @ Sep 18 2013, 05:10 PM)
Can anyone list me 2k 15" laptop with GT650M
GT650M is relatively "old" tech. Don't think there is one in the current market hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 05:41 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(rakesh258 @ Sep 18 2013, 05:18 PM)

I would like your recommendation on an ultrabook.

1. Preferred Brand: Not HP
2. Budget: 2500-3500
3. Usage: Software development (More RAM/CPU is must). Light gaming.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13"-15"

I travel around a lot and don't prefer a heavy laptop to carry around. Weight around 1.5Kg will be ok.

Thanks,
Rakesh.
1.5kg might be pushing it laugh.gif
If ignoring the weight prerequisite:
13"
Sony Vaio SVS13135CV, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M LE@RM3199[1.72kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8; colors: white/black; Vaio carrying case

14"
MSI GE40-2OC, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GTX760M + (1600x900; anti-glare)@RM3499[1.8kg], 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

Sony
SVF14A15SGB, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT735M + (1600x900; touch)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; colors: black/silver
SVF14A16SGS, i7-3537U + Nvidia GT735M + (1600x900; touch)@RM3999, 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; colors: black/silver

Toshiba
Satellite U940-1001X, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA + 640GB HDD)@RM2349[1.7kg], 4GB, W8SL, backlit keyboard, 3 years local warranty (1st year on-site); color: Light blue

Satellite P840t-1007X, i7-3517U + Nvidia GT630M + (1366x768;touch)@RM3999[harman/kardon], 4GB, 750GB, W8; backlit keyboard; 3 years local warranty

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*I would recommend the MSI GE40, it really packs quite a punch for the price. Full-fledged CPU and GPU in a slim profile nod.gif You can upgrade the RAM to 8GB, and also upgrade the HDD to SSD later on for much reduced weight icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 06:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 18 2013, 06:06 PM)
Any body know..Pls.
No spoonfeeding laugh.gif
Please Google it up man, we have already provided you with recommendations, with detailed specs summore, the rest you can easily find in websites nod.gif

QUOTE(Areman @ Sep 18 2013, 06:08 PM)
Damn,which one do you prefer, GT720M or GT740M?
Definitely GT740M yo lol, much more powerful nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 06:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DemasOng @ Sep 18 2013, 05:55 PM)

Could you guys give me a recommendation for a laptop cause my old one just died out...haha..

1.Preferred Brand : None
2.Budget : 2k - 3k (as cheap as possible)
3.light gaming , alot of tabs , and alooot of video watching
4.Preferred Screen : around 13" - 15"

weight wise..i don't really mind.

Thanks,
Demas.
Assuming you would want a 15 incher for better viewing pleasure, and since you don't mind the weight laugh.gif
15"
Acer R7-571-53338G1T, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000+ (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM2999[2.4kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

Asus S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-4200U + AMD HD8670M@RM1699, Ubuntu, 6GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty
Z500T, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2499[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty
Z510T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs

Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

* Prices in RRP, negotiable
* Assuming your light gaming is really "light"
* You don't really need an expensive notebook for your usage. So just go for the more affordable ones.

The Acer R7 has the best screen among the lot.
Go for the Asus if you don't want to spend any effort doing some aftermarket upgrages, but do keep in mind Asus Malaysia's warranty support is pretty bad

For the Dell, Lenovo, use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years on-site.
For Dell/Lenovo/Toshiba, use remaining budget to swap the HDD with an SSD, and you'll have an insanely fast machine brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 06:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DemasOng @ Sep 18 2013, 06:33 PM)
ahh...i'm a noob at techs...so i can't really do those "swap the HDD with an SSD"stuffs =X....but i'm running on low budget as well...and my "light" gamings are...ahem...maybe..abit of dota 2 once in awhile lol...think it's gonna be fine?
Well, its up to you man haha, you could ask sellers to do those swapping for you if you want (usually for a price la laugh.gif)...
If you don't want any of those, get the Asus, it already comes with an mSATA SSD, that will give you a faster and smoother computing experience icon_rolleyes.gif

And yes, it can support Dota2. Dota 2 is fortunately not really demanding hehe
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 07:14 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DemasOng @ Sep 18 2013, 07:00 PM)
ALRIGHT! so it's either asus or acer eh...thanks a bunch bro, i mean it.. biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
But I have to warn you again ya, Asus Malaysia's warranty support is really bad. If you buy one, make sure you check and make sure 100% its without faults! tongue.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 07:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DemasOng @ Sep 18 2013, 07:17 PM)
haha, alright bro! thanks...but i think i'll most prob go with acer R7...looks sho sexy with the twist and turns =3= wub.gif
Yeah, and that IPS screen! wub.gif wub.gif
Try to bargain ya, get a huge slash off the price, and spend the money saved on upgrading to 3 years warranty icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 09:44 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(DemasOng @ Sep 18 2013, 07:27 PM)
it's worth the cash right? and how much do u think i'll be able to drag down to ..i'm pretty bad at those stuffs too lol...
Yeah, I would say its worth it for movies, especially high quality ones haha XD
Not sure wo, perhaps around RM100 or more?
Iirc, warranty extension to 3 years should be ~RM150 only hmm.gif

Acer Aspire R7 by PF T.J., on Flickr
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 09:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(rakesh258 @ Sep 18 2013, 07:49 PM)
Thanks for your suggestion.

I think MSI is more towards gaming. Any other alternative in the range 2500-4000 and weight under 2kg.
Not exactly very powerful CPUs (you can't have the best of everything laugh.gif), but maybe can consider these:
14"
Asus
BU400VC-C3086G, i5-3337U + Nvidia NVS5200 Optimus + 128GB SSD + 500GB HDD@RM3599[1.64kg], 4GB, W8P

Dell
XPS 14, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA+ 500GB(5400rpm) HDD + (1600x900)@RM3849[2.1kg], 4GB, backlit, spill resistant keyboard, W8

HP
Envy (Spectre) 14-3111TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1600x900 Radiance) + 128GB SSD@RM3999[1.8kg], 4GB

Samsung
NP700Z3C, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM3599[2.07kg], 6GB, 1TB, W7HP

Sony
SVF14A15SGB, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT735M + (1600x900; touch)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; colors: black/silver
SVF14A16SGS, i7-3537U + Nvidia GT735M + (1600x900; touch)@RM3999, 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; colors: black/silver

Toshiba
Satellite P840t-1007X, i7-3517U + Nvidia GT630M + (1366x768;touch)@RM3999[harman/kardon], 4GB, 750GB, W8; backlit keyboard; 3 years local warranty
Satellite P840t-1010X, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (1366x768;touch)@RM3499[harman/kardon], 4GB, 750GB, W8; backlit keyboard; 3 years local warranty

*certain models don't have info on the weights and might be >2kg

My vote still goes to the MSI GE40, its the best in terms of price/performance/portability laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 18 2013, 09:51 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 18 2013, 09:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ahodil @ Sep 18 2013, 07:54 PM)
My 1 y.o Hp died because of unknown reason shocking.gif
I suspect the motherboard gone wrong cuz when I tried to turn it on, all it did was lighting up the power button, no fans are turned on, no display and totally silent, really nothing except the power button lights up, not even the keyboard lights up sweat.gif

So, i need a new laptop mainly for designs/drawing.

Brands :- doesnt matter, but prefer to be hp, asus or lenovo
Price :- below 2k
Ram :- 2gb and above, prefer 4gb tongue.gif
Durability :- tahan lasak cuz sometimes i forgot to turn it off sweat.gif
Processor, prefer i5
Thanks in advance smile.gif
Sorry to hear of your loss man... if its really mobo problem, replacing one will at least cost Rm1k! sweat.gif

A notebook for designing/drawing will benefit from a decent CPU and lots of RAM:
14"
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB, W8

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1056X/XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years warranty; colors: black/red/white
Satellite M840-1070XR/XW, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; 2 years local warranty; colors:red/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*Can also look for other models with i5-32XXM as well
**Please do take note that I am recommending notebooks with "older" specs. Even so, this models have "Mobile" processors which provide more CPU juice than the newer ULV processors laugh.gif At least until the "Mobile" Haswell processor-powered notebooks become more common. If you want, you can wait laugh.gif
*Upgrade RAM to 8GB (at least 4GB; higher better)

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:45 PM