The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 11:55 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 07:12 AM)
Thank you for the detailed explanation! Much appreciated for a newbie like me who doesn't know what to ask. I do need to go back to them anyway to get a new quotation for a different material (acrylic very $$$  cry.gif )and see how they will handle a new problem I have (realised the hood ducting may need to go out through a window as the "yard" appears to have a dropped ceiling, so not enough clearance for the ducting to go over the window!).

But since you mentioned that the quotation they gave you was not exactly what you asked for (standard height instead of ceiling height), did they not show you a plan or 3d plan of what you asked for? That was what impressed us about KP, they came back to us very fast with a 3d plan for the quotation.
I didn't have experience with them on kitchen cab though....coz I've already hired Maxime for the kit cab long before I got them. The carcass that I mentioned is the inner cabinet of wardrobe which is not till the ceiling top, but the end panel and doors yes, they are all the way to the top, covered up as full height. So, the drawing is ofcoz showing till the full height, but not mentioning the height of the inner carcass. Not even during the quotation. I only realised it when they came for installation.
I was looking at one of their sample wardrobe and asked them to quote for 10'W full height. So, they should have told me upfront what's the different spec from thier sample should I be expecting from the price they quoted.

And yes..the boss especially, sounds convicing and experienced. No big problem on the product though, just not a truely nice experience if I would say. You just got to be very specific on what you expect and ASK what's the spec and thing that you have been quoted.

Btw, you mentioned the duct need to pass thru the window...means you can't shut that window up? Or you are going to cut a round shape out from your window glass to allow it passing thru?

TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 12:05 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(canineslave @ Apr 9 2014, 10:27 AM)
Dear Maxxon,

Nice updates. Everything coming into place for you which is great.

Just wondering how much did you pay for the folding door that leads the outside house ? What was the size ? This was from Reliance ?

Thanks and best wishes...
Thanks..
These info already posted earlier in my sharing. Post#386.
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 12:22 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(fremont88 @ Apr 9 2014, 11:39 AM)
ya, deal with zen himself...i got my fotile hood/hub/oven from him, and future will be the outdoor POE filter....
Yup. I think they have the best deals in town for:
- Fotile (even better if got it when they participate in a fair, so to bundle with the extra warranty and extra lucky draw gift from Fotile HQ.)

- Grunfos pumps

- Johnson Suisse WC and basins (I didn't get my JS Lago and Venezia and other JS basins from Zean as I've got a similar deal from Ga Hing after some nego, ordered sekaligus when I shopped for tiles. Btw, prices for JS taps and other JS accessories from Zean is not as good as Ga Hing's fair promotion price).

- 3M filter (i didn't get this brand)

- Cabana and Sorento (didn't get these either)

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 9 2014, 12:55 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 12:41 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 9 2014, 11:39 AM)
Is your kitchen cabinet finish install?

If you plan to have kids, the island cabinet top table extend out corner is abit dangerous.  sweat.gif  For children will bang his head or eye. For adult, that hurt stomach.

But if haven't finish, ignore it.
The quartz counter top will be coming in tomorrow. It will lays on top of the wood backing. Then it will have more inches in thickness and slightly rounded edges. Still possible to knock ourself on it tongue.gif ...but I've seen a very simple little corner protecting pad in Aino Living yesterday. Will put that when I've children... hmm.gif

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 9 2014, 11:41 AM)
You didn't said the magic word.  biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 9 2014, 12:41 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 12:46 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 12:07 PM)
Its like this... Here is the kitchen from the inside. The hob will go roughly where that left sink is, that sink will be taken out, leaving only the sink by the window. I was thinking that the ducting should go over the upper cabinet and over the window where it needs to run to the end of the "yard".
[attachmentid=3923278]

But i was looking at pics the other day, and realized something about this pic taken from the outside looking at the "yard" and back of the kitchen:
[attachmentid=3923247]

The ceiling at the yard area is much lower, don't think ducting will fit. I need to check with kitchen designers, but i am guessing one of those top square glass panes will have to come out... but then really ugly lor.... maybe I should cancel all my headaches and just settle for a recirculating hood...  rclxub.gif
What's the possibility if:
1) the duct to go thru the dropped box and come out from top of the ceiling at the yard?
2) the duct to go thru the dropped box and all the way up to the roof (provided there is a roof above the yard area)?

TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 04:01 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zoe33 @ Apr 9 2014, 12:36 PM)
just bought 2 sets of JS como and a JS sink from builders. I didnt buy the accessories yet. I thought Builders have good price for JS until you mentioned Ga Hing on the accessories.
What were the accessories you bought from Gahing? their tiles cheap? what brand?
Things i get from GH:
i) JS for all bathroom taps, bidet, shower heads and rails, mixer, WC and bathroom basin.
- I get 50% off all JS bathroom accesorries (excluded WC and basin). Compared with others, GH is cheaper. They manage to give good price on JS coz they really have volume. Went to collect something from their warehouse in Kuchai Lama, very big warehouse they have with many pallets of JS stocks!

ii) bath tub

iii) all my tiles except peranakan tiles and tiles for feature wall of shared bathroom.
- reasonable price for all brands and i got 30% off for Niro Granites. As they are a big comp, i have less worry on hanky panky things...Eg. I heard that buying from Ipoh rd got to be careful sometimes, some unethical vendors (not all vendors of course) will mixed grade B tiles into grade A's tiles and offer very low price to lure customers. I'm not sure how true is this saying, pls don't quote my name.

However, i find that only one or two sales guys there are keen to serve (I'm refering to their branch in Old Klang Rd). A Bangladeshi is very good and hardworking on assisting customers on tiles selection, but for other fittings stuff, he is not good in guiding the selection. There is a chinese guy quite good. Other staffs are passive, not keen to serve and hardly crack a smile on the face. Mine was served by their branch manager that time...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 9 2014, 11:23 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 04:13 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 9 2014, 01:37 PM)
I need to go back to the site to check. From the plan, above the yard area is a balcony and also an aircond unit area, presumably on a tiled RC floor. I have no idea if drilling through the RC is possible, or if someone would be able to get inside the dropped box to install the ducting... but even if it is possible, surely its not a good idea to have the ducting come out on the balcony or near the aircond unit???  rclxub.gif
Forgot to ask, from the pics of your kitchen, doesn't look like the backsplash is in yet? what kind of backsplash will you have?
Do you mean there are aircond compressor units above the yard? If that's the case i don't think you want to place the duct output there to avoid oily and air with odor, unless you choose to re-allocate the compressors as it's better for it to draw clean air in...

I think the best and right person to consult is bring an experienced contractor to the site. Only the contractor knows what can be hacked and what's not. They might also have various ideas from their experience building so many kitchens. Correct?

My kitchen backsplash is still pending the desicion whether tempered glass or brushed stainless steel. I've got to make up my mind soon...

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 9 2014, 04:14 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 04:37 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Apr 9 2014, 03:41 PM)
wah family politics
QUOTE(Like a Bause @ Apr 9 2014, 03:48 PM)
lol.. maybe young ppl give discount song fai di ~  biggrin.gif
The son is the price decision maker...
The father hardly speak or crack a smile (maybe face original like that).
The mother not as good as Zean in giving advise on product selection. Eg., i bought a rounded shape sink tap and looking for another smaller ones to be put on the same sink... She recommended me a squarish type, Zean over-heard and quickly corrected her.

TSmaxxon
post Apr 9 2014, 10:04 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Apr 9 2014, 06:23 PM)
Huh? hmm.gif
The magic word is simply by asking "best price pls" or "chun kao ar?" in cantonese...
Only applicable to Builders Hardware.. tongue.gif

TSmaxxon
post Apr 10 2014, 04:58 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zoe33 @ Apr 10 2014, 04:48 PM)
thanks for sharing.  smile.gif
no worries. won't quote your name. smile.gif
worth making a trip to GH at kuchai and have a look then.
i didn't buy anything (almost buy WC..) from them during the recent PWTC fair.
Although their warehouse in kuchai, but i still prefer to go to their Old Klang Rd store coz all in one roof unlike their kuchai store which splited into 3 different shop lots..
WC i suggest you to check from Zheilwane first coz his price of JS WC is quite good without the need of hard nego like I said. However, you got to ask him if he provides delivery. GH does provide delivery.

P/s: one more tip, you can ask GH to test several shower heads for you, so that u can see how's the water flow and that very much ease your selection.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 10 2014, 05:04 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 10 2014, 06:10 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zoe33 @ Apr 10 2014, 05:08 PM)
thanks. so much to read... so many to read up and learn  smile.gif
QUOTE(lifeislikeadream @ Apr 10 2014, 05:57 PM)
Bro, congrats on your reno smile.gif mind to share how much the first floor of the laminated flooring cost you... Thanks
I use Inovar 12mm traffic zone series. Final bill as below:

TSmaxxon
post Apr 10 2014, 06:20 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zoe33 @ Apr 10 2014, 06:15 PM)
how big is your area in sqft?
did you sign up/ take on their package during fair with special price?
Yup, i signed during a fair but i think some times they can offer same price at other times too if you negotiate.

Bro, i take the effort to post the bill for you with those info and you still ask me how many sqft meh?
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 12:48 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(aku_ker @ Apr 10 2014, 11:16 PM)
HI Maxxon can you share your merpau door vendor and security door vendor, sorry if i miss out if you already post it, you can PM me if you like.Thanks in advance

Anyway that a really nice reno youve done,congrats.
Thanks for your compliments!

Of course I don't mind to share and recommend these vendors as they are 2 of the 'no-error-vendors' in my renovation project.
1) Security door - Top Security (Puchong branch) 016-550 6211

2)Merpauh solid wood doors - Merit door marketing (No34-G, Jalan Puteri 4/2, Bandar Puteri Puchong. Ms Lim- 016-557 5025)

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jun 12 2014, 04:57 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 02:38 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(lifeislikeadream @ Apr 10 2014, 07:33 PM)
Hehehe... Thanks so much, now I have a rough idea how much doing laminated flooring will cost tongue.gif
QUOTE(lifeislikeadream @ Apr 10 2014, 07:34 PM)
Bro, it's written there 811sqft lar
thumbup.gif
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 12:41 PM

773 posts

Kitchen Quartz top with under-mount granite sink:

The quartz top came in yesterday. Start work around 12pm and finished around 4.30pm.

The HCE granite sink has been brought to the factory of quartz top earlier. They have made some modification of the sink skirting so that they can 'stick' the sink together with the quartz.

This is how it looks after installed. biggrin.gif

The kitchen looks not so awkward now with the quartz top. Just pending the backsplash, some missing island door panels to come in on Monday, hood installation and some plumbing to make it complete! icon_rolleyes.gif

After the top is up, I find the table top size is just nice for me, where it is a 5.5'L x 2'W, with cabinet underneath it measures at 5'Lx1.5'W. I've once seen the island in Ikea with 6'x2' which caught my attention, hence I copied it but mine is half feet shorter.
user posted image user posted image

The side clearance is quite big so that we won't bump in to the corner of island's top. There are also 2 power sockets prepared for the island. Hubby said he will spray the socket casings in grey color so that they could be flushed with the side panel.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Apr 11 2014, 12:47 PM
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 01:39 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 11 2014, 01:24 PM)
Why not make the island top at the center? Looks more balanced.
And it is too near to the WM?
I'm reserving the back portion of the kitchen for other purposes. Eg, i might put 2 chairs and a small tea table for me to lay back and enjoy some coffee or tea. I also prefer a spare space in case i need to do anything on the floor, eg chopping sugar cane, or soaking some ingredients for 'ba-zhang' (dumpling)... I wouldn't know, as this kitchen is meant to be a home kitchen but not a showroom.. i think i will appreciate the extra space in kitchen. smile.gif

The walkway space from washer is 3' which i think enough geh... tongue.gif
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 01:55 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 11 2014, 01:40 PM)
maxxon Some stuff really odd here.

I was under the impression from all the kitchen id i spoke to.. install the backsplash first.

btw with the lighting etc.. kitchen turning out really nice.
Thanks..many lights perhaps in the kitchen but all meant for different tasks and mood settings. Not gonna on everything together. Just like my living room's, my friend asked me if I really need that bright....actually all lights are to be on in different combination for different activities... tongue.gif

From my understanding, you got to lay the tiles first of all if you are going for tiles/mosaic backsplash... If it is a stainless steel or tempered glass, it's should be after the cabinet then...
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 01:58 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 11 2014, 01:42 PM)
I see there's hazard when taking out laundries, especially when you are in the hurry hmm.gif
Must not be so rough lor...otherwise, later I wear safety suit and safety hat...kekeke~ brows.gif
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 02:49 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 11 2014, 02:38 PM)
For me, I'll just remove it, make more space to move along thumbup.gif
The island is essential to me as I cook and bake.. I need a good table top space for preparation..The counter top at otherside will be occupied by electrical appliances like rice cooker, toaster, thermos flask, coffee machine, juicer, etc..
TSmaxxon
post Apr 11 2014, 04:07 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 11 2014, 03:31 PM)
Understand your situation and needs. Consider folding table?
I'm fine and happy with these now... tongue.gif

23 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:56 PM