Sep 23 2013, 02:00 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Photo removed as per request..
Here's a nicer shot of Mr Halia.. Sam This post has been edited by samosaurus: Sep 23 2013, 02:54 PM |
Sep 23 2013, 02:53 PM
Sep 23 2013, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Sep 23 2013, 05:54 PM) Hiya I'm new here, and very new to folding bikes (but tres excited to hopefully, be part of the foldie community!) Dude, Been doing lots of research here and endlessly surfing bicyclebuysell for good deals on the bike. I almost had my mind set on buying the Kalaq Q5 (rm750) or Q6 (RM9xx) based on it's awesome looks (looks a lot like a Dahon Mu but obviously it's not lol). After more reading and reading, I thought what the heck, might as splurge more and get something reputable and reliable with the hope I won't ever have to upgrade (or at least, not in the near future anyway ..hehe) Went to Vans Urban PJ branch today and bought a Tern Link P8 on a whim. They're having some promotion until 28 Sept 2013. Pretty good deal, for RM1890 they give you the bike, a free Nutcase helmet, bottle cage and a free Knog Blinker LED light. Dealt with a guy there named YC, he was really nice and patient with me, being a noob and all. And even let me test ride two bikes (Boardwalk D8 and the Tern P8) in their cute little track behind the store. Gonna collect it tomorrow..can't wait! Hope I didn't make the wrong decision, but being a Tern, can't go wrong, right? You were very lucky with that "YC" guy... I think after the lady boss hammered him for lousy customer service, he improved.. The Link D8 is a decent bike. Just make sure they tuned it up nicely for you before you take delivery.. And congrats with your purchase! Sam |
Sep 23 2013, 06:05 PM
Sep 23 2013, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(valkyrie1232 @ Sep 23 2013, 06:05 PM) Wow, the tailou of Folding Bikes Msia Sam himself was the first to post after me. This is such an honour! The brakes should grip without screeching and the shifting ought to be smooth.. If properly tuned, you will have a lot of fun with your folding bike! Oh he had lousy customer service ah? oops, I guess i must be lucky then Next step, build up strength and stamina! Ok will make sure they tune up the bike properly, anything I should know about tuning other than brakes, derailleurs etc? Also check the latch on the physis stem as well as the one on the frame.. Lock-up should be solid.. Sam |
Sep 23 2013, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(d1rTyd6n @ Sep 23 2013, 06:08 PM) It was good to see you again Chief! Hahahah!!!! My pleasure too! Damn I should have gone down the sewers with my gang! Haha will definitely plan another ride around town + Ninja Turtle route! Thirty-seven people is a big group la.. All of them ride down the sewer at once, the Pek Hoon Kia would dive into the river.. Sam |
Sep 24 2013, 10:13 AM
Sep 24 2013, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(budgee @ Sep 24 2013, 12:25 PM) My new bike, which I am using to ride from PJ to KL. Trying to use it on a daily basis to go to work, but the gearing leaves me pedalling "air" when I am on the level road, worse if it is downhill. Its never about the bike.. The Problem is: the wheels are 16 inches, the crank is 48T and the smallest rear cog is 14T. What are my upgrade options? any suggestions? If you see a guy with a red helmet pedalling furiously along the road to KL, its probably me... ![]() Sam |
Sep 24 2013, 03:14 PM
Sep 25 2013, 03:39 PM
Sep 25 2013, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 25 2013, 03:03 PM) Come, bring me your bike. I will do it for you for RM250 plus all the servicing and greasing. Choose any color you desire. You've got the admirable skills & you cycle.. All you need is guts and investors. Then you are in business.Klang valley very hard to start bike shop lah! Everyone prefers nice looking shops like FB and Vans or GW Cycle even knowing that they cost one more arm and leg for the same thing. Moreover, beginners tend to lean to these shops thinking they are better. All the bikestores mentioned: They have one thing in common: "image". You may not need to know the inner workings of a bike, just pave it with money and the service mechanics will come. FBT for example, knows how to manipulate the electronic, print and digital media, ever willing to come in front of the camera and sell... So much so, they kena whack by some ultra extremist blogger for showing lewd signs and had to apologize.. Read about it here.. GWC - Started as a shop selling junk bicycles. Realized there is a niche in modifying bikes and took a bold step to be the agent for Pacific Cycles after the previous distributor gave up... Van's - A year old, supposed to be FBT franchisee, decided to go on their own, very aggressive and seems to be doing very well. Just be careful of their tech by the name of "Y.C", a prick who knows next to nothing.. Beginners market is easy to tap now that folding bikes are well-known and readily accepted.. But I think the interest will wane in a year or two when there are noting really exciting in the offing.. Sam |
Sep 25 2013, 04:06 PM
Right now, no Eclipse P9..
The only models readily available are the Eclipse S11i and P7i (this one like village bicycle because it was a demo bike) at the Rodalink in Bandar Botanic, Klang.. You can call 603-33259403, ask for EK, the store supervisor.. From what I was told, the remainder of the Eclipse P9 (produced in the last quarter of 2013) would only be sold in 2014, maybe in the second quarter... Sam |
Sep 25 2013, 05:52 PM
Well, there you have it! hahahah!!! Seefu budgee already shown you the photo..
The Eclipse P7i was quoted around RM3.8K. Based on what I saw, okay la.. Got all the good stuff on it.. Best of the lot is the Eclipse S11i, very elegant bike with excellent components.. The Shimano Alfine 11 IHG drivetrain handles like a dream! ![]() Here's a comparison of three folding bikes: 20", 24" and 26" Sam |
Sep 25 2013, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(budgee @ Sep 25 2013, 05:54 PM) After I got my XDS FA-16 foldable bike for less than RM750, I find that I can just leave it for hours parked anywhere decent, that is, with people walking around, place must be lighted up at night, but I will have to lock it up chained to a fixed metal structure. Really? Your Tern cost RM5K? With the Tern, a far more expensive bike at about RM5k , I don't dare to leave it out of my sight, heh heh. Some more, the XdS with its small 16inch wheels allow it to be folded much smaller and this really make it easier to carry around public areas. Usually I will push it on its wheels, much easier than the Tern because the handlebars are between the two wheels when folded and it makes it more stable. Just enjoying the cheaper, smaller bike very much ... and of course, I do enjoy the Tern equally a lot with its superior speed and build.. Sam |
Sep 26 2013, 10:21 AM
Brake boosters! Wow! Master Wong, you never cease to amaze me!
QUOTE Haha, no worries bro.. If the trail get too technical, I will jes push the bike. My offroad is kinda light one. Dude, I have plenty of respect and admiration for you and your style. Enjoying your bike to the fullest! That's the way it is! Someday, you might end up with a Scandium frame Pacific Reach and take your offroad experience to a higher level! To put it simply, what you've shown here in your pictures are trail rides.. To go fully technical on offroad, your UGO may be damaged.. That said, +1 for your spirit and enthusiasm! Keep on Rockin' bro! Sam This post has been edited by samosaurus: Sep 26 2013, 10:25 AM |
Sep 26 2013, 10:24 AM
QUOTE do you guys know where can get sram automatix 2 with coaster brake... penang bike shops said they can't get it... GH Cycles is the distributor for SRAM products in Malaysia... Call them at 03-6038 3703 and ask if they can help... Sam |
Sep 26 2013, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 26 2013, 10:36 AM) Thanks bro.. That's y I refrain from going too technical like those single trail (I have been to one and broke my bottle cage due to constant vibration:P). Dude, Not those kota damansara, bkt kiara kind of thingie for sure. If the foldie didn't break, my balls might break. Of course I know the limitation of the foldies hence I really need to execute it carefully and I believe our foldie aint that fragile. A lil abuse here and there wont break the foldies. Lastly, I always tell my mtb fren, if getting too technical, then mah push or foldup and carry lah. Again, thanks for the encouragement. I am a sucker for exploration rides.. I've been to some rides where most folding bike owners would consider it as "taboo"... In the true spirit of getting out there and ride, I pick my "weapon of choice" which is a full-suspension bike. Its comfy and able to handle the rough and as I also picked up from Master Wong with his Maxxis DTH tires. Now, our full-suspension foldies are meant for 100% trail and offroad rides.. ![]() You would appreciate the suspension on such bumpy trails.. ![]() Rides like these makes my day! ![]() This couple inspired us to do plenty of trail riding especially along offroad sections.. ![]() I guess that at the end of the day, you gain more experience out there riding than procastinating in front of your computer screen.. Sam |
Sep 27 2013, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 26 2013, 11:26 AM) The last pic is damn beautiful. Pulau Pangkor's Northern tip.. Very nice and secluded..Where on earth is that place? Of course a full sus like your Jetstream will be a better choice but the price is killing. Hence my body, leg and hand became my shock asorbing. Sam |
| Change to: | 0.0482sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:07 AM |