magika
post Mar 13 2014, 03:47 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 13 2014, 03:36 PM)
Some 250K,

All banks have it.
No.

NID is not a bank FD, technical it is different with FD.
It is more like structured product.

It is like you give bank a sum of money to invest into whatever as pre-determined investment product.
So bro, in order for premature withdrawal we need to find a buyer thereby offering a discount .

This post has been edited by magika: Mar 13 2014, 03:50 PM
magika
post Mar 21 2014, 02:31 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Mar 20 2014, 10:51 PM)
Money has never made man happy, nor will it, there is nothing in its nature to produce happiness. The more of it one has the more one wants - Benjamin Franklin  yawn.gif
Its better to have money and be unhappy than not to have money and be unhappy - Magika @21-3-2014

magika
post Mar 30 2014, 09:39 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(royalz @ Mar 30 2014, 03:27 PM)
boss you did not answer my question. what I  want to know is whether the interest rate paid monthly can be compounded ? I also know goes into SA.. im asking if i choose not to credited monthly into SA..how does it work..newbie here .thanks
If chose interest to be paid on maturity there is no additional benefit as no compound interest.

magika
post Mar 31 2014, 09:15 AM

2,612 posts

I have a few FD"s maturing in mid April. However i won't be joining you guys in your quest as i will be slowly moving my funds into KWSP. As most of my FD's in BR is at the rates of around 4.20%, the revised down rates do not appear appealing to me. Moving part of my funds into KWSP and parts into bluechips stocks will be my strategy for 2014.

magika
post Mar 31 2014, 04:22 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Mar 31 2014, 11:54 AM)
I know that we should not compare FD vs EPF & not to mention the fact that every individual has different risk profile & priorities that change over time; but just for asking sake la: why want to move your cash from FD to EPF?

PS: Which bluechip stock caught your attention? brows.gif
what risk profile? EPF is low risk, at the most lower dividend paid out. All my housing mortgages paid out with the last loan clearance letter received today. I am debt free today but driving a 22 years Proton. blink.gif

No sailang on stocks here.

magika
post Mar 31 2014, 04:44 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 31 2014, 04:32 PM)
Same situation for me, but called the EPF CS a few times but was given diff advice. I am currently employed and contributing EPF. Am I allowed to put in rm60k into my EPF account? If yes under which scheme?
Not sure yet but will be going to KWSP tomorow to find out. I have other option if it does not work out.

magika
post Mar 31 2014, 09:28 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 31 2014, 08:33 PM)
If it is not proper to discuss in this thread, pls pm me the outcome of your kwsp visit, thanks in advance.
Ok, I thjnk what Top Goat does is exploit loopholes thru voluntary contribution using Maybank.

magika
post Mar 31 2014, 09:34 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Mar 31 2014, 09:26 PM)
I typed every individual has different risk profile mah...so, for me FD has the lowest risk. EPF has a notch higher risk than FD, though both are considered to be in the low risk bracket. That's why wanna know your POV why wanna transfer cash from FD to EPF.

IINM, EPF guaranteed a return of 2.5% no matter what happens to the economy, betul ka?
Point taken.

Top Goat ...Mind sharing the process of contributing thru Maybank. I saw M2U have the option , can it be done.

KWSP has implicit gurantee of minimum dividend payout, so why not as its payout is not bad. I will be happy of 5% every year with no yearly service charge. At present I m debt free with investment also taken care of, so my excess fund will see better returns then ever year haranguing with BM on FD maturity. I still maintain a sizeable deposit in FD.

This post has been edited by magika: Mar 31 2014, 09:44 PM
magika
post Apr 1 2014, 09:20 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 31 2014, 11:29 PM)
Ai..really beh tahan..want my phone number also..?  yawn.gif
If confirm this PM is from a leng lui, then maybe I give la... 
[attachmentid=3912055]
I also received messages from a promoter last night so it is a good idea to safeguard our privacy.

QUOTE(HJebat @ Apr 1 2014, 12:21 AM)
OK, thanks...points taken too nod.gif

The main disadvantage regarding EPF is that I can't withdraw the cash as I wish, so won't be heading towards that direction...yet. Probably will consider it after I'm debt free.

Just a long shot...your 22 years old Proton, is it Proton Saga Iswara?
QUOTE(sandkoh @ Apr 1 2014, 08:51 AM)
he must be getting a better car.thinkingg it is Perdana exccept Perdana <22 yrs old?  hmm.gif
Its called Proton Iswara. Its my trademark which consist of paint blistering all over and rusting and rattlkng sound. wub.gif
magika
post Apr 1 2014, 12:31 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Apr 1 2014, 12:25 PM)
Wah, me so keng...1st attempt guess oredi kena cun-cun flex.gif Do I get a present from you for my keng"ness"?

You also very keng, debt free with enough money to save & invest. Sure won't face any problem that is too difficult to deal with during uncertain economic conditions.
I only give present to leng lui one. nod.gif

Regarding monthly crediting of interest, I found it lethargic keeping track as too many deposits with different dates. On maturity, next time will opt for payment on maturity.

magika
post Apr 1 2014, 02:57 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 1 2014, 01:09 PM)
You can make a direct deposit to some of KWSP branches.

KWSP in between Federal Highway and Jalan University (University of Malaya) has
3 counters available for form 6A (1) to deposit money directly.

KWSP in Shamalin Perkasa cannot make direct deposit.

As I know, so far there are 4 banks you can make your Form 6A (1) deposit:
(1) Public Bank
(2) May Bank
(3) RHB
(4) BSN

Maximum deposit is RM 60K per year now.
Thanks, but I have aleady got the necessary info from KWSP this morning.

So looks like will reduced my FD deposits this year.

magika
post Apr 1 2014, 04:29 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Apr 1 2014, 03:12 PM)
If you have extra cash that you are not going to use it for many years, I agree to put into KWSP
rather than FD. Besides getting a higher interest rate from EPF, you can skip hassle to chase for musical chair. And also, you can have more time to accompany your family.
Do not forget to put the nomination, but you can change it anytime.

About your 22 years old car,  biggrin.gif  I understand the way you manage your money.

But since you have extra money, I suggest you to buy a more safety car la...
If you don't think of yourself safety, but you need to think of your family mah..
And also, we want to see you many years here ma..

Or maybe you want to say: I drive slowly only, but what if other careless drivers hit you?

Lagi pun, how many 5 years do we have in a life time..?
Thanks for your concern and well intention advise. I do own a superbike so its not about mortality. tongue.gif

Oh I have considered depositing in KWSP for sometime but delayed it due to settlement of loan of a few properties and also realigned my other investment.

Its a plus for me if KWSP can acheived above 5% payout. So my FD deposits are practically to finance my children education plus accomodating their wants.

Looking at the rise in car loan rates, without increases in BNM OPR and it looks like FD rates will be revised down. shakehead.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0513sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:32 PM