6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Sony Xperia™ Z/ZL, Official Thread V9, Still Stay Strong!

mafioso
post Oct 29 2013, 11:50 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(ILoveXperia @ Oct 29 2013, 11:46 PM)
Besides, u still can lock it using the ta partitions. Did u back it up before u unlocked?
yeap yeap nod.gif

did my homework even before buying the device laugh.gif

lots of helpful users here as always tongue.gif

problem is not the unlocking part.. its the restore laugh.gif
very troublesome as files need to restore all the time laugh.gif
mafioso
post Oct 29 2013, 11:56 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(ILoveXperia @ Oct 29 2013, 11:52 PM)
Haha good then. It's normal lh as restoring takes time and sometimes create problems even if fresh update or flashing. At lease the phone functionality is ok smile.gif
you using stock or AOSP? nod.gif

btw pacman has lots of improvements just over a month +
mafioso
post Oct 30 2013, 12:02 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(ILoveXperia @ Oct 30 2013, 12:00 AM)
I use stock for now. Before this I was obsessed with AOSP and the modified brows.gif , now stock seems much simpler to me. Some more it's stable for daily driver. Cause I use my z to take pictures, on9 alot so it's important for me smile.gif
yeap! i used to be obsessed with AOSP too..
thats why i unlocked few months back

but due to stock rom being able to install xposed and have AOSP features ported over.. it was a bonus..
but now got stability issues.. dunno which module is causing it. cry.gif

for camera, actually i find without BE2 = its more natural. lol.. the only thing will be missed is the auto mode from the stock camera if i flash AOSP rom again.
mafioso
post Oct 30 2013, 12:31 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(mineja @ Oct 30 2013, 12:06 AM)
didnt happen to me as i also use xpodes app/modules..btw i use custom room
could be the latest update of xblast. hmm.gif

QUOTE(ILoveXperia @ Oct 30 2013, 12:10 AM)
Well it's up to u smile.gif I think should wait for a truly stable release of the xposed app cause its less hassle to back-up and restore all over again smile.gif but then again, u can never go wrong with stock Sony. Don't worry lh.. Compared to other device like Sam or HTC, Sony is better support for developers. But I already bored with my z, want to try the younger Brother. Z1 brows.gif if not, want to try the so call ultrapixcel of HTC One
ya. stock sony rom is very boring. thats why we need xposed app to spice it up laugh.gif
mafioso
post Nov 4 2013, 04:06 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Nov 4 2013, 09:09 AM)
yah good ...
bring me ur XZ for 10 second, i guaranty ur water proof features gone,that is design failure .... no other issue, also telling us what phone u use before doesn't show u have better knowledge .....
mine doesnt have any waterproof problem.. lol.

not all got this issue. only unlucky sets..
mafioso
post Nov 5 2013, 01:31 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(WanMya @ Nov 4 2013, 10:34 PM)
SOT stand for?
screen-on time..
mafioso
post Nov 5 2013, 11:41 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Nov 5 2013, 09:13 AM)
New user reporting in. smile.gif
Based on 1st impression the performance of the xperia z is the same as my xperia sp.
Is there a fix for the speaker being muffled after it comes in contact with water?
That 1 is normal . Either suck it out.. or let it dry on its own.. which will take about 3-4 hours ..
mafioso
post Nov 6 2013, 05:23 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Nov 6 2013, 05:03 PM)
battery back glass cover. refer xda forum for picture.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2304680

dial *#*#service#*#* for test.
what menu to test for the back cover?
mafioso
post Nov 6 2013, 05:45 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Nov 6 2013, 05:41 PM)
What menu? No menu to test. Just take a closer look at the edge of the back glass. The glass tend to lift a bit. Try to put some pressure while you look closely at the edge. If the glass can move (inside), that's mean that phone no longer waterproof.
this one for test display, radio, sensor, camera and etc.
or *#*#7378423#*#*

lol i thought that menu can test for failed back covers if its not attached properly laugh.gif

okay..
mafioso
post Nov 7 2013, 01:49 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Nov 6 2013, 10:32 PM)
I got the worst SOT time ever today, only 2 hour 17 minutes and battery dropped all the way to 14%. I shut down as I dont like the battery to drain completely. This is on stock ROM, stock kernel runs at stock CPU speed.
are you rooted? if you are you can check which app is currently not going into deepsleep..
use wakelock detector or BBS

or you can use "greenify" to hibernate apps..
mafioso
post Nov 8 2013, 03:20 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Nov 8 2013, 12:10 AM)
Good news.. Yes for upgrade Android OS of 4.3 & 4.4 to our Xperia Z and ZL..

Android 4.3 will start rolling from next month onwards.. *finger cross*

Android 4.4 would be the last OS for our 2 phone ady i think..

Source
hopefully it does not stop at 4.4

if we dont receive 5.0 i guess we have no choice but to flash AOSP based to enjoy 5.0 when it comes..

they would have to support at least for the next 2 years...

samsung also supported s2 up to 4.2.2 i think laugh.gif

from 2.3.3 -> 4.x.2 laugh.gif
mafioso
post Nov 8 2013, 03:25 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Nephrite @ Nov 8 2013, 01:06 PM)
I can imagine your words above you are a person who chase agains technology.

Now we baru on 4.2.2 and haven`t even got 4.3 and sony baru says we will get 4.4 and you imagine 5.0 already. Huh you pretty fast oh.  icon_rolleyes.gif
laugh.gif just hoping it'll be better with every update...

Unlike ios icon_idea.gif
mafioso
post Nov 10 2013, 01:46 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Nakaoji @ Nov 10 2013, 12:17 AM)
Is it safe and reliable? Scare to update because just bought it today. Haha
yes its safe..

it functions just like an updated, it'll download online and then flash by itself..
make sure you dont unplug ur phone while its in process thats all..

you should have .67 for the latest firmware (4.2.2)

QUOTE(Nakaoji @ Nov 10 2013, 12:32 AM)
Btw mate, done it and it still says that my 4.1.2 is the latest version
what software version were you on before this?

This post has been edited by mafioso: Nov 10 2013, 01:49 AM
mafioso
post Nov 10 2013, 02:20 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Nakaoji @ Nov 10 2013, 02:04 AM)
My current version is 4.1.2 - 10.1.1.A.1.253. Can you help me? Pretty please
wow, thats pretty old liao..

what files do you currently have (to flash the Z)?
list out (everything include .ftf files, SUS software, or pc companion, etc)

also, provide a screenshot of your Settings -> About screen..

This post has been edited by mafioso: Nov 10 2013, 02:21 AM
mafioso
post Nov 10 2013, 04:20 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Nakaoji @ Nov 10 2013, 04:19 PM)
Thank you so much for your help kind sir ! Manage to get it updated using wind3524 methods. Thank you so much!
ok thats great nod.gif

but after that you should be able to use SUS to update (for future firmwares) nod.gif

mafioso
post Nov 10 2013, 04:27 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Nakaoji @ Nov 10 2013, 04:24 PM)
Really ? Awesome ! Thanks mate  icon_rolleyes.gif
most likely..

becuz i used generic BE firmware, and i can update to .67

but i might use this SG one when 4.3 comes out next month (according to sony biggrin.gif )
flash and give a full wipe.
mafioso
post Nov 10 2013, 10:47 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Nakaoji @ Nov 10 2013, 08:25 PM)
Well, gotta admit. 4.2.2 is actually quite nice and open multiple apps quite smoothly. Sweet. And again, thank you so much ! Hehe rclxms.gif
ofcourse...

i used to love AOSP so much that i unlocked my bootloader on the first month itself, used AOSP for about 2-3 months?
but the same bugs always appear and appear and appear..

then after that i got fedup, i found out about "xposed", and i reflash stock + modify the rom using xposed

= i get a stable stock rom FILLED with AOSP features

its like gift sent from heaven laugh.gif
using rooted stock rom with full of customizations for you to mess with.
mafioso
post Nov 10 2013, 11:14 PM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(mineja @ Nov 10 2013, 11:09 PM)
can u explain what bugs is always appear.gonna try unlocked bootloader biggrin.gif
noticeable bugs from different types of AOSP roms:

1. battery drain (due to phone not going into deep sleep)
--- either due to kernel not stable or some system file is not sleeping, or gpu kept running

2. random hotboot
--- noticeable on PA-based roms

3. tethering bug
--- depends on your luck, some rom has it, some rom dont..
and at the same time, sometimes the roms that dont, will have it on a buggy version

4. sometimes you might not be able to copy files from anywhere to ext_sdcard (4.3 onwards)
they will show some type of error of "not enough space"

thats all i could think off..

---
and no reason for you to unlock bootloader actually..
the only reason you wanna unlock bootloader is so that you are able to flash a custom kernel, so you can use AOSP roms..

but with xposed, you can PORT aosp/aokp/pa features using gravitybox, xblast, appsetting module nod.gif
seriously no point to unlock liao laugh.gif

summore unlocking kills your DRM keys/bravia engine 2, not to mention you have to use AOSP camera (its not for human to use wan laugh.gif)
- but you can backup lah, with TA partition.

This post has been edited by mafioso: Nov 10 2013, 11:16 PM
mafioso
post Nov 11 2013, 12:04 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Nov 10 2013, 11:34 PM)
Anybody took off the front shatter proof sheet? What's the noticeable difference, and does it void the warranty?
no i didnt..

even if you apply screen protector over it, you wont feel any problems with the sensitivity nod.gif

2 things only if u take it out

- no longer shatter proof
- "SONY" logo is gone. (lolz)
mafioso
post Nov 11 2013, 09:26 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(jerry4174 @ Nov 11 2013, 04:20 AM)
any accesories inside the box??
just standard

1. cable
2. headset
3. guidebook
4. phone
5. charger

no memory card laugh.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top