17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 12:23 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 13 2013, 11:45 PM)
im fine with 3D. laugh.gif
just need the 3D screen to run games on 120Hz only, 90% is for that more than 3D.

just buy an Inspiron 15 7000 full spec, save your hassle. laugh.gif
or Inspiron 17 7000 if you like bigger screens.
Won't external monitors be better picks? hmm.gif
But up to you la haha, I'm just saying haha, not really familiar with 3D tech XD

Illegears are very tempting, but at up to RM8-10k, its not exactly very cheap also haha, for that price I would "subconsciously" expect them to last 8-10 years haha XD After all, RM1k for one year is pretty rational no? XD

Entering next stage of life haha, expectations and expenditures also need to change already as there are bigger things in life now sad.gif
I think I should try to find some ways to prolong the life of my m14x~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:05 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 14 2013, 06:48 AM)
Tying the knots?  brows.gif
Yeah, that is also being considered LOL laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:06 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 14 2013, 01:11 AM)
i wish i could get external monitors too. just the problem is, i might constantly travel in the future, so i would prefer a high performance laptop with 120Hz screen.

if you wanted to prolong your m14x life, just regularly service it like a car will do a good job. smile.gif
Yeah, I understand what you mean lol... go and [s]buy[/s[ bug Prince J for 3D screen brows.gif

I don't know how to service my m14x, too complicated for me haha laugh.gif
And I can't risk spoiling it, too much pending work @_@
My next notebook has to be more maintenance-friendly XD

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 14 2013, 11:32 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:08 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:06 AM)
Congratulation  rclxms.gif
Thanks thanks haha, but not yet la laugh.gif
Have to graduate 1st, hopefully by end of this year laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 12:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(adam ixa @ Oct 14 2013, 09:40 AM)
Hi, can u give me recommendation for

1) Brand : any brand that good ( i dont know either which one is good )
2) Budget : less than RM2200
3) Usage : Coding, light gaming, surfing, muvee
4) Screen : dont need touch screen, just want speed for gaming. 14" also can, but dont want really small
5) Size : doesnt matter either it big as kaiju or small as ant. I will carry it in a bag anyway
6) HD size : dont really need SSD, big space if possible

How about these? brows.gif
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

HP Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: silver/black

*Prices in RRP
*Use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 12:01 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Max Hell @ Oct 14 2013, 11:58 AM)
Hi, I'm getting new laptop, hope here can help me.

1) Brand : Any
2) Budget: RM1.5k to RM2.5k
3) Usage: Office use & Site use
4) Preferred laptop/screen size : Not a issue since I bring out with bag
5) Battery can last more than 3 hours without adapter
6) Have windows XP driver for the hardwares since I need window XP for my work/software
I don't think current lineup of notebooks supports Windows XP drivers anymore? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntlif3 @ Oct 14 2013, 07:01 PM)
Hi guys, I remember a thread where we can post our 2nd hand laptop to ask for a affordable price to sell.
Btw my laptop is dell vostro 3700...how much can i sell it for? no more warranty and used for 2 years...
Perhaps can try to sell it at around RM1-1.5k? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Oct 14 2013, 10:14 PM)
Hihi..

Wana ask which is better...

Asus s551lb-cj120h and s550cb-cj120h.

And 500gb hdd + 24gb ssd VS 750gb hdd.

What is the function of hdd???

Or should I choose lenovo/dell.

1; budget 2.5k to 2.8k
2. 15.6inch
3. Ussage for internet/microsoft office/mv/song
4. Light weight cz carry to officr daily
The one with the SSD is alwats the better pick laugh.gif

HDD is the shortform for harddisk, the hardware in which you store your files.

The ones you mentioned are pretty good picks already nod.gif
Can consider this one as well if you would like a Lenovo:
15.6"
Lenovo Flex 15, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT720M + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSGD + 500GB HDD@RM2699, 4GB, W8

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(omniknight86 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:23 PM)
1. Preferred Brand = Any Brand but have some preference in Acer, Samsung, Dell or Apple
2. Budget = RM3000
3. Usage = Work Related purposes, minimal entertainment
4. Preferred laptop/screen size = 14" to 16" will do

Thanks  smile.gif
Can consider this one:
Dell Inspiron 14 7000, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400 + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2699[2.02kg], 6GB(soldered), , W8SL, backlit keyboard, 58Whr, No ODD

Newly released, premium-line Dell Inspiron brows.gif
Use remaining budget to extend wrranty to 3 years and you are good to go icon_rolleyes.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Virgo_gal @ Oct 13 2013, 04:43 PM)

I am helping my sister who plans to get a laptop. She's working as a teacher. Could you guys please help to recommend a laptop with the requirements below?

1. Preferred Brand: ASUS or Dell
2. Budget: Below RM3000 (prefers a laptop that can last for a few years without constant upgrade)
3. Usage:
a. Data entry (prefers a laptop with numeric keypad, or is it recommended to buy an external USB numeric keypad instead?)
b. Microsoft Office
c. Internet surfing, emails, Facebook
d. Photo editing software
e. Software for mathematics or data analysis (in case in future there's such software introduced)

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15" (if getting an external USB numeric keypad is not recommended), else OK with 14".

Thanks a lot.
QUOTE(Virgo_gal @ Oct 14 2013, 08:48 PM)
Thanks for the recommendation, TJ  biggrin.gif

How about ASUS laptop? Any recommended ones?
I noticed that a lot of their "Everyday Computing" or A-series models are no longer featured under "Price List" section of the ASUS Product Guide (Sep - Oct 2013) but only available on ASUS website. Are those older models that are going to be obsolete soon?
For Asus, can consider this one:
15.6"
Asus S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8

TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 14 2013, 04:13 PM)
That will be the day the virus get released to the atmosphere? Should I mark it in my calendar?  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
No worries man, virus project failed already tongue.gif tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Oct 14 2013, 10:29 PM)
Bro..how come 500gb hdd + 24gb sdd is better than 750gb?
Well, larger capacity isn't always better. Its the reading speed that should be given priority.
If you need more space, external HDD are better alternatives haha laugh.gif

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:34 PM)
Aiya, I was putting my money on a doomsday scenario  wink.gif  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Good luck graduating this year  thumbup.gif
Haha, how come you are so looking forward to it sifu? laugh.gif laugh.gif
Thanks alot man, will try my best~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 10:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Oct 14 2013, 10:48 PM)
Tq shifu..I will choose the one 500+24sdd. Tq shifu.

Any idea where to buy is the best??? If lowyat do let me knw which shop cz too many shops there..worry some scammers n chesters.
Can get from devour here, trusted seller thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 11:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Oct 14 2013, 10:55 PM)
Can send me his link?? Any links so I can gt him?
QUOTE(devour @ Oct 14 2013, 11:03 PM)
S550CB-CJ102H
15.6 HD(GL,LED)
3337(i5)
NVIDIA Geforce GT 740M DDR3 2GB
DDR3 1600 4G
500G 5400R SATA+24G SSD

old model , very hard to find this stock now....now Haswell processor model mah laugh.gif
Speak of the devil, I mean seller laugh.gif laugh.gif
This is the guy~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 14 2013, 11:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 14 2013, 11:29 PM)
i hope that is not a typo. laugh.gif
Prince J is a human being, not an item.

for servicing, why dont you drop [putochip123] a PM? tongue.gif
Oh God LOL This is embarrassing haha XD
Corrected!
Should be "bug" doh.gif

Yeah, I'm thinking of finding putochip123 sifu again haha~
Pai sei nia let him see my poor Alienware cry.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Oct 14 2013, 11:34 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 15 2013, 08:38 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xxxsummer @ Oct 15 2013, 10:05 AM)
1. Preferred Brand : Anything except Dell
2. Budget : 2.5k or less
3. Usage : Office work. Able to handle high graphic games. (I really do need long battery life)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Anything works(:

Thanks in advance for the help.
Err... really do need or do not need long battery life? laugh.gif
How about these? I think you will prefer a 14 incher more if you are really a girl laugh.gif
14"
Acer V5-473PG-54204G50, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M +(1366x768;touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB,W8 *no OD

Asus K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

HP Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: silver/black

Lenovo Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Sony
Vaio SVF14218SGW, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: white/black
SVF14217SG, i3-3227U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors:black/white/pink

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white

Satelite L40-AS125XG/B/W, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299, 2GB, 750GB, W8; colors: Gold/blue/white

*All these have more or less the same specs, so just go for the one you like the most.
*upgrade RAM to at least 4GB
*Use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years (if applicable; except for Asus)
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 15 2013, 08:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hisyam192 @ Oct 15 2013, 04:55 PM)
i'm a noob.. Need help.. icon_question.gif

1. Preferred Brand : anything will do
2. Budget : 2.5k - 3k max.. cheaper better. student got to eat also..
3. Usage : student usage + light photoshop.. some gaming (football manager 14, pes, europa universalis, total war. dunno how much power these games need, hope can run these games smoothly unsure.gif ). need 'future proof' laptop as i hope not to change laptop for the next 3-5 yrs..
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Any size also can..

thx~  notworthy.gif
Please do refer to recommendations to xxxsummer above icon_rolleyes.gif
Those will be good enough for your usage, though please do take note that in the computing world, there is no such thing as "future proof" unfortunately sad.gif
Even if you get the most expensive notebook in the market at that time, it will be "outdated" in a matter of months rclxub.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 15 2013, 08:47 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Oct 15 2013, 05:18 PM)
Hi, need opinions and/or reviews about this.

1. Preferred Brand : MSi
2. Budget : RM7,000 (RM8,000 max)
3. Usage : A-bit-lower-than-hardcore gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15"

I actually want to buy MSi GT60-2OD with GeForce GTX780M as the GPU. But I just can't find it (at least online) in Malaysia. I have checked Illegear RS-15 with that GPU and it costs around RM7,500 in their website. Any opinion on this? How do you think playing games with a 15-incher? Will it overheat fast? Thanks beforehand. biggrin.gif
Wah, lower-than-hardcore-gaming also RM8k budget? laugh.gif
A 15 incher is the best balance in terms of performance and portability for a gamer who doesn't want a desktop nod.gif

And all dedicated gaming machines will have good cooling systems to support the powerful GPU inside nod.gif
You are right, I don't think we have any GTX780M-powered MSI here yet.
The Illegear RS-15 is thus one of the most viable picks for now~

15.6" http://www.illegear.com/
Illegear RS-15, i7-4700MQ + AMD 8970M + (1920x1080)@RM5799[3.1kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster X-FI MB3], 8GB, 500GB(7200rpm), Multi-Color Programmable Backlit Keyboard, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4930MX] [GPU Options: AMD 8970M, Nvidia GTX765M, Nvidia GTX770M, Nvidia GTX780M, Nvidia Quadro K1000M, Nvidia Quadro K3000M]

For a budget of around RM8k (RRP only, negotiable), you can get an RS-15 with:
- GX780M
- 120GB mSATA + 500GB (7200rpm)
- W7/W8
- 3 years warranty

Nego a bit with the friendly Illegear dealers to get more freebies/discounts brows.gif brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 15 2013, 08:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xxxsummer @ Oct 15 2013, 08:49 PM)
We'll, I really need long battery life. The weight for these are more or less the same?
Not sure how long is your "long" though laugh.gif
But can expect 3-4 hours usage on the ones recommended. As for the weights, they are around 2-2.4kg icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Oct 15 2013, 09:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hisyam192 @ Oct 15 2013, 04:55 PM)
i'm a noob.. Need help.. icon_question.gif

1. Preferred Brand : anything will do
2. Budget : 2.5k - 3k max.. cheaper better. student got to eat also..
3. Usage : student usage + light photoshop.. some gaming (football manager 14, pes, europa universalis, total war. dunno how much power these games need, hope can run these games smoothly unsure.gif ). need 'future proof' laptop as i hope not to change laptop for the next 3-5 yrs..
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Any size also can..

thx~  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(hisyam192 @ Oct 15 2013, 09:18 PM)
any recommendation for dell? been using dell for some time & not much problems with it.. thumbup.gif

also, which one would u recommend between inspiron 14r,i7-4500U & lenovo y400?
Yeah, the Lenovo Y400 (if you can still find it), is a very great choice, very powerful CPU and GPU, though not exactly necessary for your usage (CPU).
14"
LEnovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

As for Dell, can consider these:
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
*use remaining budget for warranty extension to 3 years. Upgrade to SSD later on when you have the budget for even more significant boost in speeds brows.gif

17 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:02 AM