hi sifus, i quite interested to invest in reit.
in reit, the main concern will only be the dividend?
or we need to monitor regularly too?
cheers
REIT V5, Real Estate Investment Trust
Oct 8 2013, 11:27 AM
31 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
hi sifus, i quite interested to invest in reit.
in reit, the main concern will only be the dividend? or we need to monitor regularly too? cheers |
Oct 8 2013, 11:54 AM
6,356 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(lexo_oxel @ Oct 8 2013, 11:27 AM) hi sifus, i quite interested to invest in reit. Yes..the reits is mainly on yield.in reit, the main concern will only be the dividend? or we need to monitor regularly too? cheers Those monitor one if calculate calc the other reits..doing better want to jump shit to other reits. 1) buy and keep, since there is variety reits available when there is available new fund you can opt the reits you like based critieria you choosing 2) buy and switch for better yield - another option ppl sell the current to buy other reits. Is up to individual investor want to do current reits bought and available new fund to invest either diversify and accumulating. This post has been edited by felixmask: Oct 8 2013, 11:56 AM |
Oct 8 2013, 02:46 PM
31 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
thanks a lot for the sharing, felix
Oct 8 2013, 06:51 PM
12,534 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Penang, KL, China, Indonesia.... |
For all retail REIT players...
Summary ... 1. M-Reit is not attractive with dividend yield of 5.1%-5.5% va MGS 3.98% yield. 2. Oversupply of new retail malls by 2015 will increase mall space by 28%. 3. Rental revision expected to below inflation or stay flat for the next 5 years due to oversupply of retail mall space. 4. CIMB recommend investor to STOP accumulating REIT as the price is NOT attractive, expect lower or flat rental revision & lower occupancy. 5. Current dividend yield not favorable for mall acquisition, yield of 6%-7% is currently the 'fair' value.. 6. As dividend yield rise, prices will fall accordingly to match the 'fair' yield. 7. Investors will get triple whammy, rising MGS yields, lower occupancy, flat rental revision...NOT a good outlook for retail REITs. Full article below... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by gark: Oct 8 2013, 07:05 PM |
Oct 8 2013, 09:46 PM
2,455 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(gark @ Oct 8 2013, 06:51 PM) For all retail REIT players... Thanks for sharing Summary ... 1. M-Reit is not attractive with dividend yield of 5.1%-5.5% va MGS 3.98% yield. 2. Oversupply of new retail malls by 2015 will increase mall space by 28%. 3. Rental revision expected to below inflation or stay flat for the next 5 years due to oversupply of retail mall space. 4. CIMB recommend investor to STOP accumulating REIT as the price is NOT attractive, expect lower or flat rental revision & lower occupancy. 5. Current dividend yield not favorable for mall acquisition, yield of 6%-7% is currently the 'fair' value.. 6. As dividend yield rise, prices will fall accordingly to match the 'fair' yield. 7. Investors will get triple whammy, rising MGS yields, lower occupancy, flat rental revision...NOT a good outlook for retail REITs. |
Oct 8 2013, 09:51 PM
12,698 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(gark @ Oct 8 2013, 06:51 PM) For all retail REIT players... These are all valid points. Summary ... 1. M-Reit is not attractive with dividend yield of 5.1%-5.5% va MGS 3.98% yield. 2. Oversupply of new retail malls by 2015 will increase mall space by 28%. 3. Rental revision expected to below inflation or stay flat for the next 5 years due to oversupply of retail mall space. 4. CIMB recommend investor to STOP accumulating REIT as the price is NOT attractive, expect lower or flat rental revision & lower occupancy. 5. Current dividend yield not favorable for mall acquisition, yield of 6%-7% is currently the 'fair' value.. 6. As dividend yield rise, prices will fall accordingly to match the 'fair' yield. 7. Investors will get triple whammy, rising MGS yields, lower occupancy, flat rental revision...NOT a good outlook for retail REITs. Full article below... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Tricky part is, buying opportunity always appear during negative perspective. Where is the "sweet spot" of buying? Definitely not past 1-2 years when net yield reaching 4%, IBs still rate a Buy call. And we need to be really picky this time. Which REIT has STRONG growth potential in the next few years? That growth can neutralize (or even outperformed) MSG yield increment? You mentioned 6-7% yield, I think that's a good validation point for FY14/FY15. If a REIT believed to be able to provide this yield, and at the same time able continue to growth 5% pa on yield, it should still be a good steady income investment instrument. The most important criteria on sustainability income might be this two factor: High quality management + High quality asset class. I am currently quite comfortable with my 32% profile on REIT with net yield (via avg buying price) ranged from 5%-8%. However, if REIT rebound 10% or so in near term, I may continue to sell off another 5-7% and stops when reaching 25% total holdings. I agree with Gark that it is not a smart move to accumulate blindly at this junction, unless net yield reaches 6-7% with HQ management + HQ assets class. |
Oct 8 2013, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 8 2013, 09:51 PM) These are all valid points. Yes buying oppurtunity exist for those who have patience. The article is a general article for all reits, but not all reits is the same. My crteria for choosing reits as follows....Tricky part is, buying opportunity always appear during negative perspective. Where is the "sweet spot" of buying? Definitely not past 1-2 years when net yield reaching 4%, IBs still rate a Buy call. And we need to be really picky this time. Which REIT has STRONG growth potential in the next few years? That growth can neutralize (or even outperformed) MSG yield increment? You mentioned 6-7% yield, I think that's a good validation point for FY14/FY15. If a REIT believed to be able to provide this yield, and at the same time able continue to growth 5% pa on yield, it should still be a good steady income investment instrument. The most important criteria on sustainability income might be this two factor: High quality management + High quality asset class. I am currently quite comfortable with my 32% profile on REIT with net yield (via avg buying price) ranged from 5%-8%. However, if REIT rebound 10% or so in near term, I may continue to sell off another 5-7% and stops when reaching 25% total holdings. I agree with Gark that it is not a smart move to accumulate blindly at this junction, unless net yield reaches 6-7% with HQ management + HQ assets class. 1. I think >6% is a fair value, higher yield than that shows undervalue. 2. Choose reit which has good name brand, in which even in high capacity will not be impacted. Location, location is the mantra for all property investment and also reits. 3. Take reit with low debt to asset, so they can grow even in tough times. Highly leveraged reit have no more oppurtunity to grow unless dilution via private placement. |
Oct 8 2013, 10:58 PM
401 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Got my arreit dividend today, nice.
Oct 9 2013, 04:26 PM
2,702 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: P8X-86A |
QUOTE(gark @ Oct 8 2013, 10:17 PM) Yes buying oppurtunity exist for those who have patience. The article is a general article for all reits, but not all reits is the same. My crteria for choosing reits as follows.... thks for sharing tips, how to count the fair value? thanks 1. I think >6% is a fair value, higher yield than that shows undervalue. 2. Choose reit which has good name brand, in which even in high capacity will not be impacted. Location, location is the mantra for all property investment and also reits. 3. Take reit with low debt to asset, so they can grow even in tough times. Highly leveraged reit have no more oppurtunity to grow unless dilution via private placement. |
Oct 9 2013, 05:15 PM
Oct 9 2013, 05:22 PM
Oct 9 2013, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 9 2013, 05:22 PM) US debt celling settle & addicted to QE3 still continue...not sure new Fed Yellen next year will do.. Yellen is said to be follower to Bernake.. and chances are she will allow QE to continue a bit more.But as always QE is a DRUG.. so it gotta stop sooner or later, don't be addicted to it! This post has been edited by gark: Oct 9 2013, 05:48 PM |
Oct 9 2013, 05:57 PM
Oct 9 2013, 06:00 PM
Oct 9 2013, 06:04 PM
Oct 9 2013, 06:30 PM
Oct 9 2013, 08:44 PM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Oct 9 2013, 08:53 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 9 2013, 08:44 PM) Keeping cash is like...Middle ages, u have 1,000,000 infantry troopers, but u were afraid to march your troops to conquer neighbouring nations. U wait and wait and wait for "opportunity"... 10 years later, ppl have invented cannons and fireams, 50,000 gunners can wipe out your million-strong sword-wielding army |
Oct 9 2013, 09:02 PM
10,001 posts Joined: May 2013 |
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 9 2013, 08:53 PM) Keeping cash is like... Not keeping cashMiddle ages, u have 1,000,000 infantry troopers, but u were afraid to march your troops to conquer neighbouring nations. U wait and wait and wait for "opportunity"... 10 years later, ppl have invented cannons and fireams, 50,000 gunners can wipe out your million-strong sword-wielding army Will utilize cash once opportunity strike |
Oct 9 2013, 09:07 PM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
| Change to: | 0.0355sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:22 AM |