20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

REIT V5, Real Estate Investment Trust

gark
post Sep 19 2013, 11:15 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 19 2013, 09:42 AM)
For the first time my holdings of IGBREIT is in the black biggrin.gif
Black already meh? I though you buy at 1.29... tongue.gif
gark
post Sep 20 2013, 05:36 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 20 2013, 05:10 PM)
calling GARK;  QE tapering has call off-  how come reits red while CI is green....

Can find any infor related today sell DOWN especially KLCC...  blush.gif
Yesterday treasury yields went up back after dropping .. apparently market still think possible taper will come.

Bernake DID mention that if he decide to taper he not necessary have to announce via press conference and/or FOMC meeting..

So now market worries about ' stealth taper' hahahahaa

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 20 2013, 05:37 PM
gark
post Sep 20 2013, 05:59 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 20 2013, 05:39 PM)
where u get such infor ? no need troublesome u...
http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/USGG10YR:IND

http://www.marketwatch.com/investing/bond/10_year

NEW YORK (MarketWatch) -- U.S. Treasurys extended moderate losses, pushing up yields Thursday, after a stronger-than-expected rise in the Philadelphia Fed's manufacturing index, which jumped to 22.3 in September from 9.3 in August. Economists had forecast a reading of 11. The yield on the 10-year Treasury note 10_YEAR -0.91% was seen at 2.738%, up 4.5 basis points, or 0.045 percentage point, from Wednesday. A sharp Treasury rally in the wake of Wednesday's surprise decision by the Federal Reserve to leave its bond-buying program unchanged saw the 10-year yield post its biggest one-day drop in nearly two years.

anyway dont fret too much yields goes up and down everyday...just buy what is comfortable for you...learn to tune out the noice.. sometimes market moves without reason.

This post has been edited by gark: Sep 20 2013, 06:02 PM
gark
post Oct 7 2013, 12:41 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 7 2013, 12:07 PM)
If US defaults, will investors buy stocks/property/gold?
If US defaults... the whole world economy will go into tailspin. Currency, commodities, property, bonds, stock, etc all will be destroyed. This is an unthinkable scenario, and USA will not do that.

In the event the debt ceiling is not raise, it will opt to cut non essential payment first, it can sustain interest payment on treasuries indefinitely with the current tax collection.

Treasury priority payment, in even of debt ceiling not raised :-

1. Interest Payment - Full payment
2. Troop/Police/Coast Guard/Security Civil servant Salaries - Full payment (you gotta pay those who hold the guns...) wink.gif
3. Social Security - Partial payment
4. Other civil services - Partial payment
5. Payment to contractor etc - delay payment
6. Research grants, foreign aid etc - stop payment

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 7 2013, 12:47 PM
gark
post Oct 7 2013, 01:19 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 7 2013, 01:02 PM)
After Debt celling has been set, is Qe3 absoulte continue until extend the emplyment rate reduce  ?
Fed and treasury is two separate entity. By law Fed cannot lent directly to treasury.. so debt ceiling have no effect on tapering.
gark
post Oct 7 2013, 02:00 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 7 2013, 01:59 PM)
I agree...but once debt celling resolved, outlook US economic still weak with number of unemployed...

the Qe3 will extend support US economic...
QE3 is like a drug... sooner or later it has to stop otherwise it destroy the consumer... wink.gif

So the tapering is inevitable. Just a matter or when, how fast and how long. nod.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 7 2013, 02:01 PM
gark
post Oct 7 2013, 05:15 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 7 2013, 03:17 PM)
I hide in stock.
my wife no KNOW Nut about stock..especially looking the number...
Wife never audit you before ah? tongue.gif How much in - how much out... cannot hide... laugh.gif
gark
post Oct 7 2013, 05:19 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 7 2013, 05:17 PM)
Thats why i dont keep MONEY in saving account.
In house, who control your fiannace wife or you...? If you then can hide, if not....susah laugh.gif

Next time want to jolly, have to sell stock cause bank account kosong.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 7 2013, 05:20 PM
gark
post Oct 7 2013, 05:32 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 7 2013, 05:27 PM)
I control myself, cant let her see MONEY in the bank account..else..whe she BAD MOOD..i require spend $$$ to made her MOOD happy...
She bad mood..i juz tell her see my saving..i even BAD MOOD...

2nd I dont jolly, drink, yam cha, find frienz, gadjet , internet , supper...what ever....really humble work and spend that necessary.
Wah lau good tactic... hahahaha thumbup.gif
gark
post Oct 8 2013, 06:51 PM

12,534 posts

For all retail REIT players...

Summary ...

1. M-Reit is not attractive with dividend yield of 5.1%-5.5% va MGS 3.98% yield.
2. Oversupply of new retail malls by 2015 will increase mall space by 28%.
3. Rental revision expected to below inflation or stay flat for the next 5 years due to oversupply of retail mall space.
4. CIMB recommend investor to STOP accumulating REIT as the price is NOT attractive, expect lower or flat rental revision & lower occupancy.
5. Current dividend yield not favorable for mall acquisition, yield of 6%-7% is currently the 'fair' value..
6. As dividend yield rise, prices will fall accordingly to match the 'fair' yield.
7. Investors will get triple whammy, rising MGS yields, lower occupancy, flat rental revision...NOT a good outlook for retail REITs.

Full article below...

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 8 2013, 07:05 PM
gark
post Oct 8 2013, 10:17 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 8 2013, 09:51 PM)
These are all valid points.  nod.gif

Tricky part is, buying opportunity always appear during negative perspective. Where is the "sweet spot" of buying? Definitely not past 1-2 years when net yield reaching 4%, IBs still rate a Buy call. And we need to be really picky this time. Which REIT has STRONG growth potential in the next few years? That growth can neutralize (or even outperformed) MSG yield increment?

You mentioned 6-7% yield, I think that's a good validation point for FY14/FY15. If a REIT believed to be able to provide this yield, and at the same time able continue to growth 5% pa on yield, it should still be a good steady income investment instrument. The most important criteria on sustainability income might be this two factor: High quality management + High quality asset class.  hmm.gif

I am currently quite comfortable with my 32% profile on REIT with net yield (via avg buying price) ranged from 5%-8%. However, if REIT rebound 10% or so in near term, I may continue to sell off another 5-7% and stops when reaching 25% total holdings.

I agree with Gark that it is not a smart move to accumulate blindly at this junction, unless net yield reaches 6-7% with HQ management + HQ assets class.  nod.gif
Yes buying oppurtunity exist for those who have patience. The article is a general article for all reits, but not all reits is the same. My crteria for choosing reits as follows....

1. I think >6% is a fair value, higher yield than that shows undervalue.
2. Choose reit which has good name brand, in which even in high capacity will not be impacted. Location, location is the mantra for all property investment and also reits.
3. Take reit with low debt to asset, so they can grow even in tough times. Highly leveraged reit have no more oppurtunity to grow unless dilution via private placement.
gark
post Oct 9 2013, 05:15 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Oct 9 2013, 04:26 PM)
thks for sharing tips, how to count the fair value? thanks  notworthy.gif
There is no right way to count.. for REIt is based on MGS, MGS yield go up, fair value yield for REITs go up as well.
gark
post Oct 9 2013, 05:47 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 9 2013, 05:22 PM)
US debt celling settle & addicted to QE3 still continue...not sure new Fed Yellen next year will do..
Yellen is said to be follower to Bernake.. and chances are she will allow QE to continue a bit more.

But as always QE is a DRUG.. so it gotta stop sooner or later, don't be addicted to it! wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 9 2013, 05:48 PM
gark
post Oct 9 2013, 06:00 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 9 2013, 05:57 PM)
i try....keep bond also die..keep stock also die..
KEEP cash like you ?
Keep cash also die.... laugh.gif
gark
post Oct 9 2013, 06:30 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Oct 9 2013, 06:04 PM)
laugh.gif  You funny...man
Not funny leh...

die from inflation, slowly cut you until you bleed to death... tongue.gif
gark
post Oct 10 2013, 09:45 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Oct 10 2013, 08:39 AM)
I see which mean higher fair value more than 6% is not really a good REIT, correct me if I am wrong. blush.gif
Well it depends on how much do you think the MGS can rise in the future, historically over the last 20 years average is 4.5=5.0%, now is 3.98%. I see 5% is the max in the future, means Class 1 Retail REIT yield need to be 100-150 bps above mgs, so that works out the be 6%-6.5%. Lower class REIT will tend to require higher 200-300 bps above MGS.

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 10 2013, 09:45 AM
gark
post Oct 10 2013, 01:50 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Oct 10 2013, 01:45 PM)
sorry i am kinda confused here, hope you don't mind, that fair value = yield or otherwise? which mean reit with fair value more than 6% should be avoided?
No.. different class of REIT have different growth & risk. More stable, higher growth and lower risk REIT will have the lowest yield and vice versa....

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 10 2013, 01:50 PM
gark
post Oct 10 2013, 05:33 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 10 2013, 05:01 PM)
Agreed, in similar contex, taperin does not mean interest rate increase. 2 separate and different events here !
However... tapering affects bond yields, and bond yields affect REIT yield....

Interest rate not going up, but that does not mean bond yield not going up...
gark
post Oct 10 2013, 05:44 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 10 2013, 05:36 PM)
Yes, this I agreed.

But bond yield just normalise back what it should be before the start of QE3.

Bond yield rising doesn't must mean interest rate going up. Many people confuse on this part.
Normalized bond yield for MGS should be about 4.5% to 5%. Means still got 50-100 bps to go...

But bond yield and interest rate spread too big also not sustainable in long term. Market forces will push to close the gap as actual capital raising cost will be increased with bond yield... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 10 2013, 05:44 PM
gark
post Oct 10 2013, 10:11 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 10 2013, 08:26 PM)
100 bps to 4.5% (worst case scenario) is 22%. Meaning to neutralize capital depreciation on REITs, a 22% profit growth is expected by the time bond yield reaches that normalized level.  hmm.gif
Bond yield to normalize usually take 1 to 2 years. Can a reit get 22% growth in that time frame? That is why reits is currently on selldown..

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0515sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:55 AM