Yes YES FIZ, Unlimited 1Mbps, RM79

toh2020
post Feb 2 2014, 07:46 AM

493 posts

there is limitation in Wimax technology. although u are under coverage. at times there are good signal, bad signal and flaps. for those who need stable connection. to work from home like connect to office vpn. U MUST HAVE 100% ALL TIME STABLE INTERNET. otherwise u face lots of hiccups with disconnection and force to reconnect. what more with 2 years contract.

for those who web surf should be ok. cause u reload web pages when needed. just to refresh if page does not load. by then u are connected.

if u need to know it's best to elaborate the T&C. what are penalities imposed on you if u consider termination? for example everything fine during 1st year. later u had problems which is hard or intermittent which YES team not able to help. think carefully how to go about it.

problem most ppl go SKMM or MCMC, smear YES campaign via fb. it never worked so far from research. end of the day u as end user are to suffer because you are tied to YES legal terms upon signing up. the authorities are smart to protect themselves first, not to entangle with legal issues.
toh2020
post Feb 2 2014, 08:23 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Feb 2 2014, 08:15 AM)
means yes fiz not stable ?

hmm.gif
stable now, in time to come u never know.
toh2020
post Feb 2 2014, 08:23 AM

493 posts

the first batch of user who tested out YES Fiz is obviously good. however when all the resident in rural area starts to signup. there are bound to be problems with speed, stability and connection. this is fact true. what more you are tied with 2 year contract.

even to my former experience P1 Wimax although with 1 year contract for 4Mbps 30GB plan. my suffering happens on the 8th month. till i seriously endure for remaining mths to terminition day.

the same myself with YES 4G after 1 year 3 mths. same shit happens and i shared most of the issues in YES discussion @lowyat.net . benchmark the initial result and compare with current one a year later. it's shocking surprise more users speed down to 50% adding up with services instability. that at my site office at puchong. when u complain to YES care they tell u more users and speed is best efford basis. don't like feel free to call SKMM or contact CFM. eventually i did that and SKMM only act 3rd agent to chase YES expedite the issue especially at wangsa maju which had worst problem of getting connection (well previously more stable at 1 bar). nothing more nothing less. your contract still as it is and solution for me is live up to it till end of your tenure.. good huh! yet to date there are no improvement comparable to past good quality internet experiences. gone are the days with YES. the authorities involved which we as user entrust them acted like puppet from behind only call YES to chase up only...

think back when P1 Wimax started up. so many testimonial of good signal and stable connectivity. the word of mouth spreads the good news . till it comes a day everyone started to rant everywhere.

obviously if u want to talk about the air vs wired broadband. there are limitations especially wireless.

when i look back to wired internet like streamyx. i used for 5 years even with 2 years overlapping contract over another. there are minor problems but most of time internet experience way far many times better than wireless. in overall perfect experience with notebook connected to office vpn.. i mean no disconnections at all.

This post has been edited by toh2020: Feb 2 2014, 08:43 AM
toh2020
post Feb 2 2014, 11:23 AM

493 posts

one important note. when during thunderstorm (ribut petir). your zoom or fiz signal indicator surely blink. this same problem applies to P1 Wimax devices. again it's wireless limitation has nothing to do with ISP.

which means at that point of time, your internet is TOTALLY OUT. if u in need to connect urgently for vpn to work on critical issue. seriously you will be very frust. your boss will be calling u to your mobile. the next day you are to answer show cause. it depends if your company management can accept your valid reasoning or not. so potiential career risk also need to be taken into consideration. some more you are bound to 2 year inprisonment contract which needs to be monthly consistantly paid on time.

the best workaround this issue is wired broadband. streamyx only risk is modem/router blown by lightning. fiber to home is much better solution.

well i m not sure for users using 3G/LTE incase of thunderstorm.
toh2020
post Feb 2 2014, 01:20 PM

493 posts

as always price factor has always been end user decision.

for existing user with phone. you add streamyx is rm88.

the only differences is rm9. [thought fiz was rm75 earlier sweat.gif ]

by the way streamyx and phone is rm110 not rm130.

2 years is very extremely dangerous. if there is development and blockade in signal distribution. u surely will live in misery. this is for sure. the ISP tell u coverage is best efford basis.

i think 1 year itself also risky. but some ppl said thailand give 3 mths contract.. this is bolehland haiz.

This post has been edited by toh2020: Feb 2 2014, 02:04 PM
toh2020
post Feb 2 2014, 01:29 PM

493 posts

signing contract with YTL on the internet services for 2 years is penny wise pound foolish decision. among all the ISP they dare to do so. because they do market survey. Most malaysian have the tidak apa attitude. so they make best use of this as marketting gimmick to their advantage. at same time encouraging others to do so. if none of the user give them business nor supporting their policy. this will surely discourage them and other ISP to follow their roadmap.

some ISP allow you to negotiate on reduction in mthly payment. if issue had been escalated and provider willingly accept as this is due to outages on their end. with case escalated to higher authorities on this. as for YTL YES cannot be so due to mini minor word in their terms and conditions. u sign u already accepted fate AS IT IS.

This post has been edited by toh2020: Feb 2 2014, 02:08 PM
toh2020
post Feb 2 2014, 01:43 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Feb 2 2014, 01:36 PM)
yea typo 130 is for 2mbps
rm130 for 2mbps is correct.. smile.gif just additional rm20.
toh2020
post Feb 3 2014, 08:57 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Feb 3 2014, 07:46 PM)
perharps you should quote this to TM,..  biggrin.gif
he's Thailand mali punya.... whistling.gif
toh2020
post Feb 12 2014, 01:22 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(randeron @ Feb 12 2014, 12:36 PM)
tested 3 to 4 bars zoom line can subscribe? but my house on map is slightly  out of the coverage zone provided by yes coverage map

u can subscribe but very risky. like my case meranti jaya. at 2012 15Mbps 5 bar. this year 4-8Mbps 4 bar with some instability.
toh2020
post Feb 14 2014, 06:51 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(randeron @ Feb 12 2014, 03:46 PM)
i have only 2 options, p1 or yes. no tmnut screamyx no phone line and i cannot wait for unifi even its available next lorong but takes like forever to come here coz its a new housing area and
no address updated on their system
there is no guarantee stable internet conection with either both p1 or yes. we all know wireless WIMAX has much limitation.

best is not entangle yourself with their contractual terms. this is especially YES terms with many legal engineering words. better solution get a plan which u can terminate when u don't need anymore. till your wired provider arrives.
toh2020
post Feb 16 2014, 09:16 AM

493 posts

can subscribe in rural areas. if u want to move your YES FIZ to different rural location. You must call YES Care and tell them where you go. Then YTL Comm in turn will either approve or disapprove your request upon their own jurisdiction.

if u plan to register from own kampung. bring it to Klang Valley where you stay and work. the device is consider useless. YTL Comm choose not to activate for you. what u doing is violation of user term and services.

besides you are bond with 24 mths contractual term. whereby the device is static non movable.

since the awareness in rural area is low. this is where YES wants to bond as many in contract as possible. while city folks mostly well aware and experienced.

This post has been edited by toh2020: Feb 16 2014, 09:29 AM
toh2020
post Feb 16 2014, 09:27 AM

493 posts

another note: your new housing development at klang valley. developer never built telephony infra. so u cannot get streamyx, unifi, time, maxis ftth.

you also not eligible to apply for YES Fiz. yet you wanna dispute and talk consumer rights no way.
toh2020
post Feb 16 2014, 10:18 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Feb 16 2014, 08:51 PM)
so much T&C hidden in Yes,..  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif
they are pioneer in this. this why other iSP such as maxis ftth & latest celcom ftth follows along. good thing is they got 2 year secure bisnes funded by end users.. moreless insurance for them.
toh2020
post Feb 17 2014, 09:22 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Feb 17 2014, 04:09 AM)
but there is stated precapped quota 30GB and they reserve the right to implent it,..
so another catch for sure  sweat.gif
moreless same like unifi having data cap. but they tm not implement yet. so if others were do so they will cap too.
toh2020
post Feb 18 2014, 03:30 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(msyzam @ Feb 17 2014, 01:49 PM)
Ping time to local website reach 98-150ms, a bit high... streamyx 50ms only.
try to trace route to SG.
toh2020
post Feb 18 2014, 10:04 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Feb 18 2014, 08:30 PM)
yes confirm have much poor international routing if compare to streamyx,..  sweat.gif
you can see from here, this is the evidence. wow a very long route to go to yahoo singapore.

1 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms Yes [192.168.1.1]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 67 ms 85 ms 84 ms 172.20.196.1
4 65 ms 85 ms 86 ms 172.20.80.34
5 71 ms 84 ms 90 ms 172.20.81.157
6 64 ms 84 ms 85 ms 172.20.81.162
7 63 ms 69 ms 84 ms 172.20.83.36
8 65 ms 85 ms 150 ms 172.20.83.36
9 62 ms * * 10.27.5.5
10 65 ms 86 ms 83 ms 10.27.5.11
11 63 ms 84 ms 85 ms ae-0.r02.kslrml01.my.bb.gin.ntt.net [203.78.193.
3]
12 141 ms 182 ms 178 ms p64-5-1-0.r23.osakjp02.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.25
.6.94]
13 145 ms 171 ms 188 ms ae-9.r20.osakjp02.jp.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.6.9
]
14 246 ms 271 ms 277 ms ae-6.r20.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.3
]
15 251 ms * 259 ms ae-1.r05.lsanca03.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.2
0]
16 256 ms 259 ms 265 ms ix-11-2-1-0.tcore2.LVW-LosAngeles.as6453.net [64
86.252.65]
17 449 ms 483 ms 460 ms if-7-2.tcore2.SVW-Singapore.as6453.net [180.87.1
.25]
18 247 ms 261 ms 262 ms 180.87.15.122
19 250 ms 263 ms 263 ms ae-5.msr1.sg3.yahoo.com [203.84.209.87]
20 248 ms 269 ms 264 ms ae-2.clr1-a-gdc.sg3.yahoo.com [106.10.128.3]
21 260 ms 264 ms 266 ms et-17-1.fab1-1-gdc.sg3.yahoo.com [106.10.128.13]

22 247 ms 266 ms 282 ms po-9.bas2-5-prd.sg3.yahoo.com [106.10.128.213]
23 244 ms 270 ms 264 ms w2.rc.vip.sg3.yahoo.com [106.10.165.51]

trace complete.
toh2020
post Feb 18 2014, 10:31 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Feb 18 2014, 10:15 PM)
yeah,. such a LONG WAY just to go next door,.  sweat.gif
this is why YES needs ppl to sign a long 2 year legal security contract... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by toh2020: Feb 18 2014, 10:34 PM
toh2020
post Feb 18 2014, 10:33 PM

493 posts

the Fiz thing is recently rolled out. it always nice and good from begining...

wait till u see most of all your neighbourhood sign up.

no one can predict what tomorrow will hold. when the day comes, u need to hang on till your contract tenure ends. irregardless u like it or not.

toh2020
post Feb 19 2014, 10:41 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(raquinz @ Feb 19 2014, 10:16 AM)
As Yes Fiz is targeted for rural area, the population density is not quite as high as those in urban area so I don't think network congestion will be a major problem.. A lot of students in my area use p1 wimax for a couple of years but none of them reported any network slowdown in peak hours..Compared to people living in the Klang Valley which Yes Fiz is not available, most people that is probably using Yes Fiz will be living in landed property where there will be less user per area competing for access as compared to people living in apartment or condo in urban area where might be hundreds of user in just a small area.
depends on which area @KV. outskirt of city center is different. where u only have landed houses and factories way far apart. also tested with problem years later. first lauch perfect 5 bar 15 Mbps. a year later 4 bar 4~8Mbps with unstability.

anyway and anyhow, practically first year is the best experience. the 2nd year onwards will experience differently. it's obvious the case when more ppl signup. there are bound to be problems that eventually affect existing users. thats why the air has it's limit. unlike wired provider they ISP have to provide physical infra & additional ports to cater growth.

i do believe to be fair, those wireless ISP should bond 1 year. that is more than enough. unless if their device is rare and very expensive. like the fiber ONT for example.
toh2020
post Feb 19 2014, 11:53 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(raquinz @ Feb 19 2014, 11:50 AM)
True..Any contract should be less than a year considering their device is cheap and their infrastructure is already there..It's not like they have to built a new tower just to accomodate new user..This Yes Fiz is actually value for money but the 2 year contract is what will actually scare people from subscribing..Also their promotion also sucks..Not even their website have any info other than T&C.Wonder why??
YES marketting policy is you sign first. anything to redress contact the YES Care. from there they elaborate your TnC base on the problems case to case. if u want to read alone. you ended up with many guessings. only when trouble hits u know the entire truth.

i am also a YES 4G users i been through a lot.

the best part of it when u file complain to authorities, they inturn publish it for all to read. whereby most already signed up.

like my issue to wangsa maju, they responded by correcting the coverage map to my specific area only. hence they want to play cat and mouse game with me. when the authorities are looking into non coverage area. they can't do much to help... smart rite.

This post has been edited by toh2020: Feb 19 2014, 12:00 PM

0.0347sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:05 PM