17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 16 2013, 12:02 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xxxsummer @ Oct 15 2013, 10:52 PM)
Yes, extremely bad experience. Maybe that's why their customer service is so amazing(because of their not so great product).  sweat.gif
Every brand has different lineups of notebooks yo. Don't expect budget line ones to be very reliable la laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 16 2013, 01:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lazylilsnoop @ Oct 16 2013, 11:51 AM)
Can i know the difference of Asus X450CC and Asus X450CA

I'm looking for a touchscreen with graphic card (S400CA is out)
ASUS only.
15.6"
Asus
N550LF-CK064H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM3099[2.6kg], 4GB, 750GB
S551LB-CJ075H, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB + (1366x768;touch)@RM3399[2.4kg], 8GB, W8, 3-cell
S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8
S550CB-CJ103H i7-3537U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB + (1366x768; touch)@RM3199[2.6kg], 4GB, W8, 4-cell
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 16 2013, 03:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lazylilsnoop @ Oct 16 2013, 03:02 PM)
oops, forgot to mention I want 14", touchscreen(preferably), graphic card, asus, light weight.

i was looking between Asus X450CC and Asus X450CA
maybe both this laptop is too new, im not sure actually.
I don't have the specs for the X450 that you mentioned hmm.gif
I think only the S400 comes with touchscreen for that price range. Its a pretty good choice I would say since it comes with mSATA SSD as stock icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 16 2013, 05:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Long88 @ Oct 16 2013, 05:07 PM)
sifu, please advice me, currently i'm choosing between this two laptop.

1. Brand = Asus S551 i7 haswell, Lenovo Y410p i7 haswell
2. Budget = both is within my range budget
3. Usage = heavy multitasking. not really heavy gaming

hopefully you can advice me which one is the better choice.

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Mind defining your meaning of "heavy multitasking" laugh.gif
Because a lot of people seem to mistakenly think that opening 20-30 internet tabs at once = multitasking tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 17 2013, 10:28 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Oct 17 2013, 09:37 AM)
When do you think the new XPS15 is gonna come in =D
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 17 2013, 09:42 AM)
chat with one of those agents. laugh.gif
troll them kao kao.

IMO, should be next month or late December.
Looking forward to it wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 17 2013, 09:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Oct 17 2013, 09:06 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any except Acer ( I preffered latest model, on sale around 2 months )
2. Budget : Below RM 1200
3. Usage : Alot of PDF reading (so i prefer very high resolution screen)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 8-10 inch
I'm sure this one will fit nicely:
10.1"
Dell Inspiron 11, Celeron 2955U + Intel HD + (1366x768;touch)@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 17 2013, 09:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hwa107 @ Oct 17 2013, 06:03 PM)
Seems like my request being ignored sad.gif May someone kindly give me some suggestion please?

Preferred Brand
Any, but prefer reputable brands.

Budget
RM2000 - RM2500

Usage
Mostly programming, might compile heavy code.

Preferred laptop/screen size
I'll bring it around, so prefer not larger than 13", smaller the better.

Thanks for the help!  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(hwa107 @ Oct 17 2013, 09:54 PM)
Hi Raymond,

No no please don't get me wrong, I wasn't complaining, I already happy enough that you guys giving advises to help up the community.

The reason I said I being ignored is because I'm going to double post my request, so I don't want to be appear as I'm asking you guys to reply me.

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll look through them 1 by 1 tonight. Btw, I did a bit of research and see the Inspiron 14 7000 Series, what do you think?

Thank you very much.
Although the Inspiron 14 7000 is not exactly smaller than 13"; if you can afford it, then go for it. Its sort of a Windows "MacBook" (quoted from a fellow forumer haha laugh.gif), which is a good description of what it is. A premium notebook with specs that make sense. And of course, suitable for your usage icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 18 2013, 11:49 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(andyting @ Oct 18 2013, 11:29 AM)
1. Any brand
2. Less than 1.5k
3. Academic usage, main word processing, surfing
4. Looking for a windows 8/8.1 hybrid

Hi guys, looking for a hybrid for mostly academic usage in university. The newly announced Asus T100 is something that I am looking for and can I know are there any similar alternatives in the market now? Thanks
Most of the hybrids are either more expensive OR doesn't come with W8
Closest would be this one:
11.6"
Acer
P3-131-21292G06, Pentium 2129Y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS;touch)@RM1799, 2GB, W8
P3-171-3322Y2G06, i3-3322y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS ; touch)@RM1999, 2GB, W8
P3-171-5333Y2G06, i5-3339Y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS; touch)@RM2299, 2GB, W8

*Prices in RRP
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 20 2013, 05:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(walamak1988 @ Oct 20 2013, 01:10 PM)
Hi all,I am looking for a laptop with this criteria

1. Preferred brand: Any (preferably ASUS,Samsung and Toshiba)
2. Budget: RM3000 - RM 3700
3. Usage: Programming, Browsing(numerous number of tabs),Gaming (Dota 2, PES 2014 for now; hopefully can cater for upcoming PES and COD), entertainment
4. Preferred screen size: 14" and 15.6"

I wont be travelling alot with this laptop but still if possible, light and not bulky

Thanks in advance guys.
Samsung and Toshiba notebooks are not really geared for gaming at that price range unfortunately sad.gif
For Asus, can consider this one:
15.6"
Asus N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Other alternatives:
Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699
Inspiron 15 7000, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) + (1920x1080; Touch)@RM3599[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*Extend warranty to 3 years (if applicable) icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 20 2013, 07:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(walamak1988 @ Oct 20 2013, 07:02 PM)
if samsung and toshiba the price range aroudn how much bro?

btw,those laptop are without SSD  sad.gif  ..any chances that it has extra slot to slot in ssd?
Samsung and Toshiba don't really introduce gaming notebooks anymore; or at least they're not coming here sad.gif

Well you could always put in your own SSD? hmm.gif
These 2 are good picks, leaving you enough budget for a proper SSD:
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

For Dell, if you need any help with upgrades, putochip123 is the guy to find brows.gif Helpful and professional~

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 20 2013, 09:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Oct 20 2013, 08:35 PM)
hey guys, need some help again here. thanks for recommending the y580 and z480 which I bought for myself and my cousin. really satisfied with you sifus' suggestions.

1. Preferred Brand
Dont want hp, compaq Toshiba, sony
2. Budget
around rm1.5k
3. Usage
Documents, web surfing, academic usage(a teacher will be using)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
14"

Must be durable and last many years. thanks.
Hey man, good to know that the recommended notebooks are doing fine icon_rolleyes.gif

Can consider these:
14"
Asus X401A-091/092/093R, B820 + Intel HD3000@RM1299[1.85kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: black/white/green; 1 year warranty
*Upgrade to at least 4GB RAM

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, B997 + Intel HD@RM1199[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

*Upgrade to at least 4GB RAM, extend warranty to 3 years (will be useful since this is a budget notebook)

Lenovo
G400s, Pentium 2020 + Intel HD@RM1349, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1299, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1499

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 20 2013, 10:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Oct 20 2013, 09:50 PM)
thanks, have a question, the performance between the i3 and the Pentiums and AMDs big difference or not? totally clueless about laptop processors. Looking at the Dell and Asus ones. I think I'll avoid Lenovo since the 2 laptops I bought had problems with the GPU and had to change motherboard.
Dayum, that sounded pretty unlucky sad.gif
Just stick to Intel i3 or Pentium, they are slightly more powerful, and are enough for the tasks you mention icon_rolleyes.gif
If you would like to improve speed later on when the notebook starts slowing down, throw in an SSD brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 20 2013, 11:20 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ Oct 20 2013, 11:07 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Lenovo, Asus, HP, Dell and Samsung if possible
2. Budget : RM 2500
3. Usage : University works, occasionally uses Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Premiere, After Effect and some gamings such as LoL, Bioshock etc
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Prefers 14" but if there's a better specs for 15", I will consider. I would like it to be thin. Not necessarily ultrabook, just as thin as ultrabook. Prefers backlit keyboard. Core i5 would be enough for me.
Can consider these:
15.6"
Asus S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8

Dell Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699

Lenovo Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

*prices in RRP, negotiable
*The Asus might be a bit outdated compared to the S551, but with the mSATA SDD, it'll perform faster.
*use remaining budget to upgrade to at least 8GB RAM( Useful for Photoshop).

Still, you should opt for the Lenovo sinec its running on a more powerful CPU (for Photoshop). But if you are more concerned about gaming performance, go for the Dell icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 20 2013, 11:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ Oct 20 2013, 11:33 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply! The recommendations look good to me! As for the Lenovo, is there a refresh model for Z400?
Yes there are nod.gif
14"
Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate *EOL-ed

Z400 touch, Pentium 2020 + Intel HD + (1366x768;touch)@RM1499, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Try to look for the Z400 (non-touch) version, its cheaper, but much more difficult to find I suppose hmm.gif
Do take note that the new Z400 are not easy to upgrade/maintain. So if you want to upgrade anything, its best to do it right after purchase icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 21 2013, 12:05 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lycan91 @ Oct 20 2013, 11:43 PM)
good evening to all the sifoos

i already have a laptop which is lenovo ideapad y580 and it is awesome (thanx to this forum, which v i dont even remember) . but it is just too heavy to carry around with it to the campus with all the heavy 3 -inch books in the same bag, every day.

searching a small light weight type of netbook.

1. ASUS / SONY/ or any preffered model
2. RM1k - RM1.5k
3. Just to do light work such as microsoft office. and not slow as hell (like open ms word for 20 second, nobody got time for that!)
4. 10-inch should be just nice

Thanx in advance
Good evening notworthy.gif

Can consider these:
10"
Acer Iconia W510, Intel Z2760 + Intel GMA + 64GB SSD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM1699, 2GB, W8

Dell Inspiron 11, Celeron 2955U + Intel HD + (1366x768;touch)@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

If you don't mind something slightly larger (better view and keyboard ergonomics):

11.6"
Acer
P3-131-21292G06, Pentium 2129Y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS;touch)@RM1799, 2GB, W8
P3-171-3322Y2G06, i3-3322y + Intel HD + 60GB SSD + (1366x768 IPS ; touch)@RM1999, 2GB, W8

Lenovo Ideapad S210T, i3-3217U + Intel HD +(1366x768, touch)@RM1699[1.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8

*prices in RRP, negotiable
*upgrade to at least 4GB whenever applicable ya
*I would strongly recommend you go for models that come with SSD, they have much, much snappier performance even though the space is not much icon_rolleyes.gif Alternatively, you can go for those without SSD, then upgrade to SSD later on when you have the budget icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 21 2013, 12:24 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Lycan91 @ Oct 21 2013, 12:15 AM)
thanx. wow, that quite a lot model.

is the acer model is good? i mean well, the model always comes with many complaints from the others.

not that i said they were no complain for the other model like asus has such a worse aftersales service (if the service is good now, then sorry asus)

but the acer model, have they gotten better for these days?

sorry if you (or anyone else) feel offended. just askin. smile.gif
Those W510 and especially the P3 are pretty good, so far the rantings on Acer are much lower now in the forum laugh.gif Most are complaining about Asus now sweat.gif

Do refer here if you need more details on them Acer models icon_rolleyes.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...8154&hl=acer+p3
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 21 2013, 04:10 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(MT-MT @ Oct 21 2013, 03:25 PM)
Looking for laptop
1. Prefered brand: Any brand
2. Budget: RM2000
3. Usage: Mainly for surfing internet, watch movie.
4. Preferred screen size: Above 14"
got recommend by LOnovo G400 with Inter Pentium DC2020M RM1249 and Asus A450CC Core I5 RM1919. Price differ huge due to processor, may i know is pentium DC2020M lasting?? smooth in speed?
Above 14" includes 14 inch notebooks? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 21 2013, 09:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Oct 21 2013, 09:50 PM)
Guys, I checked out a Lenovo Z500 and it seems like a good laptop. Z510 isn't coming out soon so is it a good buy for a range of RM 2300?

I heard from a friend of mine that the display is a bit wash out and not as vibrant as other laptops. Is it normal?
Z510 is out already yo brows.gif
15.6"
Lenovo
Z510T, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs
Z510, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 yrs, color: white

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 21 2013, 10:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Oct 21 2013, 09:56 PM)
Really? I guess I didn't get an honest reply from Lowyat ALL IT Hypermarket then  sweat.gif Maybe they are trying to clear out stock I guess.

So how about the display thingy where the color ain't so vibrant? Heard of that before?
Well, shop sellers can never be trusted 100% tongue.gif

As for the screen, based on what I've seen, its pretty much like the other screens in budget line notebooks? hmm.gif
Its best that you go and see the real thing yourself. That'll help you determine whether you are okay with it or not. Chances are they screen will be fine icon_rolleyes.gif

The previous Z400/500 were designed in such a way that its hard to upgrade the RAM or HDD (some sellers won't do it for free). I think the newer batch are also based on the same platform, so please do take note ya icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 22 2013, 09:36 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(peachmonkey @ Oct 22 2013, 08:40 AM)
Hi all.

Need your opinion on the 2 shortlisted laptops I plan to buy.

1. Dell Vostro 5470
2. Lennovo E431

Basically I need something that runs windows 7. Mostly for work and movies.

Or is there anything else that I should consider?

Appreciate the advice.
Do you intend to install W7 yourself? hmm.gif
In terms of built and quality, I would prefer the Lenovo over the Dell. But in terms of warranty support, Dell is better (if covered) hmm.gif
Tough pick

17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0366sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:16 PM