Heavy Weight VS Full Range of Motion

TS94brian
post Aug 26 2013, 04:45 AM, updated 13y ago

403 posts

thanks to GameFr3ak remind me one of my problem i din't realize...

i'm getting too focus on 'must add more weightplates!' each time i went to gym...
and i realize i din't do full range of motion sometime(after few heavy sets),even with support...

and i did read some interesting articles just now,check it out...
Article that agree with FullRangeOfMotion
Article that disagree with must perform FullRangeOfMotion all the time

so,what do you guys think about the result of (keep lifting heavy weight but without proper full range of motion sometime) VS (suitable weight with proper full range of motion) with your experience?

my plan is,keep on lifting heavier each time,but remind my supporter to help me perform full range of motion on every reps,move back to lighter weight if truly can't perform full range of motion on heavy weight...

sorry for bad english,i'm trying my best here,i swear i check my writing for any error more than once blush.gif

HAPPY LIFTING!
janson_kaniaz
post Aug 26 2013, 08:24 AM

6,955 posts

u know, u dun have to open a new thread for every idea that pops into your mind.

some questions can be asked in the general bodybuilding thread.
TS94brian
post Aug 26 2013, 08:35 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Aug 26 2013, 08:24 AM)
u know, u dun have to open a new thread for every idea that pops into your mind.

got it smile.gif just though maybe open a new threat would help other beginner like me...but i think i'll ask somewhere else...since i think i don't want to stay here any more...feel so uncomfortable...hehe blush.gif

This post has been edited by 94brian: Aug 26 2013, 08:39 AM
wts6819
post Aug 26 2013, 09:35 AM

875 posts

I just remind myself no discount in lifting and do it full stretch especially last two reps. smile.gif
Far-KingOfSorts
post Aug 26 2013, 09:58 AM

307 posts

I think this is where the pyramid reps routine comes to play.
darklight79
post Aug 26 2013, 10:24 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Aug 26 2013, 08:24 AM)

Finally. You beat me to it.
Manlet
post Aug 27 2013, 12:02 AM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

how about both

make a power day and a hypertrophy day

or, perform them heavy weight first for first few sets and hypertrophy for last few sets
rakyat
post Aug 27 2013, 04:34 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

I normally do light and good form for set 1 and 2, 3rd set is bearable until probably the last 2 reps where body english and half rep comes to play. Sometimes I go for 4th set which is 4 to 6 reps of 'ego trip'. flex.gif

Hey they say heavy weight build muscules brows.gif

On a serious note, even on the ego trips I try to maintain slow rhythm (resistance) during the negative rep. I think it helps alittle no? It sure cause a serious bout of DOMS

This post has been edited by rakyat: Aug 28 2013, 09:35 PM
williams2011
post Aug 28 2013, 09:39 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Aug 26 2013, 09:35 AM)
I just remind myself no discount in lifting and do it full stretch especially last two reps. smile.gif
how do you manage to maintain your mindset everytime u go to gym? yet increase the the weight everytime.
I am a beginner and I play with my friend without coach. Sometimes I feel like not doing anything but just to lift for fun as I feel tired.
I can't really maintain the weight I took last week, e.g. I took 55lbs chest press in week 1 with support, but come to week 2 i feel like powerless to lift...
Do you eat anything the day before or hour before you workout to maintain and gain strength? Can you please advise on this?

mikehuan
post Aug 28 2013, 12:41 PM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(williams2011 @ Aug 28 2013, 09:39 AM)
how do you manage to maintain your mindset everytime u go to gym? yet increase the the weight everytime.
I am a beginner and I play with my friend without coach. Sometimes I feel like not doing anything but just to lift for fun as I feel tired.
I can't really maintain the weight I took last week, e.g. I took 55lbs chest press in week 1 with support, but come to week 2 i feel like powerless to lift...
Do you eat anything the day before or hour before you workout to maintain and gain strength? Can you please advise on this?

I suspect it's your spotter. As a beginner imho you should be lifting without support. Then you'll know for sure how much weight you can actually lift and record your progress from there.
williams2011
post Aug 28 2013, 07:57 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Aug 28 2013, 12:41 PM)
I suspect it's your spotter. As a beginner imho you should be lifting without support. Then you'll know for sure how much weight you can actually lift and record your progress from there.
I thought with support I can lift heavier and gain muscle easily...am I wrong?
-Dan
post Aug 28 2013, 08:21 PM

4,382 posts

QUOTE(williams2011 @ Aug 28 2013, 07:57 PM)
I thought with support I can lift heavier and gain muscle easily...am I wrong?
Lets think logically for a second. If you're getting support, you're not really lifting all of that weight, are you?
TS94brian
post Aug 28 2013, 08:31 PM

403 posts

from my experience,some can some just can't...maybe it's mindset,not sure...
me and my friend had been gym for a month...we start from same weight...
till now,i've increase about 20kg...while he only increase about 10-12.5kg...
i had always force myself,i tell myself sure i can lift heavier than previous 1,while my friend don't believe in himself while i kept on encourage him,but he still can't...
but that's just benchpress...while on military press,we actually hit the same weight from start till now...so anyway,believe in yourself but don't hurt yourself,lift as much as you can...

i think sifu above is trying to said...no support on the 1st few days,so you will know what weight is best for you to start with...not sure,the best just let him answer himself...

what i think is,you MUST teach your supporter,tell them how much you wan them to support as less as possible(cuz sometime they just help you lift all the way while you're not lift anything),tell them support you to perform Full Range Of Motion and balancing as well...i tested this for 2 days,i found my muscle is getting more soreness after teach my supporter a proper way to support...hope this help...
williams2011
post Aug 28 2013, 09:27 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Aug 28 2013, 08:21 PM)
Lets think logically for a second. If you're getting support, you're not really lifting all of that weight, are you?
yes you are right. what i mean is , first and 2nd set i will do it my own, when come to 3rd or 4th set, i might need support at the end few reps...izzit ok?
williams2011
post Aug 28 2013, 09:31 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 28 2013, 08:31 PM)
from my experience,some can some just can't...maybe it's mindset,not sure...
me and my friend had been gym for a month...we start from same weight...
till now,i've increase about 20kg...while he only increase about 10-12.5kg...
i had always force myself,i tell myself sure i can lift heavier than previous 1,while my friend don't believe in himself while i kept on encourage him,but he still can't...
but that's just benchpress...while on military press,we actually hit the same weight from start till now...so anyway,believe in yourself but don't hurt yourself,lift as much as you can...

i think sifu above is trying to said...no support on the 1st few days,so you will know what weight is best for you to start with...not sure,the best just let him answer himself...

what i think is,you MUST teach your supporter,tell them how much you wan them to support as less as possible(cuz sometime they just help you lift all the way while you're not lift anything),tell them support you to perform Full Range Of Motion and balancing as well...i tested this for 2 days,i found my muscle is getting more soreness after teach my supporter a proper way to support...hope this help...
I get what you trying to say, it is right that if we do not teach the supporter proper way to help us, end up we lift nothing.
Mind set is also very important...sometimes i just feel demotivated to do...no energy to do....
next month even worst, im worried if i able to go gym after working....how can i overcome the tiredness or sleepy mood?
TS94brian
post Aug 29 2013, 02:25 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(williams2011 @ Aug 28 2013, 09:31 PM)
I get what you trying to say, it is right that if we do not teach the supporter proper way to help us, end up we lift nothing.
Mind set is also very important...sometimes i just feel demotivated to do...no energy to do....
next month even worst, im worried if i able to go gym after working....how can i overcome the tiredness or sleepy mood?
don't worry too much...
i have a suggestion for you...
don't lift too heavy next month,find a suitable weight that suit you no matter how light is it,don't stressed yourself becuz of you can't lift heavier,forget about add weight everytime,only add weight when you think you're ready or the day you feel great...like i said earlier,becuz of i kept on pushing myself,end up i'm using wrong form...you have to deal with it,everyone is different,don't push yourself too much but only believe in yourself,sure you can do it from lighter weight to the heavier weight,it just need time...stressing yourself out trying to lift heavier will only slow down your progress(this is what i experienced)...

about the tiredness,maybe you can try sleep earlier? drink coffee before workout or even try pre-workout supplement to see if it help...

and about the motivation,i actually don't need it anymore,because i'm in love with iron...

check this video by Elliot Hulse, it's been very helpful,hope it help you too...
check his other videos as well...

this is just my experience,i'm just a beginner like you,but i do tons of research,and i do know how being a beginner's feel like,even sifu-sifu here get annoyed by my question already...
but as always,Believe in yourself,but don't stressed,distracted yourself at the same time smile.gif hope you get what i meant smile.gif
Happy Lifting smile.gif

oh,and by the way,i found this forum very helpful...http://forum.bodybuilding.com/...
go there if you can't find any answer here smile.gif wish you lucks comrade...
wts6819
post Aug 29 2013, 09:57 AM

875 posts

Let me ask you. You want to get bigger, are you? Focus when doing your exercise then you can kaplui when resting interval. biggrin.gif
And keep your exercise in full motion even the weight either light or heavy. You will get use on it.

Keyword : Discipline and motivation. It's drive you on.

Let me share what I've done. Initially I can lift about 50kg bench. Now was 90kg with barbell touch on the chest plus 2-3s movement down to chest.
williams2011
post Aug 29 2013, 07:06 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 29 2013, 02:25 AM)
don't worry too much...
i have a suggestion for you...
don't lift too heavy next month,find a suitable weight that suit you no matter how light is it,don't stressed yourself becuz of you can't lift heavier,forget about add weight everytime,only add weight when you think you're ready or the day you feel great...like i said earlier,becuz of i kept on pushing myself,end up i'm using wrong form...you have to deal with it,everyone is different,don't push yourself too much but only believe in yourself,sure you can do it from lighter weight to the heavier weight,it just need time...stressing yourself out trying to lift heavier will only slow down your progress(this is what i experienced)...

about the tiredness,maybe you can try sleep earlier? drink coffee before workout or even try pre-workout supplement to see if it help...

and about the motivation,i actually don't need it anymore,because i'm in love with iron...

check this video by Elliot Hulse, it's been very helpful,hope it help you too...
check his other videos as well...

this is just my experience,i'm just a beginner like you,but i do tons of research,and i do know how being a beginner's feel like,even sifu-sifu here get annoyed by my question already...
but as always,Believe in yourself,but don't stressed,distracted yourself at the same time smile.gif hope you get what i meant smile.gif
Happy Lifting smile.gif
oh,and by the way,i found this forum very helpful...http://forum.bodybuilding.com/...
go there if you can't find any answer here smile.gif wish you lucks comrade...
thanks for the video! I got the answer...
williams2011
post Aug 29 2013, 07:09 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Aug 29 2013, 09:57 AM)
Let me ask you. You want to get bigger, are you? Focus when doing your exercise then you can kaplui when resting interval.  biggrin.gif
And keep your exercise in full motion even the weight either light or heavy. You will get use on it.

Keyword : Discipline and motivation. It's drive you on.

Let me share what I've done. Initially I can lift about 50kg bench. Now was 90kg with barbell touch on the chest plus 2-3s movement down to chest.
YES! I want to get bigger!!
But then no lui for me in the gym cry.gif this is a university gym where lack of everything besides dumbbellssssss

what do you mean by "full motion"?

you can lift 90KG notworthy.gif ? how big are you now??? definitely huge sweat.gif
TS94brian
post Aug 29 2013, 07:15 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(williams2011 @ Aug 29 2013, 07:09 PM)
YES! I want to get bigger!!
But then no lui for me in the gym cry.gif  this is a university gym where lack of everything besides dumbbellssssss

what do you mean by "full motion"?

you can lift 90KG notworthy.gif ? how big are you now??? definitely huge sweat.gif
full motion mean...no cheating,no swinging,proper form(from chest to the top'no locking'/no resting)...
stromtrooper
post Aug 29 2013, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 29 2013, 07:15 PM)
full motion mean...no cheating,no swinging,proper form(from chest to the top'no locking'/no resting)...
I've been a silent reader here for a long time and the way you replying really makes my head hurt rclxub.gif

Could you just reply with proper grammar? Or at least better punctuation? Properly like this?

Full motion meaning no cheating, no swinging, proper form (from chest to the top, with no lockout/resting).

Can you do that? Or you still want to do the multiple period style? .... like ... that? doh.gif

Damn, even after being told by the regs here wink.gif
TS94brian
post Aug 29 2013, 07:37 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(stromtrooper @ Aug 29 2013, 07:26 PM)
I've been a silent reader here for a long time and the way you replying really makes my head hurt  rclxub.gif

Could you just reply with proper grammar? Or at least better punctuation? Properly like this?

Full motion meaning no cheating, no swinging, proper form (from chest to the top, with no lockout/resting).

Can you do that? Or you still want to do the multiple period style? .... like ... that? doh.gif

Damn, even after being told by the regs here wink.gif
hmmm...how weird this is actually your 1st post...
please,if you want to correct me just use your own ID...
i won't blame/hate you if you did so...

Member Group: New Member

you called yourself a silent reader and being here for a long time with just register about few minutes ago??
oh please.....
degraw1993
post Aug 29 2013, 08:14 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 29 2013, 07:37 PM)

you called yourself a silent reader and being here for a long time with just register about few minutes ago??
oh please.....
just ignore, really.
TS94brian
post Aug 29 2013, 08:22 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ Aug 29 2013, 08:14 PM)
just ignore, really.
i admit i have a poor english...
but someone just like to stab someone in the back.
i though encourage is better than accusing tongue.gif
someone need to study morale as well tongue.gif
hehe
joejee
post Aug 29 2013, 08:54 PM

228 posts

oh please.....
He/She purposely created an account to shoot you. tongue.gif

Just hope that you are not the person. Just kidding
TS94brian
post Aug 29 2013, 08:58 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(joejee @ Aug 29 2013, 08:54 PM)
He/She purposely created an account to shoot you. tongue.gif

Just hope that you are not the person. Just kidding
haha xD how come i will shoot myself? hehe
but nothing la,not really care about being shoot...hehe
nivlanauk
post Aug 29 2013, 09:26 PM

307 posts

lol at new account^

anyway. why bother using a spotter. If you can't lift the weight then just go lighter and progress from there slowly!
TS94brian
post Aug 29 2013, 09:44 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Aug 29 2013, 09:26 PM)
lol at new account^

anyway. why bother using a spotter. If you can't lift the weight then just go lighter and progress from there slowly!
hmm...like that won't be slow down the whole progress?
cuz my thought is...for example,
[20 KG] for the 1st 8reps you can bench with no problem but fail only after 8reps...
[15 KG] you can bench all the way up to 12reps no problem and no need for any support...

so lets roughly count the total weight you have lifted from both...
20-20-20-20-20-20-20-20-17-16-15-14 = 222KG
15-15-15-15-15-15-15-15-15-15-15-15 = 180KG

what do you think? not sure my math work tongue.gif just roughly count tongue.gif
janson_kaniaz
post Aug 29 2013, 10:34 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 29 2013, 09:44 PM)
[20 KG] for the 1st 8reps you can bench with no problem but fail only after 8reps...
[15 KG] you can bench all the way up to 12reps no problem and no need for any support...

what do you think? not sure my math work tongue.gif just roughly count tongue.gif
is this a joke or i dont understand something?
deadmau5
post Aug 29 2013, 11:09 PM

353 posts

Lololol does weightlifting even work this way? Cumulative totals might work in running though, especially in interval training.
stromtrooper
post Aug 29 2013, 11:23 PM

oh please.....
I guess you don't know the meaning of silent reader then. Silent reader is a person who read something which in this matter, this forum silently without replying to anything. It's been a good read so far but the way you type really makes me headache rclxub.gif Even the regs here complained to you but you haven't done anything about it. Isn't that enough encouragement for you if an elite member says something about the way you write?

If you want to convey something, do it properly. Nothing can be gain by typing the way you type and make other people confuse about it. Just saying, it's an advice but I don't think you can accept it, well even you can't accept the same advice from the regs here. Talk about encouragement wink.gif

Lets keep this formal section formal, it's not /k

p/s: I've been silently been reading /k too. No need no account to read right? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stromtrooper: Aug 29 2013, 11:27 PM
chiahau
post Aug 29 2013, 11:53 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

20 x 8 = 160 kg

15 x 12 = 180 kg

Err, I don't understand your maths already.
TS94brian
post Aug 30 2013, 03:02 AM

403 posts

i'm outta here...
permanently smile.gif
TS94brian
post Aug 30 2013, 03:36 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(stromtrooper @ Aug 29 2013, 11:23 PM)
I guess you don't know the meaning of silent reader then. Silent reader is a person who read something which in this matter, this forum silently without replying to anything. It's been a good read so far but the way you type really makes me headache  rclxub.gif  Even the regs here complained to you but you haven't done anything about it. Isn't that enough encouragement for you if an elite member says something about the way you write?

If you want to convey something, do it properly. Nothing can be gain by typing the way you type and make other people confuse about it. Just saying, it's an advice but I don't think you can accept it, well even you can't accept the same advice from the regs here. Talk about encouragement  wink.gif

Lets keep this formal section formal, it's not /k

p/s: I've been silently been reading /k too. No need no account to read right?  biggrin.gif
and so,you did actually create an account to reply me...damn! i should be feel so proud of myself xDDD

but to be honest,i accept the advice and i did try my best here...it's not me i don't accept,but it's you...
so now a person whom are poor in english cant workout? can't ask any question?
must ask in proper english included grammar and punctuation?
hmmmm...i think i get it...good english=good bodybuilder,poor english=bad bodybuilder eh?

and to be honest again...i don't blame you,just very disappointed that a pro should be helping a beginner instead of accusing,what's the point if you have a big body but lack in morale or personality?
i maybe lack in english,but atlease i still have my morale...
i just don't get it that's it...haha...

actually i do feel very happy that i'm getting someone pissed about myself xDDD
you can hate me as long as you like...but i will be back again and maybe ruined your day?? haha tongue.gif
TS94brian
post Aug 30 2013, 05:12 AM

403 posts

not sure why...but some other people understand me very well :3 ...
sorry guys i'm outta here,looks like attacking me rather than helping me...goodluck to you all...
Al@n2rock
post Aug 30 2013, 09:16 AM

349 posts

Wakakakakka, mcm budak2 la....

want to read, go ahead and read, dowant to read, just dont read la, doh.gif

susah ke? sweat.gif
akiratm
post Aug 30 2013, 09:58 AM

595 posts

Enough, just stop it please. I found this thread already polluted. The English made me headache.
mikehuan
post Aug 30 2013, 10:25 AM

6,160 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 30 2013, 05:12 AM)
sorry guys i'm outta here,looks like attacking me rather than helping me...goodluck to you all...
We don't "attack" without a reason. I'm sure the regs agree. Bye!
Far-KingOfSorts
post Aug 30 2013, 10:35 AM

307 posts

should rename tered to English 101
GameFr3ak
post Aug 30 2013, 10:47 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 30 2013, 03:02 AM)
i'm outta here...
permanently smile.gif
Why? Cause people say stuff that you don't like? Looks like you'll be going around places if that's how you work through your problems.
nivlanauk
post Aug 30 2013, 11:37 PM

307 posts

aiyo weightlifting mana ada macam ni punya.

if you can do 12 reps in 1 set it means that THE WEIGHT IS TOO LIGHT.
ideally you should use a weight that allows you to do 5 reps.
but when you are advanced the numbers change slightly.......
lot101
post Aug 31 2013, 03:15 PM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Aug 30 2013, 11:37 PM)
aiyo weightlifting mana ada macam ni punya.

if you can do 12 reps in 1 set it means that THE WEIGHT IS TOO LIGHT.
ideally you should use a weight that allows you to do 5 reps.
but when you are advanced the numbers change slightly.......
sad when I was a general worker my best was 1024kg (1 metric ton) in one hour up 4 flights of stairs, 50kg lift on to the shoulder and walk each time.

My mad colleague matched me. We pushed each other.

We were really really really tiny then. Absolutely devoid of volume since we only comsumed basic cap fan and a light snack with a drink for tea breaks.

anthony2211
post Sep 2 2013, 09:43 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(94brian @ Aug 30 2013, 05:12 AM)
This is exactly the problem. Poor communication. We are not grammar police here but, certain habits need to be curbed for public courtesy sakes. You can slurp your noodles loudly as much as you want at home alone, but please for god sakes, do not do it in the public. Just like using "..." throughout your sentences. Once or twice is enough. You can always use commas or fullstops.

If I could guess, your idea of a weightlifting workout is akin to a math calculations.
That means, if you lift 1kg and do 110 times (110reps x 1kg) you would have equaled someone who did 110kg x 1 rep.
Sadly, it doesn't work like that.

Lifting too light of a weight only activates your utility muscles (some will call it "outer muscles.")
By either lifting heavy or properly "squeezing" your muscles, you will only get to activate your inner or deep tissue to make them grow.

Btw, on the subject of this thread "Heavy Weight VS Full Range of Motion," I do not think that its a case of one or the other. "Heavy Weight," is required for muscle growth and Full range of Motion is required for muscle shape like increasing muscle length or if it is a compound exercise, it is required to activate other muscles. The short movement range (for certain exercises) are required for pumps. Most notably the bicep curl example; for larger biceps, you will need a full range curls and for the bicep peaks, you need to work on the pump.

As far as heavy weight (the reason I quote unquote them earlier,) as you will have millions of references throughout this forum and others, its a matter of progressive. One will not be wise to judge a weight as heavy or not for him/her self without properly assessing their progress or ability. The worst one can do is comparing against other people.

This is a quote from Kai Green to take to heart.

"We are not weight lifters. We are body builders."

--

0.0304sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:42 AM