ZeneticX
post Aug 22 2013, 04:11 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Toyoi @ Aug 22 2013, 11:49 AM)
Only 2 ways to solve the road structure:

1. Build super-thick high walls with barriers (water cans/old tyres like F1 road side ramps) at every dangerous corners or near ravine slope.

2. Build motorway/suspended highway above the jungle eg. Cubatao highway, Brazil:

The other factors are improving human side (more driver training, limit drive time avoid driver fatigue) and the bus itself must be checked or scrapped above 10 yrs.
lol the 2nd suggestion. if accident happen might be worse i assume, 0% chance of survival

if the bus/car kena divider and fly off the highway sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Aug 22 2013, 04:11 PM
LNB1
post Aug 22 2013, 04:18 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Aug 22 2013, 04:10 PM)
wei u leave it in d very dangerous.

Put it to at least 2.
yupe use engine braking most of the time and try not to hold the wheel brakes for more than 1 minute to reduce brake fades
EternalC
post Aug 22 2013, 04:23 PM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Aug 22 2013, 04:10 PM)
wei u leave it in d very dangerous.

Put it to at least 2.
QUOTE(LNB1 @ Aug 22 2013, 04:18 PM)
yupe use engine braking most of the time and try not to hold the wheel brakes for more than 1 minute to reduce brake fades
using engine braking will damage the engine or not? in the long run?
maxizanc
post Aug 22 2013, 04:26 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 22 2013, 04:23 PM)
u want ur engine damage or ur head damage? sweat.gif
HitamHad
post Aug 22 2013, 04:27 PM

21 posts

Why use a city bus for such a challenging route? This bus appears to be similar to the one used by Prasarana in KL. Wonder if they thought about changing the tyre rated for city use to the regional or cross country type. Pity the manufacturer (chassis supplier and bodybuilder) for the potential bad publicity as this bus is not meant to be safe if it falls from such a height. Pax. icon_rolleyes.gif
LNB1

164 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 22 2013, 04:23 PM)
you're car engine has been designed to assist with engine braking, nothing to worry about smile.gif
SUSPatagoniaranger

117 posts

QUOTE(Mech Warrior 6 @ Aug 22 2013, 03:38 PM)
u do know it doesnt take 1 bodoh to clap right..?
and if u didnt terasa urself bodoh..then why are u replying..? brows.gif
bodoh butthurt! whistling.gif
EternalC

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Aug 22 2013, 04:26 PM)
u want ur engine damage or ur head damage?  sweat.gif
i'm asking about engine damage ma
can tell?
maxizanc
post Aug 22 2013, 04:28 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 22 2013, 04:27 PM)
can tell?
dont think so.

service and check your car regularly la
sya_cd
post Aug 22 2013, 04:29 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 22 2013, 04:27 PM)
can tell?
u donno if engine braking can dmg engine or not??? doh.gif
LNB1
post Aug 22 2013, 04:29 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(HitamHad @ Aug 22 2013, 04:27 PM)
Why use a city bus for such a challenging route? This bus appears to be similar to the one used by Prasarana in KL. Wonder if they thought about changing the tyre rated for city use to the regional or cross country type. Pity the manufacturer (chassis supplier and bodybuilder) for the potential bad publicity as this bus is not meant to be safe if it falls from such a height. Pax. icon_rolleyes.gif
I thought after the completion of Sky cable car the Genting management has banned buses from going uphill to Genting..but now they are allowing it again.. blush.gif
Kampung2005
post Aug 22 2013, 04:30 PM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asiapa...ing/786270.html

KUALA LUMPUR: A bus that plunged into a ravine, killing 37 in Malaysia's worst-ever road accident, was overloaded according to reports on Thursday.

Authorities said the express bus was carrying 53 people when it veered off a busy and treacherous mountain road on Wednesday, tumbling into a deep gully and scattering dead and injured on the mountainside.

Housing and Urban Wellbeing Minister Abdul Rahman Dahlan was quoted as saying the vehicle's capacity was 44.

"You do the math," Rahman told reporters when asked if the bus was overloaded.

Officials on Thursday confirmed foreigners were among the 37 people killed.

The dead included 14 Malaysians, a Korean, one Nepalese, and a Bangladeshi-born Canadian passport-holder, said health ministry official Jeya Indran Sinnadurai.

The rest were yet to be identified, he told reporters.

Sixteen survivors are in hospital, including Malaysian, Indonesian, Bangladeshi and Thai nationals.

Jeya said the survivors were expected to pull through.

The bus plied an express line bringing visitors to the Genting Highlands resort, a mountaintop gambling and entertainment park about an hour's drive from the capital Kuala Lumpur.

Leading daily The Star said the vehicle had previously been "blacklisted" by authorities, but it did not say why and AFP could not verify the claim.

Survivors said the bus's brakes appeared to fail before it swerved off the road and down a steep 70-metre (230-foot) hillside.

"It kept picking up speed and everyone was screaming in fear... There was a lorry in front and the bus driver had to swerve to avoid it and lost control," passenger Suriardi Budiarto was quoted saying by the Star.

He survived because he was flung clear of the bus.
SnoWFisH
post Aug 22 2013, 04:30 PM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(twins9 @ Aug 22 2013, 04:09 PM)
When going downhill, what gear u use if you are driving a cvt, not an auto or manual?  Use 1,2 or leave it in D?
So far I always use 2nd gear, 3rd gear at most....just go slow and steady nvm.....engine are made of steel and metal after all, won't ko so easily one.

if ur brakes are still drum brakes...better be extra careful...
Mech Warrior 6
post Aug 22 2013, 04:31 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Patagoniaranger @ Aug 22 2013, 04:27 PM)
bodoh butthurt! whistling.gif
lol..bodoh bodoh!
butthurt buthurt!! rclxms.gif
LNB1
post Aug 22 2013, 04:33 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Aug 22 2013, 04:30 PM)
So far I always use 2nd gear, 3rd gear at most....just go slow and steady nvm.....engine are made of steel and metal after all, won't ko so easily one.

if ur brakes are still drum brakes...better be extra careful...
go easy with the brakes, press brake and release..wait 2 or 3 seconds to allow the pads to cool down and press brake and release, don't hold on brakes for more than 30 seconds..
these are skills you learned after driving downhills for so many years, not something you get to learn in any of Malaysian driving school wink.gif

This post has been edited by LNB1: Aug 22 2013, 04:35 PM
s@ni
post Aug 22 2013, 04:34 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

Email Print
22 August 2013| last updated at 03:48PM
Tiff between bus and taxi driver believed to be reason behind accident
By Kanyakumari Damodaran | news@nst.com.my

3 0 Google +0 0 0 comments

KUALA LUMPUR: A tiff between the bus driver and a taxi driver is believed to have been the reason for the accident in Genting on Wednesday.

Mussammat Sirajum, 35, who lost her cousin brother Rafiq Ali, 55, in the incident said he had gone to Genting for a holiday.

"My cousin, though from Bangladesh, is a Canadian citizen and had come to Malaysia with his wife and two sons for a holiday earlier this month.

"He passed away on the spot while his wife, Rashidah Buia, 50, and their two sons Ronok Arefin,14, and Reduan Buia, 22, sustained several injuries," she said.

Mussammat said Rashidah had explained that the bus driver started yelling profanities to a taxi driver who overtook the bus in a risky manner.

"The bus driver then overtook the taxi and started speeding at which time he hit the barrier and fell."

"My sister in law and her sons were conscious through the fall, and when she realised that Rafiq had passed she asked her son, Reduan to look after his body while she looked for help," she said.

She added that she only got information on the incident from the victims brother in Bangladesh at 11pm after which she headed to the Kuala Lumpur Hospital to find out that the family has been sent to the Selayang hospital.

The Bangladesh and Canadian embassy has been informed and Rafiq's body will be brought to Bangladesh to be buried.

A bus carrying 53 passengers plunged into a 200 feet ravine on Wednesday, taking the lives of 37 people.

All the deceased were sent to Kuala Lumpur hospital while the injured were sent to the Selayang, Sungai Buloh and Bentong hospital.

Read more: Tiff between bus and taxi driver believed to be reason behind accident - Latest - New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/latest/tiff-between-...8#ixzz2cgXNyhaG

melvin91motorola
post Aug 22 2013, 04:35 PM

349 posts

Road must be haunted
((Xa))0102
post Aug 22 2013, 04:37 PM

兩支湯匙         一個碗
2,553 posts

So saddening. I wore black today

RIP cry.gif

人生有八苦,邊個最苦?分離最苦。

This post has been edited by ((Xa))0102: Aug 22 2013, 04:38 PM
foxxy
post Aug 22 2013, 04:40 PM

646 posts

What is the other Seven(7) 苦?
grumpydrive
post Aug 22 2013, 04:40 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Aug 22 2013, 04:37 PM)

So saddening. I wore black today 

RIP cry.gif
人生有八苦,邊個最苦?分離最苦。
It's disheartening when tragedies like this could have been avoided. I feel sorry for that man on the 3rd pic. sad.gif

69 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » 

0.0281sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:15 PM